FB Twitter

The Old Wheelhouse

The Old Wheelhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A delightfully stylish apartment to sleep 4 with many original features. The Old Wheelhouse is in a superb location overlooking Walden Beck and the Cauldron Falls. The green is a short walk away as are the shop, pub and butchers and there are plenty of walks from the village for you to enjoy. Hawes, Leyburn, Richmond, Ripon and Skipton are in reach for you to explore too.

A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed at The Old Wheelhouse many times over the years. We have always found the accommodation to be comfortable and well managed.
We hope to continue visiting in the future.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 65 days ago
So pleased you have enjoyed another stay at The Old Wheelhouse and thank you for leaving a review. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

By the waterfall

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the Old Wheelhouse, particularly its location. The falls at West Burton are very accessible and perfect for a paddle or a swim, bit chilly for us but in the warm weather it’s a 10 second walk into the water. The apartment is lovely, well fitted out, with a lot of character. It has all you need, the bed is really comfortable, the shower is great and there’s plenty of space. There’s a decent village shop, tea room, good butcher (run by the farmer) and a pub in the village. If you’re there with children, there’s play equipment and football goals on the village green and lots of walks right from the door. Highly recommended.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 100 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely, helpful review about The Old Wheelhouse and West Burton. Good to hear you were impressed with the apartment and would recommend to others. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Beautiful location and wonderfully comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved this cottage - fantastic location, wonderful views, and incredibly comfortable beds! Will definitely come back - glorious walks from the door in all directions, rivers to swim in, lambs gamboling in the fields, and a bench with a perfect waterfall view for a cup of tea at the end of every lovely day.





Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 116 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review, so pleased you loved your stay at The Old Wheelhouse, we agree the location is simply beautiful. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

Really comfortable accommodation in a beautiful village

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is really comfortable, with stunning views from every window. Well equipped kitchen, and nice furniture.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 118 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review about the Old Wheelhouse in West Burton and pleased to know you found the accommodation really comfortable and enjoyed the village too. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Wonderful Apartment.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay right next to a waterfall, the apartment has everything you need it was very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay here and we will be back.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 132 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the apartment had everything you needed. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

Wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The hot water in the bathroom was inadequate - a bath was not possible and the water to sink and shower took a long time to get hot .
We couldn’t get adequate heating in the evening and so we’re forced to turn the thermostat up .
Beautiful place in a beautiful location.
Beds comfy ; kitchen adequate.Nice decor.
Good company to book through .






Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 148 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review for your stay at The Old Wheelhouse this weekend. Thank you for letting us know that the water was taking a long time to heat up, and that the heating wasn't adequate in the evening. We do check the room thermostat before each guests arrival but we will check the boiler settings to make sure they are as they should be to ensure the apartment is warm for future guests. Look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to book for next year. Joanne

We have visited many times and never been disappointed

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a beautiful setting. We find it a perfect base to enjoy walking in the Dale's because we don't have to use the car to enjoy superb walks



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 156 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review. Pleased you've enjoyed another stay at The Old Wheelhouse, we look forward to hearing from you again when you are ready to return :)

Wonderful Wheelhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the same property in August 2020 and loved our stay so much we decided to book again. The property is just the right size for my wife and I and our two kids 6 and 8. The feel is cosy and comfortable rather than top spec but this is exactly what we're looking for on a trip to the Dales. The whole place was well sanitised on our arrival - COVID being a concern. The kitchen is kitted out with everything you could reasonably expect, although the freezerbox in the top of the fridge is small and easily ices over. The TV/DVD are in good working order, my kids were pleased they could access their daily fix of YouTube. The drying room is an absolute boon, so much so that my wife wants one at home! The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and afford lovely views of the beck and waterfalls. Plenty of hot water when required for showers and a bath for the kids.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 205 days ago
So good to hear you all enjoyed a return visit to the Old Wheelhouse in West Burton. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and we'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely restful retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very quirky, historical apartment - one part of a cleverly converted watermill. We have previously stayed, on a couple of occasions, in the lower part of this property - also very interesting. We have now booked holidays with Country Hideaways on a total of four occasions and we have always been very pleased with the service we have received and the quality of the accommodation provided.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 304 days ago
So good to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Wheelhouse and found it a restful retreat. Thank you for leaving your lovely review, very much appreciated. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of Yorkshire. Nadine

Lovely property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property in a beautiful village, it had everything needed for a relaxing holiday in the glorious Yorkshire dales. The views were amazing and the sound of running/falling water, especially after a couple of days of rain, was very soothing. The property had everything we needed, in spite of being stripped back for hygiene reasons, and was very comfortable and homely. We were there for a week and even though on our arrival day there was a wedding taking place at the waterfall, our allocated parking space was always available. Would thoroughly recommend The Old Wheelhouse and Country Hideaways.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 314 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and for your recommendation of The Old Wheelhouse and we two here at Country Hideaways. Very much appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

PRO'S & CON'S

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
PRO's - Situated in a handy part of the Dales for trips out to various towns/villages/walks/sightseeing, charming rustic appeal.
CON's - Car parking is also open to the general public visiting adjacent waterfall, meaning sometimes no room for your car, so park in village and walk back to accommodation; Lots of spiders inside the property; Noisy people in rooms above The Old Wheel House, means you can hear every footstep they make; Accommodation requires constant use of de-humidifier and in a week it needed emptying twice @ approx 2-3L each time - the back filter of the machine was full of fluff and it ran very hot(possible fire hazard?), so only used it when we were in, turning it off when we were out and at night.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 323 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your stay at The Old Wheelhouse. I’m sorry you had difficulty parking at the waterfall, as there is usually space to the left hand side even if all the allocated Mill spaces have been occupied. We try to ensure the apartment is as spider free as possible for each guests arrival, so I'm very sorry that you found lots in the property. Whilst there is sound proofing between the apartments some guests are unfortunately noisier than others. I’m pleased you enjoyed The Old Wheelhouse's rustic charm though and you found it handy for exploring the area, we hope you enjoyed the dales as much as we do. Even though your stay at The Old Wheelhouse wasn’t as perfect as we’d hoped for Nadine and I hope you will still visit the dales again in the future.

Lovely

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
West Burton is great , really picturesque and plenty of walks , waterfall on your doorstep for paddling and swimming , green with swings , shop and pub . Cottage very clean and well equipped , two big comfy bedrooms . Would highly recommend



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 362 days ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Wheelhouse and enjoyed West Burton too, it is just as you describe! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

A stunning stay in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, quaint cottage right next to the peaceful falls. Nadine extremely helpful throughout. :)




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Good to see your review, thank you. Do hope you enjoyed the walking and the cycling! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you once more when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely week next to the waterfall and river

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming apartment in the old mill , very restful listening to the waterfall, very comfortable, particularly liked the king size bed and superb views from the windows. We will return.. Excellent!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay at The Old Wheelhouse in West Burton and thank you for leaving your review, very helpful. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you when you're ready to return. Nadine

One of our favourite places

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wefind The Wheelhouse in West Burton a lovely place to stay. The accommodation is beautifully presented, comfortable and well equipped and the village is a delight. The nearby river and waterfall are a joy. We have explored both locally and further afield and find plenty to enjoy whatever the weather. Local folk have always been friendly and helpful and nearby Visitor Centres at Aysgarth and Hawes also. The village shop and butcher supply good quality provisions and pubs and tearooms in the area serve great food for eating out.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Really good to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Wheelhouse and exploring the area. Living in West Burton just know what you mean though! We look forward to welcoming you back when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great Location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great Location, right next to the river Ure, A view. from ever window., Dipper's and Grey Wagtails easy spotted. Walks from the door. The village has all you need..The Old Wheelhouse is a great place to stay.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review and so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at The Old Wheelhouse in West Burton. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Nadine