FB Twitter

Ivy Cottage

Ivy Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 4 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


Traditional country cottage bordering on and overlooking the expansive village green. Lovely garden to rear of cottage with views of Penhill. Cosy open fire, house bathroom plus separate shower room.

Hols

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jan 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a few hiccups at the beginning, kindly sorted by Nadine at Country Hideaways, we have had a vet pleasant stay with lots of fabulous walks.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 3 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review from Ivy Cottage and great to know you've had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed walking these wonderful dales. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent base for exploring this part of the Dales

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant house in lovely village with great amenities = pub with takeout options (beer and food) shop, butcher. tea room, weekly fish and chip van and milk machine, bus service and active village hall. Loads of walks from the door in all directions



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 108 days ago
Lovely review thank you, good to hear you enjoyed West Burton to the full and felt Ivy Cottage was a very pleasant house to stay in. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely cottage but a little tired

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a lovely village with a pub, butchers and village shop and a waterfall. A milk station is there for a couple of days plus a chip shop visits once a week. For children there is a nice playpark, but it did get busy with day tourists which meant it was sometimes difficult to park outside the cottage. The cottage itself is a decent size with two huge bedrooms the third with the bunkbeds is tiny. There are two bathrooms one with a shower the other with a bath. The caretakers had the cottage beautifully clean and the welcome snacks were appreciated by the children. But I do think the owners need to invest in the property as some of the features like the bathroom are tired, plus the décor needs an update. The TV was dated and on our visit didn't work due to problems with the local mast. Luckily we could use our laptop but a holiday without TV with children isn't the best! The garden was a nice spot for the children to play or for a quite cup of tea we also liked the compact kitchen which had everything we needed for self catering. Overall an enjoyable visit :0)




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 150 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage despite some areas needing an update in the cottage. The property owner is making a start we have been told. The situation with the TV was rather out of our control as there has been a fire at the main mast at Bilsdale leaving about 1 million people affected. We are hopeful this will be resolved very soon though. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

A Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ivy Cottage is clean, comfortable and spacious and well equipt. There is a small, neat garden behind. Situated at the side of the Green the pleasures of the village can seen, groups of people coming and going, the Fox and Hounds at the other side, the Village shop and Tea Room. There is just about anything you could wish for.
Situated at the side of the green we could look out and observe other people moving about and families playing ball games. Round the corner is The beck with its waterfall, excellent for playing in when not too full.




Joanne replied 187 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review. You have summed up the village perfectly. We look forward to welcoming you again, when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne