FB Twitter

Holt Barn

Holt Barn

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.2
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Innovative barn conversion just two and a half miles from Kirkby Malzeard. Spacious ground floor accommodation for two with two dogs welcome. Off road parking. Really leave the crowds behind at Holt Barn, immerse yourself in the peace of the countryside and high moorlands. But near enough to Ripon, Masham, Thirsk for days out further afield. Himalayan Gardens, Newby Hall, Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal all within easy reach.

Great place to relax

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious barn, had a wonderful time walking and resting. Host very helpful and quick to respond, everything worked well and had everything we needed.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 50 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard, really appreciated. Good to know you had a wonderful time walking and resting and that there was everything you needed at the cottage. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Superb

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent little hide away. Well furnished. Beautiful location. Alan was so helpful with the small issue we had. Definitely recommended.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 102 days ago
So good to hear you found Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard an excellent little hide away and thank you for leaving such a lovely review and for recommending the cottage to others. Do hope you managed to do plenty of exploring and walks. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely location for Beagle adventures

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy accommodation with plenty of new smells to explore. Great base to recover and warm up in post wet walk. We probably could’ve stayed another couple of days without repeating any walks.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 202 days ago
What a lovely review! What a holiday for a little dog! Thank you so much for leaving your review for Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard, really very much appreciated. Great to hear you found the cottage warm and cosy after your walks, you'll have to come back and explore more. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Spoilt by road closure

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I have very much enjoyed my stay at Holt Barn. It is well appointed with everything you could possibly need provided.

I found the bed mattress to be uncomfortable, that may just be a personal choice but I suspect it’s getting a bit old.

The major downside was that the road from Kirby Malzeard was closed for most of my stay. Getting through to Holt Barn involved an 8 mile detour on single lane roads, high hedges and infrequent passing places. Given mobile phone signal is poor I relied on my my car satnav which barely got me around. A local map would have been most useful. I realise not every eventuality can be foreseen, but it does emphasise this is a relatively remote place to stay.




Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay, the barn is very spacious for two and our dog. Had all the amenities we needed. Nice base for walking and getting out on the moor.
We missed having a garden but was ok for the few days we stayed.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard. Thank you so much for leaving your helpful review and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Holt Barn Review

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was lovely it was so comfortable and bright and airy and had everything we needed for the stay. It is a little bit off the beaten track so a car is needed. We did walk to Kirkby Malzeard and back which as the road can be quite steep in parts would not suit some people. A very nice stay and I would book again.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard and great to hear you found the cottage comfortable and bright and airy. Hills can be tricky we agree but there's always an excuse to stop, catch your breath and enjoy the views on the way up. We'll very much look forward to welcoming again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A good base for area

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice place to base yourself for walking/visiting area.
Ideal if you like quiet and remote.
Spacious property.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review for Holt Barn near Kirkby Malzeard and that you found the cottage a good base for exploring the area. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

dissapointing

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the bedding and bathroom and towels were very clean, however, the floors were dirty having not been cleaned properly. the oven was also dirty, the bedroom window was covered in spiders and webs having not been cleaned for some time. we were tormented by flies all the time and had to purchase fly spray. this was the result of being next to a beef shed we suppose.



HOLT BARN

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely bolt hole in a really quiet location.
This is our 2nd visit to this property in 6 months and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
All that you need for a comfortable break away from everyday life.
A car is essential for this property as it's really very rural.
Shops can be found in Masham as well as pubs with good food.Also beautiful dog walks around this area.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to read that you have enjoyed another stay at Holt Barn, we look forward to hearing from you if you would like to return for a third visit. Joanne

Lovely stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We missed necesary kitchentools by cooking our meals. Anders a kitchentowel

..............

We missed necesary kitchentools for cooking our meals and akitchentowel..Father

Oké.













Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your helpful review but good to hear you had a lovely stay in the Dales. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A little gem

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for 7 nights in June. Compared to others, value for money is excellent. Did not break the bank and stayed for longer than we intended to. Fabulous spot for walkers and a great base for day trips. Everything you need is there, friendly neighbours gave advice on walks. Highly recommended, will return.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. Glad Holt Barn had everything you needed and we agree it is a great base to explore the area from. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

A Lovely Break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm, comfortable and spacious cottage in a very quiet location. Plenty of walks from the door with a lot of bird life. Fountains Abbey was well worth the visit too. Will definitely return.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review for your stay at Holt Barn. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to have another break in Nidderdale. Joanne

Holt Barn midweek stay in March, excellent value for money and very peacefully situated.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The one bedroom tastefully converted barn is spacious and well appointed. Furnishings are of good quality, the bedding comfortable and the towels fluffy. We also liked the personal touch of the welcome pack. The cottage is remotely situated at the end of a short farm track on top of a moor. One can walk straight from the front door, past a bird sanctuary and to the Roundhill Reservoir; it is a birdwatchers’ paradise. Nearby Masham, appr 15 minutes by car, has much to offer and attractive Ripon is the nearest big town. Fountains Abbey and Studley Garden are within easy reach.
We had four wonderful days walking in the hills, taking full advantage of the unseasonably sunny and warm weather. The cottage provided us with everything we needed and it was a delight to return there at the end of the day.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely, helpful review of Holt Barn, good to hear you enjoyed your short break there and took full advantage of the weather! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Holt barn

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely gorgeous property. With everything that you need, I couldn’t complain one bit!
If you would like somewhere remote with piece and quiet this is the ideal place.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Holt Barn, good to hear you had no complaints. We very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

HOLT BARN

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are just coming to the end of a wonderful week spent in this amazing quiet property.Enjoyed it so much that I have already booked a week in summer next year.It is perfect with walks to the moors right from your very own door.
The interior is so very comfortable,lovely bed with superb bed linen.Very modern shower in a lovely light bathroom.
Kitchen appliances are of very good quality and there is everything you need in a modern kitchen.
I have had excellent connection for my phone,
TV doesnt have brilliant reception but who needs that when you are in a comfortable place and surrounded by nature.
The icing on the cake was a superb welcome basket of goodies left by Alan the owner.Thank you so very much.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Holt Barn, very much appreciated. Great to know you had a wonderful week there and that you've already booked for 2022! Nadine

Could be cleaner

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
At first glance all looked good, then had to wipe down kitchen tops and table, the cooker hood was covered in grease and dust, went to use the mugs I ad to wash them as when I picked them up to shelf that they were on needed to be wipes down anything I used I washed before using them. We had a pet with us and one of there toys when behind to sofa in the bedroom to my discuss it was full of cobwebs dust and dirt, bathroom sink plug had black mould and didn't work properly, It had not been cleaned and definitely not been deep cleaned. The only things that was upto standard was the bed linen and towels



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your stay at Holt Barn, we're sorry that Holt Barn was not as it should have been for your arrival and as a result I have visited the property and have been working with the owners to ensure this is not the case for future guests.

Stay at the Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only one main negative and that was on arrival we found a mouldy cake in the microwave meaning this had obviously not been cleaned.

Tv reception terrible.

The barn was comfortable and warm. well equipped good attention to detail with everything that is needed for a comfortable stay.
Good welcome pack.

Loved the welcome pack nice touch.

Dog friendly

Would stay again





Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you've found Holt Barn comfortable for your stay but very sorry there was mouldy cake in the microwave, not good. I have messaged the property owner to alert him to this. Thank you for leaving your review, always helpful. I feel the TV reception is terrible as the main mast in Bilsdale had a fire a few weeks ago and the engineers are striving to repair. Do hope it hasn't spoilt your holiday too much. We will look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine