FB Twitter

Barton Cottage

Barton Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Barton Cottage, a delightful cottage for two, faces onto the green and overlooks the village cross in West Burton, comfortable and full of character. Just enjoy West Burton and its surrounds, Cauldron Falls, wonderful walks, pub and great village shop and butchers. Or a little further to Aysgarth Falls, Hawes, Leyburn, Bolton Castle. Travel up Bishopdale and have a peek into Wharfedale or over into Swaledale and Coverdale. All wonderful picturesque journeys.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have really enjoyed our week’s stay in Barton Cottage. It is so nice to look out on the village green and the Fox and Hounds.
The cottage is beautifully quite and gave us both a break every evening from the grandchildren!!




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 57 days ago
So good to know you had a fantastic stay at Barton Cottage in West Burton and that you really enjoyed your holiday there and the peace and quiet. Thank you so much for leaving your review, it's really appreciated. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Second visit

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s a lovely cottage, welcoming and homely, right in the centre of the village. Like everything in life if you want to find fault you will find it but there is nothing that will put me off returning for a third time in the future.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 217 days ago
So good to know you continue to enjoy your holidays at Barton Cottage in West Burton and really pleased the cottage welcoming and homely. Thank you for leaving your review, it is very much appreciated. We'll look forward to welcoming you for a third time, hopefully quite soon! Nadine

Barton Cottage - the quintessential Dales cottage for two

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barton Cottage is well positioned facing onto the green in beautiful West Burton. It is very cosy and comfortable, spotlessly clean and has attractive decor. Inside, the comfy lounge has a coal fire, the new kitchen is well appointed and there is a separate attractive dining room. Upstairs is a spacious bedroom housing a comfortable bed with an electric blanket & bathroom with a very good shower.
West Burton is a favourite of ours with a village shop and tea house, a family butcher and pub. The surrounding scenery is breathtaking and there is easy access to the many quaint villages of Wensleydale, Swaledale and Wharfdale. The Cauldron Falls behind the village are an added attraction.
Barton Cottage comes highly recommended and is certainly the best cottage for two in which we have stayed.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 231 days ago
What a lovely, helpful review for Barton Cottage in West Burton thank you so much for posting and really great to hear you feel the cottage is the best for two people in which you have stayed. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Homely Hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another peaceful stay at Barton Cottage. Super clean
and comfortable especially the bed. Walks from the
doorstep. A pub with great food reasonably priced
within walking distance. Wensleydale Creamery and
Kiplin Hall are a recommended visit. The weather
could have been kinder but it didn't stop our enjoyment.
Would love to come back soon.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 250 days ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed another peaceful stay at Barton Cottage in West Burton, thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cosy cottage in the heart of the dales

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barton View Cottage is located in the centre of the village so ideally located for the shop, the butchers and the pub. The cottage itself is very cosy, comfortable, clean and quiet - the coal fire is a real bonus and there are plenty of books to read.
Stunning walks right from your doorstep so no need to use the car every day, if at all - a walker's paradise. The owners are very friendly and helpful and live just behind the cottage. Country Hideaways also provide a first class service. We are looking forward to our next visit!




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 304 days ago
And we are looking forward to welcoming you again too! Thank you so much for your kind words and for your lovely, helpful review for Barton Cottage in West Burton. We really appreciate it. Until the next time! Nadine

Lovely cottage in a beautiful village.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Barton Cottsge.Spotlessly clean, ideal location, great book collection and beautiful village.



Our stay at Barton cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very well equipped and prepared. In a ideal situation overlooking the village green. Mrs Hill was very welcoming and helpful.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 338 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Barton Cottage in West Burton, really appreciated and good to know you found the cottage very well equipped and prepared for your stay. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
staying at barton cottage was excellent as always set in the pretty village of west burton handy for touring the surrounding countryside



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 359 days ago
What a lovely review for Barton Cottage in West Burton, thank you so much for taking the time to write. Good to know you continue to find the cottage excellent and sounds like you still enjoy the village and exploring the surrounding countryside. Just great! We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Great village great cottage great hosts!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable clean cosy cottage .hosts gill and Steve were so caring and helpful.. hoping to come back on a regular basis. We had a wonderful holiday......thankyou



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Barton Cottage in West Burton, so great to know you had a wonderful holiday there. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you back just when you're ready to return. Nadine

A home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
ThIs is the first time we’ve stayed at Barton Cottage and I doubt it will be the last. I can only reflect many of the comments in the visitors book, many of whom were returning guests and that it’s a home from home. It’s quirky in a good way and has everything you need for a good, relaxing holiday. Lots of hot water, a comfortable bed and the pub is just across the village Green.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Barton Cottage in West Burton and so good to hear you enjoyed your stay there and found the cottage to be a home from home. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Our Great Stay at Barton Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and comfortable especially the bed which isn't always the case
In holiday accommodation. Well equipped kitchen. Great walks from the doorstep. Cauldron Falls
at the bottom of West Burton is a sight to see. Pub opposite does good food and a great
Pint of Black Sheep ale. Thanks to Gill and Steve for the milk and wine on arrival.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back.






Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Really good to hear you had a great stay at Barton Cottage in West Burton and enjoyed the village and our lovely walks. Thank you for taking the time to write this, very helpful and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

West-Burton still an authenticiteit village. Barton cottage is a nice cottage on the green

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very cosy. Offers a lot for your money. Lot of public footpaths nearby. Also interessant villages nearby.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Barton Cottage in West Burton and pleased to hear you found the cottage cosy and that you enjoyed the village and surrounds. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Barton cottage in the Yorkshire dales

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we would happily return again and again comfortable cottage in a peaceful beautiful village in Yorkshire



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear! Thank you for leaving your review for Barton Cottage in West Burton. Yes, a comfortable cottage in a peaceful, beautiful village, so agree. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Perfect cottage in perfect village

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barton Cottage is a very well equipped, very clean, warm and comfortable cottage in a wonderful position right on the village green in this charming and friendly village. The owners, Gill and Steve are very helpful. With many, many walks from the door, a pub with good food just across the green and a village shop and tearoom for extra supplies, there is no need to go too far afield. However, the local market towns and attractions are also within easy reach. The cottage is lovely with plenty of living space downstairs and a good sized bedroom and bathroom upstairs. It feels like a home from home - as if it’s giving you a hug. Highly recommended!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely, helpful review for Barton Cottage and so very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and West Burton, also exploring the area too. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you when you're ready to return. Nadine

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly positioned cottage in a beautiful village with it's own waterfall and stream.
Cottage was well equipped and warm and the bed was very comfortable. The sofas gave us a little backache after a while and the kitchen could have done with a bit more worktop space, but that won't bother most people because the Fox and Hounds on the opposite side of the green does excellent meals!
The village has a small shop with a good selection and a couple of days a week operates a tea shop with delicious cakes.
I can recommend this cottage and would happily stay again. It is a good base for touring the Dales.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Barton Cottage in West Burton. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and exploring the village. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return.

Our week in Barton cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing week, can't fault the cottage, the hosts Steve and Gill were very friendly and welcoming, would revisit without hesitation.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Barton Cottage in West Burton and good to hear you enjoyed a relaxing week there. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely cottage, would definitely stay there again.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been renting holiday cottages in the Dales area for many years and Barton Cottage is definitely one of the nicest and best value cottages we have stayed in.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review for your stay at Barton Cottage. So pleased you loved the cottage. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

Satisfied Customers

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location, nothing too far away. Cottage is very comfortable for 2 people. Our 3rd visit and we will be returning.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Really great to hear you'll be returning for a fourth visit! Thank you for leaving your review, very much appreciated and lovely to hear you found the cottage comfortable for your holiday and in an ideal location .

Getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Because of the pandemic my wife and I wanted a change. It appears the cottage we picked was in the ideal location and the cottage fulfilled our needs perfectly. An ideal spot for two people. The cottage was well equipped, very comfortable,and quaint, in keeping with the Dales village. It brought back memories of our younger days, walking and hiking in the Dales. As mentioned the cottage was quaint with one or two low doorways which we had no problem with but tall people may find it awkward. ( Tall over 6ft)
We would definitely go there again.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, so pleased to hear Barton cottage fulfilled your needs perfectly. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed.
We really like this little cottage. It has everything we need for our holiday.
The kitchen is very well equipped for our needs as we do like to cook some of our own meals using local produce.
The upgrades since last time add to its comfort and appeal.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Really good to hear you enjoyed your return visit to Barton Cottage, thank you for leaving your review. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Barton cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Pleasant week in a very pleasant cosy cottage
I don’t need to write any more as I have said all I want




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for Barton Cottage, pleased you had a pleasant stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the dales in the future :)

The perfect Dales stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have stayed in this cottage 13 times in the last 14 years because it provides the perfect base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. If the weather is bad it has a fantastic library of up to date novels (especially crime) and histories/biographies. There is a lovely coal fire available in winter.
Everything is spotlessly clean and the owners, Steve and Gill, and the cleaner, Irene, are a joy to meet.
Room heaters, a very comfortable bed and a really powerful power shower are all we need.
There are a post office/general store and a butcher in the village plus a brilliant pub that provides good meals.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So good to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Barton Cottage, may you have many more trips here. What a lovely review of your holiday, thank you so much for taking time to leave it. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Lovely, comfortable cottage with all we needed, with the exception of wifi, which was not reliable.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully clean and well presented, well stocked kitchen, lovely spacious bathroom with a good shower!!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased to hear you had a good stay at Barton Cottage despite the broadband. Thank you. We'll look forward to welcoming you once more when you're ready to return. Nadine