FB Twitter

Grubbings

Grubbings

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.1
Location
4.4
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


A beautiful ground floor barn conversion. The stone façade only adds to its character. With exposed beams this open planned property is full of character and warmth, not least thanks to the central log burner. Sit back and relax together.

Our stay at Grubbings

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Graythwaite is described on the web site as ‘a luxury holiday’. The estate was delightful and well placed for the southern lakes and Hawkeshead area of the Lake District. Unfortunately our experience of Grubbings was not at all luxurious. We found Mould on some of the bedroom walls, kitchen appliances that were broken, and a heating system that failed to warm the accommodation adequately. All of the storage radiators had broken controls and could not be adjusted. The staff tried to help with 2 extra electric heaters and more duvets and eventually supplied a additional toaster to replace the broken one in the kitchen. The swimming pool was close to hand and this proved popular with the grandchildren. Unfortunately the lights remained on continuously throughout our stay, could not be turned off, and shone directly into our accommodation all night!
We have stayed in the Lake District many times and unfortunately this accommodation did not match the many cottages that we have used previously.




Brilliant stay with family

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my husbands 70th birthday and mine Decided to book this for a family getaway. It has been fantastic. You have a marvellous place. Congratulations.
From start to finish it was good.




Weekend away Feb 2022

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Grubbings Cottage for a family weekend away to celebrate a 70th birthday. The cottage was great for the number of guests and really well laid out. Swimming pool was also great plus being just across from the cottage was so handy. The estate was lovely unfortunately weather didn’t allow us to investigate more. But cottage had everything you could want also a pleasant surprise to get washing and drying facilities which was great for swimming stuff and towels. Overall fabulous it was a great place.



My 60th Birthday at Grubbings

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I was very disappointed with my stay at Graythwaite. The gathering was for my 60th birthday with 8 other friends + my husband. The day before my stay I tried to postpone my stay as friends were affected by Covid (some directly, others had been in contact with). I was told I could not postpone as it was too short notice to re-let Grubbings. As I hadn't taken out any insurance, I couldn't claim the (high) cost back. So my husband and I decided to go anyway.
As it was a 5 bedroomed cottage, we rattled around a bit! Although clean & tidy it lacked creature comforts, no toiletries, no wood for the log burner etc. It was very cold, as it only had storage heaters, which were disabled so you couldn't turn them up.
After the first night we came home from our weekend away as my 60th birthday was spoilt.
I would appreciate a portion of the fee refunded.




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was fully equipped and beautiful. There were more facilities within the cottage than we expected. More Instructions on heating would have been helpful!
I would definitely recommend and return again to the cottage.




A great place to stay with the family.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at the Grubbings each year for the past 20 years and it is a very nice family vacation for all-the accommodation is superb and having the swimming pool/games room close by is excellent for the younger generation. The only slight problem is that there was no phone reception and it was difficult to get w-ifi connection.



hot water

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we found showering and especially hair washing a minor problem as the water was low power and never got really hot - warm enough but not hot.
Otherwise very pleased with the accommodation - spacious and comfortable and with a very well equipped kitchen. Swimming pool and table tennis a hit!




Enjoyed our stay, a few upgrades needed

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The swimming pool could be open later.
WiFi cloud connect is rubbish
Oven buttons broken
En-suite shower dribbles out
Dishwasher tray has holes
Baking trays don’t fit in the oven
In general we have loved our stay this is our 6th time of coming back here. Just a few items which require attention.