FB Twitter

Stableyard Apartment

Stableyard Apartment

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The two bedroom Stableyard Apartment is perfect for a family or two couples looking to enjoy all the estate has to offer. Whether you are fascinated by the history of the Castle or want to explore the walks and trails, we are confident you will enjoy your stay! Dogs welcome too!

Outstanding stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location and a gorgeously appointed apartment, equipped with everything that you could need. Easy access on arrival with clear instructions.
Would visit again and again!




Such a great weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a bit of an impulse booking, but I'm so glad that I took the plunge.
The apartment is really comfortable, stylishly decorated (well, to my untutored eye!) and lacks for nothing.
The kitchen is cosy, without being cramped and is well equipped; the lounge is not large, but quite sufficient for the dining table and a couple of really comfortable sofas; the bedroom (we only used the one) was comfortable and we were not disturbed by any outside noise; the shower provided a nice stream of hot water and the toilet seat should win an award for Scotland's best loo view.
Parking was adjacent to the door to the apartments and charging points are available.
The castle was closed, but the glorious gardens were open and we spent an afternoon and a morning exploring the various sections.
Some of the estate walks are still closed after the ravages of Storm Arwen, but there are plenty of footpaths still open and a walk along the River Nith is definitely recommended.
But it's the gardens that will draw us back. I can't wait to see them in high summer or early spring. We'll definitely be back.




Ideal location, superb accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed staying in the Stableyard Apartment, it was spotlessly clean, and very well appointed. Although there were only 2 of us the additional seperate living room was very welcome. Being on the Drumlanrig estate was a treat, and wonderful to be on the doorstep of such wonderful walks. The summit of the 'Arwen' trail provided a magnificent view of the castle, and although marked 'arduous' was not too taxing for the average dog walker! Visiting the castle and gardens also highly recommended. Worth noting that the apartment is all on the first floor and the stairs quite steep ( if you have an elderly dog with you as we had!). The entrance hall for changing shoes, dog towels etc very useful indeed.



Perfect Peaceful Break

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apartment was spotlessly clean, with high quality fixtures and fittings. The location was first class, with lots of walks.
We all slept exceptionally well as the beds were super comfortable.
A tour of the castle is a must when it's open.
We returned home refreshed and relaxed! Will definitely be back




Super apartment!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Tastefully decorated surroundings with good quality bedding and towels, ,which makes such a difference. Very nice welcome gifts too! Smart tv and wifi coverage had no issues. Our dog was made to feel welcome and the estate is very pet friendly, albeit on a lead, as there are plenty of sheep about. Lots of walks and the river to splash in. Some of the walks and cycle trails are closed because of tree damage due to storm Arwen and it's sad to see the devastation, but there are plenty of other places on the estate to dog walk! The castle gardens are a must do, sadly the castle itself is only open certain times of the year. Further afield, Thornhill had pubs with food, two small supermarkets and other small shops and coffee shops. An excellent stay all round, perfect for a weekend or longer stay, we couldn't find anything to fault! 10/10



Fab long weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely company to deal with. All requests catered for, my family and dogs enjoyed every minute of our stay. Apartment was in first class condition, felt secure, safe and quiet.



Perfect Christmas Hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was wonderful! The apartment is super cosy and comfortable and we had absolutely everything we needed, every little thing had been thought of. We stayed over Christmas and the place was decorated, making it feel even more homely. The surroundings are beautiful and we enjoyed lots of lovely walks with our dog, exploring the estate.

Booking online was super easy and the communication and customer service throughout was great. We'd definitely stay again when visiting the area and would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.




New Year's break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab spot. Shame re storm damage in woodland. Was looking forward to great cycling trails. Still managed to bike everyday on roads on and around estate, beautiful! Apartment great, wanted for nothing. Duvets awesome, luxury goose down! Bike washing facilities. Able to leave bikes in hallway which was great too.
All in all a great spot, would totally recommend!




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During our stay the weather was horrendous with lots of flooding.
However the apartment was lovely we had everything we needed and the added bonus of Netflix and board games kept us entertained.
All in all a fabulous stay in a fabulous location




Quality apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here. Comfortable, well appointed, clean and situated on the beautiful castle estate. The only down side was a security light in the courtyard which made the bedroom too light at night. I gave feedback to the estate; this could be improved by changing it to downlighting.



A home away from home! Stylish and comfortable in the most amazing location.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the Stableyard apartment at the end of August. We were absolutely amazed by the incredible location and how it was almost entirely to ourselves (once the daytime visitors had left around 5pm).

The apartment was easy to access. It is very well stocked and had a lovely welcome gift.

It felt so homely with added luxuries. It is finished to a high standard and the view of the castle from the windows is fantastic.

A smart TV meant we could access Netflix and Amazon Prime.

The castle grounds are beautiful and we hired bikes from Riks bike shed to explore a little outside the estate. Rik is fab and has excellent advice. We took a bike with a toddler seat and a bike with a trailer and really enjoyed biking along the river.

Overall, this is 5* accommodation.

The only other comments I would make are:
I kept catching my feet on the carpet grippers on the stairs inside the apartment, which was a bit painful.
The cars that were racing around on the first night (local teens) could have been picked up by the security and sorted quicker. I appreciate that is was reported using CCTV once I made them aware.
Some spare bedsheets would be useful, my little boy was sick and although a washing machine is in the apartment (with fantastic drying racks), we were left a bit stuck for replacements as it all happened at bedtime.
The middle bedroom was extra hot due to the boiler in the cupboard. There’s probably not much that can be done about that and we were staying over an exceptionally hot weekend. Maybe a fan could be stored in case it’s extra hot.

We would absolutely love to stay here again on the future.




Stunning Scenery

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was exactly like the photographs, very well kept and comfortable.
Note the second bedroom does not have a wardrobe and no toiletries in bathroom, just hand soap.
At the price of the apartment I think to set charges for breakage of glasses and plates a bit over the top eg £3.00 for a wine glass , £10.00 for a plate.
However, we loved our stay and would come back. The setting is fabulous.







Lovely accommodation! Great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely peaceful weekend here in the apartment. Clean, modern, very well designed and kitted out, had everything we needed. We also did a castle tour which was amazing, a huge thanks to Gwen our guide for answering all our questions! The craft shops in the courtyard were worth a visit and all are dog friendly. Just a shame the weather wasn't kind, it never stopped raining! Would definitely recommend and we will certainly be back.



A great stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stableyard Apartment was perfect for us. Very well equipped and clean. We enjoyed the presence of visitors during the day and the peace and quiet once everyone had gone home at the end of the day. Our son enjoyed the play area and rolling down the grassy banks. Our labrador enjoyed the woodland walks. The flower gardens are spectacular. We recommend the green route 2 cycle ride which starts from and ends at the stable yard. We hired bikes from Rik’s Bike Shed. Rik was very helpful and knowledgeable. The castle staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They managed to squeeze in a private tour of the castle for us even though they were fully booked. We advise you to pre-book the tour before you arrive. The cream tea in the castle tea room was yummy. Would love to visit again. Thank you Drumlanrig Castle.



Simply stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is even better than its advertised. We are smitten by the surrounding scenery, the castle, the gardens and there are so much green! quiet location, less tourists, and all around cleanness.

Inside the apartment, it is cosy and very comfortable. Love the space. Love the apartment very much!




Pleasant two night stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well presented however lacked practicality and comfort, firstly the placement of the TV affords only one person an ideal viewing angle from either sofa, dining chairs quite uncomfortable, fridge door hampers the bottom shelf removal for cleaning, 12.5 tog duvet
impractical for summer use with no alternative to hand, bathroom lacked shaver point, steep stairs to room entrance and entrance door has a spring return so watch out when exiting the room.!
We did not encounter a staff member until the point of departure and only then by chance.







High quality estate accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The development of self catering accommodation at Drumlanrig is to be welcomed . first class dwelling with excellent fittings . Responsive quality service supported by welcoming staff throughout the estate .



Excellent accommodation in great setting

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with our stay- newly decorated, well equipped and very attractive apartment. The castle itself is most impressive and there are a number of excellent walks on the estate, through beautiful woodland with a number of small lochs. Highly recommended



Excellent location and top quality accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Before our arrival we needed to check some details and arrange for a baby-gate to be in the apartment, Erin was easy to contact and always very helpful.
The apartment is decorated to a high standard in calm colours and we didn’t see a speck of dirt or dust!
The beds and sofas are lovely and comfy, and the kitchen, though small, is well equipped. Due to its small size, there is not a lot of cupboard space for food. We did a food delivery order from Asda, who found the apartment easily.
The location is excellent with direct access to the castle (although it wasn’t open due to COVID restrictions when we visited), the courtyard shops, the adventure playground and gardens. There are lovely views of the castle from the windows of the apartment. It costs £6 per adult to gain access to the gardens and playground-as we only used the adventure playground for an hour (due to the weather!) this seemed steep. Perhaps it would be nice for guests to be offered a complimentary admission during a stay?
If you are into mountain biking there is a bike repair shop on site, a bike wash, and single track trails straight from the apartment, which we made good use of.
I would definitely recommend the Stableyard Apartment to couples, families and mountain bikers.