FB Twitter

Drumlanrig Mains Cottage

Drumlanrig Mains Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Located a short drive, walk or cycle from Drumlanrig Castle, this picturesque cottage is the ideal home away from home. The cottage benefits from a large garden, private parking, wood burner and 3 bedrooms, sleeping up to 6 people and two dogs.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage,well equipped for a peaceful break. Walking and cycling paths, trails in a safe estate environment.



LOVELY COTTAGE, ( SHAME ABOUT THE BASICS)

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
WHAT A LOVELY COTTAGE, COMFY, CLEAN, ( BUT SHAME ABOUT THE BASICS.)
YOU NEED A ROW OF COAT HOOKS IN THE HALLWAY ( this is Scotland after all!)
YOU NEED A WASHING LINE IN THE BACK GARDEN ( for the 'wet things' )
YOU NEED CHAIRS IN THE BEDROOMS...please.
I maintain that all self catering cottages should be lived in by their owners for a week, before they let them, just to see whats missing!)




Gorgeous retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drumlanrig Mains Cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break. A clean, well equipped, peaceful and stylish cottage.
The whole estate is gorgeous and I would definitely recommend hiring bikes from Rik to explore.




Drumlanrig Mains Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A high quality cottage with a very good standard of interior and design. Perfect for a relaxing break.



Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So relaxing and peaceful. Dark skies at night. The cottage was super and the beds were very comfortable, lovely pillows and bedlinen. Towels were soft and fluffy. The showers were roomy and powerful. Beautifully equipped cottage.

I think the charges are a little on the high side but this seems to be across the whole industry since more as more people are holidaying at home. I would love to return but would have to think very carefully about how long we stay. Costs for next year seem to have increased by £50.00 per night. It seems an huge increase.




A wonderful weeks stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with every aspect of our stay at Drumlanrig, from the incredibly helpful and friendly Erin who dealt with our booking ,the welcoming touches on our arrival, and the luxury quality of the bedding and linens.The Mains House we stayed in was decorated beautifully. We wouldn’t hesitate book another stay in the future,and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nicely appointed cottage. Beautifully decorated and very clean. Close to the Castle and set amongst rolling countryside. Great for walking, fishing and cycling.The bike tracks/trails are more for mountain bikes than road bikes - very quiet and great for families.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.




Lovely old cottage fantastic setting

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you need. A real home from home. Freshly refurbished and the estate is beautiful. Wonderful mountain bike trails and walks. We didn’t leave the estate all week. Great adventure play park for kids. It would be a nice touch if entrance was free for the duration of the stay rather than just one session.



Active Family Holiday with two teens and a Labrador

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time staying at Drumlanrig and exploring the surrounding area. As an active family, there was so much for us to do including long hikes, great mountain biking, loch and river swimming and a cycle to the local town to visit a cafe and chocolatier! The cottage was great. It was very pretty, comfortable and very well appointed. We were able to relax and enjoy time in the evenings as it had both a lovely garden and sitting room with large TV. It was very tastefully decorated. As there were only four of us, we preferred the upstairs double as a Master rather than the en-suite room because of it’s space and view. (Although it would have benefited from more wardrobe/hanging space). We had to keep all our outdoor gear in the small porch at the back door in order to keep mud out of the house. This wasn’t ideal and there would be an advantage to having a covered seat/hook area and hose for taking off boots/cleaning mud etc.
All in all, we had a fantastic few days and amazing weather. We even added an extra night because we were enjoying ourselves so much!




Perfect place for a stacation

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drumlanrig mains cottage was the perfect place to stay for the week. The cottage has been refurbished to a very high standard and it had everything we required to have a very relaxing week. The enclosed garden was perfect for our dog and large enough for us to have a game or two of badminton. Will definitely be back.



Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 06 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went for a two night stay and the accommodation was spotless and fresh - it was in an ideal location for exploring the castle grounds and great for the dogs - we would highly recommend it