FB Twitter

Silver Birch

Silver Birch

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Silver Birch is one of our lodges that has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with an open plan kitchen dining area. With stunning views over Fleet Bay, Silver Birch have everything you need to have as a base while you explore the beauty of Dumfries and Galloway.

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a clean, comfortable lodge with amazing views down to the sea. I would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful part of Scotland, with lots of lovely beaches and great walks.



Donald replied 3 days ago
Hello Rachel, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. Gatehouse Luxury Lodges are a great base for exploring the region and we are so lucky to have such amazing surroundings. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Silver Birch Lodge was a very clean, spacious and has amazing views. Our children loved all the space inside and out to play. The large sliding doors were great opening out onto the decking area.



Donald replied 8 days ago
Hello Elaine, many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your stay. We are very lucky to have such amazing surroundings and our area offers so much for our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Quality all the way

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay in this lodge after 2 stays in the lodge next door. Same quality throughout and subtle difference in the magnificent view.
There was a bit of a problem with the Internet during this stay however we only mention this to highlight the excellent response from Donald to any issue no matter how small.
We will certainly be back.




Donald replied 64 days ago
Hello Rachel, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so lucky to have such wonderful surroundings and be so centrally located for many of the local attractions. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Open warm space and comfortable. Good location, great views of the estuary and landscape,varying weather, enjoyed our stay thanks








Donald replied 94 days ago
Hello Christine, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. There is so much to see and do in the area we hope you got the chance to explore our lovely region. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Great location, stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short stay at the lodge and would have loved to stay longer - the views are stunning and it was equipped with everything we needed as a family.



Donald replied 108 days ago
Hello Sarah, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We work very hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are so pleased you had such a positive experience. The region has so much to offer our guests, hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

4 Night Break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family booked both lodges for a short break away. Both lodges were in a lovely rural location with outstanding views. There were lots of options for days out if you have small children and lovely coffee shops locally. The lodges were immaculate and both had underfloor heating which was lovely as we stayed in the month of April so it was a little colder than in the summer months.
This is by no means a downside to the accommodation but it would have been wonderful to have a hot tub to jump in to at the end of the day taking in the views. Overall a lovely relaxing quiet break with very courteous builders who were working on two new lodges nearby. Superb accommodation for family gatherings everyone would benefit from being close to each other in their own lodges.




Donald replied 115 days ago
Hello Julie, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are very lucky to have such good establishments so close by and many of the local attractions are only a short drive away. Our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Wonderful week in Gatehouse of Fleet

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just home from a fabulous week at Silver Birch. Everything was perfect - including the weather. The view from the lodge was spectacular and the accommodation luxurious.

Can't fault anything and we'll certainly be back.

Debbie & Peter Lord




Donald replied 134 days ago
Hello Debbie, thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. We are very lucky to have such great surroundings and it's great the weather was fantastic during your stay so you could enjoy the idyllic views from the lodge. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful holiday lodge with stunning.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful lodge with stunning views towards the Fleet Estuary and the sea. Peaceful situation within easy reach of Gatehouse. The lodge is equipped with everything one would want on holiday and is very comfortable. Even in wet weather it is a pleasure to sit and enjoy the view. Very well situated for exploring this lovely area. Would love to return.



Donald replied 276 days ago
Hello Margaret, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very lucky to be surrounded by such beautiful and ever changing countryside. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future as our area has so much to offer.

Relaxing week at Silver Birch

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Silver Birch. Only a short drive from Gatehouse of Fleet where you can find lovely walks and high quality restaurants. Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas also an easy drive away. The views were stunning and the lodge was warm and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful location with plenty of activities and amenities nearby.



Donald replied 288 days ago
Hello Susan, many thanks for your recent review. We are very lucky to be so centrally located so all local attractions and activities are only a short drive away. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a positive experience.

Aweek in the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week in idilic surrounding overlooking the Fleet estuary and entrance to the Solway Firth, with the Isle of Man in the distance



Donald replied 304 days ago
Hello Jim, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so lucky to have such beautiful surroundings and we are really pleased you got to experience the fantastic views from the lodges.

Another great week at Gatehouse Luxury Lodges

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Gatehouse Luxury Lodges, stayed in Silver Birch this time, every bit as good as our last visit when we stayed in Seascape. Silver Birch is in a great location, quiet and relaxing with stunning views towards Fleet Bay and the perfect place to enjoy the sunsets at the end of a days walking.





Donald replied 318 days ago
Hello Ian, thank you for taking the time to review your return visit to Gatehouse luxury Lodges. It is great we are so centrally located as alot of the local attractions and activities are only a short drive away. We are very lucky to have such amazing surroundings that our guests can enjoy.

Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to this beautiful property. We are very familiar with the local area but still found new places to visit. The location of the lodge is so peaceful and the view from the lounge was panoramic and inspiring. We intend to return in the near future.



Donald replied 318 days ago
Hello Harvey, it was lovely to welcome you back to Gatehouse Luxury Lodges and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with the location of the lodges as they are perfect for a peaceful getaway but so well situated that there is plenty to see and do in the surrounding area.

Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Silver Birch. The location is stunning with spectacular views.
The lodge is well appointed, very clean and very comfortable.
We really enjoyed our “sundowners” on the decking admiring the view.
Hope to visit again




Donald replied 331 days ago
Hello Amanda, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so lucky to have such amazing surroundings and there is so much to see and do in the area we hope you managed to explore our lovely region.

A break away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Silverbirch was the chance to escape and escape we did!

With comfortable, clean accommodation, a home away from home, and all the finishing touches (including milk and wine!) we were so impressed by the stunning location, which allowed for amazing views. On a good day you could see the Isle of Man!

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We were close to great beaches, woods and Gatehouse itself.

My husband and I would love to come back just the two of us!

Thanks
Casey




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Casey, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Gatehouse Luxury Lodges. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are so pleased you have had a good experience. Our area has so much to offer our visitors with such amazing surroundings. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous time at Silver Birch!

The accommodation and location were exceptional!

Just a couple of issues that needed to be sorted out, but were not achievable during our stay.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jon, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at Gatehouse Luxury Lodges. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.

Perfect position!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose these lodges because we wished to remain covid safe and there were two lodges side by side. The view is stunning and the lodge was just perfect in every way. Set up in the hills of Galloway overlooking the sea we were perfectly positioned to visit both east and west Galloway....with the joke being everything is within half an hour's drive! ....well nearly.Thoughtful and quality decor we had all we needed to create a light lunch and more. Highly recommended!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lindsay, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Gatehouse Luxury Lodges. It is great we are centrally located so all local attractions and activities are only a short drive away. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly the drive up to lodge is fabulous, then you see the lodge and very modern. Go into the front door and immediately see open plan living space and full glass patio doors the whole length of living area, which gives panoramic views of the countryside and sea, which is changing all the time. What’s not to love, so quiet and serene and calming. 2 lovely bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, well equipped.
Nothing to much trouble to contact Donald if needed.
It’s a must to go.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rachel, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you had everything you required for your break. We are very lucky to have such amazing views at the lodges. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A very picturesque spot overlooking the Solway

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Silver Birch is a modern wooden lodge overlooking the Solway Firth where the River Fleet joins it. The Lounge/kitchen has a glass wall (with sliding doors to access the decking), facing south so you can actually see the Isle of Man on a good visibility day. The situation is very peaceful and wildlife visits often (Red Kites and rabbits). The central location enables visits to the forests and coast very easy. We will certainly be back for another visit before long.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Harvey, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. Great to hear that you were able to see some of the local wildlife during your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Great lodge in great place

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great lodge, great location, easy to arrange and access. The accommodation is spacious and wonderfully light even on the dark winter days. The views are tremendous through the ‘glass wall’. We saw woodpecker and deer just outside. Watching the sunset over the bay was wonderful. We couldn’t get the Sonos system to work but we suspect that was our fault and we didn’t need it. We found the chairs lacked support and the bed too soft but that is very personal so don’t let this comment put you off, others will find them ideal. This was very good value and some of the best accommodation we’ve stayed in when holidaying in the countryside. There was even a shed to keep our bikes in. We highly recommend this accommodation in a great area and we hope to book again.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Keith, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We feel very lucky to be surrounded by beautiful countryside and we are pleased you managed to see some of the local wildlife. We also appreciate your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

A wonderful Scottish break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing lodge in a secluded location with wonderful views over to Wigtown Bay. Host was extremely helpful and informative. A bottle of Prosecco, milk and biscuits on arrival was very much appreciated! Comfy beds, great heating and sound system and everything you needed was in the lodge - even a shed outside for our muddy boots! We will certainly be back soon!! Great location for exploring Dumfries and Galloway.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Maxine, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Gatehouse Luxury Lodges. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you have had a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Stunning place, one of the best

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much needed family holiday that didn’t disappoint. Stunning lodge with incredible views and I mean incredible the sunsets even had the children watching every night.
The lodge had everything thing we could ask for. Very well equipped and clean. Children had space to play and run outside and spread their toys, adults had space to chill and relax.
In a brilliant location.
Close to lots of fun activities, local walks and villages/ towns to visit.
We enjoyed the coco bean chocolate factory very much and the local walk in Cally Forest was lovely.
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys to get away from normal life.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Heidi, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have such a positive experience. There is so much to see and do in the area for both adults and children. It would be lovely to be able to welcome you back.

Lovely lodge with fantastic views

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed for a week in this newish lodge. Very well equipped with everything you need for a self catering break. Fantastic views from the living area were the highlight. Lots to do locally. Our favourite places to visit were Wigtown, Kircudbright, Rockcliffe & of course Gatehouse of Fleet. Lots of good walking all around especially Galloway Forest.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janet, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and feel our area has alot to offer our visitors. We are glad you had a positive experience and hopefully we can welcome you back.

AMAZING PLACE

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked In we loved it as is so light and clean. Superb layout and every comfort you could want on holiday. Beds luxurious and so are duvets and pillows, built in wardrobes. Bathrooms nice and spacious with raindrop shower heads and good size especially if need space for those with mobility problems. Nice light up mirror so can see to put makeup on if necessary and shave etc.
The living space very comfy good size sofas and dining area. Kitchen well equipped for all your needs and love the open plan space so no one misses out on anything inside or outside. In fact I could live there.
Glass runs the whole width of the living space so have panoramic views across to the sea and ever changing view. Saw lots of Red Kites and gave some awesome displays. Stunningly beautiful area and to be honest you could sit there for ages just looking at the view and skyline. I took some early morning photos so serene and picturesque.
The area is great as lots to see and do, cute villages and local shops not far.
Gatehouse of fleet as fab places to eat using local produce.
It’s a dark sky area and the observatory is a must to visit.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rachel, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Silver Birch. We feel very lucky to have such amazing surroundings and we are pleased the local wildlife came out and about whilst you were staying. We are so centrally located to many local attractions and we are lucky to have such good establishments so close by.

Gatehouse Luxury Lodges

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful week at this beautiful lodge. The views were stunning and there were many places to visit within easy reach of the lodge which was just a mile or so from the A75.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Patsy, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are so lucky to be so centrally located, and only a short drive away from most local attractions and activities. We hope we can welcome you back again.

A very successful family stay at Silverbirch Lodge Gatehouse of Fleet

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the lodge for my son, his wife, toddler and infant. They were delighted with the lovely situation and dramatic views of the sky, and countryside right down to the Fleet estuary. The Lodge was beautifully finished and very well appointed with a high ceiling In the main open plan living space and full length glass to take in the view and the sunsets! It fulfilled their requirements in every way. The outdoor space was very useful too when the whole family gathered for a meal. The children enjoyed watching the rabbits close up!
I would definitely recommend a visit here, for a very comfortable stay in a cosy but beautiful contemporary space.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Joan, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased your family had a lovely break with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Great Lodge in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was spacious and comfortable as per description. Views down to Bay of Fleet were stunning - even better than expected. Location was ideal for enjoying walks from the lodge and exploring the wider area. loved seeing so many Red Kites and Red Deer from the lodge and whilst out walking. Highly recommend and we hope to return in the Spring



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Paul, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We are very lucky to have such wonderful surroundings. There is so much to see and do in the area. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.