FB Twitter

Pump Station

Pump Station

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.7


Experience a part of British history, in this former WW2 pump station.
Magnificently transformed into a contemporary beach house.
Situated on Dungeness estate.

The Pump House

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cool place to stay. We loved Dungeness and we loved the property. It was very comfortable for our family of five, with beautiful pieces of furniture and very stylish decor. We will definitely consider returning. It would be great place to go in the middle of winter.



Bloom Stays replied 98 days ago
Thank you Helena for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Pump Station and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

Stunning location but infested and uncomfortable.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the Pump Station is undeniably breathtaking and to wake up to the views across Britain's only dessert each morning is really fantastic.

However, far more attention needs to be paid to this stunning property, especially for the prices that are now being charged. I’ve listed below some of the issues, points for improvement:

We had at least two ant infestations during our stay, one of hundreds of flying ants!
Both toilets don’t flush properly so after your ablutions, you can expect to spend at least as long flushing them away, if it’s even possible!
The beds are terribly uncomfortable for the price of the accommodation. This really needs to be looked at.
The property hadn’t been properly cleaned. Under the sofa was dirty and we found at least three plates/utensils in the kitchen that had been out away dirty.
For the price of the stay (over £2.5k for 7 days, there really should be a welcome pack of essentials for your arrival. This is standard now in holidays let’s and often at far lower prices than this one.
The shower floods when you have it on high speed and runs down the hallway to the bed room.




Bloom Stays replied 105 days ago
Thank you for your valued feedback. We have passed your comments to the owner who has addressed the cleanliness and mattress comments, and blocked shower drain as these have not been raised by previous guests. Unfortunately the wildlife in and around the property is not something we can control. There is a particular time each summer whereby the ants turn into flying ants in Dungeness, and usually lasts for a day or two.

Great Base for Dungeness

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Interesting building, beautifully designed and fitted out, and set within the wonderful Dungeness Estate. A great place to just switch off and relax. The usual excellent Bloom Stays customer service and property presentation standards.



Bloom Stays replied 158 days ago
Thank you Robert for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Pump Station and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

A Long Weekend in Dungeness

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation worked very well for our group, the building has been converted in a sympathetic way and is furnished appropriately. Personally the absence of a TV in the building was preferred.
We all came away thinking that we'd be happy to visit this place again.




Bloom Stays replied 232 days ago
Thank you Nina for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Pump Station. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

Our stay at the Pump Station, Dungeness

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a fabulous week with friends and family in Dungeness, staying at the Pump House. Fabulously designed accommodation in a wild place that we absolutely loved.
We enjoyed great walks around the area, including to theSound Mirrors in New Romney, Camber sands and Rye as well as a trip on the railway. Great food at the Fish shack, the Globe at Rye and the pilot, and the Britannia is a excellent spot for a sunset beer. We will be back.




Incredible house in an other-worldly location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Pump Station is an incredible house, full of interesting and unusual character, it made for a completely unique stay. The house was very well equipped, particularly in the kitchen with absolutely everything you could need to cook in house.

The location was great, just a few minutes walk to the beach and with incredible views over Dungeness peninsula and of the power station, making for an atmospheric location.





Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jess for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pump Station and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays.

Inspired Conversion

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An inspired adaptation of a utilitarian building, with a distinctive use of materials: brutalist concrete, wide oak boards and "Beuysian" felt curtains. Very well finished, with a fine and well stocked kitchen and elegant furnishings and fittings. And all in Dungeness's otherworldly setting