FB Twitter

Dormestone House

Dormestone House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Grade ll listed home with a delightful mix of modern contemporary and antique finds, surrounded by extensive private grounds on the 15th Century estate. Named as one the best dog friendly cottages in Britain by The Independent
Heated swimming pool, tennis court and a roaring open fire to enjoy. In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in the North Downs

Enjoy a little piece of heaven and exclusivity in this charming 15th Century estate with acres of extensive private grounds. A roaring open fire antique finds and gorgeous furnishings combine to ensure this large group accommodation in Charing is the perfect indulgent stay for friends and family. Enjoy uninterrupted views from almost every window with little between you and the North Downs but the heated pool and tennis court.

This stunning large holiday home offers quintessential luxury at its best. With a selection of reception rooms you will be spoilt for choice. Morning coffees are best enjoyed in the serene reading room with French doors opening to the manicured gardens delightful as you sit back relax and watch the children play quite the scene from Country Life Magazine.

The rooms of this unique Grade II listed designer home make the most of the natural sunlight. The layout enhances the beautiful feature beams and hidden nooks of the property setting the scene for the harmonious blend of modern contemporary furnishings and mix of antiques.
The open plan state of the art kitchen and conservatory overlooks the pool and tennis court making the home perfect for relaxing whilst watching your friends play a nail-biting match The large dining table can seat a family brood and makes for a very sociable space ideal for cooking and entertaining on special occasions. An exclusive luxury hamper is also provided to guests.

The summer calls for splashing in the pool and alfresco dining under the stars by the fire pit. In winter the cosy living space with open fire add warmth to your escape to the country. Whilst there why not don the wellies and take the dog out for a long stroll across the downs.

You don’t have to forgo luxury just because you have a canine to contend with on your holiday as this superb 15th-century Grade II-listed home proves. You don’t even have to leave the private grounds to give your dogs a decent walk, after which you can snuggle up by the open fire while they relax in the dog basket provided. If you want to venture further you’ve got the North Downs on your doorstep. - The Independent February 2017.

Surprise 60th birthday weekend.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this beautiful historic farmhouse as a surprise for my partners 60th birthday. The house was well equipped & perfect for us to spend a chill out weekend together with our family & grandchildren. Despite 1 day of solid rain we enjoyed playing pool, board games, fun & laughter sitting by the open fire in the lounge with a few tipples. Would highly recommend this delightful home & wish to say a special thank you to Keith for his kind help & support.
Julie Barr




Bloom Stays replied 5 days ago
Thank you Julie for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dormestone and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays.

Magical weekend when the weather is good

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful long weekend at Dormestone house. The property and the grounds are enormous with plenty of spaces to escape to and find peace. The weather was incredible so we enjoyed the pool and the tennis courts, the gas bbq, and bike rides in the nearby North Downs. The gardens are stunning. The house is well equipped for fun with tennis rackets and balls available to borrow, a huge snooker table, chess board, games and books for all ages. There is a small undercounter fridge in the kitchen but fear not, the utility room has a large fridge and freezer.

I would say the property was not as clean as it could have been. For example we found old tissues behind the beds, one of the boxes in boot room was filled with previous rental’s rubbish, the cabinet handles in the kitchen were sticky and the
kitchen table was full of crumbs. The walls behind the Rangemaster cooked were oily (a splashback would quickly remedy that) and in the family room upstairs, the union jack cover for the chest of drawers is extremely dirty.

The swimming pool was not as clean and chlorinated as it should probably be, but this was fed back to the rental company.

The floor in the stunning snooker room was extremely slippery and a few of us fell (we guessed that a wood polish was possibly used on the vinyl floor).

The two master bedrooms are absolutely stunning. One has a beautiful ensuite with a shower, but it would benefit from the addition of a wall mirror. The other bathroom upstairs for 3 rooms to share has a lovely bathtub and there is a shower downstairs for any tall guests who would rather not attempt a roll top bath. The twin bed room was comfortable but very noisy whenever the hot water boiler was switched on! Fine for our kids (aged 4&7) but the noise scared the younger children.

It is worth pointing out that the two single beds in the family room (next to the kids’ bunkbeds), are not suitable or comfortable for adults. The mattresses could do with replacing.

All in all, the above constructive feedback would only improve the already wonderful property. We would return as we had a really fun, relaxing weekend.




Bloom Stays replied 217 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, as discussed the swimming pool is regularly maintained to ensure it meets the required standards, but the owners will investigate your comments further. In relation to the other feedback again this has been raised with the owners for their attention. The bunk beds mentioned are only suitable for children, as the accommodation can sleep 10, but a maximum of 8 adults is permitted. We look forward to you returning again in the future.

Excellent stay in a lovely house

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Mar 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply put, the house is fantastic, with a lot of charm, and is perfect for to get away from the city. We had an amazing time, also thanks to the caretakers who were always very prompt to respond. Definitely would recommend.



Bloom Stays replied 309 days ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are pleased we could offer accommodation to you whilst your own property was undergoing renovations. We hope you can return in the future!

Dormestone dream

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will 100% rebook this property. The kitchen was fabulous. We cooked non stop, not through hunger, but just the pleasure of being in that environment. The pool table was endless fun, the lounge and fire place were dreamy, the TV room. Our bedrooms were beautiful and the property was so clean. We witnessed a once in a life time meteor shower at the fire pit. Maybe 50 shooting stars were seen. My only regret is we didn’t have this property for our entire stay. If you’re ever selling this house. I would love to know first. Thank you



Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful house and all its facilities. We look forward to you returning very soon!

Surpassed all expectations

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us stayed at Dormestone House for my 60 th Birthday celebrations- from the moment we arrived we were at home in this beautiful cosy incredible property-
We had a roaring fire every evening listening to our favourite music in every ground floor room on the Sonos system- the kitchen is so well equipped and of course we loved the gardens with the heated pool which we swam in even in October ! I had the best time and will definitely be returning .