FB Twitter

Coastguard Lookout

Coastguard Lookout

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
69% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
3.2
Condition
3.8
Location
4.8
Value
3.3
Customer
Service
4.2


A unique former Coastguard Lookout Tower at Dungeness is one of the most spectacularly located properties in the country
Uninterrupted views of the sea
Just a few steps from the water’s edge
The perfect place for a romantic getaway

Unique building in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful weekend with my children at the Coastguard Lookout. We were all in complete awe of the location - right on the beach with a huge and unobstructed vista. We had a mixed bag of weather but it works come rain or shine! Either you are out enjoying the amazing Dungeness scenery, or you are cozy and secure in the tower watching the drama unfold all round you. The building has so many quirks that all add to its charm. It was an amazing experience that we will all talk about for years to come.



Bloom Stays replied 57 days ago
Thank you Jonathan for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Coastgaurd Lookout and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

coast guard lookout

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with another couple. Toilet was a problem because of no door on toilet and bathroom. which was open plan to bedroom. The rest of our stay was so amazing the location is second to none. the whole ambience of the coast guard lookout is fantastic. you can almost feel the history of the place and what it once was. wlll come back one day because once is not enough.



Bloom Stays replied 57 days ago
Thank you Dawn for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Coastguard Lookout and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

Earwig Towers

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Location is everything with this property, which is lucky because the property is tired, has minimal facilities and has a problem with earwigs. Top floor has no storage at all and a built in bed that should not be inspected too closely, one of the Louvre windows whistles and hums when it is windy Next level down has a collection of potential candidates for a Museum of Chairs and a sofa thing that reminded me of a stuffed camel. Second floor is two beds, toilet, bath and a small built in wardrobe. Ground floor is kitchen with large table. Earwigs are on every level, even found one happily nestled in the loo roll one morning. Property leaks when it rains, but you are only made aware of this once you have made your booking.



Coast Guard Lookout - feedback

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is an amazing location and a very neat well kept property, however our experience was ruined with the bugs!
Spiders and what looked like Earwigs on all floor levels and in the beds left us with little sleep and an uncomfortable experience.
The owner's would benefit from sealing the property properly and keeping the bugs out. The other odd feature of this property is there is only one toilet, which is in the children's room behind a curtain and not ideal.




Bloom Stays replied 130 days ago
Thank you Frank for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Coastguard Lookout and we will pass on your comments to the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Bloom Stays

Not for us - beware the toilet is in one of the bedrooms

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Firstly, the good points which are the location, the kitchen (which is well equipped), the views and the ability to walk out on the pebbly beach.
Now for the not so good points
- The biggest issue is that the only toilet is IN the second bedroom. There is a curtain you can draw across but there is no extractor or door and even the window by the toilet has no blind and is clear glass so you can be watched from outside while you do your business. Not really acceptable and meant our grown up children who were coming to stay in that room decided not to come in the end. That bedroom also contains the bath and shower (via hose) and is also screened by the same curtain as the toilet - if you have any form of restricted movement you will find it a challenge to get in and out of the bath given the layout.
- There isn't a comfortable seat in the house. The main viewing area there a bench with a home made? cushion on it that is so so uncomfortable - there are two other chairs but they are all so low you have to sit bolt upright to just about see out of the windows for the view you have presumably come to see. The kitchen seats and benches are no better. Maybe a place for the summer when you can sit outside but would suggest you bring your own seats/chairs.
- The double glazing units in one of the patio doors and one of the picture windows on the 3rd floor are blown and full of condensation - given the high end price tag this isn't really ideal as it limits the view unless you don't mind looking through "fog"
- The info pack could do with updating as some of it is no longer correct
- And a TV would also be a good idea for the longer winter evenings – we couldn't work out how to use the Mac so listened to the radio we brought with us
- It is noisy if the wind is above 15 mph – if the gaps in and around the doors and windows were filled this would help make it quieter so sleep wasn’t disturbed.
I imagine in summer when you can make full use of the outside it could be an amazing place to stay but unless you are very very close or uninhibited with the people you are staying with its really only a property for couples not 5 people.




Bloom Stays replied 261 days ago
Thank you Andrew for your review, and we are very sorry to hear that Coastguard Lookout did not suit you and your group. We have taken your points into consideration and will be discussing these with the owners. We hope that you will return and stay at one of our other beautiful homes soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays

Fantastic getaway in a shingle wilderness

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Went down immediately after the stormy weekend of Eunice and Franklin which had cut the power. Communication with the team was great and they were understanding and flexible had we not wanted to go until power was definitely restored . However decided to go anyway and hope power was reconnected by the time we got there, which it was. The lookout is easily the best accommodation in Dungeness and has fantastic views and is nice and cosy (and we experienced some pretty wet and windy days!) and when the sun comes out the balconies are great to sit and watch the world, or lack of it go by. Ate lunch (family of 5 with 3 teenage children) at both Britannia and Pilot Inns which was good food reasonable priced (Burgers are better at the Britannia but Fish and chips great at both). Loo and bathroom a little 'quirky' for a family of 5 but certainly manageable. Day trips out are possible (Rye, listening ears even Ashford International is close to pick up a family member coming by train and of course Prospect Cottage) but we wanted to just get away and have a break which we certainly did. Will look to book again next time with hopefully a little less storm trauma.



Bloom Stays replied 276 days ago
Thank you Louise for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard Lookout and exploring the surrounding area. It sounds like you made the best of storm Eunice and Franklin and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays.

Just wow

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay out the Coastguard Lookout and really didn’t want it to end. The location is amazing and the building itself is very unique. As soon as we walked in we were just in awe of the interior design and the views from every window. The kitchen utensils and appliances were all of a very high standard and made cooking a joy. Plenty of different areas to sit and enjoy a cup of tea/glass of wine whilst admiring the views. We were really lucky and had some amazing sunsets to watch from the top balcony.
The bedrooms are cosy and you do need to be comfortable with who you are staying with (we were two couples) as the bath and toilet are in one of the bedrooms, only separated by a rail curtain.
We had a range of weather during our stay from sun to rain and strong winds all of which we thoroughly enjoyed as they created different atmospheres and light. We would love to stay again!




Bloom Stays replied 298 days ago
Thank you Jamie for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays.

A wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most wonderful isolated location on the unique estate of Dungeness. The property is very well equipped and comfortable with exception of the beds. The four floors can be a little confusing at first but all part of the fun and the two balconies give a great 360 degree view and a space to soak up the sun or blow the cobwebs away in the wind. Even in December the place was toasty warm with comfy seating and a log burner. No doors mean the 2 bedrooms are fairly open but a clever curtain system isolates the bathroom. The one big disappointment was the mattresses which have definitely seen better days and despite toppers could do with replacing as they made for uncomfortable sleep.
I would definitely recommend the beauty of this unusual venue when the mattresses are changed.




Bloom Stays replied 338 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable. A mattress topper has since been added for further comfort.

Unique Dungeness

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wanting to spend a milestone birthday somewhere different, we chose Dungeness in January!
Covid however prevented this and a subsequent re-booking for March was also affected, eventually we got there in September.
We booked the Coastguard lookout and expecting something unusual we were not disappointed. The impression this building makes on entering is a ‘wow’. Exploring all floors with the views, the tasteful and elegant design is so right for the building, we liked it so much that we wanted to re-book but sadly for next January it was already reserved. However, we did manage to book the Fog Warning station next door…can’t wait.
P.S. dogs liked it too.
Just one thing, remember all your provisions, there is no shop and the nearest is a drive away! Fortunately, we did.





Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes Bloom Stays

Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a perfect location for a post-lockdown holiday - we loved it. Thank you.


For BLOOM - one of the small fridges kept turning itself off... think it needs replacing. Also, the mattress on the top floor has springs that you can feel when you sleep on it, one of them left a scratch on me...... It's very old and honestly, I think it needs replacing. Aside from this, the coastguard look out is a unique and wonderful space and we feel lucky to have had the chance to stay there. Thank you so much




Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your valued feedback. A mattress topper has since been provided for added comfort and the fridge issue repaired. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future.

Short break - new location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 4 (2 17 year olds) and booked 4 nights. Hadn't been to the area and the property was very quirky/interesting and the location was very unusual. Area didn't disappoint, you really are at the end of the road - but its a schlep to come and go as a result. Views fantastic - including the power station. Migrants arrived while we were there, so very newsworthy! Comfort is so-so -i.e. top bed small and not comfortable, the bath/shower/loo area doesn't really work - it is as described, but its poorly designed, could be much better and more personal. Go for a couple of nights if you are a couple and/or have younger kids (not too young - the stairs are plentiful for obvious reasons) and enjoy the peace/sense of otherness.



Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard Lookout. We have not had any comment before in relation to the mattresses, so these have been passed to the owners who will be inspecting. We hope you can stay again in the future.

Lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time here perfect place to get away to have family time and peace. What a view to wake up too .We will definitely be returning one day.



Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to you returning in the future.

Great views but poorly maintained property, it’s definitely not worth the money being charged.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The selling point for this property were the fabulous views in a costal location. However, due to maintenance issues our stay was extremely disappointing. Initially, we had internet problems which the owner resolved. The kitchen has two small fridges with an ice box. Both door drawers were damaged to the extent that one could not be used, one had not been cleaned and the ice boxes needed defrosting. The bathroom had missing tiles and a leaking tap. The bedroom had a blackout blind, but it has a large scratch which lets in the light and the corner was becoming unravelled. The welcome pack could do with updating, the WiFi information is not correct. Plus, there is no mention that when it rains, there is a possibility that the water comes in under the 2nd floor balcony door, my walking boots and suitcase got rather damp! The Owner is aware of all of these points, I sent photos and video clips. There is no excuse for the property not to be fixed and other guests to have a better stay.



Bloom Stays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. As discussed after your stay we are very sorry for the issues experienced during your stay, and hope the Champagne and financial compensation given went some way to offer our apologies. All issues have now been addressed by the owner. Coastguard Lookout has been a holiday home for many years and guests enjoy the wonderful position and unique accommodation on offer, and we appreciate it was unfortunate on this occasion there were some small issues. To note: Coastguard Lookout is an old building and though built to the Coastguard Agency Standards, it sits in a very extreme and exposed position on the beach, which is one of its virtues, but also exposes it in storms to water ingress no matter what construction details are used. Both doors on the North East elevation utilise a storm section profile and water bars at ground level but in extreme north easterly storms water can penetrate these precautions. Staircase wires - the expansion bolt used by the contractor would not penetrate further and therefore projects from the wall. It is not coming loose.