FB Twitter

Stalker's Lodge

Stalker's Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Stalker's Lodge is a new architect designed holiday house, featuring a fabulous glass-fronted extension with glorious views across the rolling fields and glen.

Lovely peaceful location, spacious modern house, comfy beds, and delicious food. We will be back!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful location with stunning views across the valley. It feels so remote, yet is actually only about 20 minutes from Pitlochry and 2 hours from Glasgow or Edinburgh. The house itself is spacious and warm, with modern fittings throughout. The extension on the side with a huge glass sliding door looking across the valley, and a wood burner to keep you toasty was a particular favourite. That also meant that the kids could have the sitting/dining room to themselves to play while the adults commandeered the extension!

We requested the home cooked meals for a couple of nights (additional option, not included) and the food was both generous and very tasty. They were also able to do them gluten free which was great! Would definitely recommend the venison stew and the crumble!

The estate itself is also lovely, with lots of nooks and crannies to walk around and find; and getting to meet the rescue donkeys and the pet sheep was a highlight for the kids. For those wanting to stretch their legs a bit further there are a couple of decent walks in the immediate area, and lots of great places only a short drive away.

The only downside I can think of is the broadband is only 1 Mb/s, which they clearly say and is entirely reasonable for the location (and better than some other places we have stayed in similar locations). It was perfectly fine for general web surfing etc. It was a little frustrating when it turned out that both the Netflix and Disney + apps do let you download content in advance, but don't let you cast the pre-downloaded content to a TV (only play it back on your phone/iPad) and instead want to stream it over the (too slow) internet. Mostly Apple/Netflix/Disney's fault, and we worked around it anyway, so not a huge issue.

Overall it was a great place to stay, and we have already booked to go again next year!

Highlight: the epic view across the valley on the final morning as the sun came up, highlighting the rolling fields and hills while a fantastical mist still clung the forests and valleys. It was truly breathtaking and wouldn't have been out of place in a Lord of the Rings movie.




A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The journey on the A924 is spectacular in itself and when you get to the cottages you find beautiful, well equipped and immaculately clean. We received a charming welcome gift for Lucy (the owner) and the personal touch is apparent all the way through. There’s a few things to do at the property including kayaking on the estate lake, pool and table tennis in the games hut and walks for the outdoor enthusiast. We signed up for one of the picnics and weren’t disappointed - required after the hour walk to get there.

Can’t recommend enough. The team do a great job and have a beautiful setting and stunning property to go with it.




A fantastic week in July

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week with our dog, and our friends joined us for a long weekend. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here - beautifully modern and clean accommodation in such an idilic setting. Greeted instantly by the locals; red squirrels and great spotted woodpeckers amongst others on the bird feeders. We’ve stayed on the estate before, and our second visit didn't disappoint. The Millennium Wood is an ideal setting to let our dog run loose as its deer fenced with beautiful paths and planting. Swimming in the loch with our friends on one of the hottest days of the year was a highlight. We got a Tesco home delivery which was easy and super convenient, and we had also pre ordered food cooked by Penny (accommodation manager) which i would also recommend. What a treat!
The estate is beautiful, as i mentioned - we have visited twice now and still haven’t explored it all!! Great location for hill walking, cycling and visiting Pitlochry etc.




Stalkers Lodge - lovely location and

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, Stalkers Lodge is of very high standard and within beautiful estate and gardens, food was superb and would recommend both the Ox Cheek wellington and the picnic excursion. We had a lovely time and would definetly recommend Straloch.



Best house in highlands gateway.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Stalkers house at Straloch and we had a wonderful stay. The house is perfect for vacation stays and our hosts were wonderful. Louise and Penny have a wonderful way of being always present but never in sight. The real value is the setting. This is a true Scottish estate with wonderful views on a working sheep farm. The views are wonderful and the location is perfect for day tripping to the best of the highlands. We visited Glen Coe, Sant Andrews, Edinburgh, and the great places near Pitlochry and Aberfeldy. It is a magical place that can never be truly given full credit in words. It is truly one of the most wonderful places on earth.



A beautiful property

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property, on a beautiful estate. Very well equipped, warm, clean and comfortable and the little touches with the hamper and fresh eggs. We had poor weather but even that didn’t dampen the enthusiasm!



Another lovely stay at Straloch

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location and Stalkers Lodge is perfect. Walks straight from the house and the surrounding countryside is stunning. Our third time at Straloch. We’ve had a lovely holiday each time and Lucy provides lots of useful information on local walks and places to eat. Thank you!



Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Straloch Lodge is a stunning house in a beautiful location. Warm and extremely well equipped it was a pleasure to stay here even during the inclement weather of a Scottish winter. The owners are friendly and very helpful - we look forward to returning again soon.



Lovely rural retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in Stalker's cottage. Very well equipped, and incredibly comfortable. The estate is lovely to walk around and it's very close to Pitlochry and walking in the Cairngorms.

Will and Lucy were incredibly accommodating given the challenges created by Storms Malik and Corrie.




Perfect start to the New Year

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week-long stay at Stalker's Lodge was the perfect start to 2022. We spent our days exploring the spectacular hills and glens before returning home to sample housekeeper Penny's delicious food. The house is both immaculate and luxurious, and equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We particularly enjoyed watching the wildlife, including red squirrels, from the glass fronted living room.



Quality Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Straloch, which is a very special place. The cottage is really good quality both in terms of construction and furnishing - comfy beds. The kitchen is very well stocked for those who like to cook. The kids loved having a campfire on the island, seeing the donkeys and rowing on the Loch - as well as the games room. We all enjoyed walking to the lunch hut and exploring millennium wood. I would definitely recommend a visit to Straloch.



An amazing find!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sometimes you come across holiday accommodation that is so fantastic you’re reluctant to share it! Straloch Estate is one of these places, to be honest it’s just perfect.

A beautiful estate, with luxury accommodation and fantastic customer service. Our kids were delighted with the chickens and donkeys (the adults were too)!

Thank you for such a perfect stay, we hope to be back soon!




Another amazing stay at Straloch

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time that we’ve stayed in Stalker’s lodge with our three children and once again it was perfect. Spotlessly clean, very well
equipped and extremely comfortable. We had a brilliant few days and we (and the kids!) are looking forward to our next visit already.




Best Air B&B !

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definitely the best air b&b we have stayed!! Beautiful location and the house is furnished to a very high standard. House has everything you would need. Lots of space for families to spread out. My toddler and dog enjoyed exploring the grounds and seeing the donkeys! Can’t wait to come back next year!!



Best holiday home by far

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed at Stratocaster for five years running. Accommodation is of the highest quality - always presented in immaculate condition and really well equipped. There’s the option to have homemade food dropped off at the home. I’d highly recommend the pulled pork option. You have amazing views to top off.



Lovely property!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one week in July 2021. Stalker’s Lodge is a lovely property with plenty of walks and trails from your front door. The eggs and home made scones were a nice welcome touch.



Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stalkers Lodge has literally everything you could ask for. It's set in beautiful Perthshire countryside with stunning views from every window. The lodge itself is immaculate and spacious and has everything you will ever need.

You could spend days in the lounge sitting watching woodpeckers and red squirrels on the bird feeders and sitting by the wood burning stove (with lots of wood provided).

We spent much more time at the lodge than we expected, walking to the witches stone, millennium wood (stunning), the high road walk, kayaking and playing pool and table tennis in the games room. You really didn't need to leave to go anywhere else. Pitlochry is a scenic 15 minutes drive away for groceries/restaurants and many more walks if you do venture out.

Our dog also had a fabulous time and dogs are well catered for here. Many of the walks are through pastureland so she had to spend some time on the lead but there are lots of places they can stretch their legs where sheep don't graze, especially millennium wood which is just stunning.

Lucy was a lovely host, nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter has a nut allergy so we didn't try any of the food options that are available but we'd have loved an afternoon tea on the island, the menu's looked great.




A perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place for a family holiday: the setting is magnificent, the accommodation is spacious, bright and beautifully decorated, and the facilities superb.

A highlight for us was the picnic in the lunch hut, amazing food in a wonderful setting.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 4 night stay, just wish it was for longer! House lovely and clean, well appointed furnishings.
Location stunning.
We enjoyed walks on the grounds and a swim in the Loch.




Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this property is super. A modern, superbly equipped property set in the most picturesque location imaginable. The views from every window are beautiful with the main lounge having huge windows looking down the glen and with one window just 6 feet from visiting birds and red squirrels.

You have freedom to roam the estate which we did as far as our energy would allow, providing lovely walks that were not too strenuous and also the loch which is a fantastic place for swimming and to make use of the canoes and rowing boat provided.

The added touches from Lucy Will and Penny providing the opportunity to have picnics or evening meals supplied is a lovely thoughtful touch for people who don't want to cook on holiday.

A wonderful place to stay, 2022 is booked already




Beautiful peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
If you need a place to get away from it all then this place is perfect. Homemade scones on arrival are a lovely unexpected extra. The loch is great fun, with kayaks and a boat available to use. We took SUP’s which the kids loved but not needed as there is lots to keep kids occupied. The kids absolutely love it there as do we :)



Very peaceful location

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a restful stay. Great outdoor space for families. There was no travel cot on the first night so that took abit of sorting out but all resolved for second night and the rest of our stay.



Can’t wait to return

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect stay for our family. Very high quality accommodation with lots of thoughtful extras and an extremely dog-friendly set up (enclosed garden, separate boot room for muddy paws etc). The estate itself is beautiful and we loved being able to take the kayaks and row boat onto the loch, visiting the hens in the Walled Garden and enjoying Penny’s wonderful home-cooked food deliveries. A special place.



A fantastic stay at Stalker's Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week in Stalker's Lodge in August 2020. The accommodation itself is of very high standard and is kitted out with pretty much anything you could need. It's in a brilliant, peaceful location with wonderful views of the surrounding landscape and local wildlife (inc. red squirrels and a variety of birds up close on the bird feeders). There's a variety of walks and things to see without leaving the estate itself and on top of that there's a games room (table tennis, pool, darts) and loch (inc. use of kayaks and a rowing boat) shared with the property next door.

To top it all off there's also the ability to have wonderfully prepared meals, cakes and picnics delivered to the property or, in the case of the latter, to somewhere on the estate (including a picnic hut up on the moorland).

We definitely hope to return.