FB Twitter

Keeper's Cottage

Keeper's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This charming 19th century cottage has been sympathetically renovated, combining original features and traditional Highland décor with contemporary elements, resulting in a cosy and exceptionally stylish holiday property.

Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family of three for a week. The cottage was beautiful and the location superb!
If you are after a quiet and restful break this is it! It helped us unwind and relax. Many beautiful drives, walks and tourist locations can be easily reached from here if you want to do and see more. Or you could just relax in the lovely cottage and the garden within a large estate.
Lucy was super helpful and everything was easy with the booking and the stay. Highly recommend




Summer stay at Straloch

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday in the beautiful surroundings. Accommodation had everything we needed.



Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best holiday at Straloch, it’s just so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing with nature all around. We didn’t want to leave and have all ready booked for 2 weeks next summer. The cottage was so cosy and clean with everything you would need. The garden was gorgeous with so much wildlife to watch and a lovely waterfall and stream running through it, along with childrens play equipment- our children loved going on the swings with a beautiful view. We loved all the walks on the estate, also going to see the chickens each morning to collect eggs and the absolute highlight, especially for the children, was the use of the kayaks on the loch. We also enjoyed having a campfire on the little island and toasting marshmallows- there is a fire area set up along with logs which was so useful. We could have spent the whole week just on the estate but there are lots of lovely places nearby to visit as well - we were spoilt for choice. We went for a lovely bike ride from the estate to the woods opposite which was lovely and easy for a family. We ordered some food from Penny and it was so delicious, we would definitely recommend. We met Lucy who was so lovely and recommended bike rides and walks to us. If you love being outdoors and nature then you will love this place, we cannot recommend it enough. Thankyou so much Lucy and Penny, we had an amazing holiday and can’t wait to come back. Xx



Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just spent a week at Keeper’s Cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house itself is wonderfully kitted out and exceptionally clean (and COVID safe). Every effort had been made to made to make us feel comfortable by Lucy and her team, with no expense spared. The setting on the Straloch Estate was magical, with lovely walks(maps and information provided), The Bothy games room, kayaking and rowing on the loch and wildlife on our doorstep. We plan to return.



A perfect weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay on this beautiful estate. Plenty of activities - will need to come back to enjoy the rest of the activities!! Added touches made the stay perfect. Can’t wait to book another visit.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Keeper's Cottage, Straloch. It is a really beautiful property in a stunning location and we are already looking forward to coming back.



A beautiful stay in stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper's Cottage is a beautiful, fantastically equipped house set in the stunning surroundings of the Straloch Estate. Both bedrooms are spacious and enjoy great views of the striking landscape. The large, open-plan ground floor, partially separated by a central staircase, provides an ideal mix of modern kitchen and cosy living room areas, with generous sofas arranged around well-stocked log burner.
The house is well set up for 4 guests, with plenty of space to cook, socialise and relax, whilst remaining together. The utility area leading from the back door is equipped with a washing machine, additional sink and airing cupboard, making it perfect for organising muddy boots, coats and dogs. Both bathrooms are kept sparklingly clean and fresh towels and locally made soaps and shampoos are provided. The first floor bathroom is particularly lovely, with both a shower and an antique bath.
The location is uniquely peaceful, set a scenic 10-15-minute drive from the sweet town of Pitlochry and the tidy, gated rear garden/parking makes it an ideal spot for dog-owners. The house is a perfect base for walks around both the estate and the South Cairngorms and the roads in each direction are quiet and picturesque.
Helpful booklets are provided with information about the house, the local area and nearby walks. These also include contact details for Lucy and the housekeeper, meaning that any questions can be answered quickly.
Generous, thoughtful touches on arrival made us feel very welcome.




Short stay in October

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Keepers Cottage for 3 nights, we were greeted on arrival with some delicious scones and a wee tipple of gin which was a very welcoming site after a 2 hour drive from Aberdeenshire. The cottage and location definitely surpassed our expectations. Our daughters loved the games room and kayaks which were a nice distraction from their usual hobby of looking at their mobile devices. The facilities were great, a nice modern kitchen, homely rooms, two showers and a fire place (with a good supply of wood). The info supplied on walks in the area were very helpful, I went on a walk with my eldest daughter to Bruachan Falls which is a short drive from the cottage and not too strenuous a walk. It was great having a place to take the dog (Millennium Wood) and let her off the lead and only a few minutes walk from the cottage. The shop in Kirkmichael is not too far away and well stocked with all the basics you would need and some lovely cakes. We met our host Lucy a couple of times who was very hospitable and helpful and we also had one of Penny's lasagnes which I would also recommend (pity we didn't try one of her cakes - hopefully next time). It's a beautiful setting, we'd love to go back and do a bit more exploration of the local area although it's a great place to just chill and watch the resident red squirrels.



Keepers Cottage is the most perfect getaway on the Straloch Estate!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keepers Cottage is the most perfect getaway on the Straloch Estate.
An excellently equipped, cosy cottage with open fires and endless hot water to relax in after walking through stunning scenery. Red squirrels can be seen every day as well as a wonderful array of birds and deer.
Your dog is more than welcome too: the cottage has a handy boot room and the estate is perfect for dog walks.
The welcome could not be warmer and Lucy is always on hand to answer questions.
If you want to have a break from cooking, Penny can provide beautiful home-cooked meals.
We loved our week-long stay at Straloch and will be coming back again and again.




Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliantly located cottage which we felt relaxed in as soon as we arrived. Well equipped, clean and comfortable



Fabulous rural escape

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our second trip to Straloch even more than our first. Wonderfully comfortable accommodation in the most beautiful surroundings. Numerous stunning walks on the doorstep. A place to enjoy a wild, remote and extraordinary place whilst enjoying the comfort of a cosy and stylish cottage, delicious home cooked meals and luxurious baths. A great opportunity to see rare wildlife and enjoy the outdoors. Plenty of fun things to do for kids too.



The perfect winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked more from Keeper's cottage, every detail has been considered and was the perfect place to spend with the family. The cottage is so well equipped and having been out in the snowy conditions for the day, it's great to come back to such a comfortable, warm and relaxing home. So much to explore and do in the area, what ever the time of year. We would love to come back one summer to enjoy the landscape, paddle on the loch and sit back and relax.