FB Twitter

Keeper's Cottage

Keeper's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


This charming 19th century cottage has been sympathetically renovated, combining original features and traditional Highland décor with contemporary elements, resulting in a cosy and exceptionally stylish holiday property.

Summer Family Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time at Straloch and look forward to returning. We are a family of 4 - 2 teenage boys - and the Keeper's Cottage was just perfect for our 10-day visit in mid-June. The kitchen was well outfitted for cooking, with a Co-op grocery store not far in Pitlochry that has everything you might need. The cottage is beautifully but simply decorated, it is perfectly charming. We appreciated the heavy curtains and blinds, as it was light from about 4:30am-10:30pm (which was fine, more time to be outdoors!). The sound of bleeding sheep, tweeting birds, and rustling leaves added to this wonderfully rural Perthsire experience.

Being on an estate allowed us to explore and hike (I think locally it's called walking, but with uphill routes, I'd call it hiking!) the property. There are some easy after-dinner type walks, but also longer, more challenging walks. The gardens are stunning, with all sorts of flowers blooming (the poppies were the side of dinner plates!). The hike to the lunch hut was a highlight, such beautiful views. Our hosts, Lucy, Will and Maggie were all so welcoming and helpful and there was loads of information in the cottage about walks, places to visit and also restaurants in the area.

We spent a few days exploring Perthshire with day trips to Braemar, Blairgowrie, Blair Atholl and Dunkeld. It is truly a beautiful part of the world and I would without hesitation recommend this cottage and Straloch. But don't book it up so fast we can't come back!




A perfect stay from start to finish

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Lucy and the team at Straloch for a wonderful stay. It was perfect from start to finish. The Straloch estate is simply stunning. Guests are welcome to explore and the detailed descriptions of the owners’ favourite walks make it very easy to do so. A stroll around the loch at sunset is a must! Keeper’s Cottage itself is spacious, comfortable and brilliantly equipped. The peace and quiet of the surroundings coupled with the supremely comfortable beds mean that a good night’s sleep is guaranteed! The cottage was also spotless. We were welcomed by homemade scones and a G&T hamper on arrival. It was also possible to order meals from Penny, the housekeeper, in advance. We would certainly recommend doing so - they were delicious. The garden is extensive and beautifully maintained. We loved sitting on the terrace in the garden listening to the little waterfall and watching the red squirrels and birds on the feeders. Straloch is in a brilliant position for exploring the area. Lucy provides a wealth of helpful information prior to your stay.
We are only sorry that it has taken us so long to discover Straloch. It was fabulous to get away from it all in such a beautiful setting. We will be planning a return visit as soon as possible!




Family time away from the world , absolutely a stunning place to rest and enjoy the beautiful view’s

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful cottage is within the most stunning setting , very clean and extremely comfortable everything thought of from homemade scones with a little G&T , what more can you ask for ?, crisp clean bed linen and basics provided from washing powder to washing up liquid well thought out .
Private garden to have a BBQ and enjoy watching the red squirrel that visited every day pinching the birds food cheeky ,
Some beautiful strolls through the Estate with no boundaries, a stunning loch to sit and admire the view or if your more energetic kayaks available to use and a shared games room between the two cottages of which our little grandson loved . We attended Blair Castle for the Highland games only 10 miles from the Estate wonderful day not to be missed .
Owners introduced themselves which was a lovely thing to do we are very impressed with everything and we will return as soon as we can .
Thank you Lucy for allowing us to share your magical place .




Another wonderful holiday at Keeper’s Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper’s Cottage, on the Straloch Estate is a wonderful property. The location is stunning and the house is beautiful. We hope to return for our third visit next year.



Where else would you want to stay?

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place. Our second visit and just about to book our next one. Haven't got one fault. Absolutely superb. Everything has been thought of. Don't miss out on a visit to this wonderful place.



Just go there.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice stay...........................................................................................................



Top marks all round

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, amazing location. Could not have asked for more. Definitely work the trip.
Thanks heaps!




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a good time at Keeper's Cottage and would love to stay again in the future. The cottage is so luxurious, warm and spacious, with an extremely well equipped kitchen. Everything is very high quality and well thought out. Even when it snowed, the access road to the estate was cleared for us to drive the car out. Couldn't recommend more - thank you so much for having us.



Gold star time

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper’s Cottage is superb in every way.
It is furnished beautifully and thoughtfully.
The kitchen is kitted out with everything one could possibly want.
The estate is a joy and one may walk pretty much anywhere allowing for stalking days on the hill.
Lucy could not possibly be more welcoming or helpful, nothing is left to chance here.
It is very easy to order delicious home made food from Penny who is also the housekeeper and lives on the estate.
We absolutely adored our week here and would strongly suggest that you try it, you won’t be disappointed !




A wonderful stay at Keeper's Cottage !

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage is very cosy and beautiful, adapted to modern people enjoying modern confort.
A pleasing countrylike style, nor cheap, nor 'kitch' with beautiful furniture and a a nice clean kitchen. The bathroom with antique bath but 'modern 'shower' !!!!!!excellent, second bathroom: excellent!! Heating and beds: perfect +++ The views are simply superb and the owners friendly and extremely helpful.An accomodation that matches in degree with the magnificent landscape!!!!

Nice stay, thank you
France , Cahors





Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family of three for a week. The cottage was beautiful and the location superb!
If you are after a quiet and restful break this is it! It helped us unwind and relax. Many beautiful drives, walks and tourist locations can be easily reached from here if you want to do and see more. Or you could just relax in the lovely cottage and the garden within a large estate.
Lucy was super helpful and everything was easy with the booking and the stay. Highly recommend




Summer stay at Straloch

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday in the beautiful surroundings. Accommodation had everything we needed.



Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best holiday at Straloch, it’s just so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing with nature all around. We didn’t want to leave and have all ready booked for 2 weeks next summer. The cottage was so cosy and clean with everything you would need. The garden was gorgeous with so much wildlife to watch and a lovely waterfall and stream running through it, along with childrens play equipment- our children loved going on the swings with a beautiful view. We loved all the walks on the estate, also going to see the chickens each morning to collect eggs and the absolute highlight, especially for the children, was the use of the kayaks on the loch. We also enjoyed having a campfire on the little island and toasting marshmallows- there is a fire area set up along with logs which was so useful. We could have spent the whole week just on the estate but there are lots of lovely places nearby to visit as well - we were spoilt for choice. We went for a lovely bike ride from the estate to the woods opposite which was lovely and easy for a family. We ordered some food from Penny and it was so delicious, we would definitely recommend. We met Lucy who was so lovely and recommended bike rides and walks to us. If you love being outdoors and nature then you will love this place, we cannot recommend it enough. Thankyou so much Lucy and Penny, we had an amazing holiday and can’t wait to come back. Xx



Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just spent a week at Keeper’s Cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house itself is wonderfully kitted out and exceptionally clean (and COVID safe). Every effort had been made to made to make us feel comfortable by Lucy and her team, with no expense spared. The setting on the Straloch Estate was magical, with lovely walks(maps and information provided), The Bothy games room, kayaking and rowing on the loch and wildlife on our doorstep. We plan to return.



A perfect weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay on this beautiful estate. Plenty of activities - will need to come back to enjoy the rest of the activities!! Added touches made the stay perfect. Can’t wait to book another visit.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Keeper's Cottage, Straloch. It is a really beautiful property in a stunning location and we are already looking forward to coming back.



A beautiful stay in stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper's Cottage is a beautiful, fantastically equipped house set in the stunning surroundings of the Straloch Estate. Both bedrooms are spacious and enjoy great views of the striking landscape. The large, open-plan ground floor, partially separated by a central staircase, provides an ideal mix of modern kitchen and cosy living room areas, with generous sofas arranged around well-stocked log burner.
The house is well set up for 4 guests, with plenty of space to cook, socialise and relax, whilst remaining together. The utility area leading from the back door is equipped with a washing machine, additional sink and airing cupboard, making it perfect for organising muddy boots, coats and dogs. Both bathrooms are kept sparklingly clean and fresh towels and locally made soaps and shampoos are provided. The first floor bathroom is particularly lovely, with both a shower and an antique bath.
The location is uniquely peaceful, set a scenic 10-15-minute drive from the sweet town of Pitlochry and the tidy, gated rear garden/parking makes it an ideal spot for dog-owners. The house is a perfect base for walks around both the estate and the South Cairngorms and the roads in each direction are quiet and picturesque.
Helpful booklets are provided with information about the house, the local area and nearby walks. These also include contact details for Lucy and the housekeeper, meaning that any questions can be answered quickly.
Generous, thoughtful touches on arrival made us feel very welcome.




Short stay in October

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Keepers Cottage for 3 nights, we were greeted on arrival with some delicious scones and a wee tipple of gin which was a very welcoming site after a 2 hour drive from Aberdeenshire. The cottage and location definitely surpassed our expectations. Our daughters loved the games room and kayaks which were a nice distraction from their usual hobby of looking at their mobile devices. The facilities were great, a nice modern kitchen, homely rooms, two showers and a fire place (with a good supply of wood). The info supplied on walks in the area were very helpful, I went on a walk with my eldest daughter to Bruachan Falls which is a short drive from the cottage and not too strenuous a walk. It was great having a place to take the dog (Millennium Wood) and let her off the lead and only a few minutes walk from the cottage. The shop in Kirkmichael is not too far away and well stocked with all the basics you would need and some lovely cakes. We met our host Lucy a couple of times who was very hospitable and helpful and we also had one of Penny's lasagnes which I would also recommend (pity we didn't try one of her cakes - hopefully next time). It's a beautiful setting, we'd love to go back and do a bit more exploration of the local area although it's a great place to just chill and watch the resident red squirrels.



Keepers Cottage is the most perfect getaway on the Straloch Estate!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keepers Cottage is the most perfect getaway on the Straloch Estate.
An excellently equipped, cosy cottage with open fires and endless hot water to relax in after walking through stunning scenery. Red squirrels can be seen every day as well as a wonderful array of birds and deer.
Your dog is more than welcome too: the cottage has a handy boot room and the estate is perfect for dog walks.
The welcome could not be warmer and Lucy is always on hand to answer questions.
If you want to have a break from cooking, Penny can provide beautiful home-cooked meals.
We loved our week-long stay at Straloch and will be coming back again and again.




Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliantly located cottage which we felt relaxed in as soon as we arrived. Well equipped, clean and comfortable



Fabulous rural escape

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our second trip to Straloch even more than our first. Wonderfully comfortable accommodation in the most beautiful surroundings. Numerous stunning walks on the doorstep. A place to enjoy a wild, remote and extraordinary place whilst enjoying the comfort of a cosy and stylish cottage, delicious home cooked meals and luxurious baths. A great opportunity to see rare wildlife and enjoy the outdoors. Plenty of fun things to do for kids too.



The perfect winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked more from Keeper's cottage, every detail has been considered and was the perfect place to spend with the family. The cottage is so well equipped and having been out in the snowy conditions for the day, it's great to come back to such a comfortable, warm and relaxing home. So much to explore and do in the area, what ever the time of year. We would love to come back one summer to enjoy the landscape, paddle on the loch and sit back and relax.