FB Twitter

118 High Street

118 High Street

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


118 High Street is a traditional townhouse situated in the historic conservation area of the delightful harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Full of character with high quality furnishings, interiors and a private enclosed garden, this is the perfect base to relax after days spent exploring the coast, towns, villages and beautiful countryside of Galloway, South-West Scotland.

Delightful stay enhanced by lovely weather

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time at 118 High street. The location is excellent and the garden truly private and secure. If any of your party have allergy issues be aware that the bedding is goose feather and down: not ideal in a letting property but Donald went above and beyond to procure a hypoallergenic duvet for us. He was extremely helpful.



Donald replied 38 days ago
Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay and for also giving us the opportunity to help out in regards to the allergies in your party. We are so pleased that you have had such a positive experience and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Winter break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accommodation for our family get together.
Warm. Plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds. Parking outside. Central location. Easy booking system.




Donald replied 122 days ago
Hello Susan, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We feel 118 is perfect for that family get together and Kirkcudbright and the surrounding area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic family get together and enjoyable visit to Kirkcudbright at 118 High Street.
Donald provided great support for the couple of questions that we had.
118 High Street is in a great location. The property itself is spacious and well decorated. Very comfortable and well equipped throughout. The welcome pack and Christmas decorations were added bonuses - the Highland Ginny Janny’s Sloe Gin was delicious. We’ll be back.




Donald replied 157 days ago
Hello Willie, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review of your recent stay. We are so lucky to have such wonderful surroundings and our area has a lot to offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Excellent house for families and friends

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with family and friends. The house is lovely with plenty of space for everyone. We especially enjoyed the log fire which made the conservatory useable in winter. We know the area well and visit often, lots of interesting independent shops and lovely walks. The booking process and arrival instructions worked smoothly and the owner was very helpful and friendly in our communications.



Donald replied 157 days ago
Hello Jenny, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at 118 High Street. We are so lucky to have such wonderful establishments so close by and our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in very central location. The home suited our three generational visit and we would highly recommend to anyone seeking to stay in Kirkcudbright.



Donald replied 262 days ago
Hello Nigel, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. 118 High Street is perfect for a family or friends gathering and our area has a lot to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you all back in the future.

Great family space

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at 118, it was a great space for our small family reunion. Our favourite thing to do was to sit in the garden or in the conservatory when slightly chillier and enjoy the sunshine. A great space and would definitely recommend.



Donald replied 269 days ago
Hello Pauline, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. We feel 118 High Street is a perfect size for any gathering whether it be family or friends and our area has a lot to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

It's a lovely property and suited us down to the ground. Great location with easy parking.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the High Street. Really well-appointed property, without being too many things in it for a family of 6 aged 7+ to break! There were lots of things to do in the area without having to drive too far; cycling, great beaches, family attractions etc. Kirkcudbright has great shops and cafes. The area is very scenic and less busy than other parts of Scotland which was a big attraction.



Donald replied 318 days ago
Hello Patrick, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have such a positive experience. Our area has so much to offer our guests and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Very convenient cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our holiday at 118. Very spacious and comfortable. A good position for exploring. A nice town with plenty of independent shops, good walks and eating places



Donald replied 360 days ago
Hello Gail, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We are very lucky to have such good establishments so close by. Our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely house

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were only three of us and a small dog so we felt very happy with all the space. The house is well equipped for many more people with a good sized dining table and plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and the conservatory (which has a very efficient wood burner). The bedrooms and the bathrooms are of a high standard and the garden is spacious for sitting out. It’s an easy walk into the heart of Kirkcudbright and all its shops and eateries. There are lots of wonderful beaches, especially Sandyhills, Mersehead and Rockcliffe not too far away. We ate well at The Garret, right next door, and also at the Ship Inn in Gatehouse of Fleet - both of which allow dogs in.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Carole, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your recent stay. We are very lucky to be surrounded by such great establishments and many of the local attractions are only a short drive away. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Quirky

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable quirky house very close to the town centre. The playroom was great for the grandchildren.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Shona, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review of your recent stay. We work hard to make our guests experience a positive one. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Our stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was amazing, like a tardis. Plenty of room for everyone and also enough bathrooms that meant we all weren't queuing in the mornings. Bedrooms were lovely and big and beds were very comfy. Kitchen was a great size and had everything we needed. Lovely big kitchen table that we played board games on each night. Conservatory was lovely in the morning sitting having a brew. It had a lovely log burner tho we never used that as we were mostly in the kitchen. Garden was great for the dog and there was an additional part of the garden that would be great in the summer and for kids. Location is great for walking and lots of placea nearby, if you want large towns then its a bit of a drive. People were very friendly and a pub next door, what's not to love. Would definitely stay again



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Angela, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We feel 118 is great for family and friends to get together and it is also a great base for exploring the region and all that it has to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Wonderful house with everything you could need!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous house to get away with friends to and what a friendly village and stunning beaches. Honestly couldn’t ask for more! Super super dog friendly too!

Thanks!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Louise, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are very lucky to have such wonderful surroundings with great establishments so close by. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

118 is a truly beautiful home...

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely spacious and incredibly well appointed. If you are looking for a family sized home in Kirkudbright I would look no further, absolute quality though out from the furniture to the all important beds and bedding only trumped by the excellent bathrooms. Owners and housekeeper absolutely first class.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Nick, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We work really hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Brilliant base for a weekend with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were all so impressed by this beautiful home in such a gorgeous location. Staying here before a wedding at GG’s Yard and it was the perfect place. Donald couldn’t have been more helpful before we arrived, booking us a cab to take to the wedding.

We made some very special memories and this place will always be dear to me because of it. Infact, we’re already planning a return visit next year!




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Steph, it was lovely to welcome you all to 118 High Street and we are so pleased you found the house to be a great base. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mother in laws 80th weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t recommend this place enough. My whole family loved it and all want to return. Plenty of space where the kids could play and the adults could get peace to chat. It was also very well equipped. Thank you so much from the Telfer family your property is beautiful and very comfortable and for our welcome pack.






Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jacqueline, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. 118 High Street is perfect for a family get together and there is so much to see and do in the area. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely Scottish break

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage ideal location with beautiful walks.
Cottage has everything you need for a relaxing holiday
Plenty of parking in the street
Only negative comment is not enough seating in the conservatory for 8 people or in the front room if you all want to sit in the same room




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Joanne, thanks for your kind comments and we appreciate your feedback regarding the seating arrangements in the conservatory. We can't improve as a business unless we get your comments. We will discuss this and look to add some extra seating for the future. Hopefully we can welcome you back.

Smashing cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage. It was ideal for two families and we had plenty of space to spread out. The sleepy little town was ideal too. Plenty of places to explore in the close vicinity and we just needed more time! Thoroughly recommend!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Sarah, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have such a positive experience. The house is ideal for family or friends getting together as it has so much space. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Our second time and another Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rebooked having stayed here in 2021.

This house is in a great location in Kirkcudbright. Easy access to all the local services but more importantly, the house feels self contained and a great place to sit and relax.

Hope to visit again soon




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Lucinda, it was lovely to be able to welcome you back to Kirkcudbright. We really do feel 118 High Street is a great base for exploring the region and we have such great local establishments close by. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with 118 Higher Street for our stay in Kirkubright. The house is lovely and particularly well equipped. The beds were very comfortable with good quality bed linens and towels. We enjoyed the conservatory and the garden was much appreciated. Communication before our stay was excellent and an issue with the heating thermostat was dealt with very speedily.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Sally, many thanks for your lovely review. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are so pleased that your stay was a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this house is excellent. Easy parking, shops nearby, and even a bar next door!
The house is quirky in its layout, but for a short break, that is not really a problem.
The kitchen was well equipped.
We loved the basket of goodies, which was a nice welcome gift.
The beds were comfortable, and had good quality bedding on them.

We were lucky with the weather, and so enjoyed the cosy conservatory in the afternoons, but we also put on the wood burner in the cooler evenings. That was a real treat.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Carol, many thanks for leaving us such a positive review. We are very lucky to have such good establishments so close by and being centrally located is a great bonus.

Wonderful family holiday retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Everything that you could think of was provided. Very clear information before arriving and lovely welcome. The cottage is in a fabulous location. I thought we would spend more time travelling about but Kirkcudbright proved to have a wealth of entertainment on its doorstep.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Rosemary, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very lucky to have such amazing places and establishments on our doorstep. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was amazing
So spacious, really can’t fault the accommodation at all
The only things I would say is the sofa in the lounge is not very comfortable and the stripping of all the beds on departure was a little bit of an inconvenience.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Richard, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. This is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas with us. Thank you also for the points that you made. As regards the sofa, I will certainly look at this. As regards the linen, we have also asked our guests to strip the beds. In our experience most self catering cottages in our area ask for this also. Especially in Covid times this was one of the protocols that we had to adhere to as we needed to limit the contact points for our housekeeping team. I understand your point and thanks again for bringing it to our attention. Hopefully we will see you again and Happy New Year and best wishes from 118 High Street for 2022.

Great house for getting together

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend with all the family and the house was perfect for our needs. Some lovely touches in every room and a thoughtful basket of goodies on arrival. I absolutely love the area, lots to see and do. Can't wait to return!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Fiona, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. There is so much to see and do in the area and we have such lovely establishments close by. It is great your visit was a positive one and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious house that we found to be spotlessly clean. Once we worked out how the heating worked, it was always warm and cozy. Clearly, some work has been completed to upgrade this property. It would really benefit from the second bathroom being upgraded to the same standard as the main bathroom.
As this house is very old it has low ceilings with little nooks and cranny’s adding to the delightful character and is in the middle of Kirkcudbright, so everything is only a couple of minutes walk away.
Log burner in the conservatory was fantastic, but without it the room can be very cold, not a problem in the summer month. But as it was October it did feel chilly at times
Having said that these are all small points, this is a great house in a fantastic location and Donald was very helpful during our stay




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello David, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments. 118 High Street is a great base for exploring the local town and all the good establishments close by. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a very comfortable stay at 118 High Street, Kirkcudbright. A lovely property, in a great location. We have also been very well supported by Barbour Coastal Retreats from booking to checking out.
Thank you.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Heather, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one. 118 is perfectly positioned to all the local establishments. Our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A fantastic stay in Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all loved the house, the garden and the central location. The amenities were amazing, the kitchen had everything you could possibly need. There was enough space in the lounge to do my exercises and the conservatory was a great place to gather for morning coffee and an evening aperitif, making the most of the light that Kirkcudbright is famous for.
The only negative about the whole week is having to travel on a Friday, a Saturday or Sunday start and end to the week would help with busy motorways.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Julie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at 118 High Street. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are really pleased you have had a positive experience. With regards to the travelling on a Friday, it is mainly down to staff and the fact that it suits our short break system Fri-Mon and Mon-Fri. We understand that it doesn't suit everybody and we could be, if required more flexible in off peak times. We hope this explains the reasoning behind the current arrangements.

A great property

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was immaculate when we arrived and extremely well equipped. We were all very comfortable in our 4 double rooms. The house fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and all in excellent order. We cooked in the house a few nights and there were enough large casseroles / dishes and equipment for 6 of us and we had everything we needed. It is decorated with a traditional seaside theme which was lovely and added to feel of "being at the seaside" . Parking is unrestricted but even when Kirkcudbright is busy, you usually can park outside 118. If there is not space in the High Street, there was ample space in the next street which is only a matter of yards away. The welcome information pack from Barbour Coastal Retreats was detailed and really useful and we found it a great help in planning days out. The house has folders full of information for days out, local take away's and things to do. A super touch was the welcome basket with biscuits, oatcakes (all local) and a bottle of "pop"...a lovely extra to arrive to. Due to COVID not everything in the surrounding area was 100% open, however it will all be soon. We had a fabulous week. In particular, we would recommend the Selkirk Arms for wonderful dinner (best book ahead as they are popular), the Alpaca Trekking at www.senwickalpacas.co.uk and take the time to contact Fleet Fish to buy some tremendous sea food. I would have no hesitation in booking again.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Lorna, thanks so much for your recent review. We are so lucky to be surrounded by such good establishments close by and our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely comfortable house in an interesting and friendly town

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious but cosy house with comfortable beds, lovely bedding and towels. Sunny terrace and large well equipped kitchen. Centrally located in a fun and interesting town with very friendly locals. Great base to explore the area - beaches, walks, cycling, dining out. Highly recommended.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jennie, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. It is great we are so centrally located so all local attractions and activities are only a short drive or cycle away. Our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Week stay @ 118 High St, July 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is renovated to a very high standard. Spacious for two families and well maintained garden and outdoor seating area. Kirkcudbright is a beautiful coastal town that is central for numerous beaches and activities such as Loch Ken and Loch Hill riding. Highly recommend the cottage and Kirkcudbright makes for a fantastic family holiday. Will definitely be back.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Ian, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We feel 118 High Street is a great base for exploring the region as our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely house and garden

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Kirkcudbright. The house is very spacious and has a lovely sunroom and garden area to the back. The house is well appointed and has everything we needed for our stay. A bbq would be a great addition to the garden!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Madelaine, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.