FB Twitter

118 High Street

118 High Street

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


118 High Street is a traditional townhouse situated in the historic conservation area of the delightful harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Full of character with high quality furnishings, interiors and a private enclosed garden, this is the perfect base to relax after days spent exploring the coast, towns, villages and beautiful countryside of Galloway, South-West Scotland.

Great house for getting together

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend with all the family and the house was perfect for our needs. Some lovely touches in every room and a thoughtful basket of goodies on arrival. I absolutely love the area, lots to see and do. Can't wait to return!



Donald replied 4 days ago
Hello Fiona, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. There is so much to see and do in the area and we have such lovely establishments close by. It is great your visit was a positive one and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious house that we found to be spotlessly clean. Once we worked out how the heating worked, it was always warm and cozy. Clearly, some work has been completed to upgrade this property. It would really benefit from the second bathroom being upgraded to the same standard as the main bathroom.
As this house is very old it has low ceilings with little nooks and cranny’s adding to the delightful character and is in the middle of Kirkcudbright, so everything is only a couple of minutes walk away.
Log burner in the conservatory was fantastic, but without it the room can be very cold, not a problem in the summer month. But as it was October it did feel chilly at times
Having said that these are all small points, this is a great house in a fantastic location and Donald was very helpful during our stay




Donald replied 19 days ago
Hello David, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments. 118 High Street is a great base for exploring the local town and all the good establishments close by. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a very comfortable stay at 118 High Street, Kirkcudbright. A lovely property, in a great location. We have also been very well supported by Barbour Coastal Retreats from booking to checking out.
Thank you.




Donald replied 45 days ago
Hello Heather, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one. 118 is perfectly positioned to all the local establishments. Our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

A fantastic stay in Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all loved the house, the garden and the central location. The amenities were amazing, the kitchen had everything you could possibly need. There was enough space in the lounge to do my exercises and the conservatory was a great place to gather for morning coffee and an evening aperitif, making the most of the light that Kirkcudbright is famous for.
The only negative about the whole week is having to travel on a Friday, a Saturday or Sunday start and end to the week would help with busy motorways.




Donald replied 73 days ago
Hello Julie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at 118 High Street. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are really pleased you have had a positive experience. With regards to the travelling on a Friday, it is mainly down to staff and the fact that it suits our short break system Fri-Mon and Mon-Fri. We understand that it doesn't suit everybody and we could be, if required more flexible in off peak times. We hope this explains the reasoning behind the current arrangements.

A great property

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was immaculate when we arrived and extremely well equipped. We were all very comfortable in our 4 double rooms. The house fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and all in excellent order. We cooked in the house a few nights and there were enough large casseroles / dishes and equipment for 6 of us and we had everything we needed. It is decorated with a traditional seaside theme which was lovely and added to feel of "being at the seaside" . Parking is unrestricted but even when Kirkcudbright is busy, you usually can park outside 118. If there is not space in the High Street, there was ample space in the next street which is only a matter of yards away. The welcome information pack from Barbour Coastal Retreats was detailed and really useful and we found it a great help in planning days out. The house has folders full of information for days out, local take away's and things to do. A super touch was the welcome basket with biscuits, oatcakes (all local) and a bottle of "pop"...a lovely extra to arrive to. Due to COVID not everything in the surrounding area was 100% open, however it will all be soon. We had a fabulous week. In particular, we would recommend the Selkirk Arms for wonderful dinner (best book ahead as they are popular), the Alpaca Trekking at www.senwickalpacas.co.uk and take the time to contact Fleet Fish to buy some tremendous sea food. I would have no hesitation in booking again.



Donald replied 96 days ago
Hello Lorna, thanks so much for your recent review. We are so lucky to be surrounded by such good establishments close by and our area has so much to offer our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely comfortable house in an interesting and friendly town

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious but cosy house with comfortable beds, lovely bedding and towels. Sunny terrace and large well equipped kitchen. Centrally located in a fun and interesting town with very friendly locals. Great base to explore the area - beaches, walks, cycling, dining out. Highly recommended.



Donald replied 124 days ago
Hello Jennie, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at 118 High Street. It is great we are so centrally located so all local attractions and activities are only a short drive or cycle away. Our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Week stay @ 118 High St, July 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is renovated to a very high standard. Spacious for two families and well maintained garden and outdoor seating area. Kirkcudbright is a beautiful coastal town that is central for numerous beaches and activities such as Loch Ken and Loch Hill riding. Highly recommend the cottage and Kirkcudbright makes for a fantastic family holiday. Will definitely be back.



Donald replied 131 days ago
Hello Ian, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We feel 118 High Street is a great base for exploring the region as our area has so much to offer our visitors. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely house and garden

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Kirkcudbright. The house is very spacious and has a lovely sunroom and garden area to the back. The house is well appointed and has everything we needed for our stay. A bbq would be a great addition to the garden!



Donald replied 138 days ago
Hello Madelaine, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.