FB Twitter

The Munches Room

The Munches Room

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Munches Room was inspired by Munches House, the home of the Maxwells, Earls of Nithsdale, after the Jacobite defeat at Culloden. Munches House was a substantial Robert Adam style home. This room reflects the Adam style and connects the guests to the Jacobite history of Buittle Castle, the former home of the Maxwells. To commemorate the 850th Anniversary of Buittle, the current Baron of Buittle worked closely with renowned designer Charlotte Gaisford to choose the fittings and furnishings for this room to recreate the Adam splendor of Munches House, Munches House sadly burned down in the late 19th Century, and was replaced with a granite house, which bares the same name.

To be recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
V nice room, nice location, beautiful garden. Fantastic customer service. Private dining wonderful!!



Experience the dinner!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay - we wanted to see the castle in the summer. It’s a lovely place- a mixture of rustic and grandeur. River is beautiful, Rockcliffe beach is very near, gardens are lovely, fields around with belties, rooms so elegant.
Do not miss the chance to have dinner in the great hall. Food was stunning, and the surroundings are magical.




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely room in a truly wonderful location and a great breakfast, we would highly recommend and would hope to return one day



Exquisite room and property

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved our night here, our final night of a week travelling around Scotland. The decor is gorgeous, comfortable room, lovely breakfast (including best veggie haggis of my trip!) and beautiful grounds to wander around. I would have liked to have been offered more of a look around the castle, print room etc.



A repeat visit to this lovely property.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have had several stays at Buittle Castle and always have a wonderful experience. What makes it stand out is the excellent service from the owners and staff. An innovation this year is the tea and coffee making facilities in the room - so convenient. And the breakfasts are the best! A good choice, freshly cooked and delivered on time.



Perfection !!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect spot for a night away. A beautiful spot with really helpful staff. Highly recommend a walk by the river and star gazing in the hot tub. We will be back !!



A comfortable, fascinating and intriguing stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and intriguing surroundings. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. A big thank you to Angus and a fascinating tour of the house by James.



A very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this unusual and friendly B & B. Bed was comfortable and breakfast delicious. The dog was welcome. The gardens open for exploration and an interesting woodland and river stroll. A gateway into a wonderful part of Scotland. Would love to be able to visit again.



Wonderful!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay! The room was amazing, gorgeous decor, great surroundings and perfect host. Highly recommend!