FB Twitter

Urlay Nook

Urlay Nook

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful week in this delightful cottage. So homely and comfortable with everything you need. Lovely garden and views into the fields. It is an ideal location for so many lovely walks from the door. Situated in the delightful village of Askrigg with plenty of places to eat and a very welcoming place.

Gill from Nottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2021


our third visit and rest assured it won't be our last

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very roomy, spotlessly clean and idealy loacated for bus, pubs, places to eat and best of all there are loads of
walks of any length and difficulty. The owner Ken could not be more helpful and lives local should there be a problem, I should mention that we have not had one after three visitations.
The kitchen is is the best equipped we have ever come across at cottages we have stayed at all over the UK.!
I am going to dread pressing the YES button below because it will make it more difficult for me to get a booking.


Neil from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2021


A home from home...away from the crowds

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Urlay Nook is the first holiday cottage we have ever returned to, and we would not hesitate to keep coming back. It has such a homely feel, and yet has plenty of room (for the 3 of us). The alterations made due to Covid helped make us feel secure, as did the instructions on what to do with bedding, towels etc. on departure - clear and concise but also showing the lengths the owners were happy to go to in preparing the cottage for the next visitors.

The welcome pack was full of local goodies and the information pack extremely...informative! However, for us, the cherry on the cake was the enclosed booklet on local walks around Askrigg and the neighbouring villages. Planning where to walk the next day was quick and easy, driving was kept to a minimum and the descriptions of the walks were easy to follow and, for the most part, accurate.

The weather played its part too in what turned out to be another memorable week - we are already planning our next visit! Thank you.


Alison from Salisbury stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


A gem in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we booked this cottage we received 5 star service.

Communication prior to arrival was excellent, with lots of useful information to help us plan our stay. Ulray Nook was the perfect cottage for an escape from it all summer break. The cottage was well equipped, very generous in size, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome box with lots of Yorkshire treats was certainly welcomed after a long journey.

The location of the cottage was great - a small, friendly village with a lovely tea room, small shop and 3 pubs. Superb walks across the Dales from the doorstep, the booklet of suggested walks was well used!

Ulray Nook was definitely a lucky find - a gem in the Dales.




Nicky from Farnham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2021


Splendid location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for exploring this part of Wensleydale. A lovely bright garden for enjoying meals.
Very quiet at night.


Guest from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful week in a very comfortable cottage with everything we could need.. Lovely garden to relax in and enjoy breakfast every day. See you next year!

John from Newport Pagnell stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


Delightful!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time in this cottage & we were just as delighted with everything. It's so clean & all the amenities are top notch. It has oodles of character too with good views. Spoiled for choice with so many walks nearby & the pubs etc are excellent.
We love it....all!!


Louise from Ellon stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


The best cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Now you have found this site you need look no further. The cottage sets the standard to which all others should aspire. In addition it is a great location if you are looking to stay in the Dales.

Chris from Royal Wootton Bassett stayed at Urlay Nook for 14 nights in June 2021


Favourite Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great to be back on holiday in our favourite cottage in the Yorkshire Dales. Everything was perfect thank you Ken and Sue.

David from Stratford-upon-Avon stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in June 2021


Gorgeous property, amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in this cottage. Gorgeous garden and views. Spacious and spotless property with all equipment you would need. In a fabulous position for walks and local pubs. Fantastic welcome pack and booklet of walks provided; all very much appreciated and a special touch.

Helen from Leeds stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in June 2021


Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, great garden and view, and location. Small village with 3 pubs and plenty of walks. The cottage was perfectly equipped and the bedding was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend

Vanessa from Hampton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in May 2021


Just perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about our stay in Urlay Nook. It’s a beautiful cottage, a real home from home. It’s spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean, with plenty of reassuring Covid safe measures in place. It’s in a lovely spot in a lovely village and in an ideal location for exploring The Dales. The owners were really helpful and welcoming and the generous welcome pack was a real treat. We will have no hesitation in returning at some point and recommending this cottage to others

Carol from Tamworth stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in May 2021


Stay in Askrigg

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky to find this luxury cottage back in 2008. We have been back twice a year since then, it truly is a home from home in the heart of Yorkshire Dales. The cottage is cosy and warm and beautifully decorated and furnished. It has a lovely garden and field of sheep beyond. David & Pam West

David from Epping stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


Askrigg walks

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful holiday in a wonderful cottage with fabulous walks on tap - and as a bonus the weather was fine as well - thanks again

Clive from Chester stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in Urlay Nook in April. The house was in all ways even better than expected.
The cleaning was immaculate and the house contains everything anyone could want.The level of comfort was outstanding.
The position of the house was perfect with beautiful views over the hills . The garden was a suntrap and very well provided with tables and chairs to enjoy the excellent weather we had.
We also received an excellent welcome pack. Far better than we have had anywhere else
The owner was very efficient and helpful when we sought advice
All in all the best place we have ever stayed and we will definitely return.
In summing up; Brilliant


Christopher from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


Urlay Nook w/c Friday 18th September

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every respect once again. Treats from the Bake-well were very much enjoyed as was a relaxing lunchtime drink in The Crown on our last day. A much needed holiday after these mad last few months.

Bruce from Taunton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


A wonderful holiday in Ulay Nook Cottage Askrigg

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Ulay Nook. A good place to stay to explore the Dales. The cottage was very well appointed and had everything we needed plus when we arrived there was a welcome box which was great. The arrangements that had been made due to Covid 19 to ensure the safety of hosts and guests we could not fault. Ken and Sue have done a great job.


Christine from Bedford stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really delightful cottage in a lovely setting in the village of Askrigg. Extremely well equipped and comfortable furnishings throughout, beautiful private garden and outlook over the fields. Has own parking space which is a bonus in a village. A real haven for walking in this lovely area of Yorkshire with so many walks from the cottage.

Gill from Nottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


Spotless and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spotless and well appointed cottage in a beautiful Dales village with 3 good pubs and access to lovely walks. URL’s you’re Nook has a pretty garden overlooking a field and all the amenities we needed for a relaxing holiday

Cj from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Beautiful property in a great part of the world

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here - and even though the weather was mixed, we managed to get some decent activities in on every day. This is a great base for exploring the area and there is some great walking to be had.

The property was very clean and very well appointed, even though we had been told that some items had been removed owing to Covid-19 precautions. There was nothing that we wanted that wasn't there. We felt that every effort had been made for us to feel as safe as possible - and there was even a full refund policy in case of cancellation owing to Covid-19. Our welcome pack had been personalised for us, which was a nice touch - and just confirmed the general approach to keeping us shielded from any unnecessary potential contact with the virus.

We particularly liked the leaflet detailing a number of local walks - quite a few of which we managed. The route up to the falls in Askrigg (go past the church) is very pleasant and not too far. We also saw Aysgarth falls the day after a fair bit of rain and they were most impressive! From there is a nice circular route to Castle Bolton which we took. We also enjoyed a couple of different walks around Semer Water. The Roman Road from Bainbridge is well defined and easy enough to follow too.

The meal we had in the King's Arms was perfectly good without being exceptional. Some of the staff were struggling to adjust to the restrictions in place. I expect they'll get that sorted in time.

We loved sitting in the garden, listening to the stream gurgling past us as we enjoyed our pre-dinner snacks and drinks on most days of the week. A nice little sun trap looking out over the fields. Wonderful!


Cecilia from Cambridge stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Our week away

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for walking which is what we wanted. Some good routes starting from Askrigg.Local pub grub is good.

Kath from Grimsby stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Gorgeous stay in a lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location. Beautiful garden with south facing aspect. Generous box of Yorkshire gifts on arrival. A lovely cottage in a fab location. Faultless. Would book again in an instance.

Julie from Aylesbury stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a fantastic location and impeccable condition. Inside all of the rooms are comfortable and well appointed and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The garden is a delight to sit in and enjoy great views. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and had a restful week exploring The Dales. We would certainly recommend Urlay Nook.

Amanda from Yateley stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2020


Thank you for our lovely stay in Urlay Nook

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just wanted to say a personal thanks to Ken and Sue for our week in Urlay Nook Askrigg. We really appreciate the hard work you have both put in to make it "Covid Safe" and the personal support throughout the booking period during lockdown. The luxury of the property was second to none and the local goodies were a real treat. Having a garden to enjoy this time that was just outside the backdoor was lovely, we really enjoyed eating our delicious Ramsay's Fish and Chips in the garden.

Cliff from Milton Keynes stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2020


De-Luxe cottage in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to Urlay Nook Cottage and it is just as beautiful as the very first time we stayed there. Everything is top quality and I could never imagine anyone having a single reason to complain about anything at all. We rate it 5 star luxury and would give it 10 stars if that were possible. Beautiful cottage in a beautiful village.

Sandra from Longridge stayed at Urlay Nook for 4 nights in March 2020


A fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Askrigg on many occasions over the years this has been without doubt one of the most comfortable and well equipped cottages we have stayed it has to be said that most of the other cottages we have booked the years have been very good but Urlay Nook is exceptional.

Simon from Bristol stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in March 2020


Quality throughout

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Askrigg is a great location for visiting the Dales. Very well appointed cottage with quality evident throughout. Customer service was brilliant.....helpful and responsive when needed, friendly and welcoming......and indeed this was our experience everywhere we want. We had a great holiday. Thank you

Virginia from Huddersfield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in February 2020