FB Twitter

Urlay Nook

Urlay Nook

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Urlay Nook and another fabulous week in this lovely cosy and well equipped cottage. Just perfect.

Susan from Peterborough stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in November 2022


Lovely cottage, great location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and comfortable and worthy of it's 5 star rating. It is situated in the village of Askrigg which has 3 pubs, all serving great food. Lovely walks available directly from the cottage! Great location for exploring the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. We have stayed at Urlay Nook every year since 2009 and have booked again for next year, which says it all. One of the best!

Diane from Linlithgow stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in October 2022


Great cottage, great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed many times in Askrigg and Bainbridge but not for a few years. First time at Urlay Nook and will almost certainly return. Askrigg is my favourite village in the Dales with great pubs and now enhanced by a top class coffee shop/tea room. Urlay Nook is ideally situated and I would recommend to anybody. The only reason we would look elsewhere would be for a third bedroom. For character, comfort and location Orlay Nook cannot be beaten and the small patio garden overlooking the brook is a real gem. Superbly managed, every aspect was spot on.

John from Sleaford stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in October 2022


Lovely well equipped cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was the best we've ever stayed in. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything you would have at home so cooking a meal from scratch was easy to do. It's location was perfect with a beautiful outlook at the back of the cottage and easy access to many walks. The village of Askrigg has a village shop, lovely cafe and three pubs to eat at and supermarket deliveries are made to the cottage.
Although the cottage is on the main road through Askrigg it was very quiet when we stayed in September.


Wendy from North Nibley, Dursley stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2022


Another lovely holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 11th stay at Urlay Nook and we have already booked our 12th stay there for September 2023. This cottage is nothing short of excellent every time.

Bruce from Taunton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2022


Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd visit to Urlay Nook and hopefully not the last. It’s the perfect location for exploring the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Very comfortable and well equipped cottage with friendly and accommodating hosts. Thank you Ken and Sue.

Jenny from Redruth stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2022


Wonderful stay at Urlay Nook

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third year staying here in this beautiful cottage, everything you need and a lovely village. Just a joy to self cater in this lovely kitchen with everything you would ever want. A superb welcome pack too. We spent the week doing some fabulous walks from the cottage with spectacular views. Good eating places in the village and a great coffee shop and local shop too. Cannot recommend this property enough for its comfort and cleanliness and attention to detail. Thank you again Ken and Sue, we will be back.

Gill from Nottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2022


Fantastic break at Urlay Nook

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Askrigg - lots of beautiful walks right from the doorstep, enjoyed the lovely little garden - it was such a shame the beck had completely dried out due to the weather though! Thank you for a fantastic break.

Judy from London stayed at Urlay Nook for 14 nights in August 2022


Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a lovely stay at Urlay Nook. Everything is taken care of for comfort and safety. There is plenty of equipment for every need and the welcome pack superb. Thank you for good week.

John from Newport Pagnell stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2022


Urlay Nook - Dales Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a great village with a couple of shops for the essentials and three pubs. Urlay Nook is a very spacious property with a great south facing garden. We had a really enjoyable walking holiday using Urlay Nook as our base. The cottage provided all the things we needed for a great holiday break.

My only reservation was the bed, which for me was overly firm but others may find that fine. Be aware if you are booking Urlay Nook it has typical cottage stairs which are quite steep and narrow so may not be great if you have mobility problems.

All in all a great cottage in a great location.


John from Leeds stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in June 2022


Stay at Urlay Nook

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been many times, always excellent, have rebooked for next year. Food, beverage and hospitality at The Crown in Askrigg very good.

Shirley from Harlow stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in May 2022


A perfect stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Urlay Nook this Spring was perfect in every way like home from home . Comfy beds and a well equipped kitchen all spotlessly clean . Great communication and a very informative App with walks from the door and a lovely garden to enjoy the sunshine whilst watching the local wildlife, what’s not to love . The welcome basket was a lovely touch . Askrigg is full of friendly people eager to share what their area has to offer. Thank you Ken & Sue for a wonderful stay we will return.

Jane from Cheam stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2022


We had a great time in Urlay Nook, which is so luxerious.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I love the decor and fittings such as the dresser in the kitchen and the window cushions and the moving horse in the window on the landing.
A couple of minor points, you may need new batteries for the clock on the landing, and for both bathroom mirrors. Otger than that, the house and garden were beautuful.


Charlotte from Norwich stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2022


First class again

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here a few times and already booked for the autumn. We think it just doesn't get better than this!

John from Hull stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2022


Perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Urlay Nook is a beautiful property, extremely comfortable and well maintained; it made a good base for our walking holiday in Wensleydale.

Guest from London stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in March 2022


Relaxing break in the most comfortable of cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a relaxing spring break in this delightful village in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Shops and pubs were within a short walk of our property and many places of natural beauty a short walk or drive away. The cottage itself was the best we have discovered so far and cleanliness and comfort could not be faulted. The garden provided us with a sunny haven in which to enjoy an 'al fresco' breakfast every morning of our stay and the stream running nearby was the icing on the cake.

Karen from Edinburgh stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in March 2022


Great week away

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a home from home, unable to think of anything not provided, although it was early March we managed to sit in the lovely garden to enjoy watching the lambs in the field, we left the car all week, taking the little white bus when we wanted to explore along the dale and undertaking local walks from the doorstep. the information pack sent by the owners was one of the best we have come across for detail and advice (and we stay in a lot of self catering cottages) the village benefits from the pub and hotels the bakery does home made meals to reheat and the local shop is well stocked. Would most definitely return and hope to do so.

Charles from Cottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in March 2022


Wow

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned home after spending an amazing week at Urlay Nook. A beautiful cottage, set by a small beck, with a lovely garden and views of the beautiful countryside from all the windows. The cottage itself is spacious and has been furnished beautifully giving it a lovely warm and cosy feel and is equipped with everything you could possibly need for your holiday in Askrigg. Fabulous welcome pack which was very much appreciated. We had a wonderful week and can’t wait to return.

Susan from Peterborough stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in February 2022


Second time at Urlay Nook and returning next year.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Urlay Nook and we were very pleased to return. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The welcome pack was great to get with everything required.

Close to all amenities and lots of walks to go on. We had very good weather which was an added bonus and have booked up for next year which we are looking forward to.

Have stayed at several of Ken's cottages in the past and always very happy with everything as well as the personal touch which makes a huge difference.


Jessica from Bearsden, Glasgow stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in November 2021


This has been our second stay at Urlay Nook it’s the nicest cottage I’ve ever stayed in

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The finishing touches in this cottage are very tastefully done it’s comfortable and very well organised so you can keep things tidy

Melanie from Goole stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in October 2021


Askrigg cottage close to local pubs and walks

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with beautiful garden and little beck babbling the other side of the garden. Really, really clean and very well equipped in kitchen and with great WiFi and sky. We really enjoyed the proximity to local pubs and walks from the door. Lovely area of the Dales. You do need to be aware it is on the main road through the village and that traffic does seem to go a bit fast!

Guest from Norfolk stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in October 2021


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, well equipped place. You can tell that a lot of thought and effort has gone into creating and maintaining the property. The location is perfect for exploring the heart of Wensleydale. Swaledale is also only a short drive away. Highly recommended.

Elizabeth from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in October 2021


Urlay Nook excellent in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10th visit to this property and visit number 11 already booked for September next year. Highly recommended

Bruce from Taunton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2021


Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful week in this delightful cottage. So homely and comfortable with everything you need. Lovely garden and views into the fields. It is an ideal location for so many lovely walks from the door. Situated in the delightful village of Askrigg with plenty of places to eat and a very welcoming place.

Gill from Nottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2021


our third visit and rest assured it won't be our last

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very roomy, spotlessly clean and idealy loacated for bus, pubs, places to eat and best of all there are loads of
walks of any length and difficulty. The owner Ken could not be more helpful and lives local should there be a problem, I should mention that we have not had one after three visitations.
The kitchen is is the best equipped we have ever come across at cottages we have stayed at all over the UK.!
I am going to dread pressing the YES button below because it will make it more difficult for me to get a booking.


Neil from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2021


A home from home...away from the crowds

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Urlay Nook is the first holiday cottage we have ever returned to, and we would not hesitate to keep coming back. It has such a homely feel, and yet has plenty of room (for the 3 of us). The alterations made due to Covid helped make us feel secure, as did the instructions on what to do with bedding, towels etc. on departure - clear and concise but also showing the lengths the owners were happy to go to in preparing the cottage for the next visitors.

The welcome pack was full of local goodies and the information pack extremely...informative! However, for us, the cherry on the cake was the enclosed booklet on local walks around Askrigg and the neighbouring villages. Planning where to walk the next day was quick and easy, driving was kept to a minimum and the descriptions of the walks were easy to follow and, for the most part, accurate.

The weather played its part too in what turned out to be another memorable week - we are already planning our next visit! Thank you.


Alison from Salisbury stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


A gem in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we booked this cottage we received 5 star service.

Communication prior to arrival was excellent, with lots of useful information to help us plan our stay. Ulray Nook was the perfect cottage for an escape from it all summer break. The cottage was well equipped, very generous in size, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome box with lots of Yorkshire treats was certainly welcomed after a long journey.

The location of the cottage was great - a small, friendly village with a lovely tea room, small shop and 3 pubs. Superb walks across the Dales from the doorstep, the booklet of suggested walks was well used!

Ulray Nook was definitely a lucky find - a gem in the Dales.




Nicky from Farnham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2021


Splendid location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for exploring this part of Wensleydale. A lovely bright garden for enjoying meals.
Very quiet at night.


Guest from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful week in a very comfortable cottage with everything we could need.. Lovely garden to relax in and enjoy breakfast every day. See you next year!

John from Newport Pagnell stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


Delightful!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time in this cottage & we were just as delighted with everything. It's so clean & all the amenities are top notch. It has oodles of character too with good views. Spoiled for choice with so many walks nearby & the pubs etc are excellent.
We love it....all!!


Louise from Ellon stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2021


The best cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Now you have found this site you need look no further. The cottage sets the standard to which all others should aspire. In addition it is a great location if you are looking to stay in the Dales.

Chris from Royal Wootton Bassett stayed at Urlay Nook for 14 nights in June 2021


Favourite Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great to be back on holiday in our favourite cottage in the Yorkshire Dales. Everything was perfect thank you Ken and Sue.

David from Stratford-upon-Avon stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in June 2021


Gorgeous property, amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in this cottage. Gorgeous garden and views. Spacious and spotless property with all equipment you would need. In a fabulous position for walks and local pubs. Fantastic welcome pack and booklet of walks provided; all very much appreciated and a special touch.

Helen from Leeds stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in June 2021


Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, great garden and view, and location. Small village with 3 pubs and plenty of walks. The cottage was perfectly equipped and the bedding was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend

Vanessa from Hampton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in May 2021


Just perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about our stay in Urlay Nook. It’s a beautiful cottage, a real home from home. It’s spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean, with plenty of reassuring Covid safe measures in place. It’s in a lovely spot in a lovely village and in an ideal location for exploring The Dales. The owners were really helpful and welcoming and the generous welcome pack was a real treat. We will have no hesitation in returning at some point and recommending this cottage to others

Carol from Tamworth stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in May 2021


Stay in Askrigg

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky to find this luxury cottage back in 2008. We have been back twice a year since then, it truly is a home from home in the heart of Yorkshire Dales. The cottage is cosy and warm and beautifully decorated and furnished. It has a lovely garden and field of sheep beyond. David & Pam West

David from Epping stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


Askrigg walks

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful holiday in a wonderful cottage with fabulous walks on tap - and as a bonus the weather was fine as well - thanks again

Clive from Chester stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in Urlay Nook in April. The house was in all ways even better than expected.
The cleaning was immaculate and the house contains everything anyone could want.The level of comfort was outstanding.
The position of the house was perfect with beautiful views over the hills . The garden was a suntrap and very well provided with tables and chairs to enjoy the excellent weather we had.
We also received an excellent welcome pack. Far better than we have had anywhere else
The owner was very efficient and helpful when we sought advice
All in all the best place we have ever stayed and we will definitely return.
In summing up; Brilliant


Christopher from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in April 2021


Urlay Nook w/c Friday 18th September

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every respect once again. Treats from the Bake-well were very much enjoyed as was a relaxing lunchtime drink in The Crown on our last day. A much needed holiday after these mad last few months.

Bruce from Taunton stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


A wonderful holiday in Ulay Nook Cottage Askrigg

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Ulay Nook. A good place to stay to explore the Dales. The cottage was very well appointed and had everything we needed plus when we arrived there was a welcome box which was great. The arrangements that had been made due to Covid 19 to ensure the safety of hosts and guests we could not fault. Ken and Sue have done a great job.


Christine from Bedford stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really delightful cottage in a lovely setting in the village of Askrigg. Extremely well equipped and comfortable furnishings throughout, beautiful private garden and outlook over the fields. Has own parking space which is a bonus in a village. A real haven for walking in this lovely area of Yorkshire with so many walks from the cottage.

Gill from Nottingham stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in September 2020


Spotless and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spotless and well appointed cottage in a beautiful Dales village with 3 good pubs and access to lovely walks. URL’s you’re Nook has a pretty garden overlooking a field and all the amenities we needed for a relaxing holiday

Cj from Sheffield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Beautiful property in a great part of the world

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here - and even though the weather was mixed, we managed to get some decent activities in on every day. This is a great base for exploring the area and there is some great walking to be had.

The property was very clean and very well appointed, even though we had been told that some items had been removed owing to Covid-19 precautions. There was nothing that we wanted that wasn't there. We felt that every effort had been made for us to feel as safe as possible - and there was even a full refund policy in case of cancellation owing to Covid-19. Our welcome pack had been personalised for us, which was a nice touch - and just confirmed the general approach to keeping us shielded from any unnecessary potential contact with the virus.

We particularly liked the leaflet detailing a number of local walks - quite a few of which we managed. The route up to the falls in Askrigg (go past the church) is very pleasant and not too far. We also saw Aysgarth falls the day after a fair bit of rain and they were most impressive! From there is a nice circular route to Castle Bolton which we took. We also enjoyed a couple of different walks around Semer Water. The Roman Road from Bainbridge is well defined and easy enough to follow too.

The meal we had in the King's Arms was perfectly good without being exceptional. Some of the staff were struggling to adjust to the restrictions in place. I expect they'll get that sorted in time.

We loved sitting in the garden, listening to the stream gurgling past us as we enjoyed our pre-dinner snacks and drinks on most days of the week. A nice little sun trap looking out over the fields. Wonderful!


Cecilia from Cambridge stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Our week away

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for walking which is what we wanted. Some good routes starting from Askrigg.Local pub grub is good.

Kath from Grimsby stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Gorgeous stay in a lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location. Beautiful garden with south facing aspect. Generous box of Yorkshire gifts on arrival. A lovely cottage in a fab location. Faultless. Would book again in an instance.

Julie from Aylesbury stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in August 2020


Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a fantastic location and impeccable condition. Inside all of the rooms are comfortable and well appointed and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The garden is a delight to sit in and enjoy great views. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and had a restful week exploring The Dales. We would certainly recommend Urlay Nook.

Amanda from Yateley stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2020


Thank you for our lovely stay in Urlay Nook

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just wanted to say a personal thanks to Ken and Sue for our week in Urlay Nook Askrigg. We really appreciate the hard work you have both put in to make it "Covid Safe" and the personal support throughout the booking period during lockdown. The luxury of the property was second to none and the local goodies were a real treat. Having a garden to enjoy this time that was just outside the backdoor was lovely, we really enjoyed eating our delicious Ramsay's Fish and Chips in the garden.

Cliff from Milton Keynes stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in July 2020


De-Luxe cottage in the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to Urlay Nook Cottage and it is just as beautiful as the very first time we stayed there. Everything is top quality and I could never imagine anyone having a single reason to complain about anything at all. We rate it 5 star luxury and would give it 10 stars if that were possible. Beautiful cottage in a beautiful village.

Sandra from Longridge stayed at Urlay Nook for 4 nights in March 2020


A fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Askrigg on many occasions over the years this has been without doubt one of the most comfortable and well equipped cottages we have stayed it has to be said that most of the other cottages we have booked the years have been very good but Urlay Nook is exceptional.

Simon from Bristol stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in March 2020


Quality throughout

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Askrigg is a great location for visiting the Dales. Very well appointed cottage with quality evident throughout. Customer service was brilliant.....helpful and responsive when needed, friendly and welcoming......and indeed this was our experience everywhere we want. We had a great holiday. Thank you

Virginia from Huddersfield stayed at Urlay Nook for 7 nights in February 2020