FB Twitter

Minnie's Cottage

Minnie's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Superb cottage in all respects.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb cottage in all respects. A very high spec. …. warm, cosy and really well equipped.
Cottage information, both paper and app very clear and informative.
Great location in a lovely village.


Ian from Chulmleigh stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in November 2021


Wonderful cottage in a beautiful village

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Minnies cottage was a fabulous place to have a holiday in the Dales …everything was close by …great walking, excellent pub with great food and lovely cafe and craft gift shop. The cottage was next to the church a short walk from the village centre with a pretty front garden with lovely views and a sheltered courtyard at the rear which can be a sun trap. The cottage was very well presented with everything you can need…comfortable bed and cosy living areas, a well appointed kitchen and laundry room. The thoughtful welcome gifts were much appreciated..
Yet another excellent holiday in Minnies cottage . Thank you.


Carol Deveaux from Rowlands Gill stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2021


Just Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful quaint cosy cottage in the perfect location for walking or sightseeing in this beautiful area. Minnie’s is extremely well equipped and so comfortable and clean. We had a fabulous relaxing week here and as Ken and Sue have all COVID regulations in place felt very safe from the minute we walked through the door. Lovely welcome tray with fruit, biscuits, cake and milk. The digital guest information book was brilliant, with so much information about everything in the cottage and also the local area. Overall, just perfect, we will be back.



Susan from Peterborough stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


Quality comfort

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent condition and equipped with everything of the highest standard. An abundance of information is available regarding everything in the cottage, and also about the village and surrounding area. No toilet upstairs !

Veronica from Wellesbourne stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage in a stunning location. It has everything you could possibly want for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Jill from Crowborough stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


perfect cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a perfect location so quite and peaceful. inside is very comfy and spacious.A little outside space ideal for two and not overlooked at all. Easy access to the village and pubs, I would recommend this cottage to anyone who are looking for peace and quiet. will be back as its our favourite place. Thank you Ken and Sue for adding all the little touches which makes minnie's cottage so special.

Evelyn from Hull stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Cosy home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage and well situated for lots of lovely walks and local facilities. A really nice touch was the welcome tray with fresh fruit, cookies and cake.

Carol from Bradford stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Minnies cottage is compact but a lot of thought and care has gone into maximising the use of space. It is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The owners could not be more helpful. The information pack is very thorough and even includes suggested walks in the area. We would definitely stay there again

Guest from Harrogate stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Lovely holiday cottage in a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and clean when we arrived, with everything we needed. We appreciated the welcome pack of milk, tea bags, biscuits, etc. and the comprehensive information provide by Ken & Sue.
We enjoyed the little borders at the front, with the outlook up the dale, as well as the small courtyard garden at the back.
Askrigg is a great centre for exploring Wensleydale and well served with shops, tea-room and pubs.


Penny from Chesterfield stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week at Minnie's cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and was very cosy. Lovely touch by owners who left a bowl of fruit and fruit cake. Thank you so much.

William from Marston Moretaine stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 11th stay in minnies
The number of times we,ve been indicates how highly we rate this cottage.
Location ,facilities etc are excellent and combined with the kings Arms a 5 mins walk,away ,and view's and walks on the doorstep you couldn't ask for more.
We had beautiful weather all week ,and feel fully relaxed
Thanks again Ken and Sue
See you again soon
Cheers Dave and Margaret ..


Dave from Leeds stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Good holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Minnies cottage is a lovely quaint comfy and cosy place to stay. Absolutely spotless and safe. There is everything you would need to enjoy a lovely cottage holiday. Surrounded by beautiful countryside with plenty of footpaths if you enjoy walking in this lovely part of the world.

Mrs Joan from Warrington stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


A Wonderful Week In Wensleydale

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage, village, scenery, walks, wildlife, food and weather. The cottage is beautifully restored, with every comfort and a lovely patio, where we sat and enjoyed the flowers and watched the swallows flying overhead.

Guest from Otley stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


A week in Askrigg

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and clean cottage. Very nice terraced garden at rear. Very surprised to find enough tea bags, decaf and ordinary coffee and sugar for more than a week. Milk, biscuits, cake and fruit as well as washing up liquid etc. Felt very covid safe.



Peter from Rye stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Don't make suggestions

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a lovely cottage, very well equipped and the towels and bed linen are top quality. The shower room hand basin has an illfitting plug so that it's a race to have a wash before the water drains away.
The key has to be collected from the owner who lives at the other end of the village the evening we arrived it was wet and cold so searching for the house was an inconvenienceand again when we left the key had to be taken back to the owners house, I did suggest a key safe but this didn't go down well and I was told that surely it's not to much trouble to return the key


Patricia from Gravesend stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Ken Williamson replied 186 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage and we’re glad that you appreciated the effort that we put in to keep it lovely and using top quality towels and linens-we do take pride in doing so and want our visitors to enjoy their holidays. Our bathrooms have pop-up/push button plugs which you need to press down for them to seal. We would gladly have popped down to show you how to use it had we known about your difficulty with the plug during your stay. The grade 2 listing of our historic cottage and that it is in a conservation village within a National Park are a large part of its appeal. This means that we are unable to install a keysafe and that we ask you to collect and bring back the key to us 300 yards away in the same village. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests stay with us a comfortable and trouble-free as possible which is why we take suggestions seriously and implement them where we can-as we explained in this instance, sometimes we are simply unable to do so even where we would like to.

Perfect base

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Askrigg is the perfect base for any holiday in this area of Yorkshire, with 3 pubs (all serving food) and a wonderful deli. Minnie's cottage is very conveniently located in the village with parking by the church. We loved waking up to wonderful views and the song of curlews and skylarks will stay with us for a long time. The only thing to be aware of is that Minnie's cottage is old and the door frames were obviously installed when people were perhaps shorter than today. My husband, who is tall, needed a hard hat because of the number of times he forgot! Also, although the wifi is great, we had no mobile reception inside the cottage. We didn't mind, and in fact it was quite refreshing, but if you need your phone 24/7 then it might be worth checking coverage.

Garry from Shrewsbury stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Ken Williamson replied 188 days ago
Thank you for your review, we have now modified our arrival information. The cottage has excellent wi-fi throughout and with most modern smart phones having wi-fi-calling this gives excellent mobile reception both inside and out.

Pretty and comfy

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much. It is a lovely view and a unique location. An ice bucket would be helpful.

Pat from Sheffield stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


A Perfect Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely comfortable week in Minnies Cottage. Everything we needed was there, even some good weather.
Hope to be back.


Janet from Sheffield stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2021


Excellent holiday at Minnie's Cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent week at the cottage. We found it very comfortable with access to all village facilities very close by. Local walks really were on our doorstep, and we used many of the suggestions in the excellent booklet provided by the owners. Our holiday was further enhanced by the friendliness of the local people who welcome tourists into their community. All in all an excellent holiday, would thoroughly recommend Minnie's Cottage.

Margaret from Droitwich stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2021


Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in Minnie's cottage - it's a generous size for a couple. The bedroom was great, with lovely furniture, a comfy king size bed and plenty of hanging space and drawers etc. in the "dressing room" at the top of the stairs. The living room was great too - very comfy and we made good use of the fire.

The kitchen was was well equipped and beautifully renovated/adapted. It was quirky, so it took us a while to get used to where things were kept. We cooked there most nights and there was everything we needed. Having the freezer and washing machine in the utility room above the back yard was useful. The only reason we gave a 4 rather than a 5 in our rating for "comfort" was the shower being downstairs and not having a bath tub (it was cold weather while we were there, and it would have been good to have had a hot bath after our walks - but it wouldn't be possible in the space available). Given the choice though, we would've made it a 4.5 out of 5!

The village is gorgeous, lots of lovely walks nearby, friendly people, a small shop, a deli (which does ready-cooked meals to take away - the chilli beef is amazing!) and 3 pubs. These were pretty much closed or only doing takeaway while we were there due to Tier 2 and (from half way through our stay) tier 3 CV-19 restrictions, but we had lovely fish and chips in the Kings Arms on our first night.

The owners live in the village and are very friendly - they are easily contacted and responsive if needed. We would definitely book the cottage again. Thank you Ken and Sue!


Joe from Liverpool stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in December 2020


October break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely restful week at Minnies cottage. An excellent base for walking and sightseeing, giving us the chance to appreciate the beauty of the area. Our hosts were very welcoming and the cottage is well thought out providing home from home comforts.

Karen from York stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


This is a cottage that provides every possible convenience for a comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is situated by the church and accessed through the churchyard and a narrow gap in the wall. This can be awkward for getting luggage from the car in the church car park to the cottage. However the charming character of the cottage surroundings, in our opinion, made it worth the effort. The bathroom is downstairs, and again although for some people this might be a drawback, we found it not a problem, and the plugged in light on the landing was a thoughtful provision for night time access to the loo. Indeed every provision in the cottage had been carefully thought out and was for total convenience, even to the extent of providing 2 umbrellas in the alcove under the stairs! There was a selection of books for rainy days, and a wealth of material and information about the surrounding area and its attractions. We were particularly impressed by the personalised book of walks and detailed instructions for appliances in the cottage and other useful local information. The whole ambiance of the cottage was homely with ornaments and pictures in keeping with its character.This is a place to return to in the future.

Roy from Farnham stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Our holiday in Askrigg - September 2020

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Minnie's Cottage, the location was perfect, and the cottage was very comfortable and full of character

Mark from Sevenoaks stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


A cosy cottage with all of the home comforts

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying at Minnie's cottage... it was centrally situated in Askrigg as was in walking distance of several places to eat including a good cafe and several pubs The cottage was set up very well with everything we might need and it was very clean and comfortably furnished. The covid precautions were well organised and thought out. The extra treats left for us... fruit, cake, biscuits and tea were gratefully received. The local walks booklet left for us was excellent and we did several of the walks. We enjoyed sitting on the sunny rear patio and also the flowers in the front garden area were lovely. We enjoyed our stay in the cottage and we look forward to another stay sometime.

Carol from Rowlands Gill stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Perfect for two

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times in the past and booked a week in September during the pandemic as it was somewhere we knew. Ken and Sue had put all Covid regulations in place which made us feel very safe from the onset. The view of Addleborough from the bedroom is fantastic in the mornings and there are so many walks you can do from the door.The patio area at the back is very private and the utility room up the steps provides great additional space for wet coats, muddy boots etc as the cottage is quite small. Other cottages in the row have been knocked through. Minnie's on the other hand is so cosy because there are 3 separate rooms downstairs, with doors you can close. It is compact with everything you need and the village shop sells everything. No need to use a car.

Suzanne from Hull stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was great & information about local area, cake & milk etc.were a lovely added bonus. We hope to stay again some time soon.



Guest from Sheffield stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Great venue for walking holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There was a clear Covid preparedness of the cottage that made us feel comfortable and secure. It is a lovely location and well appointed for two. High quality communications and information helped us before and during our stay. We would definitely recommend Minnie's cottage to others.

Anne from Little Chesterton stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Minnies Cottage Askrigg

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quaint little cottage in beautiful Yorkshire National Park. Ideal for walkers and ramblers. Only fault we had was the couch and armchair are a little 'outdated'. Its our second visit and would recommend it.

John from Chippenham stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 10th stay in Minnie's
Perfect for 2 ,clean ,well equipped , ideal location
Excellent.


Dave from Leeds stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


A relaxing break after the easing of the lockdown

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasant location, cosy cottage, well fitted out, in a quiet area, handy for village. Well situated for visiting local area and walking. Owners pleasant and helpful.

Maureen from Ipswich stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Excellent cottage with great view

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Minnie's cottage was delightful. Everything you could want was provided and all was very clean and cared for. The setting by the church was attractive. A footpath passing the front door took you straight out into the fields.

The cottage is perfect for a couple wanting to walk the many paths that connect with Askrigg - local walks to Bainbridge, for example, or wider onto the open fells. Bolton Castle and the Aysgarth Falls are within easy driving distance, as is the charming town of Hawes with its Dales Countryside Museum and the Wensleydale Creamery. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.


William from Arundel stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 11 nights in March 2020


Herriot Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful escape. Cottage provided all our needs. A lovely place to return to after a walk in the stunning Yorkshire Sales. Only downside it's a bit difficult to access with luggage.

Andrea from Grimsby stayed at Minnie's Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020