FB Twitter

Dundas Apartment

Dundas Apartment

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Wonderful period apartment in the heart of the city with outdoor space. Sleeps 2, beds can be made up as 2 singles or 1 double. Easy walking distance to Princes Street, Stockbridge and good cafe, shops and restaurants
More details >>

Excellent apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located on a street not far from the city centre and well served by local buses. Very clean, quiet and cosy apartment. Has all the amenities you require. We were able to enjoy all the main attractions in Edinburgh without any hassle. Highly recommended.



The appartment was very good

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the appartment was very comfortable. Everything worked well and it was well equipped. Dundalk Street is quite central and you can walk to most places. It is very convenient to Stockbridge.



A great flat

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was very clean and comfortable. For a basement flat, it was surprisingly roomy and light. The kitchen galley was well-designed. The location was perfect for us - quiet at night, with useful shops nearby, convenient bus stops and easy walks.

We would definitely stay in this apartment again.




A great place in Edinburgh's Newtown

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As traumatized users of a well know holiday booking agent, it was a pleasure to deal with Greatbase apartments and this nice wee apartment in Edinburgh's Newtown. Lin at Greatbase was very helpful prior to arrival including clear instructions for entry. The flat was clean and well equipped - great to have small but significant things like flowers on the table and milk in the fridge. A great locality in the heart of the Newtown. Wandering around through the Newtown, a highlight was stumbling across a bicentennial celebration in the form of a garden party at Royal Circus an elegant Georgian circle a few hundred metres to the west of the apartment. Thank you to the friendly folk of Royal Circus. It all felt a bit like entering into an Alexander McCall Smith 44 Scotland Street novel. A great stay all round.



Very good

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is very good, no matter the design and bedroom. The location is very close to the city centre. And you can travel around very conveniently.



Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay, the apartment is very lovely and cosy. Recommend 100%. I will definitely come back to Edinburgh !



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying and leaving a review. We are delighted you would recommend the apartment, and hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future!

Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect solution for a stay in Edinburgh. Dundas flat recent experience was wonderful and I look forward to return soon.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Dundas Apartment. Thank you for being a wonderful guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the future!

Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is in a very good location ,handy for the city shops etc ,comfortable apartment ,the only one comment is that the bathroom is a little on the small side and is a little tired .



Greatbase Apartments replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We really appreciate it, and we are glad that you enjoyed the apartment's central location.

It is a great place to stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is the main advantage of this property. The New Town is one of the nicest parts of Edinburgh within easy walking distance of the principal areas of the city and also has nearby public transport and food shops. The only change I would make is to have free to air Television, this would have helped me during my stay because there was a rail strike that impacted my ongoing travel.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and your thoughtful suggestion. We really appreciate it, and we are glad that you found the apartment a great place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place in magical city! I will surely return, and hopefully, I will be permitted to stay again by this lovely host



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Thank you for staying and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

A very nice apartment, perfect to visit Edinburg

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice stay. The apartment is nicely decorated and spacious. It’s close to the main highlights of Edinburg. There’s also a Tesco and nice restaurants in a short walking distance.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to hear that you had a nice stay in Edinburgh.

It was a perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect and the stay is wonderful. The rooms are clean and decorated very lovely. Thank you.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review! We're so pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

A lovely stay in central Edinburgh

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay in this central Edinburgh apartment, just ten minutes down the slope from Prices Street. The location is ideal for both the city centre, old town and castle as well as the Botanical gardens in the new town. One large bedroom with comfy bed and en-suite shower room and a large kitchen,diner, lounge with a quaint view of the street above from the sofa. Well equipped kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge, hob, pots and pans, kettle and toaster. Access is down a short flight of steps from Dundas Street. Corner shops nearby and a big Tesco a ten minute walk away as well as plenty of bars and cafes virtually on your doorstep.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our Dundas Street apartment and also that you made the most out of your time in Edinburgh!

City Break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable stay. The apartment is well appointed and had everything we needed and is located in a very handy central location. We also enjoyed sitting in the sun in the small courtyard for an afternoon glass of wine!





Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in the apartment and sitting in the sun in the courtyard!

A comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a very comfortable and clean apartment and the welcome pack was gratefully received. Situated near the bottom of a gentle hill about fifteen minutes walk from Waverley railway station.



Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome pack!

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is clean, impressive decorated, with all the comfort needed. Kitchen is well-equipped for a nice stay. We had a slight issue with the bulb. Helpers helped us quickly. We are satisfied with the facilities and the service.




Greatbase Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad that you had a comfortable stay!

Great location and cosy stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Perfect location for us as it balanced being close enough to the city without being in the thick of hustle and bustle. Well equipped kitchen with things like tea, coffee, fruit, oil which was appreciated.
Needed some instructions leaving on how to use the TV and heating as nothing was supplied to us .




Central convenience

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had everything we needed for our week long stay in this snug apartment in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from Princes street and the New Town area.



A great location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this to be an excellent base to explore Edinburgh's many sites.It is ideally placed near two different Tescos suprmarkets and other local shops.
Perfect for us -it was like home from home .




Perfect base

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This little apartment was perfect for a few nights stay. Very basic but everything you need. Brilliant location, didn’t need to use the car at all while we were there and the Royal mile is only a 15 minute walk away.



Fantastic base for weekend escape

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was very cosy and homely feeling, really nice and warm too - perfect for Scottish weather! It’s set down from the street which is great as it’s quiet but still in a good location.
The apartment is a nice size and we wish we could have spent longer there!!




The dream house

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firt of all, Great location
Perfect amenities!

You can imagine the dream house you ever dreamed.




Lovely quiet get away in the heart of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely apartment that is well appointed, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The bathroom is small but efficient and the kitchen is also small but laid out perfectly. There were a couple of items missing... like kitchen towels and a coffee maker, but it was absolutely a perfect place to stay and should we return to Edinburgh we will definitely stay there again. It also is important to note that the apt is the garden apt... we could not find anything that said that in the documentation or on the building but once we figured it out, we thought it was a charming intimate little space.



Dundas Street feedback Aug 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice comfortable apartment in a highly convenient location.
The apartment is a good size for a couple or single traveller and includes all necessities for a simple self-catering stay.
The apartment was mostly well cleaned and most of the devices worked well however;
- a new kettle is needed as the current one leaks water when pouring and could scald
- the kitchen could do with some egg cups and a pair of scissors that work
- there was at least one lamp with no bulb and no spares available [I don't object to replacing a bulb but this is difficult if it isn't clear what type the lamp takes]
- the fridge could do with a replacement door fitting so open bottles can be stored more easily
- the tv needs better information so that it is clear that it only provides digital access and therefore not all freeview channels are available without signing in to their digital platforms
- a radio would be wonderful




Richard replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your helpful feedback. We have followed your suggestion to put a radio in the flat and also left spare light bulbs in place. We will also buy egg cups. We are always very happy to change bulbs or any other maintenance problems that might arise while you are staying. Sorry the instructions for the smart TV were not there- we have print them out again for future guests.

Thank you!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place and good service. Perfect stay between Stockbridge and City center. A walk from everything.



EXCELLENT!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is very nice place to stay. It has a courtyard for meals if you want to eat outside. Bus stops right out front for rides to center of town or anywhere you want to go. Place was very clean and well stocked. Host provided local tips which was very helpful.



Great apartment in excellent location.

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and elegant apartment which was in an excellent location for the National galleries, the botanical gardens good shops and to explore the local area. Hosts greeted us and all our needs were met. We would certainly recommend highly for a stay in this beautiful city.



Excellent place to stay - apart from the flies!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay at the Dundas Street apartment. The location is great - a nice, if uphill, stroll into town, or there is a very convenient bus stop right outside. The supermarket over the road is really good - particularly the bakery. We were provided with helpful advice on travelling from the airport, and it took exactly the length of time we were told it would, so arrived bang on time for our check-in. The kitchen was well stocked, both in terms of equipment and some food.

Our only complaint would be the flies. From our second day, the place was infested with flies. We had to keep the shutters closed the entire time to restrict how many got into the flat. Even so, I was killing 15 or 20 a day. Whilst this sport provided an unexpected source of entertainment, it did not make for a particularly pleasant stay.




Lovely apartment for 2

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely place to stay. Perfect for a long weekend for a couple who want more space than a hotel room. Close to all the attractions. Very well equipped. We would definitely stay here again.



Fringe of the city for the Edinburgh Fringe

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This Great Base apartment in Dundas Street was exactly what we needed for our Edinburgh adventure. Roomy, nicely styled, well-equipped and close enough to the city centre to make walking everywhere a viable option.



LOVELY APARTMENT NEAR CITY CENTRE

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Lovely basement apartment in a large house close to the city centre. We were met and given the key a quick tour of the property and advice on facilities and restaurants nearby. There was fresh milk in the fridge a bowl of fruit and flowers in the window. Tea coffee and sugar were also provided. We had a lovely stay and enjoyed Edinburgh.



Good location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Handily located for shops , pubs , coffee , restaurants and tourist attractions.Good value and I would use again .



Very homely comfortable apartment in great position with all facilities close by.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very homely comfortable apartment in great position with all facilities close by. Well appointed with all kitchen utensils, smart TV, good bedding. Easy access to bus transport with 2 regular buses that go down Dundas Street.