FB Twitter

Cumberland Street

Cumberland Street

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


An elegant three-bedroom apartment in a quiet street in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town (a World Heritage Site).

More details >>

Long weekend in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for helping organise a wonderfully relaxing few days. The apartment was very well appointed



A long weekend break with good friends

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment was very central and close to bus stop with routes all over the City. It was very clean and comfortable. The internet connection was pretty poor and also the TV was a little outdated and very small. The single bed was extremely difficult to get in and out of in the study room. Perhaps a single bed on the ground would be a better option? (certainly for ladies of a certain age!!). Overall good location, easy to book, and comfortable, clean apartment.



Lovely large flat but very tired

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat overall was a disappointment and I didn't think it was particularly good value for money. The property had been cleaned well and the instructions and directions were very clear. However the beds were lumpy and hard and the floors were very tired - the whole flat smelled of dirty carpets. The large drawing room was comfortable and certainly saved the day - we ate out so only used the kitchen for hot drinks etc. but it was also large and clean. Basically the owners need to update the property so that the photos are a good representation of the reality. At £831.00 (including service fee) for 3 nights this was not a cheap stay and I was overall not very happy after not sleeping properly for the whole stay.



A comfortable and spacious flat in a great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If we didn't like the flat, we wouldn't have returned for a third visit. This is becoming our Edinburgh home from home. Spacious, tastefully furnished, comfortable and in the heart of Edinburgh's sublime Georgian New Town.



Great stay in a very comfortable home in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to visit the apartment in Cumberland Street again. It is well located, spacious and very comfortable.



perfect flat for a family of 5

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful experience with our flat on Cumberland Street. It was clean, spacious and comfortable for our family of 5. The neighborhood was quiet and getting to the older part of town was not an unreasonable walk. There are two very close grocery stores and we were able to make some of our own meals.



Wonderful vacation home, would stay here again

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful apartment in a quiet but central area. We loved it!
Communication with the managers was very good, and we always knew where to turn if we needed anything.
The apartment was spotless! The furniture very comfortable. We had no problems getting a good night's sleep in these beds, and my teen loved the loft bed. Also I loved how the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed including a French press and a full set of cookware.

Overall, we would seek this place out first when we come back to Edinburgh




Awesome apppartment near to everything

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi Katie,

We’ve had such a amazing stay in Edinburgh.

The apartment is great. We felt at home from the very first moment.

Thanks a lot for everything again and we all wish you all the best.





Weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. Great location very clean and everything you need for a relaxing stay. Would definitely stay again.



my impressions on the cumberland street apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful apartment, very charming.
we appreciated the fact that useful items were provided and sufficient : towels, kitchen tools, hairdryer, shampoo and soap, toilet paper.
we also appreciated the welcome gifts (biscuits, apples), thank you ! little details but they make a nice difference !

the only "problem" we have encountered is the difficulty of adjusting hot water in the bathroom (either too hot or cold).

However we would definitely recommend this location.

the person who welcomed us was also very professional.




Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi folks,

we felt like home from the first second. We stayed there with our family (5 persons). The appartment is very lovely and clean. Katie was very politly as well.

The only disadvantage were the mattresses which could be more comfortable.


Kind regards,

your lucky tourists




Comfortable property in good location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pictures on the Greatbase website are ( as with other properties we have stayed at via their agency) - a good representation of the property. The flat is in a good area - close to the centre but a bit quieter. The flat is spacious , comfortable and well equipped . There is a good pub at the end of the street.
It's a bit of a walk up the hill to the main bit of the New town and further to the Old town - but if you're not feeling energetic then there are regular buses that leave from very close

all in all a good combination of comfort and convenience.




Comfortable flat in New Town

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable flat on a quiet street. Location was ideal as it was an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Short taxi ride to old town. Flat was clean, spacious and well equipped with everything we needed.



Lovely and restful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in this lovely, airy and elegant apartment! Location was very handy for us, being a short walk away from essentials such as grocer, bakery or restaurant on a quiet residential street. Attractions such as Old Town and the Royal Botanical Gardens were about a 20-minute walk away.



Great location and adorable flat

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is walking distance to everything and the flat was roomy and comfortable. 2 bedrooms are spacious while the 3rd bedroom was small with a climb up to cubby hole bed. The living room is big, fun room to lounge and hang with your friends.



Great Location!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic base for a stay in Edinburgh. Comfortable home and great hosts! Couldn’t have asked for more!



A very confortable staying in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I found out this apartment very confortable and silent, also very near to the old town on foot.
I reccomend it.
Lorenzo




Comfortable and spacious flat in good location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Cumberland Place for two weeks during the Edinburgh fringe. The first thing to mention about the flat is its good location - whilst it is at the bottom end of the new town it is well located for a number of restaurants and a good pub ( apparently mentioned in various novels). It is a bit of a hike up the hill to the centre of the new town ( which we found good for us ) but there is a bus stop about 30 seconds from the flat which has regular services (about every 10 mins I seem to recall) up to all the central attractions for the old and new town. There are two express style supermarkets a short walk away , an independent and a national - which makes for a more varied choice . This all in all makes it a great location.

The apartment itself is just as you see in the Greatbase pictures and there shouldn't be any surprises. The flat is well equipped, stylish and yet comforable. A good mixture.

Lastly I should mention the service from Greatbase - we had two (minor) issues which were both dealt with on the same day we reported them , and without any fuss. This is the third time we have used Greatbase and have recommended them to others - I would continue to do so




Great location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for the New Town , Stockbridge and just a short walk up the hill to The Royal Mile !!



Edinburgh apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful apartment not far from the old city. There is an approximate 15 minute walk to the center of the old city, most of this uphill but certainly not a bad walk. The apartment was as advertised. Clean, modern, and well equipped with all necessities except for a clothes dryer which made it somewhat challenging to wash clothes while having to wait a few days until laundry was dry. Other than that, a wonderful experience in a beautiful city.



Perfect for family short stay close to town

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect apartment for our family of four wanting to be close to the centre of Edinburgh and quiet and comfortable, great service, thanks



Nice area of town, quiet. Maybe 30 min walk to attractions

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Arrival was easy, met there by host Katie who was helpful. Lots of space and place had character, but enough modern amenities.



Family catch up in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is lovely and spacious with plenty of room for five adults to relax in the beautiful living room and sit around the kitchen table.
It is well positioned in a quiet residential area but within walking distance to the main Edinburgh sites and there are good local amenities nearby.
The flat has everything you need to make it a most comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.




A really great base in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Cumberland St to have a family reunion and it worked perfectly. Homely, had everything we needed to cook/entertain and perfectly located to explore New Town. We would definitely use again!



Comfortable and well located apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this apartment roomy enough and comfortable for our short 5 night stay. The central heating kept the rooms cosy and the two bathrooms were convenient. The kitchen was well equipped and the washing machine a bonus.
If you don't mind a little gentle hill climbing, it is a short walk to all the central sights. If you are a fan of Alexander McCall Smith Scotland Street is a stones throw away and the Cumberland Bar at the end of the street a pleasant place for a drink.In fact a variety of shops and places to eat and drink are very close by. We had a great stay!




Spacious and peaceful New Town flat

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here two years ago and it was good to be back. Typically elegant New Town flat - Cumberland Street is quiet but close to city centre. Great location - walking distance from Waverley Station, tram, Princes Street, Stockbridge, Botanic Gardens and Water of Leith. Great for local cafes, restaurants, bakeries. Flat may not have all the latest mod con's, but it's comfortable and spacious and nicely furnished.



Edinburgh apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was wonderful! Very well located, clean and comfy. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.



Bonito y bien ubicado

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bonito apartamento de Greatbase en la ciudad nueva de Edimburgo. Excelente ubicación alejado del bullicio pero cerca de restaurantes y George St. Excelente calidad precio.



Family stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay. Apartment suited perfectly. It was well equipped and very well located and much more spacious than we expected. We will be back.



Cumberland Street

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our weekend in this property, it was ideal for my family of 5, including my 3 teenage children. The apartment is well located and very comfortable. All of the booking, arrival and departure was well managed and easy. We will be coming to Edinburgh again and would happily consider rebooking this very nice apartment.
The only thing we had trouble with was finding the right setting on the oven for warming some croissants!!




An elegant, well-equipped apartment for five in New Town, in a very convenient location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An elegant, comfortable and well-equipped base in a beautiful location, close to many of the city's attractions, this apartment was perfect for us. We had everything we wanted to make our stay enjoyable. We particularly enjoyed the elegant sitting room, overlooking the Georgian New Town street. The apartment was warm and the kitchen very thoughtfully equipped with a good range of appliances, crockery and utensils. It was very convenient having the extra bathroom for a party of five. Many good restaurants and bars were within a five minute walk, as were food stores, delicatessens and the Sunday farmer's market at Stockbridge.



Cumberland stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were two couples staying at 31 Cumberland. The apartment is lovely and in an excellent location. Cumberland is a quiet street but is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants as well as Old Town Edinburgh. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. The apartment is filled with light and has a gracious living room and master bedroom. The one down side for two couples is that the second bedroom has twin beds and is much smaller than the master bedroom. While this would be fine for a family, it is a little less than ideal for two couples. The kitchen is adequately equipped and well suited for making meals.

Suggestions: the host was a bit rushed and did not get back to us on certain requests such as need to change an overhead light. She did however respond to lack of hot water in a relatively timely fashion. I would suggest that the host prepare a list of suggested and recommended shops and restaurants within walking distance. We have had this provided in other Air BnB apts and it has been very useful. In addition, calling in to check on the renters soon after settling in is always a nice gesture and would have been appreciated.




Katie replied more than 1 year ago
I had left a guide book for cafes and restaurants in the apartment for the guests with reviews. The map is market up with supermarkets and the farmers market which I took time to enlighten the guests about and didn't rush off. The light bulb was changed shortly after the guests reported it, but they were not there when I called in to fix it. They were the 3 nights and I saw them twice during their stay.

Great Stay at a Beautiful New Town Flat

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property lived up to the photos and we were welcomed warmly. As an Edinburgh native, I love the neighbourhood (especially the Cumberland Bar at the other end of the street). I would happily stay here again!



Fantastic apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an extremely comfortable apartment in a great location. It also slept all 5 of us very comfortably. The host was also extremely friendly. Definitely recommend this apartment.



Amazing location in the heart of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend this place enough. It's a short walk from the train and is very close to just about everything the city has to offer. The host was great, the flat was beautiful, and as a group of four we had plenty of space.