FB Twitter

Castle Terrace

Castle Terrace

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.6


Our third-floor Castle Terrace apartment is perfect for larger groups looking to immerse themselves in the historic charms of Edinburgh’s Old Town.

More details >>

A great base to visit the Edinburgh Fringe

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the apartment specifically as a base for the Edinburgh Fringe 2020 and had to postpone the booking to 2021. We were lucky that the fringe took place and that the apartment was close to the venues.

There was good WIFI in the flat. This was important as we were constantly booking shows as they were added to the fringe. (And some of our group wanted to play computer games)

The property is the start of the Old Town with the Castle visible from the front door. It’s close to a Sainsbury's local and restaurants, cafes and bars. The trams are within walking distance, as are the buses. There is a nearby bus direct to Jupiter Park, which is worth a day trip.

The station is a longer walk, but no further than the fringe venues. We even made it with cases!

We were met at the flat and given a set of keys per couple. The apartment was spacious with plenty of room for the 6 of us. Double beds for each couple and a bathroom with shower plus a shower room, so no waiting for showers in the morning. The kitchen/diner/lounge was a great meeting point for eating and playing games.

The only down side was the stairs. It is a 3rd floor apartment with no lift. We’ve stayed in Edinburgh New Town before and were used to this but were surprised by how many steps there were to climb.




We found the apartment a great base and it was well stocked with things you might need.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Inside much better than outside. Good location thoughtful hosts. A little dated in the bedrooms but comfortable and very clean. Would stay again



Shadow of the Castle

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Castle Terrace offered a wonderful 'home base' for sightseeing in Edinburgh and for the Fringe festival. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see, so very conveniently located close to groceries and restaurants. The flat was clean and bright with lots of windows and a sparkling kitchen. It had a comfortable living area, though a bit small. There was plenty of room in the bedrooms and the temperature was comfortable. Our host met us on time, we were late due to train and rain. There were some fruits and cookies as well as tea and milk. We were very grateful for the snacks. We had a lapse in our internet at the home which was inconvenient for work purposes and though the landlord said it would be fixed, it was not in order for 2+ of the days we were there. It would have been helpful to at least get an update from the landlord when it did not get reconnected. Otherwise a brilliant stay in a wonderful home and city.



A good base for the festival

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More house keys would have been useful, otherwise all good. I guess the flat is student flat during the academic year.



Great central location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The flat is centrally located and good for exploring Edinburgh and for Festival events. It is more than 60 steps up, at the top of a well maintained 19th century building which was once a Nursing Institute. It is spacious and good for families. Some very good restaurants, convenience stores and a car park are nearby.



Family heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location so suitable for a family exploring the area. Lovely well appointed rooms with clean modern facilities to accommodate a busy family. Open kitchen and lounge for safe chill out space. Easy walking to city highlights, shopping areas and essential grocery. Kids wished we lived here!



Excelente lugar a gran altura (cuarto piso sin ascensor¡¡¡)

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
El apartamento tenía todo lo necesario para hacer muy agradable la estancia para un grupo de 6 personas como era nuestro caso. Excelente ubicación y excelente el estado del apartamento.
Dos cosas a señalar como aspectos negativos
1- Está situado en un cuarto piso sin ascensor lo cual tal vez es "muy bueno para las piernas" (como nos dijo Katie que fue quien nos recibió) pero no muy bueno para personas mayores (más de 70 años) y que no estaban prevenidas para ello.
2- En la descripción de apartamento enviada en su momento se decía que se podían hacer modificaciones en las camas a utilizar. Nosotros hicimos ese pedido porque lo que se ofrecía no nos permitía dormir cada uno en su cama y nos fue negada esa posibilidad. Consecuencia, uno de los integrantes del grupo debió dormir en un sillon.




Location excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location excellent and as always excellent service from Katie . The climb up several flights of stairs is quite a challenge even to fit people The apartment would benefit from change to some single beds instead of the three small doubles



Great place to stay in central Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our two week stay in this comfortable well equipped flat. We are grateful to our host who met us punctually and was on hand to answer questions and sort out a few minor problems. The flat is perfectly suited for visiting the city and particularly for the Edinburgh Festival, with more or less all events being within walking distance. A convenience store nearby was useful for food shopping, and the Castle Terrace restaurant (Michelin star) on the ground floor great for fine dining. We loved it so much that we very much hope we can return next year.