FB Twitter

Yn Thie Thooit

Yn Thie Thooit

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


In partnership with Manx National Heritage, we are pleased to present Yn Thie Thooit ("The Thatched house" in Manx).

magical place

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
The cottage is absolutely stunning, as is the location.
There was some lovely Manx cheese and a fresh brown loaf for us upon arrival. However, there are mice in the cottage, or at least they come in night. We foolishly left our food on the side, and they had a feast on our butter and the biscuits.
There is no disinfectant spray so be mindful to take some with you to spray the kitchen sides before cooking.

There is also damp in the bedroom which has a very strong smell that is unpleasant.
Apart from the mice and the damp, the remainder of the stay was lovely.





Island Escapes Team replied 17 days ago
Following our correspondence, we are glad to have been able to make up for those issues you experienced at the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back with Island Escapes in the near future.

Somewhere a little different.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fun experience with all mod cons. To stay in a traditional thatched cottage is something special, and Yn Thie Thooit ('The thatched cottage') has been upgraded to a high standard. Access is via outside steps which might be a consideration for some, and kitchen space is a little limited, but for a short stay it was lovely, and certainly somewhere a little different.



Island Escapes Team replied 50 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Yn Thie Thooit. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Deeply rural retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old style cottage in super peaceful setting, beach close by with incredible sunsets (though lots of flies during the day so more for walking than siting). Very comfortable. With old cottage comes a few creepy crawlies and not much sunlight but a one off in a lovely setting on a beautiful Island. Cosy and quaint v comfortable bed & a great nights sleep



Absolutely fantastic property and service from island escapes

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the day we booked the property, we can only recommend island escapes for the perfect getaways. The property was clean and comfy. The perfect weekend away.



Unique cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a unique traditional thatched cottage with a good garden, near a lovely beach and nature reserve in the north of the island. You need a car to explore the rest of the island but we found that was easy to do. We really enjoyed our stay and the coastal walking.



Tranquil Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the sun came out, the temperature rose, the bluebells opened and the birds busied themselves in their nest making - it was a perfect location for the staycation we needed.
Excellent customer service, thank you.
We will return to ‘Bluebell Cottage’ aka Yn Thie Thooit!




Nothing short of excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the booking process to leaving, this stay has been perfect. The team from Island Escapes assisted greatly and even sorted out the travel regarding the ferry. Arriving on this amazing Isle we drove to our destination YN THIE THOOIT ( still can't pronounce it) It is exactly like the pictures. Set in one of the quietest parts of IOM. Ten minute from the beach. Access easy just follow the instructions. And then you walk into a pure picture postcard. Everything about the property just makes you relax straight away. Read the folders with all the local info. We have never been to IOM before but one day we hope too. Thank you so much for making our holiday this treasured property is the best place we have ever stayed in.



Peace filled break

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 nights staycation at this sweet cottage. Lovely and warm when we arrived, delicious welcome pack and spotlessly clean.
Took me a while to find the text as to the location of the keys, but then we were away. A wander down to the beach took 5 minutes and we enjoyed hiding from the storm and having time out. Wish we had brought our bikes, we will next time... Perfect!




Birthday staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy stay in lovely traditional Manx Cottage. Location is perfect and close to the beach for an early morning dip. The place had clearly been cleaned when we had arrived, but despite this there were cobwebs on wall light fittings, dirty cups put away in the cupboards and worst of all when we let out the reclining sofa, it was full of other visitors crumbs etc, which given what we'd paid to stay there wasn't a good find, hence I've marked it down on cleanliness.



Quaint and cosy Manx cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Yn Thie Thooit cottage over the weekend. Such a great compact and cosy retreat, it had everything we were looking for in a weekend away. We had dinner at the Grosvenor pub (highly recommend for top food and service) had a winter bbq on Blue Point beach and wrapped up under the stars with a hot chocolate afterwards. The double sided reclining sofa was good for draw races, even if somewhat in slow motion.



Delightful, traditional cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yn Thie Thooit (there should be no hyphens in the name!) is a stunning, traditional Manx cottage. It nestles under its thatch, close to the beach (5min walk). For its size, it is very well equipped, and the quality of the furnishings is excellent. There is everything you could need, even if you want to cook rather than venture out for dinner.
We stayed for just two nights, eating in both nights, and loved relaxing away from it all, warm and cosy in the cottage when the weather was frightful outside, and then exploring the beach, nature reserve and surrounding countryside when it stopped raining.
My only criticism (hence not 5 stars for everything) is that it wasn’t spotless, with quite a few cobwebs, even in the kitchen cupboards. It is hard work to keep this type of property clean though, especially when it stands empty in winter months.
Overall, I would recommend it, and hope to return.




Stunning little cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose this cottage for our first ever trip to the island. Great rural location near the beach. Dark skies area, so there were amazing views of the stars.
The cottage is perfect - authentic Manx on the outside and suitably renovated on the inside. Kitchen had all the equipment you need for your stay and the little welcome pack was a bonus. Comfy bed, decent heating and a nice shower.
Topped up with provisions from Andreas stores and pub meals in the Grosvenor (Andreas), The Swan (Ramsey) and a very good Indian Vellika (also in Ramsey)
Would definitely recommend




Dangerous windows

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sash windows need tightening or better signage as one dropped on fingers this weekend trapping between the 2 windows. Dampener on and otherwise brilliant stay



Great traditional cottage in a lovely quiet area.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay here, would have been more but for the you know what. Lovely Thatched Manx Cottage in a quiet semi-rural area, well fitted out with all you need for a stay for two people. Love the north-west of the island, feels quite remote and unspoilt. Perfect for stargazing or walking on the wild and rugged beaches around there. The island is not large so it's very easy to get anywhere from there if you have a car.




Excellent location for a quiet weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s a lovely thatched cottage, two minutes walk from the beach but in a very quiet area so it’s great for walks and just getting away from it all whilst still being within easy driving distance of eating places for the evening.
Nicely furnished with good kitchen and bathroom facilities and an outside building which is a great vantage point to view the exceptionally dark sky with hardly any noticeable light in the vicinity.




Perfect holiday cottage for two.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful clean cottage in an idyllic location.
The cottage has everything you need and more for a great holiday.
Small food parcel on arrival was much appreciated.




Wonderful location in thatched cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying in the thatched cottage which is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Loved the location so close to the beach perfect for a staycation and we would love to visit again in the future .



Excellent location for all weathers

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We last stayed in Yn-Thie-Thooit, the Lhen cottage, in 2019. It remains outstanding accommodation in a wonderful location, from where the waves on the Lhen beach can be heard from the garden (when the wind is not blowing through the surrounding trees). We imagine the thatched cottage, with its thick traditional white walls, would be just as cosy in winter as it was in summer (though at times, on the same day, the difference between the two seasons can seem subtle). The cottage comprises a sitting room with heater, discrete TV, and wifi. The kitchen area is reasonably well-provided, and the bedroom comfortable. The bathroom has a shower. There are generous heating choices if required. Outside there is also a utility room with a washing machine. The sheltered garden includes deckchairs as well as a table and chairs.

Little, if anything, had changed since our last stay (when the cottage was managed directly by Manx National Heritage). During our stay, perhaps as a result of fewer customers during lockdown, the boiler stopped working and the kettle tripped the electrics. However, both problems were fixed by John from Island Escapes the same day (the boiler required a local plumber, on a Saturday), so we certainly had no complaints about customer service. We did note that the utility room should be added to the housekeeping checklist as it had accumulated dust etc since our last visit and as such wasn't very suitable as a laundry room.

However, the overall standard of the accommodation and it's lovely location adjacent to a nature reserve and beach (swim with observant seals and a variety of sea birds, but likely no other humans), more than made up for the minor issues. We hope to return again and we can imagine it as a place for a quiet, warm Christmas (amidst the howling gales).

We recommend nearby Andreas for provisions and pub, and Bride for its scone-laden Tea Rooms. Ramsey and Peel are also within easy reach.




An exceptional holiday home, close to a lovely quiet beach

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many cottages like this are disappointing; it doesn’t look like the pictures, the kitchen is poorly equipped etc but this surpasses expectations and the pictures actually don’t do it justice. It’s externally very picturesque (though the gardens and lawns did need a little tlc when we were there) and internally smart and cosy, well designed and well equipped. There is an almost deserted beach nearby (in August) which, when we were there attracted zero anti social behaviour including litter. The Isle of Man coast can be toured in a day, which we did, and we would recommend visits to Ramsey (very good fishmonger) and Laxey (which boasts both an ice cream cafe and an ice lolly cafe, both with innovative flavours locally made). We will be back.



A thatched cottage with charm

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage in a great location - so near the beach. The sunsets were beautiful (we were blessed with good weather). Very relaxing. Will recommend it to all our friends.



Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over a long weekend. The cottage is beautifully appointed , fully kitted out for guests and great for quite time. Also, it's close enough to cycle to Andreas and Ballaugh for a drink & a bite to eat. Highly recommended!



I’ll be back.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed three very relaxed and peaceful nights here. It is so quiet, particularly at night.
The cottage is small but has everything you need. The perfect cosy little escape. We’ve already booked to go back.




Something Special

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing six night stay in this beautiful cottage. There is something very very special about this place. Watched some beautiful sunsets, had some fabulous walks. We had a fabulous time. The cottage is equipped with everything you could need and is an amazing base to explore the north of the island.



A unique and lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to this lovely cottage, the weather was perfect to take advantage of the garden and enjoy the walks on the beach nearby. All you could need to be comfortable is provided. And yet there’s the fascination that this cottage was ‘home’ for many previous generations in the past. We will be sure to return.






A lovely traditionally thatched Manx Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A unique and charming Manx Thatched Cottage in a peaceful rural location it has lots of character but with modern comforts like an efficient heating and hot water system, good Wi-Fi, TV, DVD player and Dab Radio, even an electric blanket for the winter nights. The kitchen is reasonably well equipped and there is a washing machine in the boiler room. Nearest shop and pub/restaurant 2 miles away and Ramsey with plenty of shops, pubs, restaurants etc 7 miles (15 minute drive) away. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and will definitely be back.



A wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is a perfect retreat to get away from it all, had a lovely staycation with the beach, sunsets, and walks all close by.
The cottage is beautifully done inside, very well equipped and comfortable too. Has a lovely peaceful garden with birds singing, and is great for relaxing in. The welcome pack and card was a lovely touch. Thank you.




Interesting staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Despite the traditional outside appearance there was no orginal features inside.
The heating was problematic despite the instructions.




Tranquil

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay which was tranquil and relaxing. The cottage was lovely as was the garden which was beautifully spacious and a pleasure to enjoy. Nice to read the history of the property. A great location to star gaze and just a short walk to the beach and Nature Reserve.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a 5 night staycation in February. Lovely stay in lousy weather. We are happy to highly recommend!



Idyllic setting to recharge your batteries

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend the beautiful thatched cottage as a great staycation escape. Very relaxing and tranquil. Had all the amenities to have a ' home from home' break. Received a warm welcome with local produce. Already looking to book our next staycation through Island Escapes.



A tranquil and peaceful place

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped pretty cottage in a beautiful setting, close to a quiet beach for a walk along the shoreline



A real treat!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage, as well equipped, well positioned and was a real treat to stay in. It was nice to take a break and retreat, really lovely weekend.



Fabulous staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage .. well equipped and so comfortable ... great location too



Lovely stay at Yn Thie Thooit

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a three night stay at Yn Thie Thooit recently. The cottage is absolutely lovely and had everything that you could want for a short stay. It was spotlessly clean and the Welcome Pack that was left for us was an added bonus. The location is great, the cottage is close to the beach and we had fabulous dark skies to 'star-gaze'. Highly recommended, we've already booked again for next year!



Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was a good balance of modern & traditional with plenty of outdoor space to sit and take in the peaceful surroundings. I loved that it was so close to the beach and the dunes; great for long walks. Straight away I felt at home and we spent a whole day just doing nothing much and enjoying the cottage and the beach. Ideal for a relaxing stay and for nature lovers.



Perfect place for a relaxing staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in great condition and nice grounds. Great location for local walks and the beach is a couple of minutes away if you want to amble down to see the sunset. Everywhere was very clean with well appointed kitchen and bathroom, we would not hesitate to have another stay there.



A little gem

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A little gem of a true Manx thatched cottage, beautifully restored to provide modern comfort that in no way takes from the history and atmosphere of a bygone era. Fabulous large peaceful garden to relax in. And just a short walk to the shoreline. What great starry nights too in such a dark skies area. Can’t wait to stay again.



Back in time

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful three night stay which transported us back some 46 years to our first marital home, a family cottage in Colby. However the modern sanitary arrangements this time were a blessing



Superb

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage cosy but well equipped in an ideal setting, with a spacious garden and seashore just a short walk down the adjacent lane. The roads in the area are quiet and (mostly) flat so it's perfect for exploring by bicycle.
With good weather too this was one of the nicest holidays we have ever had. We only live 20 miles away in Douglas but it felt like a different world.
Highly recommended if you like getting away from it all.




Fabulous place to stay, so tranquil, definitely recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay, and our honeymoon staycation, beautiful place to stay, wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else. Thank you to all the team, everything is perfect. We will be back again and again. X



A great base to explore the north of the Isle of Man

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the cottage. Its was very cosy and a great base to explore the north of the island.
Walking down the deserted beach we saw seals swimming close to the shore.
Would recommend dinner at the Grosvenor Pub - a friendly welcome and great pub food.




Perfect staycation location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a nice quiet location, perfect for a staycation to get away from it all. Everything you need is provided and a selection of Manx food was a nice touch.There is a beach round the corner which was great for a walk in the day (we even had a seal join us) and was also the perfect spot to watch the sunset. Highly recommend a stay at Yn-Thie-Thooit.



Relaxing break in idyllic location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quaint and cosy thatched cottage set in beautiful gardens. We particularly enjoyed using the summer house to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. A few minutes walk from the beach. Very relaxing stay.