FB Twitter

The Hawthorns

The Hawthorns

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Hawthorns is a spacious and well equipped self-catering cottage situated with three other cottages in a recently renovated barn conversion.

Family long weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Fushias and The Hawthorns. We were there with family (9 of us) and having two cottages worked really well. The cottages are well equipped and spacious.



Fantastic Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked as a family group of 13 and were pleasantly surprised to find that we could connect the cottages if we wanted to and walk to each other's cottage via the patio. The gym/hot tub/sauna/steam room were an added bonus and we used them all frequently during our stay. They were continually kept clean. David was a very helpful and friendly host. Access to field next to the cottages was brilliant to enable children to burn off leftover energy at the end of the day!
All three cottages were clean and set up perfectly when we arrived. The location was ideal - very quiet rural area but with easy access to everything via a short drive. The beautiful waterfall at Glen Maye nearby is well worth exploring. Overall, a beautiful, peaceful location with a clean, modern cottage. Could not have asked for more and will definitely recommend to friends to stay here, particularly those with larger families.




Lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely complex in a lovely setting. Very handy for getting around the island.
Just a couple of things that would help, there is not enough comfortable seating for six adults, I did querie this before arriving but was told it was fine.
They could also use some oven gloves as there is no handle for the grill pan.
The rest of the house is done to a very high standard, and the beds are very comfortable.




Great place

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This three bedroom barn conversion is set in beautiful countryside and is very comfortable. We even enjoyed a dip in the hot tub. The standard of cleanliness was good overall but one of the waste baskets had not been emptied from the previous guests. Only one tea towel was provided, so a few more would be appreciated. Would definitely recommend this property to others.



fabulous place for girly retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a great time - lovely place, log fire was excellent and the added use of the gym, suana, steam room and sauna was excellent. we had problems with a flood but nocked on the door of the owner and let them know. lovely places to walk near by and lovely places to sit in the grounds. Everybody very welcoming and very well organised from start to finish. thank you



Wonderful accommodation especially for a large group

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 3 accommodations as we were staying with relatives. It was great to be able to open up the interconnecting doors so that we could use it as one house when needed and close them off when we didn’t. The accommodation was spotless and well equipped. The added bonus of the gym was also great. Would definitely stay again!



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great holiday cottage. Great location, great facilities and friendly owners. Would recommend to anyone staying. Also a great place to camp or stay in a van!



Perfect staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ballacallin Court over the Christmas break for 5 days and occupied all 3 cottages which was perfect for our family break. As the cottages all have interleading doors, the set-up was absolutely perfect. The cottages are very well equipped, modern and comfortable, the gym & spa facility is an added bonus. The view from the cottages is beautiful and instantly relaxing. The service we receive from Island Escapes as well as the on-site owners was amazing. The little touches such as bread, milk, cheese and butter in the cottage kitchens was really lovely. We had a wonderful time at Ballacallin and I would highly recommend booking a stay there :)



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped with excellent facilities - exceeded expectations. Only problem was with slow hot water supply to wet room and blocked drain. Added bonus was quality of spa and gym area.



A very enjoyable week

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After such a long period of restrictions here in the north of England and being prohibited from visiting our daughter, her husband and our grandchildren for 16 months we needed this holiday to be fabulous and it was. The property and the location are beautiful. Our party comprised 4 adults and 2 under 5's and our only slight negative was that as the kitchen and living room were upstairs, we could have done with a safety gate at the top of the wooden staircase. That aside we could hardly fault the place.



Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend at The Hawthorns. Very homely, lovely views and Island Escapes were on hand with a question we had about some missing supplies which they were able to rectify. Booking in for the spa was simple enough and the facilities there were spot on. The only feedback I would have is that there are a fair few cobwebs around the beams and ceilings that could do with a sweep! Other than that, a brilliant time had all round and would definitely recommend!



Fabulous staycation!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful time we had at Ballacallin Court! The properties are beautiful and just perfect for a group of ladies who wanted to 'get away from it all'. Fabulous location, spotless and roomy accommodation - just what we wanted for my 50th celebrations! Highly recommended : )



Superb Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit as we enjoyed it so much the first time. The location is amazing looking out over the countryside. The apartment has everything we needed and is very comfortable. Having a nice jacuzzi in the morning or evening is just the best. No doubt we'll be back at some point.



The hawthorns

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had such a great time in a wonderful place. We will definitely be back. The spa was incredible and great space for us all for the weekend. Thanks



Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, clean and well equipped barn conversion in a fantastic rural location. Really appreciated the provision of breakfast for the first morning since we arrived arrived late. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.



A”Peel”ing

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the opportunity to visit the Isle of Man fro Guernsey due to an airbridge created during the Coronavirus pandemic - this enabled direct travel between the islands. We enjoyed our stay at The Hawthorns. Jane and David were very welcoming. The small spa and gym was a welcome addition - especially as the weather can be iffy. Although “out in the sticks” it was only about 5 minutes drive to Peel. We picked this area as it’s easy to get to Ramsay in the North and Castletown/Port Erin in the South. Hope to visit again sometime.



Fab Staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful Staycation here, cottages are gorgeous & hob tub was a treat... everyday! Everything you need is there. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you



Staycation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as a bonus extra! Great setting and close to all the west of the Island has to offer, Glen Maye, Niarbyl, White Beach, Peel etc.