FB Twitter

Surfside

Surfside

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


A charming coastal cottage, in a great setting close to the beach.

Fantastic week

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surfside cottage was absolutely fantastic. We had a great week and luckily the weather wasn’t too bad. The only gripe I’ve got and it’s nothing to do with Surfside or the area. It’s the times for dogs allowed on the beach even if the beach is empty you can still not take your dog on as I got reminded this of this by a by a local



Great location and a lovely house.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was very clean and had a number of items there on our arrival such as milk, butter and the usual items. The location is perfect with the beach 20 yards away and the shops and pubs very close by as well. We would stay again.



Surfside - A Happy New Year!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We flew from Liverpool for a five day visit between Christmas and New Year.
This was our second stay here at this time of year. We know and love the Isle of Man having been regular visitors for forty years. We particularly like Port Erin in winter - it's SO easy to get to from the airport by bus for a short break - buses are efficient, prompt and regular - even on New Year's Day to get back to the airport in good time for our flight home! You can arrive by plane, catch a bus easily, enjoy a short journey, get off at the bus depot, pick up provisions at the shops and have the kettle on in Super Surfside in no time at all!!! Highly recommended at any time of year.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely quaint old Cottage right on the sea front, perfectly situated for all amenities. Nice and comfortable with everything you need



Beautiful cottage, fab location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well equipped, beautifully furnished & in an amazing location yards from the beach. The views over the bay from the living area are spectacular. The welcome pack was very thoughtful, the information folders provided all we needed to know about the house & also things to do around the island. We were very comfortable & cosy there throughout our stay in Autumn



Surf side cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Surfside was excellent. The location was perfect the shops, beach and places to eat.
It was bigger than what we thought. We will definitely be back.




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, looking forward to coming back . Superb location. Fabulous beach. Loved the curry house



Already planning are next visit

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to stay, it has everything you could ever want or need. Part of me doesn’t want to say how amazing it is because I worry I might not get the opportunity to rent it again. Perfect stay on a perfect island. WiFi did stop working on day 7 but wasn’t a huge inconvenience. We just got some data passport from are network supplier.



A wedding from Surfside

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a review was left at the cottage; this is the first request I have received by email.
together with a friend, I stayed at Surfside in order to attend my daughter's wedding at Bradda Glen, Port Erin; position of cottage excellent with gorgeous sea views particularly as we were blessed with near perfect weather for the whole stay; to be sure of the right location for such an important event, it was booked a year in advance; unfortunately I had not realised, and perhaps also forgotten, that the cottage is on a slope and that the town is too in many places; in that year my mobility has worsened quite badly and so it proved to be both an awkward location and a difficult property to negotiate internally as there are several necessary, integral stairs. The one bathroom is downstairs which requires a degree of forward planning for the loo.
Fortunately, both my brother and my godson had come across by ferry from Yorkshire and so with cars were able to help me up and down; nevertheless, the cottage itself is well placed for those with full mobility.




A perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family loved the location. Being able to pad down to the beach bare foot from the house. One couldn't get any closer.



Perfect beachside holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our few days at Surfside. It is so close to the beach - a few paces away - that I brought my morning coffee down and went for a paddle with my son on a couple of days. Just blissful. The house itself is full of character, with oars for banisters and lots of maritime touches. It's not flashy but we weren't looking for flashy. The views from the upstairs windows and downstairs bedroom were really wonderful and we hardly used the downstairs conservatory because it was so lovely to see the beach from upstairs, or watch the fairy lights illuminate the upper promenade at dusk. Beds were lovely and comfortable and the bathroom and kitchen facilities were both very good. All in all, a wonderful stay.



Surside is a lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was right opposite the beach. Wonderful sunset views from the window in sitting room.
It had everything we needed. Port Erin is a lovely place to stAY




Lovely cottage in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surfside is a lovely cottage in a wonderful location with plenty of space for a couple. The kitchen was well equipped for our purposes and the bedrooms were very comfortable. We had a couple of issues at the start of our stay but these were quickly sorted out by James who arrived promptly. Some of the decor and pictures could do with updating, especially the framed picture in the lounge area but generally, we liked the nautical style. We couldn't find a parking space near the cottage when we arrived, so had to park on the main promenade and move the car again later when it was time to check in and unload our luggage. Perhaps a designated parking space could be provided for the cottage? Generally, we were very satisfied with our stay.



Fabulous location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Convenient for beach and town, Surfside ticks a lot of boxes.
Good selection of information on local attractions and historic places to visit as well as books on Manx heritage.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Surfside, it's a beautiful and convenient location in Port Erin! We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for your review and for choosing Island Escapes.

Loved it! fantastic listen to the sea, listening to a crackling fire right up my street

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying at surfside so much that if you every sell please let me know will definitely be back!



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Surfside, and that the property met all your needs and expectations..... it's such a great spot! We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Island Escapes Team

We had a great time

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The cottage was lovely and the wood burner was a nice touch, keeping the lounge area warm. The beds were comfy too. The cottage is in a fabulous location so you can walk onto the beach a few metres from the cottage front door. We had a great experience thank you.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Surfside, it certainly is such a great spot! We would very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Lovely seaside cottage with a surprising amount of space

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is lovely, just a stone's throw from the beach making it fantastic for entertainment for little ones! The house has the the added bonuses of a study, a utility room and the conservatory which makes it spacious. It's well equipped with everything you could need and the special logs for the fire make it very easy to have a fire experience. Port Erin is a great place. We highly recommend the very interesting and intimate restaurant 'versa'.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Surfside, Port Erin is such a great spot. Thank you for your review and for choosing Island Escapes. We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Faultless

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, warm. Perfect location and well equipped. I really can’t fault it. Right near the beach, as it’s an upside down house, it’s very quiet in the bedrooms even when windy. It’s my second stay here and won’t be my last.



A beautiful place with a great location offering fabulous views from the large lounge window.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A welcome pack on arrival was great. Clean tidy and great location. Would definitely recommend......



Beach side escape

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent property, with such easy access to the beach. Also, very handy location for shops in Port Erin. Slight challenge with my mother, who found the stairs and the slope to the front door a little tricky; I liked it very much, but we will need different accommodation of we bring my mum to the island again. Space was good, and the place was well equipped.



Our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came over to Isle of Man this time decided to book a cottage and eventually settled on Surfside all I can say is it was excellent fantastic location had everything we needed and more would love to return in the future thank you.



Glorious place

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday in a perfect location. The cottage is excellent but not for people with mobility issues. We were very comfortable. The second bedroom is rather snug and has no natural light or ventilation. The ‘window’ into the corridor would help if it opened. We had problems with all the light switches in the bathroom but Island Escapes service was excellent and repaired rapidly. We will definitely return. Thank you



Bedroom capacity lacking

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and all that was described except on two points. The second bedroom was not a double bed but a three quarter bed not nearly adequate for a six foot three and five foot eight couple. No chest of drawers or anywhere to hang clothes or window to external light so hot , airless when door shut.
Garden not a garden but tiny patio space although it was nice to have outdoor amenity.
Sad bedroom was poor for our guests as they did not sleep well but everything else fabulous,
We would stay again but only as one couple .




Beautiful holiday at Port Erin

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully situated overlooking the beach where we enjoyed early morning walks & evening drinks watching the sunsets.Dogs are allowed on the beach before 10am and after 7pm in the summer months.The bus & steam railway station is just 5 minutes walk away & there are shops & bars on your doorstep including the ice cream parlour next door. There was everything you needed in the cottage including a washing machine, we didn’t use the conservatory as the weather was too hot. You can park outside the cottage on the promenade but 16 hour restrictions are in place & we had to park in the bus station car park if we went off for the day as due to the weather being hot Port Erin was very popular but there were plenty of spaces available when the day trippers left. Would definitely recommend Surfside & it would be our first choice if we returned.



Surfside July 2022

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location is excellent. Surfside is clearly a loved and personalised cottage. Major Improvements to flow of space and removal of lots of ornaments would ensure a more relaxing stay. Attention to wires, extension cables, lightbulbs and low hanging ceiling lights are needed. Kitchen is not four star at all



Fabulous

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage with everything you need. Great location with stunning sea views. Dog friendly island. Highly recommended.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in a really clean beautifully placed cottage. Everything we needed was to hand and was cosy and comfortable.
We would definitely use island retreats again and would recommend the cottage and the service provided.




Almost perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth year staying at Surfside, we love being there. The only downside is the settee, which has no back support at all and for me spoils an otherwise perfect break. We have always got on well with the owners and have politely asked if it could be upgraded and been assured it is going to be replaced. We have already booked two further stays, proof of our love of the place, but something decent to relax on would be greatly appreciated.



Surfside - May2022

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place bang on the beach.
Isle of Man is fabulous and port Erin is a very special place.
Accommodation great and a lovely welcome pack to greet us.
Would definitely stay there again.




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect week, the cottage was in a perfect spot and had everything you could possibly need.



6 night dog-friendly stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best thing about this cottage is the location (right on the beach). It also has good parking. We saw several pictures of the cottage before visiting and we thought it looked lovely but felt a bit disappointed on arrival.

There are two lamps in the living room which are quite low and one is situated by the dining table and me, partner and friends/family who popped in all walked into it. It is quite heavy and so you feel it. I would suggest the light is changed as it seemed a bit dangerous.

The cottage was dog friendly which was why we booked it, along with its location. There was a welcome pack left for our arrival which included bread, cheese, milk etc which is a great touch. The key code holder is handy on arrival and departure.

I personally wouldn't stay in this cottage again but I would use the company again. I'm not entirely sure it was good value for money.




Incredible location and views, cosy and full of character

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (2 adults and a small dog) were lucky enough to have an extended stay of 6 weeks in Surfside and highly recommend it. The cottage is full of character, beautifully themed and had everything we needed including incredible views of Port Erin bay and Bradda Head. It's just a few metres from the beach and we were there mid winter with some spectacular storms - great to watch from the living room with the log burning stove making things very cosy. Fantastic for dog walking, with a very welcoming community of regular dog walkers on the beach and many paths nearby. Also (at least in winter) lots of parking nearby with two easy to use EV charging points, though very little need to go out in the car as there's plenty to do and a good selection of shops + post office/bank/pharmacy nearby.



Wonderful cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cosy cottage in a perfect location. Lovely views. Beach and headland walks from the door. Variety of shops just a stroll away. Port Erin is very dog friendly too



Xmas (again) at Surfside

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd Xmas at Surfside was just as magical as the first. Location is perfect for the beach and the boys were out paddle boarding on Boxing Day! Comfortable and clean cottage in a perfect spot. We may make it a 3rd Xmas.



A great place by the beach

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great little cottage with a nice conservatory. Beautiful lounge. The washer/dryer was useful as well!



Very comfortable and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have just had a 4 day staycation at Surfside.
The house was very well equipped with everything ( and more) that anyone would need. There was also lots of interesting books, DVDs and games - useful for rainy days. Great location for the beach and amenities. Would recommend this accommodation!




An ideal cottage for a Staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surfside cottage is absolutely beautiful and is full of charm and character. Excellent location and very well equipped.



Surfside bliss

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the most perfect cottage. Absolutely everything you could want in fact we didn’t want to leave and we were there for 4 weeks.
Thanks so much




Fabulous location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with character and charm in a stunning and convenient location, perfect for a break in Port Erin.




Perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, cosy, spotless cottage. We will definitely be booking a return visit. Made this Christmas extra special.



Lovely beachside cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can there be any better place to stay when the waves are crashing on the beach and the wind is howling? We lit the log burner and enjoyed looking out at weather unfolding in front of us. The cottage is well equipped with hundreds of Dvds, books, games and magazines. Paaie and Orry loved staying right on the beach and sharing an Ice Cream. They declared it was the “best place ever“.



Surf side Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Surf side is a lovely comfortable and clean cottage, it has a homely atmosphere and the owners have thought of everything you may need



Great location!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surfside is in an amazing location right on the beach. It could not be better if you have young families who love long beach days. The owners were lovely and greeted us with biscuits, coffees, crisps etc. Which was a nice touch. The house has everything you could possibly need! Beach chairs, games, books and so much more. Some things could do with being updated like the kettle (full of limescale). I also didnt like the waterproof matress topper (i am only aware of this now) as it made sleeping very hot and uncomfortable. Other than that, it was perfect. Thank you



Great beach location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location by the beach. Close to all amenities. Water sports on the doorstep. Great base for a small family.



Lovely stay in this charming cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We walk around the coast to Port St Mary and had delicious cakes at the Sugarloaf Cafe. Evening meal at the Shore hotel. Shona boat trip around the calf of Man followed by kayaking, we were going to paddle board but there were lots of jelly fish.
Lovely evening meal at the Foraging Vintners ( book early) followed by dancing to a band on the beach. On Sunday we walked up Bradda head to the Milner Tower and had more yummy food at the Bradda Glen. All in all a busy but relaxing
Stay.
The cottage is absolutely lovely, open fire, DVD’s, games and CD’s for a rainy day. The shower is also decent, our only slight quibble is that the numbers have worn off the cooker which makes it difficult to use.