FB Twitter

Shee Dy Vea

Shee Dy Vea

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Shee Dy Vea is a beautiful home in a peaceful area overlooking Port Erin bay in the south of the Isle of Man.

Fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is one of two halves. The extended kitchen and dining room are really modern and very stylish and well equipped. The rest of the house doesn't have the same touch. The lounge feels much less modern and really needs a comfortable three piece suite. The bedrooms are basic but fine and the upstairs room feels like it doesn't really have an identity and is a missed opportunity in terms of creating something unique and stylish which could give the property much more of a wow factor. The extractor fans in the bathroom and single toilet are quite strange. They seem to be motion sensitive - but when you are in the shower and there is a great deal of steam being generated the fan doesn't come on. Again bathroom could be tiled to make it more stylish. The view is fantastic and there is ample parking and friendly neighbours. Would only stay in this house again if it had improved lounge furniture as it wasn't a place you could relax in the evening.



Shee Dy Vea, June 2022

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the property is the big plus point, with superb views over the town and the bay. The viewing lounge is a nice design touch that complements this. We found that this room got very hot on sunny days, but cooled down quickly enough once a few windows were opened. The front veranda is nice too for sitting out on warm mornings or evenings. The outside of the windows in the front elevation could do with periodic cleaning - the views from inside the house would be even better.

The kitchen was pleasant, adequately equipped and the dining room very nice. Handy having a TV in there - we were able to watch Wimbledon while preparing food & drink. The cuboard doors slamming against the low sloped ceiling was a tad irritating (despite the warning notice) but that's a minor quibble. The living room is a little tired and would benefit from an uplift and the carpets throughout have probably seen better days. In our opinion, the sofa wasn't as uncomfortable as some previous guests had suggested, but it could do with being replaced anyway. The most annoying thing was the back door. The first and only time we opened it, we had such a problem locking it again that we vowed we wouldn't use it for the rest of our stay. Looks like it needs a new mechanism. A number of previous guests have highlighted this problem in their reviews (some of them a few years back), so it really should have been sorted by now. We instead used the side door to access the rear decking.

Bedrooms OK and bed comfortable. Shower room OK and separate toilet always a handy feature.

I don't want this to sound like a negative review. The minus points that I've raised are outweighed by the plus points. Its a nice property in a lovely position and we enjoyed our stay. We'd probably return again......but fix the back door please!




We need to book again!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous week at Shee Dy Vee.
The position of house gave the best view on the island.
There is a well loved feel about the place, and tasteful touches around the house made us feel welcome, and trusted to respect everything.
We hope to stay again!




Plimmers

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi yes dinning chair needs to be replaced and the lounge sofa and chairs also needs to be upgraded cheers



A lovely stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shee Dy Vea is perfectly located with a wonderful view of Port Erin bay from the front windows and verandah. The cottage has a well equipped kitchen, two comfortable double bedrooms and powerful shower.
A lovely stay and one that we will definitely be recommending to friends and family.
The only negative was that the seating in the lounge was not the best, which made watching TV uncomfortable.




Great Stay in Wonderfull Location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I great was was had in a fine location. The house was well equipped, spacious and had some nice touches with amazing views. A good base to explore a wonderful and interesting island. The holiday had been postponed many times over two years due to covid but Island escapes were great and most helpful throughout the process. If / when we were to return this property and company will be first choice.

NW.
West Sussex




Easter weekend staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter break to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. What a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. We have had a fabulous weekend here, stunning views, comfy bed & a great layout. The only issue is the lounge is rather uninviting as it is a little tired & has a sofa that needs replacing (very uncomfortable & old) Saying that we wouldn’t hesitate in coming back.



Peace and views

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An unusual property with it's colonial style balcony and rooftop room with 360 degree views, many hours spent up there with a good book and glass of wine enjoying the views of Port Erin beach, promenade and the majestic Bradda Head. There is a very well fitted out kitchen, pleasant dining room with patio doors on to the balcony, two decent sized bedrooms and a good sized shower room. The seating in the lounge however is in need of an upgrade, the sofa is uncomfortable and the chairs not much better. The back of the house is a sun trap and very secluded, this is accessed from the kitchen by a door that is very difficult to lock, some adjustment is needed. In general this is very pleasant place with a nice atmosphere, well equipped and kept very clean. I would not hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay again. A word of caution, access to the property is by steps or steep drive and the walk back from the centre is steep, however the views make this worthwhile.



Staycation in Port Erin

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property in a great location. Easy walking to the promenade and the village centre.

The property has everything you could need, it's for a and tidy.

Would recommend this to anyone.




we had a lovely staycation Shee Dy Vea the property was clean well kept and very comfortable.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely staycation at Shee Dy Vea the property was well kept clean and very comfortable with amazing views and we would highly recommend a stay here to all our friends and family we were very reluctant to leave as it was a very relaxing 3 day break .



Staycation IOM

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house appears picture perfect. Location is great. What it lacks is comfort. The sitting room furniture is old/dismal, there is no excuse for having a room you cannot use on a rainy day to read a good book. The shower does not drain so you end up standing in dirty water and hot water only for one shower. The kitchen is good. The passage and step into kitchen needs fixing. I’m not on holiday to watch out for holes in floors and an unexpected step. This is the 3rd place we have booked and stayed at on the IOM and will not be returning.



Nostalgic Break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good few days in one of our favourite places. A comfortable property with excellent views across the bay. The cottage is well equipped but in need of some tlc. E.g. two dining room chairs needing repair, back door extremely difficult to open, floor boards in hall and on decking at rear of property.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at shee Dy Vea was outstanding. The house is perfectly located with excellent facilities. Essentials in the fridge and even proper coffee bags to enjoy on arrival. The views are stunning and there is plenty of parking space.

I cannot recommend this place enough, I will be staying again!




Summer Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The second time we have stayed here. Very clean both times, has everything you need and a great location. Couldn't really fault it to be honest and we will definitely be back



A great place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time my friend and I have stayed at this property and, yet again, we were not disappointed.
The bungalow stands on the side of a cliff in a quiet residential area and so close to all the amenities Port Erin has to offer. A short walk down the cliff takes you to the promenade but bear in mind that the way back up will take you a little longer! Port Erin is well connected by a frequent bus service to Douglas, Castletown, Port St. Mary and the Calf of Man so you can explore without having to drive. The steam train will also take you to Douglas but does not run so frequently.
The accommodation has all you require for a lovely relaxing holiday in homely surroundings, Our favourite room is the observation lounge, an inspired addition to an older but well modernised property, which offers a fantastic view across the bay and out to sea.
We are already planning our next visit!




Nice weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and a great location! Would recommend staying here especially during the summer months.



The perfect little getaway with the most stunning views!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shee Dy Vea was incredible to say the least! The house itself was fantastic and cosy, yet modern and homely. We loved the kitchen and our baby girl climbed her first ever flight of stairs there, which was special! The views were spectacular; waking up to that view every morning and being able to watch the sun set from every window at the front of the house was something special. We usually make the most of being somewhere different from home, and try to get out of the house and explore the area as much as possible, but this was the first time we actually just stayed inside the property and enjoyed the house! We will definitely be back! Thank you so much!



Beautiful!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time here. Beautiful little property with an absolutely stunning view across the bay. The team provided fantastic customer service and we can’t wait to visit again.



Beautiful views, comfortable, well equipped bungalow.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Shee Dy Vea to be a very comfortable, home from home. The kitchen/ dining area is very well laid out and has lovely views across the bay. Island Escapes were very helpful to assist with booking and leave a very useful welcome pack. The bungalow is situated up a hill but very near to the town centre and all amenities, so this was not a problem at all.Would certainly stay here again.



Wonderful views!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On the positive side the location couldn't be bettered - the short cut down to the Bay Hotel and town very welcome - glorious views over the sea, beach and Milner's Tower. Substantial welcome pack. Very comfortable bed. Wonderful kitchen and viewing floor.
On the negative side, very sketchy wi-fi - had to switch booster off and on several times a day, loo in bathroom needs attention but above all the step from the kitchen to the hall is deadly! Despite overhead sign tripped up several times before crashing face down and badly bruising both knees. Nasty shock and still painful. Despite this struggled up and down path daily and enjoyed our stay.




Shee dy Vea staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy house up on the hill. Fabulous views. Comfortable beds and duvets. Well equipped kitchen. The turret room is a lovely bonus



Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay here, with great views. Highly recommend, near all local amenities, nice and cosy. Very spacious inside too.



Stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice property with stunning views over Port Erin bay. We spent most of our time in the dining room as it was very comfortable and made the most of the lovely view. Only a short walk down to the sea or the village and a slightly longer walk up to Bradda Head and Milner’s tower. A perfect location.
One small downside was that the next door property is having an extension built so the scaffolding partially hides the view and it was quite noisy at times, we also had workmen on scaffolding peering down through the roof lights in the kitchen. I’m sure this won’t be a problem for long though.




Staycation 2020

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 3 nights in November after the English travel ban scuppered out foreigh holiday plans. Its a lovely house with superb views over the beach and Bradda Head. Within walking distance to several restaurants and cafes and 5mins quick path to the beach/promenade. Very modern inside but still retains its original charm. Highly recommended.



Lovely stay in Port Erin

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
External appearance was not very welcoming. In need of a paint and garden needs to be attended to.
The interior was very nice and the views from upstairs were stunning.
Very nice few days down south!!




Home from Home

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magnificent setting with superb views across the bay and headlands.
Welcoming aspect confirmed once inside. Homely feel to each room with spacious well laid out kitchen. Every room well kept and comfortable. Favourite has to be the upstairs room
- warmed by the sun and with panoramic views that would be hard to match. A definite home from home and we would love to stay again.




Shee Dy Vea

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent stay in a lovely property in a great setting.

Very good support and service from the original booking and throughout the process.

Highly recommend




Staycation at other end of island

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We know Port Erin well, so no suprises, but enjoyed our short break.. Weather was disappointing, twice we found ourselves saying — we would have to come back in summer ! But it was mid July. Everything we needed at property the only downside for us was the step down into the kitchen, which my wife forgot about in middle of the night and went flying. In her seventies so not a great thing to happen, We solved by shutting kitchen door when we went to bed. Welcome pack appreciated, thank you Island Escapes, who changed original dates due to COVID with no problems... Great customer service



Felt like both a holiday and a home

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 3 nights on our staycation. The views are something else! 2 double bedrooms were comfy and the shower was the best ever. Impressive kitchen with everything we needed. Only comments would be there didn't seem to be any table mats anywhere? Very homely, tempted to come back.



Just loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Some lovely touches that I was not expecting, e.g. bread, milk, butter, coffee, teabags, biscuits, sweets. Place was great location and have asked Island Escapes if it is free for the August bank holiday. One tiny little thing was it would have been good to have some shower gel - couple of people assumed there would be some. Definitely recommend this to others. Just lovely