FB Twitter

Santa Rosa

Santa Rosa

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.4
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Santa Rosa offers captivating views from its elevated position overlooking Douglas bay, Isle of Man.

Great location but poor wi-fi

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved most things about the house - it was well-equipped and comfortable and the view overlooking Douglas bay was excellent We enjoyed seeing the ferries and the electric tram come and go. The only two downsides were the poor wi-fi connection (especially during the evening, which meant that we couldn't use the internet effectively or watch TV), and the lack of recycling facilities. The latter surprised and disappointed us as we noticed that surrounding houses had recycling bins.



Mediocrity Incarnate

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2024
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Santa Rosa is a weirdly designed 2 story apartment perched on a cliff. It overlooks the bay in Douglas with a view along the seafront on one side and a busy motorway 9' away on the other. The front gate opens directly into a traffic lane so be alert when stepping out! The noise from passing traffic is incessant during the day.

It has a living/dining room, a narrow kitchen and a full bath on the ground floor with 3 bedrooms and a 1/2 bath up.

It is a convenient walk to the seafront but at the wrong end as, apart from construction sites and some run down hotels, all of the activities and decent restaurants are at least a 1/2 mile distant.

Santa Rosa offers a dry place to sleep and the heating and hot water systems work fine but you're not going to want to spend much of your waking day here as it is oddly designed, haphazardly furnished, and appears to have been recently painted by someone who didn't know what a dropcloth was for.

It can sleep 6 so the price isn;t that bad, but if youre looking for something with a bit of charm . . . keep looking.




Sam replied 12 days ago
Thank you for your feedback on Santa Rosa. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Santa Rosa is not next to a busy motorway, though we understand that access to the road can be tricky. Due to the property's location and the lack of pavement outside, extra care is needed when crossing the road, especially during peak times, which is reflected in the property description. Free and convenient parking is available on the promenade just a minute or two's walk away. The property is a two-story house, not an apartment, and is designed to accommodate up to 5 guests, not 6. Guests primarily choose Santa Rosa for its fantastic view, excellent public transportation links, and the convenience of being within walking distance to the town center. There are two restaurants beside the property, two restaurant pubs within walking distance and public transport links, including horse trams to Douglas center, the electric railway north, and buses, are just a 2-minute walk away. We appreciate your comments about the furnishings and design and will consider your feedback for future improvements. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Ideal base for exploring the island.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Santa Rosa proved an excellent base from which to explore the island. Buses ran regularly within 200 yards of the door and the 2 tram options, horse and electric, were a mere 5 minutes walk away. Local pubs and restaurants were visited nearby in both Onchan and Douglas.
The centre of Douglas and the Tesco off Victoria Road could also be reached in a 20 minute walk, the latter uphill.
Front bedroom and living room had great views across Douglas Bay. Bedrooms 2 & 3 faced the Summer Hill road were not too bad in terms of noise. Bathroom and kitchen excellent, though a dishwasher was advertised but none was in situ.
TV also proved impossible to operate, better instructions would have helped.
Internet was fine and property temperature ok though a little cool at the start of the week.
Overall, a very good week.




Beautiful sea views

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was comfortable and had a great outdoor area to sit and enjoy the view. Long walk into town but we chose this property because of the great views. A delightful Glen was opposite complete with bluebells and bird song.



Our stay at Santa Rosa for Nephew’s wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely spot and thoroughly enjoyed by the family. Parking is an issue, however we negotiated a spot opposite with th property owner. It would be helpful to have a guide to the TV as it was not a straightforward arrangement.
A great holiday.




Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, very homely. Slight walk up the hill from the front. View onto sea front amazing.
Thanks for the arrival present of cheese and milk. All very clean.
We got the heating working after texting island escape very easy communication. Would recommend this stay.




Great stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, lovely sea views, clean and comfortable. Great service too. We were very happy for our visiting guests.



Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant place to watch the world go by - be it electric trams, horse trams, ferries, or the ever changing weather (in our case including Storm Agnes and a double rainbow too!). Such stunning views! Also enjoyed exploring Sunnyhill Glen (with evening illuminations). Only two of us stayed, which was perfect, might be a tad cosy with five!



A beautiful house in the perfect location. The service was great and the house is very well equipped

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and I will recommend, specially for the location that is by the promenade and public transport.



Amazing views, great location!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Santa Rosa, the views from the window were amazing, looking at the sea was great for our wellbeing and it was nice to watch the comings and goings of people on the beach below. The location was great because we could take the nearby tram to the north, the bus, or walk into the town centre. The house was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The island was lovely, lots of things to do and nice beaches, waterfalls and quirky little trains. We will definitely come again.



Gratis trip

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excelent customer service and very happy riders. Very good cooking facilities, as we cooked at home the whole time. Very good locación



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week and the house was great, very comfortable and had everything we needed.
The road outside is extremely dangerous we had a little one in a pram and you had to be very careful.
The outside area is the house needs some attention especially the decking and the steps from a health and safety point.
Overall lovely stay.




The heating was a hassle.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was cold when we arrived, and the heating remained a hassle throughout our stay. Moreover it was a bit too basically furnished for my taste.



Beautiful views, well equipped. Dangerous road.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ok the house was clean, well equipped. Big leak thru windows (as reported to you). Really needs fixing as ruining wooden floor and of course does impact negatively on stay. The worst aspect is the dangerous road which we feel should be pointed out more. Definitely not a place for children or those with mobility issues, need to be quick across that road. Many thanks



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Santa Rosa, and thank you for your helpful feedback about the window which was fixed immediately after your stay. We do advise in the property description about children and the busy road, the location features stunning views over Douglas bay so we do feel the score was a little unfair in this respect. We hope it did not effect the enjoyment of your stay too much. We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Island Escapes Team

Great view

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and great view. Easy free parking on promenade. Enough has been said about crossing the road in front of property (scary). Needs bigger beds.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Santa Rosa. Yes, parking on the promenade is definitely the best option! Thank you for your review and for choosing Island Escapes. We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Stay at Santa Rosa

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this property now a couple of times and no doubt we will be staying here again soon. Extremely happy with the property and its cleanliness and also fantastic customer service.
Bernadette




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Santa Rosa. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, thank you for choosing Island Escapes.

A comfortable stay and sea views

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful apartment with incredible views of Douglas Bay. Everything we needed and excellent service



Good views.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great views but dangerous crossing road outside property and definitely nowhere stop to unload. Could do with bigger beds too.



Super holiday in the Santa Rosa

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a super and comfortable stay at the Santa Rosa being excellently positioned and with great views if Douglas Bay and promenade.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal accommodation for our extended family, All our needs were provided for, including food and drink in the fridge. The view of the bay was stunning and the children enjoyed watching the boats. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property for a holiday on the Isle of Man.



Lovely , well equipped house.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely well presented and well equipped house with great sea views.

Thank you the welcome groceries- very helpful.

Thank you to the owner.




Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have this house for the TT race week and it proved to be perfect, the location was spot on, views over the bay breathtaking and the house was presented excellently, we would all come back again and highly recommended by us all.



Excellent Sea view property in Douglas

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the sea views through the two large windows to the front of the house. Very comfy beds,The property was very clean, clean bedding plus having two toilets were handy, Be careful when crossing the road outside the property as it’s very busy, glad they have a blind spot mirror to help you cross, The only gripe I have is that it says you can park on the seafront, we came in two cars but didn’t travel out a lot, as there were too many camper vans taking up most of the spaces we counted eleven camper vans one day, so when we came back after a ride out we were struggling to find a place to park for two cars, probably it was because it was the week before the TT started, but I would have liked to have parked closer to the property



Great holiday in fantastic property

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house, fantastic central location overlooking Douglas Bay. Spotlessly clean on arrival. Provision of numerous items like bread, milk, butter, cheese, coffee, tea, the list is endless. Ample nearby parking. Great place to stay.



Santa Rosa

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely property to relax in with absolutely wonderful views, everything was provided and someone at the end of the phone to speak to if you had any issues. Looking forward to staying in this property again. Super people to deal with.



Pre Easter Break

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay in this well located & well kept cottage. Great views of the bay from the lounge windows and main bedroom. 20-30 min walk into main town area. Watch the road outside the property as it is located on a blind bend. TV took some working out but got there in the end



Really lovely holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely week staying in Santa Rosa. We arrived late on a Sunday night and really appreciated the milk, bread, cheese, butter, tea, coffee and biscuits etc left for us. The house was beautifully clean and very thoughtfully furnished with everything you could need. The table in the lounge folds out and there were 6 dining chairs provided. So nice to eat your breakfast with an undisrupted view of the sea! The kitchen was very well equipped even with oils and spices, washing up liquid etc. The beds were comfy and there were 3 good sized rooms, 2 double and 1 single. One double and the single have views of the sea and electric railway. The spacious bathroom has a fantastic shower and there is a second toilet upstairs. The house is located a little way up a steep hill opposite the entrance to Summer Hill Glen. You have to park on the promenade which was not a problem, but bear it in mind with transporting luggage and it might be more of a challenge for the elderly. You need to take care crossing to and from the house as there is no pavement outside the house and it's by a bend in the road, due to the steepness, vehicles tend to go by past pretty fast. There is a mirror to help you see vehicles coming down but be careful with small children and slower moving people! The house is a great location about 5 minute drive along the prom from the ferry, it's very close to the electric railway, you can see it from the lounge window. it's about a 20/25 minute walk to get to the main shopping street. We had lovely meals at China Town restaurant below the house and Mojo's chippy on the prom. Would really recommend this lovely house, we really miss waking up to the sound of the sea! Island Escapes were brilliant at communication and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and Santa Rosa.