FB Twitter

Riverside Cottage

Riverside Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Riverside cottage is situated in a wonderful location near Port St Mary, Isle of Man. Nestled in a peaceful glen with views across the south of the island and the Irish Sea.

Beautiful and peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully located in a tranquil setting with sea views and with lovely walks on the doorstep, couldn't fault it at all. The bread, cheese and wine left for us was a very nice touch ☺️.



Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, lovely enclosed garden- very safe for dogs and children. Excellent walking from the cottage. Cottage very clean and kitchen had everything needed.



Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really comfortable stay in Riverside Cottage, the place was really clean and fresh and comfortable and full of interesting books of local interest. Couple of points from previous reviews that could have put us off, one said the parking was tight, I don't think it is really. We took two cars and easily parked in front of the house without any problems. Another review said that there wasn't enough crockery to warrant using the dishwasher, well there is now. Also, the same person said one of the beds was a bit too firm and the pillows too thin, this wasn't the case for us. They also said there wasn't enough turning spaces for such a narrow road ... I can only think they were having a bad week because we simply turned around outside the house.



Delightful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped and tastefully furnished cottage in a quiet location. Welcome pack included milk, bread, butter, wine along with tea and coffee bags. Loved the little extras such as the waterproof maps and a good variety of books. Views from the bedrooms out to sea. A great place for a walking base or just for a peaceful getaway. A footpath right by the front gate takes you down alongside a pretty stream to the beach, from there you can walk up to Port St Mary town. It is also half an hour's walk from Port Erin. Didn't get round to using the log burner in the lounge as too busy out exploring, but I imagine it makes the room very cosy on a chilly evening.



A lovely holiday cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really appreciated the cleanliness and functionality of this pretty cottage as well as the beautiful decor and wonderful scents throughout! Peaceful and comfortable with a well kitted out kitchen and fabulous walks from the door. Easy driving distance to amenities and days out.
The only extra thing we’d have appreciated, would have been a short length of hosepipe on the outside tap to make it easy to wash the dog and put boots down after muddy walks (we had to dunk him in the stream, which he wasn’t too happy about ). But other than that, it couldn’t have been more perfect. Thank you so much, we hope to visit again soon!




Beautiful property

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property in a beautiful location. It would be perfect in summer, but also made a very cosy winter stay.
Minor issue upon arrival was immediately sorted out with a helpful and friendly approach.




We chose Riverside cottage as our base for walking the coastal path.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside cottage was delightful! This is a beautiful cosy cottage which is immaculate. It was the perfect location to start & finish the coastal path with the CP route being only 5 minutes walk away. Port St Mary is only a short walk away via public footpaths; it offers a great pub, lovely cafe & smashing fish & chip shop.
We had a party of 6 plus 2 dogs. The cottage was the perfect size for us with a large secure garden for the dogs to sniff around.
All in all we were delighted with Riverside cottage, Port St Mary & the Isle of Man, we had a great week & succeeded in walking around the island in 5 days




Good location in the south of the island.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2023
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property is very spacious and fairly comfortable. It had all the necessary amenities / facilities for self catering. Plenty of useful local information. We had to report a couple of issues to Island Escapes that affected and somewhat spoiled our stay. (Hopefully these will be fixed and not cause future guests problems)

Lovely garden but we had poor weather and so were unable to take advantage of it.

A good place to stay for a holiday in the south of the island. However, we found a superior property in the north so this property was therefore only second best for us.




John @ Island Escapes replied 262 days ago
Thanks for your comments and I am glad you had a good stay. We investigated the issues you reported with the shower, but could not find any problems. We havent had any other issues, so we think this may just have been user error. We will look to make information more available on how to use this.

A perfect place to stay and relax

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside cottage is a picture book place to locate yourself for a stay in the IOM,
The house itself is very clean, well decorated and retains some rustic features, the key thing for our group was the four bedrooms.
The position is fantastic with views over the sea and green uncluttered countryside, right next to a meandering footpath by a stream in its own idyllic little valley that eventually runs out to the sea.
Nearby Port St. Mary is just a short drive away for everyday shopping needs and has a small selection of eateries and bars within walking distance to while away the evenings.
There's plenty of things to look at in Port St. Mary and nearby is the coastal footpath to roam on your way to the Calf of Man if you like a good walk.
For days out, there's easy access to a lovely beach and many more facilities in nearby Port Erin. Castletown is a short drive away and is well worth a day of sightseeing.
Road access to places like Peel, Ramsey and Douglas is straightforward. For an extra bit of interest there's a narrow gauge steam railway from Port Erin to Douglas plus the Electric Tramway from Douglas to Ramsey that passes the Laxey wheel with a branch that climbs to a cafe on top of Snaefell.
In summary: the accommodation is an excellent find in a stunning location on an idyllic island that has a relaxed pace with many friendly people - it's all five star




Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at Riverside Cottage, a comfortable house in peaceful surroundings. We loved the spacious kitchen/diner and found the downstairs shower room a bonus for a group of 5 adults. The garden is a lovely place to sit on sunny days and distant views of the sea are a bonus. Highly recommended.



Fabulous holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the comfortable and well equipped Riverside Cottage. The location is stunning and there are many beautiful walks to be enjoyed in the local area.



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in a beautiful location. A short drive to Port Erin and Port St Mary. Garden nice to enjoy morning coffee and more. IOM itself just perfect.



Perfect for a family get-together

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside Cottage was, at the time of booking, the only cottage available to us that would accommodate six people and a dog so we booked up on that basis. I was the 'organiser' so could only hope that it was going to work. We were not disappointed!! It was absolutely perfect. It's one of those houses you walk into and think - I wish my house was like this. Immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, extremely well-equipped and just such a nice, calm, peaceful place. Just perfect. Every one of our family including the dog, loved it. The only slight disappointment was that it wasn't possible to use the wood burning stove which would have been nice, as it was mid April and a little chilly in the evenings. (We suspect there's a blockage in the chimney, I.E.) Apart from that I can't recommend this place highly enough. I don't think we would look elsewhere should we all be back on the island at the same time again. Take care on the approach if you are driving. It's very tight! Also, we had a Range Rover and a VW Golf in our party and managed to park them both (just!). I very highly recommend Riverside Cottage.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Riverside, it's such a great spot! We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, thank you for choosing Island Escapes!

Riverside Cottage stay in Spring

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in an idyllic location surrounded by fields with lambs, a stunning sea view, a Glen on the doorstep and with a friendly pheasant who dropped by every so often in the field opposite. The cottage was scrupulously clean, good facilities and very comfortable with a lovely garden. There’s lots of sunlight flooding through and I couldn’t stop looking out at the view! We all enjoyed our stay and would love to come back.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Riverside, it is such a beautiful part of the island. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with beautiful views, the garden was lovely with a patio area where we enjoyed a bbq. The house was very clean and facilities were perfect. Beds were comfortable with extra cushions and blankets available. The welcome pack was a lovely touch especially the bread, cheese and wine. Amazing stay thankyou very much.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Riverside, it is such a beautiful spot. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Fantastic home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage. The location was ideal, the cottage itself was beautifully fitted out and the garden was lovely. The cottage is very comfortable and the garden is perfect for catching the sunshine in the morning and the evening. We would love to stay again.



Terrific accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent standard of accommodation. Lots of nice touches including toys and books. Plenty of space inside and out.

Dishwasher a bit redundant as not enough crockery to warrant using it. One of the beds was a bit too firm and pillows a bit thin.

Wonderful garden and location for views and walks but a bit tricky for cars. Not enough turning spaces for an estate and very narrow road to the turning circle.




Holiday at Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, well equipped, great location.

You really don’t need to use your car if you don’t want to. You feel away from everywhere, but actually you can be in Port St Mary or Port Erin in 20/30 minutes walk.




An adult family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was family of 4 adults and a large dog. The property was as described, it was lovely and clean and freshly upgraded with a welcome pack of milk, bread, butter and bicuits. The garden was enclosed and easily accessible immediately around the house. There was a wilder area further down the garden which our dog enjoyed. The kitchen was fully equipped to enable you to be self sufficient. We enjoyed trying out the variety of restaurants. There was access to various walks from the cottage which take you up hills, down to a rocky bay or across fields. We would definately recommend this property to our friends who are looking for a quiet base.



Great in all ways

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely House Lovely Location. House has everything
Highly recommend
High spec fixtures and fittings
Many thanks
Eugene