FB Twitter

Packet House

Packet House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


With a rich maritime history, Packet House a listed building on the Quayside in Castletown has been lovingly refurbished to the highest of standards.

A wonderful stay at The Packet House

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a treat to stay at The Packet House !
It had a WOW factor, as soon as we walked in !
A perfect location-and a stunning living area , with super views !
Great Management from Island Escapes , located just up the road
As last year, Chris &Vanessa Callow
( who offer this Service through Island Escapes) came and cooked a wonderful meal for us , at The Packet House. -A really Special Experience !

Thank you Everyone, for a Very Memorable and Special Holiday, celebrating our
60th Wedding Anniversary at The Packet House




Beautiful sea view & great location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Packet House. The unit was lovely with 2 bedrooms each with an extremely nice modern bathroom, plus an extra small bathroom on the ground floor. Kitchen and living area on the top floor was spacious and had great views of the Irish Sea and coastline. Will definitely be back!



A lovely gem of a place

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Packet House very last minute for me and my daughters and we really loved the house.
With it being an upside-down house, the main living area is on the top (third) floor and the open-plan space works really well and the views are stunning.
There are all the mod cons you could want and the beds are really comfortable.
The location is fantastic. You are really central to Castletown and can walk everywhere.
The only thing that could be improved (and this is just a personal thing) is for the curtains in the bedrooms to be blackout curtains. In the wintertime, I don't imagine this is an issue at all but in the summer the room is very light, which is lovely but made it a little difficult to switch off. As mentioned, this is just a personal thing and likely won't bother most people. This is also a really tiny minor thing as there really isn't anything I can fault the house on and would happily stay there again, even if the curtains aren't blackout ones.




Truly gold star accommodation!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented accommodation in a perfect location. Packet House has been refurbished and equipped to the highest standard and makes for a very comfortable and luxurious place to stay. It is a bonus having the friendly Island Escapes team nearby!

We’ve had two wonderful holidays in Packet House and have two more booked - that says it all!!




Amazing accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve had the most wonderful stay at Packet House. The property has been finished to such a high standard and provided everything you could wish for. We had a slight issue with the front door and received a visit from a member of the Island Escapes team within 20 mins of calling. The issue was resolved straight away (just a knack with the door) with no complaint that we’d called them.
We would definitely recommend this property and Island Escapes to all our friends and hope to book again on our next visit to the Isle of Man.




Very pleasant

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Packet House is well placed on the Castletown harbour, it overlooks the freshwater harbour where it meets the sea. There is plenty to see from the panoramic window, boats, visitors and wildlife such as swans, ducks and a heron. Everything that you need is within a short walking distance. The glue pot pub has real ales, there are several restaurants and takeaways and a Co Op open till 10pm.There is also a steam railway to Douglas. The house is very well designed with a superb kitchen and bathroom. Everything works and is well laid out. Island escapes have an office in Castletown, we didn’t have the correct door code and the staff sorted it for us.



Short historical stay in a practical and beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beds were very comfortable which is a vital component in any stay away from home and the location enabled a trip to the South and access to the main roads leading to places of interest. The grandchildren loved the steam trains.
The view over the small harbour from the bay window in the lounge was idyllic. There was history, the sea birds and the changing skies and tides. A beautiful spot.




Very good picturesque location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time the only drawback for me was all the stairs to get to the kitchen with shopping bags however.it was worth the struggle when once at the top!



Exceptional, beautiful for dinner and entertaining

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Packet House as part of a large group staying in various places around Castletown. We generally shared cooking and one night was pizza and movie night at Packet House which was just lovely. There was plenty of space to accommodate us sitting in the living room, doing quizzes and generally having a good old time in beautiful surroundings. Thoroughly recommend the house, the location and the help from Island Escapes to make the stay possible was just exceptional.



Fantastic accommodation, location and I really enjoyed my stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation, location and I really enjoyed my stay. Very well presented. I will definitely return.



Luxurious accommodation in a stunning location!!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed many times on the Isle of Man and in many ways this was the best yet! Packet House was tastefully and luxuriously presented making it a very special place to stay. It’s very reassuring to know that the staff at Island Escapes are based locally and are at hand to help with any queries. The wonderful location was the icing on the cake! We have already booked for next year and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Packet House as a fantastic place to stay!



Perfect relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was easy to find from the ferry terminal, and what a surprise when you enter the house, it smelt lovely, and was so clean.
The interior finish was very high spec, the bedding, towels etc and the appliances were top of the range.
The sunrise in the morning and the sea views were really relaxing.
Please Island Escapes do so properties abroad.




Great house

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house and location which had everything we needed for our stay - we would definitely stay again.



Amazing staycation place

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property in a perfect location, couldn’t fault any aspect of Packet House and would recommend to anyone, child friendly too



Luxury Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had terrific service from Island Escapes and would definitely use this Company again.
The accommodation itself was luxurious. Bread, butter & cheese in the fridge … an example of personal touches which made the difference!
Location couldn’t have been better and free long-term parking was less than 3 minutes away.
All-in-all, an excellent experience.




A great place to stay in Castletown

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice, recently refurbished property, went there for a weekend staycation, would definitely recommend



Fabulous stay at the Packet House

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful 4 night stay with my parents. The house is very well appointed with stunning views of the harbour. The beds are extremely comfortable, the house is sumptuously decorated.




Packet House

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property in a good central location. All amenities within a few hundred yards.
It’s just our preference but would like ‘old fashioned’ kettle and a couple of coat hooks in entrance would be good in case of poor weather so as not to make a mess in this lovely property.
We’ll be back.




Beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay. Great location. Great view of the quay. Extremely clean. Everything you need and lots of nice extra touches too. Highly recommend



Staycation idyll

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded expectations, perfect for sightseeing historical sites, enjoyed the log burner and views of the harbour



Luxury in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury living in a picturesque location. Views are outstanding towards Langness from the oriel window. The house is flooded with light all day. Castletown has some good restaurants. Remember to book the Japanese restaurant early on as it is very popular.
We had summer weather but i imagine that tucked up with the log burner and good books in winter would be a joy. Could do with some coat hooks for the Manx weather apparel. We will return, maybe making a bigger party with Ellan Vannin next door.




Amazing accommodation!!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the weekend of our wedding, along with Ellan Vannin house next door.

The houses are both beautiful and finished to such a high standard- everyone loved their time there. The milk, butter and bagels upon arrival was such a nice touch!

Thank you for a beautiful stay.




Perfect House

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved the Packet House or as we will always call it Perfect House...There’s not much more to say really it’s clean, high specced, comfortable and cosy, exceptional!!!



Birthday staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Mar 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our staycation having a fantastic weekend in a great location, with excellent views. The property was to a very high standard for cleanliness and equipment.



Wedding Anniversary staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing property with everything on hand. Great entertaining open plan kitchen/dining area and wonderful views over the harbour and surrounding areas. Perfect location for all the local amenities too. Booked with Island Escapes a few times now and would definitely recommend them.



A stunning property

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really stunning property with fabulous views both down to the sea and up river to the hills.
No expense has been spared on the finish of this house and every last detail has been given so much thought, down to the luxurious towels and hand wash in the shower rooms to the heavenly goose down duvets on the beds. The kitchen is equipped with everything one could possibly want and the living space is just perfect with a very comfortable, huge curved sofa and the lovely glass dining table in the bay window.
A perfect base for visiting the rest of the south of the island with bus stops a two minute walk away. Great places to eat also within a few minutes walk.




Very well appointed place with an amazing view

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay with wonderful views. Very close to shops and restaurants. Comfortable beds and spacious bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Even cater for families with a baby as they had a small room with a cot and a high chair in the lounge.



Faultless. An outstanding staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights in Packet house and everything about the place oozed class. It was spotlessly clean, modern, excellently equipped, cosy and very comfortable. From the White Company products to the log burner, everything was just how you’d want it. Will definitely be coming back.



Perfect staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Packet House is beautiful. The views are stunning and the finish of the property is like staying in a boutique hotel. Listening to the waves crashing outside with the log fire burning was a highlight. The photos of the living area don’t do it justice - highly recommended.



Beautiful house in beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location with a big balcony window giving a 180 degree view over the harbour and across to Langness. Perfect for watching the sunrise, or the swans or seabirds at any time.
Costa is a 20 second stroll and a variety of pubs and restaurants not much further. Despite that it is extremely quiet as the street the house is located on just runs down to a small pier. Lots of lovely walking opportunities from the front door.
Top quality fittings, with the exception of the tv, which offered Apple TV (subscription required), or a very contrary bbc iplayer.
There is a small nursery, with a cot, and a high chair supplied, but I would be wary of having a child capable of crawling or walking due to the open plan nature of the top floor living area which opens straight on to the stairs. The house is over 3 floors, with a bedroom in each floor, and the living area on the top,
Definitely worth a visit!




A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Isle of Man, made possible by the airbridge between Guernsey and the Isle of Man. Island Escapes provided a lot of choice of places to stay on their website and we certainly enjoyed staying at the Packet House, its location was great, it was very well equipped and was a comfortable house. Island Escapes provided excellent directions and details of entry to the house etc. Everything was more than satisfactory and in fact we are returning to Castletown next month and staying in the adjoining property.