FB Twitter

Mariners House

Mariners House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 42 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Just a hop, skip and a jump from Laxey beach, this superb family house provides a high level of quality and comfort throughout.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in a lovely location. We arrived to some essentials in the fridge, tea/coffee and cleaning products. Kitchen is well equipped for a self catering stay. Some really nice things left for the dog too.



A perfect place

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Mariners House. Vixen for its great location at Old laxey, the decor, furnishings and layout were wonderful especially the chair looking out over the sea on the to floor. Cannot fault the place or the company



Wonderful holiday home

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely house, so close to the beach, our dog loved it. Mona Lisa Italian restaurant is just s short walk as is Shore Hotel. Both super. No shops in walking distance. This didn't worry us at all. Basin in top floor bathroom and bathriom off 1st floor landing were tiny. Too small to wash your face. Otherwise all excellent. Highly recommend. Extremely well equipped eg hairdryer in each bedroom. Thank yoi



Delightful property and location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had every high class comfort on the inside of the cottage and all the amenities we needed on the outside for us and our 2 dogs.
We totally recommend this property.
Our only drop on the stars was a degree of nervousness about no blinds at the bathroom windows when the neighbours behind could see in every time they walked past. Also the WiFi and tv dropped out on a regular basis. Not a game changer but frustrating at times.




Classic TT 2022 Laxey

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, well equipped, and fitted out to a high standard. The six of us had nothing but high praise for the whole experience. I would highly recommend the property and your company. Thanks once again.



Laxy Beach Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully maintained and equipped property in a perfect location. Like having your own 5star beach hut within a stones throw of the beach.



The wonderful Isle of Man

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property and location, to explore this interesting Island and meet the Manx people. So much history, trains and each town has its own personality.



Nice property

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a good spot in Laxey although it is overlooked at the back (yard isn’t very big either) and a house in front of it. Only parking for 1 car right outside the property and a bit tight as on the street, plenty of parking over on the seafront through. As with another property I recently staying in with island escapes there are no curtains just blinds so would recommend bringing eye cover for sleep! Nice size lounge WiFi was a bit dodgy whilst I was there, kitchen a little on small side for the size of the house but still good enough, master bedroom and bathroom were gorgeous. No telly in bedroom as per another property I stayed in through island escapes not sure if this is just through all their properties but did miss having telly in bed! All in all a nice place in a good location but it is about 20/30 min walk to the closest shop.



Excellent property

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property. Very well laid out, with excellent facilities. Extremely picturesque location. Stunning views.
Lovely stay. Enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.




A wonderful holiday home in a lovely village

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mariners House is comfortable cosy and very clean.It is beautifully decorated with comfy seating and beds.The location is perfect next to the lovely safe Sandy beach.Everything you could need for a holiday is provided and we appreciated the beach towels as some of the group went for early swims.We have been to many self catering properties and would have to rate this as one of the best.The service from Island Escapes was also great -friendly prompt and very helpful.We are already planning our next visit !



Lovely house, lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely House in a great location. Party of 4 adults 1 child, plenty of room for us all. On arrival everything was ready and clean. Laxey is a quiet part of IOM this is what we wanted. Easy access to beach and Harbour (few minutes walk)
Unfortunately Laxey Wheel was still under restoration so couldn't climb to the top!
Well stocked Kitchen, more than enough of everything
Toys and Games including beach toys
Comfy lounge area
Comfy bedrooms
Would come again.




Our second visit, and will be back, superb, ditto for our dogs!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spacious house with every facility, very comfy beds and top quality linen. Spotless bathrooms, Kitchen with all modern equipment, large lounge with big TV, lots of games provided. Just wonderful, well worth a visit.



Mariner's House Laxey

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house has been beautifully modernized and furnished. Everything is beautiful with quality furnishings, kitchen equipment and bathroom toiletries. It is in a great location for Laxey Beach. Its just a shame that there is a house blocking the view from the sitting room. My only niggle is that I had to pay extra for a cot and high chair on top of what was already a steep nightly rate. £10 to hire a high chair that only cost £15 in the first place feels like overcharging.



Beautiful property, fantastic location & pet friendly

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully decorated property, with lots of attention to detail. To name just a few; Alexas in each room, good wifi, Netflix, very warm easy to use heating, great showers with beautiful soaps and creams, lovely easy to use kitchen with everything you need. Perfect little garden area for the dogs, with seating which must be lovely in the summer. Friendly and helpful neighbours. Pub & restaurant 5 mins walk away, two cafes 2 mins walk away.



A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely stay in the house. Everything has been thought of, down to towels for the beach, kids toys, body boards for swimming, alexa in lounge and all of the bedrooms and plenty of games and books.
The house is set a quiet location, all we could hear from the windows was the sea! We will definitely be back!




Exceptional property to enjoy a lovely break on the Island, warm, comfortable, highest quality and

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly stunning property well presented with great quality furniture, fittings and everything we needed to enjoy our visit to the Island.
Extremely spacious and comfortable for 5 adults, warm and tastefully decorated.
Great location to reach everywhere we wanted to visit, but a short hop and a skip to the beach.
Just fabulous and will definitely aim to stay here again on our next visit.




very pleaseant stay and dog friendly- would recomend

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very pleasant stay- lovely house- unfortunately there were a lot of flies in the house which did spoil meal times etc. they were only down stairs- fly spray did not make a difference.



John @ Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and comments. It was surprising to hear about the flies, which we expect may have come in from the sea and beach due to unusual weather conditions.

Memorable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning house in perfect location. Beautifully decorated and kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay. A short stroll to The Shed, Laxey Beach Cafe for breakfast, and supper at La Mona Lisa. Drinks at the refurbished Shore Hotel. Walks and rockpooling with grandchildren on the fabulous beach. The perfect family break.



Outstanding, high spec Accomadation

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow wow wow! Mariners house is an outstanding self catering property and an absolute joy to holiday in.
It is beautifully decorated throughout, with lots of high tech gadgets to make your stay feel extra special.
Island escapes went out of their way and made our holiday complete with balloons and bubbly for my husbands 40th birthday. Our party of 6 were blown away by the high standard of the property and the generosity of the team at Island escapes. We cant thank you enough.




Perfect cottage, perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is brilliant, just off the beach in Old Laxey with ice cream, snacks at "The Shed" , a very friendly pub and an Italian restaurant within 2 minutes walk. Mariners house is perfect, every facility you could need, everything in perfect condition, you couldn't ask for more.



Great base for a family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a staycation for 3 nights as a family of 4. The house is really nicely decorated and very clean - everyone was really impressed on arrival. It has everything you could want and lots of extra touches like toys, beach toys and books for the kids. It's a stone's throw from the beach (a 7 second timed sprint by a 6 year old) and we went every day. There is a little grassy village green and a play park right by the house. Great cafes, a pub and a family friendly Italian restaurant a very short walk away. There is loads to do in the area - it would be a fantastic base for a family holiday in the Isle of Man. We asked our kids for their rating and they have both given it 5 out of 5!



Perfect property for our family staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mariner's House was an ideal property for us to take our daughter and grandchildren on a staycation this summer. The house is very comfortable and well equipped - with extra thought given to needs of our daughter's dog too! The position just off the seafront is ideal and walks on the beach before breakfast and before bed were just what was needed. We were also well placed to walk eastern sections of the Raad ny Foillan (Coastal Footpath). We have already recommended Mariner's House to relatives that hope to visit next year and would have no hesitation in recommending further. We'd love to return sometime too!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house in a great location near the beach. Lots of small touches which were appreciated (eg milk and bread on arrival)



Perfect Staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house and base in Laxey.

Stones throw from the beach.

Just wish we could of stayed longer. Will definitely visit again.




Laxey Gem - couldn’t recommend enough

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our expectations were surpassed the minute we walked in. The ambience is relaxing and you really do feel like you are on a beach holiday. The property is so beautifully decorated and spacious, ideal for a family break and entertaining. The location is just perfect, right by the beach and close to all Laxey has to offer including the ice cream parlour - warning to the dieters! The little additional touches made us feel right at home and so welcomed. Even our furry friend had a special basket filled with treats and handy bits. The house has everything you could possibly need and want for an enjoyable and relaxing break. The beds were super comfy and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to the views of the beach from our rooms. We could not recommend enough and will definitely be back. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer!



Excellent location in Laxey

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mariner's House is ideally located on the prom in Laxey and has stunning views from it's upper floors of the beach and out to sea. It is brilliantly equipped and all fixtures, fittings and furnishings are of a high standard. We loved the extra touches of beach items if you have children and games etc for wet days. We were on a staycation, but for anyone who comes to visit this property from foreign shores you could not get a more perfect location. We will definitely try to visit again - although it is booking up fast!!!



Staycation in Laxey

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a lovely location. The property is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a holiday or short break.



Great location - had everything we needed with lovely extra touches. So much to explore around Laxey

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really felt like a holiday even though we were only several miles away from home - excellent location



Mariners House

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful and well equipped house in a lovely location. Thoughtful extra touches with welcome pack. Would highly recommend.



Family stay and celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed with our 2 year old and 4 month old baby and had a wonderful time. Being so close to the beach was a huge plus, and the beach toys provided were a lovely touch. Our little boy also loved the toy box in the living area and books provided. The house is well laid out with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms and we didn’t want to leave!



Laxey staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a lovely staycation at Mariners House and could not fault it. A fab property fitted out beautifully and very well presented.

The owner even got in touch with us after our departure to let us know we had left something behind and then personally delivered it to us the vary same day - excellent service!




Short weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice decor and excellent cleanliness. We liked the entertainment options for family with little kids.

We expected a better sea view. Unfortunately, the view from the living room and the first-floor bedroom is obstructed by the house in front.
Living room sofas could have been more comfortable.




Cosy Autumn Staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Mariners House, the place is beautiful and has everything you need for the perfect stay.

Location is great (right on the beach) which meant we were able to take advantage of lots of lovely walks, plus a meal in La Mona Lisa round the corner. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need to cook breakfast lunch and tea, and the milk, cheese, butter, tea, coffee etc. were really appreciated. Cosy lounge, comfy beds, lovely en suite with big bath, and we loved the 'nook' at the top of the house - perfect for reading a book or watching the waves.

We stayed as a couple but it's plenty big enough for a group of friends or family. We'll definitely be back!




Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked The Mariners House in Laxey for a party of 6 girls staycation.
The house was immaculate and was like home from home. Everything we needed was provided and comfortably catered for 6 adults.
Would highly recommend staying at the house and we will be booking again soon. Thank you Island Escapes for the Birthday prosecco




The perfect long weekend escape

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house! Beautiful location! Makes us want to visit Laxey more often! The place was spotless, and the amenities were so vast - everything in the kitchen you could ever need. Lovely touch with the cricket bat - we played down on the beach one evening. Loved that we could bring the dog with us. 5 minute walk to Mona Lisa. The beds were incredibly comfy! Loved our stay and would love to go again!



Fantastic stay!!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a superb little gem Mariners House is. It has been renovated to a really high standard and has anything and everything you could ask for whilst self catering. The welcome pack of cheese, butter, bread and milk etc. was really appreciated, along with tea, coffee, sugar, toilet roll, cleaning products etc etc - plus all the games and even boogie boards! The quick dry beach towels were also a hit. Couldn't be in a better location a stones throw from laxey beach. The Shed, Laxey Cafe, Mona Lisa all in walking distance with pubs, parks and glens nearby. We will 1000% return. I'd recommend to anyone without hesitation.



Seaside holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here. It was great being so close to the sea but still in a quiet location. Right next to the Shed and Laxey Beach Cafe which we took advantage of! Also ate in Mona Lisa and the Laxey Glen which were both delicious. Had the windows open every night so I could hear the waves. Very modern with Alexa in most rooms! Only downside was the tiny sinks in 2 of the toilet rooms but not much to do about that due to the space. We would love to come back and it already feels like a second home!



Amazing!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was clean, recently decorated and had kitchen appliances and bathrooms that looked almost new. The kitchen accessories and the bedding were all of a high quality and everything you could need was supplied. We’ll definitely be back!



We loved every minute of our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd stay at Mariners House. So clean comfortable and handy. Everything is top quality. Sorry to leave. Hope to be back !



A beautiful house

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 night stay at Mariners House. The house is in a great location and is well equipped and very comfortable.



A beautiful property in a superb beach location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a young family of 5 with little knowledge of the Laxey area, so this property appealed to us a base to explore this side of our island. The house is in an ideal location for the beach and a small park. Free parking nearby and the bonus of The Shed, La Mona Lisa Italian restaurant and a great pub all within walking distance. The house is beautifully decorated in an 'Ikea' style with some lovely touches. Children toys, boogie boards and sweets on arrival delighted the boys. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend booking through Island Escapes, who made the process so easy. 10/10