FB Twitter

Keys Cottage

Keys Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Stylishly refurbished to a high specification, Keys Cottage is a 19th century listed building tucked away a short distance from Castletown's quayside.

Fantastic house in stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is without a doubt one of the nicest cottages (house really) we’ve stayed in, and in a fantastic, historical & beautiful location. Recommend it very highly!



Felt relaxed as soon as turned the key

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as you walked through the door you felt relaxed. It was stunning and had quality aspects features thorough out. The bedding was wonderful and the bed really comfortable. Will definitely be back !



Perfect location for watching the Southern 100 Motorcycle races

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd time using Island Escapes and as before we were not disappointed, the house was as new in a fantastic location in central Castletown, perfect for what we wanted. The house was as described and the pre arrival communication from IE was good.
A couple of things that can be easily rectified hence condition score of 4 not 5. The dishwasher door would not open properly due to poor fitting it catches on the base unit, which was already broken by others having to force the door open. The second floor wet room certainly was a ‘wet’ room when showering, the water doesn't drain away quick enough so the floor floods, so you have to make sure everything you want to keep dry is outside, You need to dry the floor with towels after a shower.
There is a lot of renovation work going on around the property, all the workmen were friendly and courteous but there was a lot of works vehicles directly outside the property during our stay so privacy was not great, we kept the front blinds closed because of this, also their workday started around 8am so any chance of a lie wasn't possible. Not the workman’s fault but maybe should have been highlighted by Island Escapes.
Had to log into the TV using our amazon prime account as in previous properties, not a major issue but could be better.




Absolutely stunning and lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely cottage in a lovely area perfect location right in the heart of town would definitely recommend it.



Fortnight of a Lifetime

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We selected this property because it was a wonderfully updated renovation of a historic building in the heart of Castletown. It was everything we dreamed it would be a more! Very clean, comfortable and spacious for three people for a fortnight. It was truly the trip of a lifetime.

-Three Enchanted Americans




High spec, recently renovated cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High spec, recently renovated cottage in a great location.
We stayed last year and were pleased to see that one of our suggested improvements had been carried out (blinds on small windows in 2nd floor bedroom). Thank you!
Convenient for everything in Castletown. Easy parking.
Well equipped kitchen. Nice log burner. Comfortable beds. Good bathrooms.
4 seats rather than 2 near the log burner would be good. The heating system is so complicated that it can be difficult to control - simpler probably better in a rental cottage.
We loved the cottage and would be very happy to return. Recommended!




Comfortable and spotless town house

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, comfortable spacious house in the center of Castletown. Inbetween the sea and the castle, close to shops, cafès and public transport.
We particularly liked the fully equipped kitchen, the fireplace and the warm floors in the modern bathrooms.
The only minor flaw is that there is no bin for recycleable waste.




Visit 29 April - 6 May

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was very much to our liking and fulfilled everything we needed.
The cottage is well equipped throughout and is ideally located to the town of Castletown with very good restaurants close by or close in proximity to outer restaurants in Gansey and Peel.
It was not easy to navigate given road closures in and around the cottage on Parliament Square but having worked around these once it became easy to circumnavigate.
We would certainly recommend the cottage and look forward to staying once again in the Autumn.




Half term Castletown staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the cottage for a few days over half term. Fantastic location. Cottage absolutely beautiful. High end soft furnishings. Would definitely recommend.



Cannot praise this place enough

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was rather jealous, having booked this place for my friends to stay in while I stayed around the corner, although my place was also magnificent. The central seating area/dining room/breakfast bar was ideal for entertaining and keeping the cook involved while they made dinner. The rooms were spectacular and the flexibility of the first floor pull out bed came in handy when we needed a few extra days with an extra person before the group descended. Island Escapes also kindly tacked that extra time on to my existing booking to keep the price down, a much appreciated adjustment that they made with absolutely no fuss.

All in all, it was beautifully presented, wonderfully located (if the wind bothers you, Keys Cottage was about 20m from the seafront and huddled amongst some other houses so the storms didn't seem to be particularly audible from there) and ideal for entertaining.




Beautifully appointed

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage great location loved all the special touches, heating took a bit of working out quite technical but highly recommended cottage , definitely stay here again.



A beautifully fitted out property with a few niggles.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jan 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property had been repurposed and furnished to a very high standard. The facilities are cutting edge -
the drawback being that your average punter had difficulty in knowing how to operate them. I encountered problems in two areas:
1.The heating was too complicated for me to manage. On the first night I was cold and had to warp myself in a duvet to watch tv. I sought help and John came out to help the next day but even so I never fully mastered the system - multi zones, each with its own controls etc. . More information could be given in the handbook. For instance a simple statement such as: ''The ground floor heating is under floor' would have helped. In the absence of radiators I assumed that I was reliant on the solid fuel stove. I found the small instruction card on operating the various heating controls difficult to follow.
2. Similarly I had difficulty operating the hob. Another statement in the hand book stating 'This is an induction hob and will only operate with pans in place' might have unravelled the mystery of why it failed to operate.
3. A third point is unrelated to technology. To provide privacy I would have appreciated some net curtains on the first floor bedroom windows and also on the street side window on the first landing. They were provided on windows on the rear of the house, why not at the front?
I would recommend this property to others with the caveat that my suggestions are acted upon.




Brilliant location

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very attractive cottage in a brilliant location. Restaurants in easy walking distance and a parking permit for the convenient car park was provided along with a welcome pack of essentials.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 4 nights here, right in the centre of Castletown, a great location. We are 2 couples, there is plenty of room, the bedrooms and bathrooms are very comfortable. This is a very well appointed house, everything is perfect, high end quality. The kitchen has everything and more. Parking is at the back of the building, no problem at all. All in all a great place to stay. AAA+



Stylish cottage in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the situation of Keys Cottage, close to the sea and facilities in Castletown.
Parking was easy. There is a permit provided for the car park at the rear of the house and accessible from the back door.
The downstairs kitchen/lounge/diner was stylish and worked very well. Useful to have a utility room with washer dryer.
1st floor bedroom has a comfortable king-size bed and a shower room across the landing.
Top floor bedroom is huge with superking bed and ensuite shower room. The lower windows do not have curtains, so we ended up blocking the light out with bags and spare pillows. This needs sorting out.
Would stay again.




What a superb place !

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous home to stay....no expense spared..everything inside was absolutely top notch.....perfect. Great location..accessible to everywhere....parking outside in quiet street...buses, trams, train if you want them but island best seen with car or bike ...couldn't ask for better. (avoid Leonardos Restaurant)




Perfect Staycation!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I’ve recently spent an amazing few days at the lovely Keys Cottage in Castletown with family and had a great time. The cottage is homely, extremely clean and provides everything you could possibly need. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in Castletown it is a great location with bus routes, train station, shops, pubs, cafes/restaurants and attractions on your doorstep.



Lovely smart clean cottage, very convenient for the village.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and all the cottage furnishings were excellent quality and we had everything we needed. The South of the Island has so much to offer, it is a perfect base.
Our only comment is that the mattress was not very comfortable, the pillows too soft, and the bedding was too hot. Lower tog bedding with a blanket available would be better. Of course, this is just our preference!




Outstanding stay at Keys Cottage Castletown

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage, high quality accommodation and incredibly high spec premises. Highly recommended! All bed linen, towels, toiletries are the white company . All appliances and equipment is John Lewis and it has all the mod cons. Netflix, automatic Blinds, auto closing roof windows if it rains! A dyson hoover and hand held version. Quality throughout and very spacious.



Staycation in Castletown

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Keys Cottage Castletown, our three nights stay was a welcome break and Castletown is an ideal place to visit. The cottage is of a very high standard it is well equipped with everything you need from home comforts to kitchen equipment included, the beds are also comfortable which is a must for us as we both have back issues.There is a permit for parking in the car park which the cottage backs on to, you can also gain access into the cottage through the back door too. There are plenty of lovely places to eat in and around Castletown which we took full advantage of during our stay. We had lovely weather and spent some time exploring Castletown and relaxing in the Square, which now has a seating area with deck chairs, a lovely addition and is a great place to just sit, relax and people watch. All in all it was a lovely Staycation we can highly recommend the accommodation, you won't be disappointed if you choose to use Island Escapes.