FB Twitter

Ellan Vannin

Ellan Vannin

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


An historic home and listed building on the waterfront in the heart of Castletown, the ancient capital of the Isle of Man refurbished to a high standard throughout.

Great picturesque location, wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location close to town, shops, and buses. All of the amenities are available in this location, perfect for our stay.

Thanks to the team at Island Escapes.





Island Escapes Team replied 6 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ellan Vannin. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Island Escapes again in the future.

Amazing Property in an Amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first vist to the IOM and wont be our last. We arrived on friday for a short 3 day break in mid october, arriving late to the property on thuraday night we where glad to find the entry was guarded by a key pad and not a traditional key, this made everything hassle free and we didnt need to contact anyone to arrange key transfer.

We entered the property to find a modern furnished appartment with all modern applicances. (Dishwasher, washing machine, smart TV)

The next few days where spend visiting the isle and doing lota it had to offer. A lost of the attractions where either cloaing or closed due to it being the end of the season.

The isle is wonderfull and the temprature was still mild in mid october.

All in all a wonderfull time was had. This was mad all the better by this wonderfull property







Island Escapes Team replied 43 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ellan Vannin. We very much hope to welcome you back to the island again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Immaculate house in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with how well equipped and clean Ellan Vannin was. On arrival we had some queries which were dealt with efficiently by Island Escapes staff, We couldn't fault the property-its an immaculate house in an amazing location.



Excellent accommodation in excellent location

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short staycation with family. Thoroughly enjoyed by all. The accommodation was well appointed and very comfortable.. Only a couple of points to mention:
1. Could do with a mirror over chest of drawers in twin room.
2. Could do with litter bins in bedrooms.
3. ? Hair driers each bedroom
Small points, which did not deter from a great short break in exvellent accomodation. Would definately book again.





Super Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Ellan Vannin. Great location and beautiful property. Spacious and comfortable with everything needed for a self catering stay.



Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property in excellent location. Spotlessly clean (not easy with a property this size!). Very well furnished with everything we needed. Contacted by Island Escapes a few days before arriving which was a bonus as I was worried about the keypad entry system (enter code, wait for bleep, green light, pull door slightly, push hard). Lady who phoned was so lovely and helpful. We parked outside on street no problem at all. Lovely to sit on rooftop on night and just relax and enjoy the view. Accommodation was perfect for us as we travelled with my mum and she was able to have privacy with bedroom and bathroom on ground floor and we had top floor.



Ellen Vannin - high quality, great value

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great space, extremely comfortable, quiet harbour location. At the price paid great value for money.



Spacious, light & comfortable house in fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is beautifully appointed with high quality furnishings and equipment. The beds & bedding were comfortable, although I would have welcomed a soft mattress cover on the upstairs bed. The location is superb, wonderful views from the upstairs sun room and terrace. Island Escapes rang us at 2 pm just as our ferry was docking to say it was ready for us, which was a bonus and we were very grateful for the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, bread and butter. Access was a little difficult until we got the knack - put in the code, pull the door a little then push firmly! The Co-op around the corner and Shoprite a little further along had all the provisions we required. Visits to the Castle, House of Keys and Maritime Museum are moments away, although the latter two are currently only open on Saturdays - enquire at the castle. Buses around the island run frequently from Castletown Square and there are steam trains running to Port Erin or Douglas from the pretty station where you can pick up a timetable.
The only criticism - at 7am 4 members of the party due to arrive after we had gone decided to use their code to enter the property. They apologised and quickly left. It transpired that they had gained access with a different code to us and both codes worked - this should not have been possible! Fortunately we were up and dressed at 7am.




Lovely little place in the heart of Castletown

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little place with a small roof top balcony with gorgeous view of the harbour . Would recommend to anyone wanting a base in the south



What a way to spend a Winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Isle of Man might not have been most people's choice for a winter break but with my family hailing from there I knew it was how I wanted to spend some time. The house was warm, perfectly located and ridiculously well specced, everything was just in perfect order and there were comfy dressing gowns hanging in the closet which I made liberal use of. The little terrace on the top floor was a beautiful touch, we did a little stargazing from there and toasted the Castle which was a stone's throw away. Whenever we needed a little more food for dinner or cola for the rum, the coop was so close a coat wasn't even required to pop out and fetch whatever was missing.

Perfectly presented, located and a pleasure to spend time there. My friends, family and I will definitely be going again!




Christmas 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ellan Vannin over Christmas. The house was very well presented and the Christmas tree was a nice touch!
Parking in the day was busy due to being so close to Costa. Great location for the square in Castletown . Not to keen on the ground floor bathroom not having great privacy from the pavement/road but overall a lovely stay.




Perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great comfortable place for a family of 4. The location, amenities, and everything in the flat was perfect for our stay. Will stay here again next time!



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous place. A very high end finish. Obviously the highlight being the balcony but every room is thoughtfully furnished to a high spec and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable after busy days sightseeing and a few provisions left in the kitchen for our arrival were very welcome. Wish we’d had longer to appreciate all the facilities. Easy booking and entry to the property. The car sat nav took us the wrong way with the post code for 15mins though google maps on my phone sorted us out. A great stay



Long weekend staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We shared the property with friends and really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and the conservatory once the sun went in. Plenty of space for all of us and close to all amenities. Couple of minor issues which were dealt with very quickly. We have stayed at many properties through Island Escapes and would thoroughly recommend them.



Modern, attractive, well located property

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attractive property well furnished. Loved the prints on the walls. Enjoyed the conservatory and the outside terrace with fabulous views of the castle and harbour. Very convenient, central location.
Only criticism was the lack of kitchen equipment. Couldn't find a tea pot, no sieve or salad bowl and no serving dishes.




Staycation - long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is fantastic, high end finishes and all home comforts. Conservatory and outside decking made the stay as weather was fabulous and we were able to eat breakfast and have drinks outside whilst people watching. We could have stayed longer and will definitely return.



Ellan Vannin Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House is beautiful, position is perfect , overlooking the river, a few steps to Costa or the nearest pub ! Shops and restaurants are just a couple of minutes away. The roof terrace is perfect for relaxing and people watching. The house is very comfortable, and has everything you need, and is immaculately clean. Would be lovely in the winter as the lounge has a log burner. Would definitely stay here again .



Home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 6 nights away from Peel and were not at all disappointed.
Very comfortable; a home away from home, we could easily have stayed longer.
As per previous comments, a lock on the downstairs bathroom is required.




Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a rental for 3 weeks due to home renovations & the Island Escape team have been great.
Ellen Vannin in Castletown is out 1st week of rental & it’s a fantastic property.
So much bigger then it looks from
Outside as we were worried this property would be too small but it’s perfect & great layout.
Great location in Castletown, walk to shops, restaurants, bus routes & also very quiet.
Only feedback is please add a blind to the helix window in the master bedroom as it’s light all night & also only 4 mugs in the house so just needs a few more added.
Would highly recommend this property. Thanks Island Escape Team & we are looking forward to moving to property number 2 today.




Nick Venables replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janna, Thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad to hear you had a good time! I can only hope your stay at Kilravock is as good! Kind regards, Nick

Fabulous Luxury EllanVannin Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights in Ellan Vannin and it had the Wow factor. This beautiful property was spotless clean and had everything you needed for a luxurious 5* staycation. It’s perfect location looking over Castletown harbour and magnificent weather enabled us to use the balcony and use the house to its full potential. A welcoming pack was much appreciated.
We will definitely be back and recommend Ellan Vannin highly.

The only faults we can think of are; there was no lock on the down stairs loo and because we dropped lucky with magnificent weather a sun parasol and small drinks/ nibbles table on the balcony would have been appreciated.




Amazing accommodation!!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That top bedroom is out of this world, and being sat with a glass of wine on the balcony was bliss!!

Thank you so much for a lovely weekend.




Brilliant location. Imaginative and highly attractive use of space. Thought of everything.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attractive and sensitive decor, with Steam Packet motif echoing the building's historical use. Imaginitive use of space, without sacrificing usability. Lovely touch to have a card as a greeting and activities for children.

My only complaint is the playing cards were bust (though all present), I kept losing.




Castletown Staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ellan Vannin is a lovely property especially in the good weather. The location is perfect with everything you need on your doorstep and walking routes in all directions.

The quality of linen, towels, robes, toiletries etc was excellent for a holiday rental and the property has been modernised nicely. The showers are excellent too, loads of hot water and great pressure. We really enjoyed the views from the house and the roof terrace.

We had a couple of small niggles which Island Escapes resolved quickly. There were 5 of us staying and whilst there is plenty of room there are a few things that for us would improve the property further. They are a blind for the top floor bedroom velux window, a lock for the downstairs bathroom and some coat hooks in the hall.

All in all, a great stay and we would happily return.




Beautiful home in an amazing setting

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was perfect on the Quay in Castletown. Beautifully refurbished with a high quality finish throughout. Island Escapes are always a pleasure to deal with.



Location, Location, Location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 'staycation' at Ellan Vannin was a great success. A lovely property in a great location. We enjoyed actually staying in Castletown instead of visiting for the day from the north of the Island. Plenty of good walks to suit all tastes and abilities, nice atmosphere in the town and good pubs and restaurants. Island Escapes were all that one could wish for, and we will certainly book with them in the future.



Wow! Perfect Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally situated Historic house superbly restored with top quality furniture and furnishings. Lovely home from home. Happy memories made with family. Can’t wait to return.



A Happy Stay in The Isle of Man

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second booking/break with Island Escapes. They are a very professional and caring company.



Castletown Staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for staycation, in comfortable well equipped property. within easy reach of town centre pubs, restaurants and coastal walks. Just park the car and forget it. You won't be needing it until your going home. Highly recommended.



Wonderful property

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Ellan Vannin. Island Escapes have put a lot of thought into making the facilities excellent and the little touches make a big difference, especially when travelling with young children. The welcome pack is just the icing on the cake. We had a fabulous stay and can’t wait to stay at one of their other properties in the near future.



We would recommend this property to anyone!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect! It had everything we could possibly need, it was spotless, and is in the perfect location. We had an amazing weekend and would definitely stay again. We will 100% be booking another staycation with Island Escapes!