FB Twitter

Elgin Retreat

Elgin Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Set in the beautiful rural location of Maughold, Elgin Retreat offers plenty to enjoy and is a matter of minutes from the nearest town of Ramsey.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at Elgin Retreat, what a beautiful house with everything you need, down to fruits, snacks, teas, coffees and even homemade scones. The hosts were very nice and attentive too. The hot tub was an excellent feature. Would definitely go back again and highly recommend it. :)



Island Escapes Team replied 17 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Elgin Retreat... and the scones! We appreciate your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for choosing Island Escapes.

Excellent all round

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely venue. Everything you would need for a staycation. Welcoming hosts. Excellent attention to detail. Hot tub sauna bar. Would highly recommend 10 out of 10



Island Escapes Team replied 24 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Elgin Retreat, and we very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for choosing Island Escapes.

Lovely stay! Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just left Elgin Retreat after a fabulous weekend! Gorgeous place to stay and such lovely touches with homemade scones and jam Lovely to spend time in the hot tub and sauna , feel like we’ve been on holiday! Highly recommend thank you!



Island Escapes Team replied 50 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Elgin Retreat. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Blissful break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Elgin's Retreat worn out and needing some time to chill and chat. Adrian met us, showed us round his beautifully renovated cottage and then we relaxed with delicious home made scones and cream!
Amazing welcome goodies, fabulous hot tub and all sort of cute carved wooden bits round the house.
Big, comfy bed, thoughtful towelling robes and slippers, lovely wood burning stove, Adrain and Lara have done all they could to make it a lovely break.
We cycled one day and then caught the tram from 2 minutes walk away to Laxey, had a swim in the sea and lunch at The Shed - both great days out.
Thank you




Very relaxing, totally beautiful, secluded, one of a kind!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is breathtakingly beautiful and we loved the unexpected little touches in and around the property and fascinating garden. We loved the fairy houses and the cute little wooden mice, and appreciated the full use of the garden. The stars were stunning in the evening, looking up from the sky lounge, plus the hot tub and sauna made for very relaxing evenings. Adrian and Lara are wonderful hosts, with the perfect balance between being lovely company and giving us our privacy. The property was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen is so fully functioning that we found that absolutely everything we needed was there. There are 2 beaches close by and we also enjoyed a longer walk into Ramsey. We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend. We can't wait to come back.



Review of Elgin Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our stay and Lara and Adrian were excellent. We would be happy to return for another stay. We have already recommended it to a number of people.



Staying for the MGP

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. Two minutes from a tram stop which gives access to so many destinations. With the Hot Tub, Sauna, Private Bar and seating area is a good place to invite friends to join you while on your holiday. The accommodation was well equipped and in tiptop condition. Adrian & Lara were very welcoming and happy to help.



Idyllic Escape

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgin is an absolutely beautifully appointed property set amongst lovely gardens, giving a sense of peace & tranquility. The owners are really lovely & will do everything to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable whilst respecting your privacy. We arrived to homemade scones which were fabulous, tea, coffee etc. was also provided as well as bread, milk cheese and ham. The bed is super comfortable & we slept like babies! An electric tram stop is a 3 minute walk away & trams ran twice hourly. It was great fun taking a trip into Ramsey for lunch & a spot of shopping before returning back to the luxury of the hot tub. There is a really quirky bar area nicknamed the Vault which has been creatively transformed from an old shipping container & really does feel like a proper bar! We have already booked our return to this little piece of heaven. I have no doubt that anyone choosing to stay at Elgin will certainly return. Thanks so much for a wonderful break & see you again soon!



Super Holiday Cottage in the Maughold Area of the Isle of Man

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As regular visitors to the island this cottage exceeded our expectations in size, quality, facilities and comfort. Set in a peaceful corner of Maughold it was ideal for local exploring, as a base for the island's north, 2 miles from Ramsey and a tram station just 3 minutes walk from the door!
The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout and we would certainly look to make a return visit.




First Trip to the Isle of Man.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Isle of Man and we will definitely be back! Lara and Adrian are the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had every comfort and convenience at our disposal. The accommodation is first class and we loved having the use of a hot tub and barbecue and also the little extra touches like the little fairy tree houses! It's a magical special place and also convenient for the beach and jumping on the Manx railway. The welcome groceries (and fabulous home made scones) were also much appreciated. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay - we hope to return soon!



Nothing Short of Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lara and Adrian were the perfect hosts getting the mix between being there for us and leaving us to our own devices spot on.

The property is wonderful, exceptionally clean and kitted out with absolutely everything you might need and more !

The owners have a brilliant taste for ornaments etc which just adds to the quality feel of the accommodation.

The inclusion of foods to help yourself to and especially the additional gifts of cake, scones and a chocolate barrel leaves you feeling a special visitor.

All credit to Lara & Adrian and we very much hope we will see you again sometime soon.




A welcoming and comfortable self catering cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgin Retreat provided us with everything we needed for a comfortable and convenient self catering holiday. Our hosts, Lara and Adrian, were friendly, interesting and very generous with provisions for breakfast and use of facilities, such as the hot tub, bar and gardens. We were very impressed with Adrian's woodworking ability and ingenuity with adapting furniture and providing interesting and amusing features In the cottage. Lara's scone baking skills were also impressive and impossible to resist!

We will certainly recommend Elgin Retreat to others and stay there again ourselves, when we visit the Isle of Man again.




A wonderful experience!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgin retreat was such a lovely place to stay! The hosts were very accommodating and helpful during our entire trip. The facilities were so beautiful, and we can definitely see ourselves staying there again.



Weekend away!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely clean cottage in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Lovely homemade scone left for us was a lovely touch. Thank you



Treated like an honoured guest

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a perfect place for two people. The standard of accommodation is first rate, and is situated within peaceful quiet surroundings. Our hosts were very generous and treated us like honoured guests. We would wholeheartedly recommend this as a holiday destination.




A much needed break

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights at Elgin Retreat and what an absolute find this was. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome; it was like going to stay at a friend’s place. The fridge was stocked with lots of yummy things and there was fresh fruit, bread and snacks too. The addition of Lara’s freshly made scones with clotted cream was such a lovely surprise. Elgin Retreat is situated in a perfect location for a walking and cycling break. There are many areas to explore, and we did just that, we brought our bikes and for two days we cycled all over the north of the island and walked the stunning coastal footpath from Port Mooar to Ramsey and back along the beach at low tide. The delightful garden was the perfect spot to relax and unwind after a day exploring. The bar, BBQ, sauna and hot tub were very welcome after our exertions! The location of the hot tub made it a wonderful spot to watch the birds while relaxing. The accommodation is lovely, super comfortable bright and cheerful with lots of little special touches added. Lara and Adrian have a unique garden, and their attention to detail, coupled with their artistic skills is fabulous, there’s not a corner without a quirky little object occupying it, and many places to simply sit and relax if you’ve decided to chase the sun for an hour or two. We’re looking forward to our next visit to see what else they’ve added!



A PERFECT OASIS OF CALM FAIRIES INCLUDED

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect find.
This place is so wonderful from first meeting mine hosts Lara and Adrian ,
The accommodation is first class and finish to a very high standard with
everything you could need with tea coffee sugar all condiments and a fridge
stocked with butter milk ham cheese Ect Ect Oh i forgot the sublime home made
scones with clotted cream also supplied and part of the price.
The sauna with patio and chairs are along side the bar area which is discreetly
sheltered from being over looked and a perfect suntrap is a lovely addition.
I cannot justify in just words how perfect this is If you need anything they will help in anyway they can just ask.
Would i recommend this property YES.
Is it worth the price YES.
Would i stay again YOU BET YAH .
Thank you Lara and Adrian for such a fab weekend.




Island Escapes replied 235 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at Elgin Retreat. We are so glad you had a nice holiday. We hope you will come back and stay with Island Escapes again sometime soon. Kindest regards, The Island Escapes Team

Hidden gem

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place, a true hidden gem. If you are looking for a relaxing break this is the place. It’s set in gorgeous gardens with everything you could need, the hosts are so attentive and nothing is to much trouble. I would highly recommend we will definitely be back.



Totally chilled Winter weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we knew it would be the completely relaxed weekend we had hoped for. So many personal touches in the property and everything we could need for a Winter weekend away from it all.



Fabulous Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a number of "staycations" on the Island in the last couple of years and this is one of our favourites. If you are looking just for a relaxing short break or longer, we would recommend this. Elgin Retreat is beautifully presented, spotlessly and just the right size for a couple. Lara and Adrian really make you feel at home. Little touches like the scones and brownies and thoughtful provisions in the fridge, just make this place extra special. We didn't try the bar or sauna, but these facilities are available. My wife left her phone charger at home and Lara kindly provided one. All in all, exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend if you want some peace and quiet to re-charge the batteries.



Return stay at Elgin, amazing yet again!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying at this property, once in the summer and now once in the winter. Both times we could not have been happier! Lara and Adrian are so thoughtful, and incredible hosts. Our every need was catered for, and more! They are generous to a fault and nothing is too much to ask. We are booked in to come back again soon and can’t wait. Highly recommend this for short or long stays, great for walks (we easily walked into Ramsey town centre and back) and located in a peaceful area. More wonderful memories made!



Cosy welcoming Winter Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Elgin is a cosy retreat with the fun bonus addition of an outdoor sauna and cabin style bar, perfect to chill and relax after a local beach side walk. The owners were super welcoming and have thought of everything you might need to feel at home. Great location with views and entrance backing onto a woodland and lots fo local walks easily accesible.. Would definitely recommend and go back.



Elgin Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Elgin Retreat, it is beautiful and almost brand new, Hosts Lara and Adrian were so welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure we had a fantastic stay, it is a beautiful secluded location but very easy to get to, and within a very short distance of Ramsey, The manx electric railway runs past the end of the garden, and there is a stop about 50 yards from the door, we will definitely be back



Peace and tranquility in top class accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very high quality accommodation in a peaceful, tranquil setting with generous, friendly hosts who can’t do enough for you.



Lovely stay in Maughold

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay here for
My wife’s birthday. I drove
To check the place out the week before our stay and Lara showed me around and let me know about the local area. She was extremely accommodating as I had family come up to surprise my wife and even made a birthday cake for her on arrival which was delicious.

The place is lovely with many little gardens around the property. The shed pub is a delight with roof terrace to enjoy the sun for longer and even an outdoor sauna you can use.

Lara and Adrian made you feel like they couldn’t do enough for you throughout our stay. The area is lovely with an electric railway station a short walk up the road, and two beautiful beaches down the hill in this underrated part of the island.




Idyllic, relaxing staycation!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a lovely relaxing weekend at Elgin Retreat. Lara & Adrian went out of their way to make our stay memorable, and we wanted for nothing. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed and the garden bar and sauna went down a treat! The grounds of the house are beautiful and the location is perfect with just a short walk down to the beach and a few minutes up to the tram stop. We have been missing our trips away this last year but this really felt like we were on holiday, and we've returned home feeling revived and refreshed. We highly recommend Elgin Retreat to any couple looking for a relaxing break, and we look forward to returning again soon!



Excelent

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quit exceptional effort to make our stay an occasion to be remembered. A further visit will probably be a certainty.



Perfect accommodation for holiday or staycation - could not fault it

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Elgin for a short staycation and the details online did not do it justice. The accommodation was beautiful, spotless and catered for all your needs. Lara and Adrian were the perfect hosts, and made our stay even more special. We loved spending an evening in their little bar and the sauna the next day went down a treat. The location is idyllic and a short walk gets you down to the beach and onto the Raad ny Foillan coastal pathway. After the first day we had fallen in love with it and had booked a return stay in the new year. We were so desperate for a get away and it even felt like we had travelled off Island (without the hassle and cost of travelling) for a perfect mini holiday at Elgin. Would thoroughly recommend!