FB Twitter

Eary Cushlin

Eary Cushlin

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


In partnership with Manx National Heritage, we are pleased to present Eary Cushlin; a large house on the rugged west coast of the Isle of Man

Incredible

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful and restful location. The property was immaculate and the views are absolutely incredible. 5*



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not a house for those seeking the city lights - but perfect for everyone else! It’s spacious, comfortable, well equipped and utterly, utterly quiet. Nearly all the rooms look onto the sea, and beyond to the Mountains of Mourne in Ireland: absolutely beautiful. We experienced no problems with electricity overload, but that may be because there were only five of us. The access road and track posed no problems. Recommended!



Amazing location, great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our break at Eary Cushlin. Location is fantastic, so isolated and lots of great walks for me and road cycling for my husband. The house is well equipped, has comfortable beds and great shower power. Sunsets were amazing.



Amazing historic location - "The land of mists"

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
[We were on a joint expedition in search of myths and legends - LAPIS Paranormal and Centre for Fortean Zoology]
You open the gate and head slowly down the track, which is perfectly suitable for any car that can get on and off the ferry without grounding. You spot a lonely house peeking above the gorse moorland. It looks very atmospheric even in bright sunshine, and if you arrive when there is a sea mist even more so! Plenty of space to park a few cars (We were 7 people with 3 cars). The welcome package included tea, coffee, bread, butter, milk and even cheese! Far more than we were expecting. The house is spacious, including a large lounge and "formal" dining room as well as large breakfast bar in the kitchen. The kitchen itself is quite small but well equipped with good quality appliances and lots of crockery and cutlery. The bedrooms are mostly a good size and comfy, although if you need the 4th bedroom it is quite small and although the bunk beds are adult size it is perhaps better as a single room, unless you really need the extra bed! While being aware of the "off grid" status of the property we weren't affected by this at all, and all 7 of us could take showers and prepare breakfast at various times without any issues. Perhaps if you need to use the dishwasher and the washing machine you may need to think about when you do it and plan accordingly but it really wasn't an issue for us. You can hear the generator, which only fires up occasionally, if you're outside but it's not very loud and you don't notice it from inside the house. So, given that the house is pretty much perfect, we turn to the main reason you would choose Eary Cushlin... The view is amazing, and the location is unique! Sure its 20 minutes or so from any shop or pub, and don't think you can use the bus as at best it's a mile up the track or maybe 2 miles down the coast path to Niarbyl, and at worst there just aren't any buses when you might need them! But you've chosen one of the most remote properties on the Island on purpose yeah? You may see people strolling past the front door but there's nothing else around. The sunsets are amazing when they happen and clear skies at night will have you sat out watching for meteors and enjoying the milky way. Then in the early morning the sea mists can be a beautiful sight as they roll off the island and head out to sea, or envelop the "land of mists" in an atmosphere straight out of a feature film. There is history to discover, and there are few places where you can have exclusive access to a national heritage property for a few days. If you know "Gef the talking mongoose" (and he will soon be famous as Simon Pegg is making a film...) then you are IN the story here. Doarlish Cashen is a couple of miles up onto Dalby Mountain, and Eary Cushlin is the farm where Mongooses were introduced to the Island for pest control. And of course you are on the Isle of Man, where there is a historic site literally around every corner!

Oh, and we have already spoken to Island Escapes about booking Eary Cushlin again next year, it really is that good!




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 girls stayed for a 60th Birthday
Lovely location
Everything you need
Roomy accommodation
Would definitely stay again




Beautiful staycation

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at eary cushlin the scenery was beautiful we only wish we had stayed for a little bit longer



eary cushlin, April 2022

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a returning stay which again was enjoyable and relaxing. Beautiful property in an amazing location.
There are a couple of bits to mention however. The view was slightly spoiled by face and lipstick marks on the downstairs windows and the front door was VERY difficult to lock/unlock, both of which we mentioned on the feedback sheet in the property.

It is a perfect property to relax in and wind down from daily life. WE WILL BE BACK.

Thank you.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eary Cushlin is a unique and very special place to stay, very spacious, warm and comfortable with beautiful uninterrupted sea views. It was perfect for a nostalgic family visit with ages ranging from 24 to 84. Long track and gates added to journey times but worth it for the privacy. Well equipped apart from only 4 wine glasses! Slow draining shower was very promptly dealt with after a phone call from in house land line. We booked Chris and Vanessa's catering services for the Friday evening but when, unfortunately they got covid, they kept us fully informed and organised delivery of food all prepared with clear instructions for final cooking. We enjoyed a delicious meal of parsnip and pear soup, baked salmon with ratatouille, and fennel gratin and fresh fruit pavlova. Highly recommended to make the most of dining in such a lovely setting. We didn't get many sunsets due to lots of mist but even that was atmospheric and beautiful in its own way. The sun, when there, glowed in all the front windows during the evenings and you could see the Irish hills on the horizon. I'm already missing being there and would definitely like to return.



Amazing few days

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in incredible surroundings. We enjoyed stunning sunsets and got cosy in the lounge with the fire roaring. Perfect for a group stay.



Isle of Man Staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd visit to this property. Excellent stay again, the only down side is the very small kitchen but that's only a minor issue when you consider the rest of the house and the location/views!



Eairy Cushlin Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was very clean and the location was great. I would recommend to others and would stay there again.



Stunning location for family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Nov 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a stunning location, perfect for our group celebration. Well furnished, but kitchen (including the range cooker) on the small side for a large group - some extra glasses would have been beneficial too. Great walking country with fantastic views from the top of Cronk ny Arrey Laa. Binoculars and telescope a nice touch for spotting passing ferries and stars at night, and a good choice of books and local guides. Lounge very cosy with the cast iron (gas) stove.

We used the services of Chris and Vanessa Callow for catering on the Saturday evening. We would heartily recommend them, food was excellent and lovely friendly service. They washed up too !!

Access lane is okay for 4x4's but you wouldn't want to drive your historic Porsche down there ! I can understand the need for the padlocked gate, but the short chain made it difficult at times to see the combination, especially in the dark/poor weather.

But overall, great property for a group who appreciate the away-from-it-all rugged setting.




A house for all seasons

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location and a house for all seasons. Well equipped, very comfortable and cosy. Highly recommended



August 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It’s a breathtaking and unique spot and we had an amazing time, didn’t want to leave.
Some of the furniture in the lounge and some of the blinds needs replacing and there is some damp in the lounge - they didn’t detract from the stay, just need to keep on top of the maintenance to justify the price.




It was really good, had an ace time.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Me and the rest of my party had an amazing time at Eary Cushlin. Not only is the spot great to wake up to, but the house itself is well furnished and purpose built. Definitely would stay here again next year.



Family mini break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a fabulous place to stay, location incredible, the whole family really enjoyed the stay, great place to recharge the battery’s, will be going there again soon. Would highly recommend this place , thanks for your help in making this a great family break



Amazing location and property!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing setting and property! The house felt spacious for a group of 9 girls and has been decorated to an excellent standard! Recommend to anyone requiring a property for a large group!



Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect even the weather. Fantastic accommodation in one of the best locations on the Island. We were a group of 8 friends and there was plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy the long weekend. 11/10.



Fabulous staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time
Beautiful settings
Completely chilled and relaxing
Everything you need for a weekend away from home
My friends and I would recommend eary cushlin and are thinking of returning with our own families




Memorable

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Mar 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location, weather was perfect, house has been beautifully renovated and has everything you need , the welcome basket was a lovely touch . Stayed for three nights with Family and Friends the weekend Lockdown#3 was being announced so felt very fortunate that we had such a memorable stay . Unfortunately the downstairs shower wasn’t working but a plumber was sent out a few hours after reporting it . Already planning next stay and would recommend using Island Escapes to Friends .



Perfect Start to the Year

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is beautiful, in a stunning location.

Lovely welcome pack when we arrived, house was warm and extremely clean.

Loved the Christmas tree and fleecy blankets :-)

Would highly recommend




Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only thing was maybe there was a little field mouse and the bread had a hole in it and so did the bagels . But apart from that amazing the pictures don't do it justice.



Stunning, comfortable, perfect staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
9 women set off from around the Island and arrived rather tired and overworked at Eary Cushlin for our second visit. What a perfect place to arrive to; warm, spotlessly clean, lovely welcome goodies, incredible views and then such a peaceful place to be. It did rain torrentially most of the time we were there but we popped out for walks in the dry spells and then enjoyed relaxing, sleeping really well, cooking and eating together, Murder Mystery, painting, making things and sitting round the lovely fire playing ridiculous games. We will return again, having gone home feeling so relaxed!
The odd little thing not working and it would look lovely painted as it is such a stunning house, but we would highly recommend staying here.




A chance to get away from it all in total comfort

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eary Cushlin is a hidden treasure. The accommodation is spacious and extremely comfortable. The house has been beautifully decorated and fitted to a very high standard. Great consideration has obviously been given to the restoration. We were totally mesmerised by the views when the weather was good and even found the foggy, misty view that appeared on our last day appealing. It is a wonderful place for walkers - so many walks to do provided of course that you don’t mind hill walking! A walk down to Lag ny Keeilley is a must, though it is not for the faint hearted as the path is quite narrow and in places close to the edge. It takes about half an hour to walk the mile there but you will reap the reward as it suddenly comes into view.
Thank you to Island Escapes for the thought that has gone into letting this property and the prompt responses throughout the booking process and during our stay.




a few minor inconveniences

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Discussed by private email
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////




Beautiful house .. stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most fabulous staycation at Eary Cushlin, the house is beautiful and equipped to the highest standard. The welcome pack that was left for us was amazing and very welcome.
The kids loved the games that were left and enjoyed the star gazing in the evenings.
Really can not recommend this property enough, we will definitely be back again.




Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
absolutely, wonderful in everything. Each one is super comfortable, the location is wonderful, the view is fantastic. From the moment you arrive at the place, you already feel a sense of freedom in a paradise. Inside the house we found everything we needed. And outside, in addition to the stunning view, we were able to take long walks, and feel at peace and security. We will definitely return



Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of 6 middle aged women who were looking for a weekend away from the chaos of family life and Eary Cushlin did not disappoint.

The location of the property is rural and the views are breathtaking, once you turn off the main road and start down the track you really do feel that you're heading off into the wilderness, it's a wonderful feeling. We had packed supplies on the basis that we would not be leaving the property, the closest shops are a 15-20 minute drive away.

We arrived at the property and on entering the initial impression was wow - the place was spotless and this theme carried on as we explored further. Please do take time to read the information file there's everything in there.

Kitchen
The kitchen is very well equipped - there is everything you need. If you wanted to cook from scratch there are plenty of pans, casserole dishes, chopping boards, decent knives etc. The oven & hob are gas and very easy to use, there is a large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, toaster and microwave which are all of good quality. We would describe the kitchen as a one person but ideal as you don't have to move far, everything is to hand. This is not a criticism as the space has been used well. In the same room as the kitchen is a large breakfast bar with stools and great for everyone to sit around to chat.

Dining Room
Again well equipped with a large table, placemats and high chair.

Living room
The gas coal/log fire effect is very good and puts out some heat, again easy to use. There is a good TV and DVD player we had a movie night and it was very comfortable.

WiFi
Whilst as advised there is no phone signal the WiFi was perfect. We had 9 devices logged onto the network a combination of iPads and smart phones, the network supported all of them no problem.

Bedrooms
All the bedrooms are lovely, everyone commented on the bed linen (white & crisp).

Bathrooms
The bathroom upstairs is massive with an over the bath shower, double sinks and toilet, again all good quality. The towels provided we excellent. There is a toilet and shower room downstairs which again is excellent and more of a wet room please don't think that as it's downstairs it's a little under the stairs affair, it's not!

With the exception of the downstairs toilet/shower room, bunkbed back bedroom & upstairs bathroom the remainder of the rooms all have a wonderful views.

We did venture out for some walks which are all well signposted but you my have guessed this wasn't high on our agenda. If physical exercise is more your thing there are plenty of opportunities for running, cycling, walking etc.

Our group was made up of women from different walks of life with different expectations and none of us were disappointed. We could see the property being idea for all different group types.

We booked though Island Escapes and they proved to be a very profession organisation. Supported by prompt responses to email queries, when they say they will send you information it arrives as promised.

Finally, if you haven't guessed by now we had an absolutely wonderful time and cannot recommend this property & Island Escapes highly enough.






No faults to be found!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Eary Cushlin to celebrate birthdays. The location was perfect, made even more so by the fantastic weather we had. Outdoor seating would be really beneficial on order to enjoy the weather more as we would have definitely sat at the front throughout that day and the evenings. I would thoroughly recommend this property to either a group or a couple of families.



Family Time after lockdown 2020

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay a Family of 9 including a toddler .You couldn't wish for a better view some amazing sunsets and its so peaceful. House is lovely and very spacious Nice welcome pack with all manx products. Some lovely items on the book case. Would definitely want to come again.



Long weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely relaxing time with family including two young grandsons at this beautiful and very comfortable property with it's brilliant setting and views , great walks and lots to keep the kids happy , can't recommend the place and service highly enough , just one observation campervans that park up in the carpark tend to think the bins for the house are for their use and it annoyed the wife a bit after walking to them and finding they were aready full she recommends putting a lock on them.



Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely rural retreat with plenty of activities to do if not a fan of walking each day.
There is a public pathway which is used regularly and goes right past the front of the house, we didn't mind this but some people may as it is such a secluded location you don't expect to see other people and is not cheap.




Summer Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Even though it was only 20 minutes from home, this still felt like a real break away. Beautiful location and very well equipped house. We will definitely be back for another visit.



Eary Cushlin Review

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for a large group. Plenty of space to socialise, great kitchen area and amazing showers! The views are outstanding. My only tip would to be pack some fly spray and if like us, there’s 9 females staying - take a few extra toilet rolls.



Perfectly remote

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well appointed and comfortable property in a beautiful, remote position. Had a fantastic girls weekend there in glorious weather. Would definitely return!



Fabulous staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time with our grandchildren and their parents. The house has had a fantastic makeover, since we first started visiting, 25 years ago. The house is fully equipped, warm and comfortable. We only had one suggestion and that is the towels need upsizing from bath towel to bath sheet. We would definitely return again, even though we only live 12 miles away.



Amazing weekend !

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant weekend - we booked the house to celebrate our friends 40th Birthday ! The house is immaculate, superb location with stunning views ! has everything you could possibly need ! Great communication before our stay! And lovely welcome pack on arrival !

I got the checkout time wrong, and the company were really lovely and patiently waited outside whilst we finished packing up!

Great place and I wouldn’t change anything !




B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place to stay, beautiful, peaceful, well appointed and all mod-cons. Would visit again. Lots of things to see and you don't need distractions from the scenic views.



Staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a weekend staycation for our family group and had a fantastic time
The cottage was immaculate and a really useful welcome pack was waiting for us on arrival
.eary cushlin is a stunning location and we enjoyed hill walks and , mountain biking right from the doorstep .
Sitting at the front of the cottage with a drink in evening watching the sunset and hen harrier was unforgettable,
Happy memories