FB Twitter

Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Curlew cottage is a charming 18th century one bedroom traditional Manx stone cottage in the heart of Castletown, Isle of Man.

Great base for exploring the island

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely traditional cottage in a convenient location. It had everything we needed during our week in the Isle of Man. Staff in the office were friendly and helpful. Two small shops locally, and places to eat in the town.



Visiting family and friends

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location to visit family and friends. Plenty of local shops, cafes and pubs nearby. Parking is limited but we always found a spot close to the cottage. The cottage itself was compact, comfortable and full of character. Loved the local cat that visited through the bathroom window! Some upkeep to the back garden area is needed to create a more usable outdoor space. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Curlew Cottage, would definitely visit again.



Short stay at Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very cosy comfortable cottage within easy reach of most facilities. The stairs to the upper floor could be challenging for older guests care required when using them.



Gorgeous little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew cottage was really cosy and comfortable, a gorgeous little space done excellently. It was in a perfect part of Castletown and I’d definitely stay again.



Family Visit To The I.O.M.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Curlew Cottage as it was very convienent for visting family on the island . Very well equiped and comfortable .Near the local shops and lots of lovely places to explore near by.Compact ,but had everything we needed , I would definitly stay there again



60/100

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tiny cottage, good location, parking difficult.
The garden could do with a bit of weeding & tidying up.




Great little cottage in Castletown.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little cottage for two, has everything you need. In a quiet street in Castletown. Friendly, helpful locals has a good choice of restaurants and pubs. Local shops for self-catering.
Efficient bus service will take you throughout the Island. No need to use your car. Suggest you get a Travel Card especially if you plan to use the steam and electric Trains, great value. We would recommend this property and would return.




Staycation at Curlew Cottage, Castletown.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely Manx cottage in a paved street. On entering cottage we were met with a damp, musty smell, luckily nice sunny day, so got the windows open to let fresh air inside. Boiler was not on, so no hot water etc. Eventually located boiler in cupboard in the bathroom, no mention of this in the handbook, All switched, off. Eventually got it going. Sofa has seen better days, well past its sell by date, very uncomfortable and very low. Double bed which was quite comfortable, but duvet much to small, just barely covered the top of the bed. Towels in bathroom were hard, and much too small. A lovely bathroom with bath and a walk in shower, and under floor heating, when we located switch, by accident. Nice little secluded garden which we sat in, in the sun, but needs attention, Lots of weeds and a great big weed growing in front of the shed. With some TLC the cottage is full of character and would make a lovely holiday destination for a single person or a couple who are fit enough to manage the narrow, steep stairs.



John at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review, it was disappointing to hear you had a few issues. The boiler should have been on, but occasionally things do get switched off however we are always a phone call away and happy to help with any issues there and then. We are always looking to work with our owners to make improvements, your comments are much appreciated and we'll look to address these immediately with the owner. The garden issue has already been resolved.

Super cottage perfect for two

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Mar 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab cottage perfect for two in a very quiet street. Two up/two down with a small but lovely garden, perfect for breakfast in the sunshine. Kitchen very well equipped. Only feedback is some of the furnishings are a little dated, TV is not Smart and mattress is not comfortable for those with bad backs! Still would recommend this cottage, perfect location and we loved our stay. Lovely local extras on arrival.



John at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your nice review, your comments on comfort will be taken on board with the owner. Hope to see you again.

Шкаф

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about my stay was perfect. Thank you so much for the amazing accommodation that you are providing



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved it from start to finish, John was so helpful in finding me suitable accommodation. The cottage was perfect for my needs.



Great location,easy access to everything in Castletown

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great time at cottage.
You may want to look at the roof as the ceiling paint in bedroom is peeling.
If you ever update the kitchen, you may want to look at a sink drainer as the water seem to go everywhere with the round sinks and worried that it may wet units. Move the washing machine if you can and put crockery in this space as more room to access it?
The Kettle seemed to pour very badly and splash, so had to be used over sink.
apart from that really enjoyed stay




John at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review, just to let you know the bedroom ceiling has now been repainted and kettle replaced. We are always looking to work with our owners to make improvements and your comments are much appreciated.

Staycation in Castletown

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a lovely relaxing few days in Castletown at the Curlew Cottage which is so conveniently situated for some lovely restaurants and fantastic walks. Highly recommend.



Curlew Cottage Castletown Isle of Man

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal base for exploring the south of the island
Comfortable accommodation and the facilities of
Castletown are ideal.