FB Twitter

Close Taggart - Thie Lough

Close Taggart - Thie Lough

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Providing the perfect setting for a special break for two, Thie Lough is one of two identical cottages located well off the beaten track.

Heerlijk verblijf

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Het was een hele mooie locatie, mooie grote tuin, waar je gebruik van mocht maken. Alles wat je nodig had was aanwezig.
Bij aankomst stonden en al een paar leuke verrassingen klaar. Kortom heerlijk verblijf gehad.




Return visit to Close Taggart

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Close Taggart - and once again, it didn't disappoint. The location is idyllic - the house is set in beautiful grounds, with stunning views of the northern hills. The accommodation is quiet, warm and comfortable, enhanced by lots of little thoughtful touches, and John and Shirley are very welcoming hosts. Thoroughly recommended.



A second 'staycation' here in what is much more than a home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With Covid precautions in place in 2020 ending our usual run of a year end holiday in the sunshine and warmth we thought to stay over Christmas and New Year much closer to home. As in 8 miles. We knew of these lovely cottages from social visits and booked up to try them. It was such a success that even though Covid travel was less inhibiting in 2021 we booked up for a 2nd stay in Thie Lough without a second thought.
We have no regrets. The welcome was as warm as ever and the cottage just as we remembered. The weather was a bit more inclement but the cottage lounge is snug and warm and very relaxing. A comfortable chair, a good book and a glass of Christmas cheer to hand and what more is their to ask for?

"The snow is snowing and the wind it is blowing
But we can weather the storm
What do we care how much it may storm?"

Irving Berlin may have had the love but we had Thie Lough as well!

The well equipped Kitchen made the domestic chores a pleasure in which to cook and eat our meals and the beautifully decorated bedroom and bed must be one of the most comfortable we have slept in.
Under cover parking was just the icing on the cake.




The attention to detail is outstanding

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Close Taggart cottages are rightly renowned as a wonderful place to stay on the Isle of Man. John and Shirley, who own the cottages (and live next door) have put considerable effort into ensuring everything is perfect. The cottage has a comfortable bedroom, a separate study (with books and binoculars), a lounge, and kitchen. The kitchen is fully-fitted, with a helpful list of facilities and utensils that meet the Manx standard for self-catering accommodation. The welcome pack included bread, eggs, cheese, butter, jam, chocolates, as well as tea and coffee and Manxie the cat (who gets to leave with you). Car parking is available under cover (and there is a box of soaps and cloths for car washing too). There is also an excellent utility room with washing machine and drier, and also plenty of local information (including a large wall-mounted map of the Island). If that was not enough, guests at both cottages have full access to the extensive gardens where, again, effort has been invested in surprises and delights for guests (from a croquet lawn through to a lovely platform with a view on which wine or tea can be drunk as the sun sets, and an actual tree house with complementary drinks). More flora and fauna, including wallabies (we did see a large, hefty one hop off into the woodland), may be spotted in the nearby Close Sartfield nature reserve. The beaches, which are extensive, wild, and where swimming is generally safe (if the weather permits), are a few minutes drive away. Close Taggart cottages provide an exemplar of self-catering accommodation that any other provider would find hard to meet, let alone beat. We hope to return.

Buy provisions from: Andreas Stores (Dairy Shed yoghurt, Andreas Meat Company); Magher Grianagh Farm Shop; Sandygate Farm shop.

On a rainy day go to: Isle of Man Motor Museum, Jurby.

Best beaches nearby: any of the Lhen beaches.

Eat out at : The Grosvenor, Andreas; Bride Tea Rooms, Bride.




Outback in Andreas.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time this year we have been up to Thie Taggart and even those the weather was not the best we enjoyed our stay immensley.
Shirley and John are brilliant hosts and provide little treats around the cottage that always surprise and delight us. Fruit in the living room and mints and wine in the arms of the Big bear and the small Loagthan lamb.
We broused the walks that John and Shirley have researched over the years and written about. This was wonderful as we always have had somewhere to head for and go, even on cool wet days. Also we were surprised at how many GOOD eating establishments there in the down the North.
All in all Thie Taggart and Shirley and John have been a bit of magic for us in theses days of Covid.
who needs France/Spain/Italy when we have Isle Of Man. ( Ok Ok maybe I would like a bit of a wander around mainland Spain)




Very nice place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, in lovely grounds. Very thoughtful owners who try hard to make guests feel welcome. Well deserved Gold Award.



Idyllic rural retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well off the beaten track ,so we ate in in the evenings.wonderful grounds to stroll around and relax in.
The only problem was “ flakey WiFi”
We would go again if we have the chance.




Fabulous property in stunning grounds

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from John and Shirley at this lovely clean and well equipped cottage in a beautiful quiet location set in stunning grounds with a tree house, viewing platforms and several gardens with seating areas and summer houses in which to relax. A short walk to the Curragh's and within easy reach of Ballaugh, Ramsey & Peel.



Who needs needs long haul when we have the Claddaghs and the our fantastic Island around us.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thie Taggart and its location are superb. One day we spent exploring the wonderful wetlands and all the flora and fauna ( yes even wild Wallabies) next day up on the Ridge walk from the Black Hut to North Barrule. Had two fantastic, yes truly fantastic, meals at the Ginger Hall and The Good Stuff in Ramsey.
Shirley and John Kneale made us very welcome and their accomodation very brilliant with some wonderful little touches in the cottage.
All in all 4 days down the north of the Island were great and will live with me/us along side any of our travels.




A wonderful experience

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So often holiday cottages disappoint. My experience at Close Taggart exceeded all my expectations. There was a warmth in the welcome in the generosity of all that was provided above and beyond what might be considered the norm. Lots of considerate extra touches like the fridge stocked with the basics - bread, butter, eggs, bottled water.... And a welcoming bottle of wine, box of chocolates and bowl of fresh fruit. John and Shirly were welcoming but in no way intrusive. They left me my space. The surroundings are beautiful. A wonderful rural retreat. Highly recommended.



Welcome & Tranquil

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing welcome, lots of little thoughtful gestures, beautiful tranquil setting surrounded by stunning gardens & countryside



A dream fulfilled.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are IOM residents and have known of Close Taggart Cottages almost since they were opened. We had admired them but being so close to home could only dream of actually staying there for a few nights. BUT Covid elsewhere in the world did restrict and cancel our other plans so taking our thoughts to stay closer to home. As in 8 miles?? A Staycation over Christmas was considered but surely Close Taggart would be closed, if not for Covid then for Christmas? We looked on line and they were open. 30 seconds later and we were booked in On line and good to go.
Well we knew the local shops and had already booked the Christmas bird with the local butcher so packing was done and dusted.
We duly arrived at the appointed time, no Ferry no planes and were met by our Hostess and Host. and after a warm welcome we were handed the keys or to be more accurate told they were in the door already.
Inside was a delight. We are experienced 'self caterers' but this charming cottage immediately had the edge on others we have used. Warm hall to hang outdoor clothing and a huge kitchen to the left. After stairs to the upper floor straight ahead to the lounge. Fully fitted and furnished down to a log effect solid fuel stove that worked by remote control. We are used to going out in all weathers to bring in logs seasoned by Scottish rain so this was bliss. All that was lacking was the crackle and smoke.
Up stairs were the large fully plumbed bathroom and WC including a full size real bath not just a shower in the corner.
Centrally heated too. The bedroom was large with wardrobes, his and hers, and full dressing table etc., The bed had full warm blankets and duvet with a small Tester canopy overhead..Windows were cottage size but in December one must remember that glass can let heat out as well as sun shine in.
The piece de resistance came when we opened the other door expecting storage or 2nd bedroom only to find a Study with settee, bookshelves and full size writing desk facing a window over fields. Writing at that desk would have been impossible for me in daylight hours as there was so much happening outside. Buzzards, Gulls, Pheasants etc., plus a field full of Fieldfares and Redwings as well as other native thrushes etc., Wild geese over head. Exactly what one needed should the weather turn too cold to venture out.
The kitchen was well equipped with all equipment modern and in good condition. Microwave, Grill and Oven, and Fridge. A full and comprehensive set of crockery and cutlery in the many drawers and cupboards. I could easily live here but the only drawback would be I would never want to leave for a holiday once Covid is finally over.
This really was a dream fulfilled.
We did not indulge in many of the walks for which John has prepared leaflets and guides but did get to meet the local wallabies for which the Curraghs are famous. The lack of exercise could be put down to the cold snap and high winds experienced with Storm Bella but to be honest a lot of the blame could be placed on the extremely comfortable conditions indoors in 'Lough Cottage' at Close Taggart.




Thouroughly enjoyable.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful staycation in wonderful surroundings, a very well equipped cottage with everything you could need. Set in stunning gardens with loads of amazing places to sit and relax and enjoy the views and tranquillity. The owners Shirley and John couldn't be more helpful. We enjoyed walks around the curraghs and neighbouring areas with lots of sights of the wallabies and other local wildlife. Although Close Taggart is a very peaceful country location it is only a short drive to Ramsey for shops, amenities takeaways etc., we were so enjoying our stay we extended our stay from 8 days to 12 days and look forward to staying there again.



A relaxing break in idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fabulous break at Close Taggart Thie Lough cottage. Our cottage was situated in an idyllic location surrounded by 2 acres of beautifully kept gardens with stunning views of the Manx hills and countryside. We particulary enjoyed chilling out on the sunny viewing platform in the mornings overlooking the fields and in the afternoons we followed the sun and we relaxed in the swinging bench next to the greenhouse with spectacular views of the Manx hills. John and Shirley, went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and on our arrival provided some staple essentials in the fridge, plus a bowl of fresh fruit, a bottle of wine and chocolates! We have returned home fully relaxed and refreshed from such an enjoyable break.