FB Twitter

Ballavoddan Farm Cottages 1

Ballavoddan Farm Cottages 1

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


One of two immaculate holiday cottages located together in a rural location in the south of the island.

Comfortable and highly reccomended

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable stay! Well equipped and nice to find on our late arrival that basic provisions (bread, cheese, milk) had been provided. Recommended.



Broken bed and window blind

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2024
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On the first night of our stay we arrived on the late boat.When we went to bed in the main bedroom the bed was broken Underneath. We eventually got to sleep at 3am sleeping on the mattress on the floor.This was very distressing.
The blind in the second room was broken which had been reported when we stayed a year ago but obviously not sorted out. Although both were sorted the following day neither of these things were acceptable




Nick Venables replied 53 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and your second stay at Ballavoddan Farm Cottages! I am sorry to hear the issues you had on the first night of your stay, this is unfortunate but I understand we acted swiftly to rectify the issue the next morning. Regarding the blind, this was fixed after you reported it last year, it's just unfortunate you found it broken again! Despite this I understand it can be frustrating when you are enjoying a holiday to the island. Please accept our apologies for these inconveniences. On the whole, I hope you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Nick

A lovely retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Probably the best quality holiday cottage I have ever stayed. Very nicely appointed. Very impressed with the provision of a fire sprinkler system too!
My only criticism would be for the lighting underneath the car port. A slight tweak on the timer to have more than 30 seconds of light would be helpful in the darker months. Excellent property, would stay again.




Iom trip

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is excellent done to very high standard warm and inviting
I would not hesitate to book again when coming to iom (5 stars )




Lovely stay in Ballavodden 2

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay in this cottage which is beautifully designed, built and decorated. Wee look forward to a return visit next year



Stunning Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely gorgeous facilities with all the extras you need. Spacious, welcoming and a thorough joy to spend time here.



Beautiful cottage in a countryside setting with just a short walk to the village.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balavoddan Farm Cottage 1 is really lovely. It is exactly as it says and looks in the photos and description. It is in such a peaceful setting with Balasalla just a 10 minute walk along the road. The road can be busy at times with no pavement for most of the way so you just need to have your sensible head on!
Island Escapes were so quick to respond when we had a wee issue with a door. It was all sorted within 20 minutes, an amazing service!




90

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything perfect, we just missed a BBQ & shower water pressure could be higher.
Thank you for the welcome basket




Beautifully barn conversion

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is a beautifully converted barn, to the highest standard. Interior wouldn’t be out of place, on the best home interior pages.



Island Family Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property on the whole is well presented but we would like to highlight a number of two issues we encountered, notably:-

1. Please highlight to the owners that the entry gates were particularly noisy on opening and shutting, particularly when the owners or guests at Cottage 2 entered, this at at all times to include 2am as an example.
2. We were unable to use the freezer owing to a build up of ice. Just needs to be defrosted.

The reason for a 4 for cleanliness was owing to the vaccum cleaner not being emptied when full, cobwebs in the lounge, the main oven needing to be cleaned as previous guests did not clean after using.
The above points are designed to improve the experience of all future guests.

For context, this is our second stay at the Cottages and have re-booked for September as it is ideally situated for us. Other than the points above which are easily resolved, we would recommend the Cottages.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your helpful feedback, we will review all of your comments for future guests. Many thanks for booking with Island Escapes and we would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Ballavoddan cottages 1

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable clean upmarket
excellent accommodation. Plenty of room for 4 people.On the plus side everything you need for a break is included ie bedding towels for 4 people,hairdryer, washer/dryer, dishwasher.All the kitchen utensils you need as well

Very spacious master bedroom with lots of storage and coat hangers in both bedrooms.Large bathroom with lovely shower.

Having previously stayed there however we were disappointed to notice alot more scuffing generally on the walls.Entrance lighting would be a good idea as it is so dark and a car is definitely needed. In bedroom 2 the blind was broken and we had to jam a piece of card in the runner.The handyman came the next day but it could not be fixed during our Stay. This issue should have been dealt with before our arrival. Without being able to jam the blind with a piece of card the room would have been unsleepable due to the light.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ballavoddan. I was sorry to hear that the issue with the blind wasn't able to be fixed during your stay and we hope that it did not effect the enjoyment of your time there too much. I'm glad James was able to respond promptly. We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for your helpful review and for choosing Island Escapes.

New Year Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love to stay at his cottage this is our 2nd stay and it is always lovely.
We noted a couple of things that could improve the facilities. It would be helpful if a welly/dirty boot racking could be supplied in the car port with some hooks for wet outdoor wear. Also, there are no hooks in bathrooms for towels and no hand towel provided in the downstairs toilet. We thought the sitting room heating was a bit on the cool side.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ballavoddan. Thank you for your helpful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, thank you for choosing Island Escapes.

Cosy and beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in self catering cottages all over the UK over the past 20 years and this is one of the best.

Quiet rural location close (walking distance) to Ballasalla village, shop, pharmacy, steam railway, Abbey restaurant, pub and more…

The cottage is well equipped the only thing it lacked was a towel rail or hooks and some toiletries (shower gel and shampoo) in the bathroom.

The gated courtyard is beautiful.

We would happily stay there again.

I loved hearing the distant sound of the steam train whistle this morning.







Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ballavoddan Cottages and we very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for choosing Island Escapes.

Stunning cottage and grounds

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I were lucky enough to stay here at short notice for the weekend. The grounds and the cottage are stunning and very clean. It was helpful to have a contact number for Island Escapes as I needed help to access the cottage, they answered immediately and dealt with the situation quickly. Highly reccommended.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ballavoddan. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

A very well furnished and comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely , comfortable , cozy , beautifully decorated and furnished place to stay . Could only suggest an EV charger point be installed in the car port to make it absolutely perfect for us !




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ballavoddan. We would look very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks - Island Escapes

Family Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay the location perfect for family but maybe not quite near amenities when walking.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the cottages.
Minor issues were only one black waste bag provided, no washing machine tablets (not products you what to buy during a short visit). Others included vents in the main bedroom and bathroom that will not close, the heating system (roon & underfloor) which we could not find how to reset. Nonetheless, we will reserve in the future as these minor issues are easily resolved.




MGP visit august 22

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 motorcycle friends spending several days visiting
IOM along with watching MGP.
Accommodation was excellent and cannot recommend enough.
The only consideration to be made when staying is the lack of availability of taxis if you are planning evenings out and not wanting to drive.
There are simply not enough local taxis to satisfy demand especially when events such at MGP or TT on and the island is busy.




Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely,clean cottage with secure parking.Modern interior with comfy carpets and beds!Both us and the kids loved it and hated having to leave.The management company were so quick to respond to our questions.



A quiet escape

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once we worked out how to get to the cottage (road works closing one end of the lane were a surprise) it was fine! Cottage itself was lovely, very compact and attractive. A couple of minor additions like towel rails/hooks in the bathroom & a hairdryer would be useful but overall a great place to stay.



A very high standard accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean and well presented property with high standards of finish
Quiet yet close to local shop and pub




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at cottage No.1 as a stop gap before moving into a rental, the cottage was spotless and very comfortable with every amenity we needed and more. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud!

There was a minor issue with the dishwasher and the oven gloves were missing bit we called the Island escapes team and somebody came out the same day to sort it, the service and response time from booking to checking out was excellent.

We have just relocated to the Island and have already recommended Ballavoddan to friends and family.




Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed last month and we really loved it. Beautiful accommodation in a perfect location. Rooms were lovely and the whole cottage had beautiful decor.



A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little home from home. Every little detail was gorgeous and we had such a great stay.
The location was great for us as we have a toddler and spent one morning exploring silverdale which was a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk I imagine.
Our only complaint would be that the velux blinds in the bedroom weren’t blackout but other than that we couldn’t fault it!




Staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice, cosy cottage but would benefit by supplying a hairdryer, oven gloves and perhaps bins in the bedrooms. Microwave was difficult to use too, we were only able to heat food in 30 second intervals, then having to repeat until the food was hot. Area was peaceful and the beds and the furniture were of good quality and comfortable. Would stay here again



Superb

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is in an old building and in a very private, gated area which has all been refurbished very recently. It is bright, new, clean and very tastefully decorated. With being there in the winter we were happy that it has outside lighting and a covered parking are and are looking forward to returning soon.