FB Twitter

Balladuke Farmhouse

Balladuke Farmhouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Set in the beautiful rural location of Ballabeg just five minutes drive from Castletown and the Isle of Man Airport.

Excellent repeat three week stay but next year's 40% price increase has put it out of our reach.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent three week stay. The farmhouse is warm and comfortable and the addition of the log burner makes for cosy evenings. The host Elaine was welcoming and extremely helpful with advice on where to take the grandchildren on Hop Tu Na. The grandchildren enjoyed the extra touch of a little table and chairs just for them. A visiting ‘Jack’ and ‘Lizzie’ gave my granddaughter someone to fuss over. The view from the top field was worth the walk. By putting out a few feeders she got to see a variety of bird life every morning from her bedroom window. We daily saw rabbits in the approach field and were even lucky enough to see a hedgehog, The farmhouse is ideally located for all the Southern Island attractions including local, reasonably priced golf courses. Elaine even provided a flag for my husband to practise his putting on the ‘green’’/ washing line area.

The only slight negative was a problem with the tumble drier but we just picked dry days to use the washing line. The grandchildren played in the yard at the back of the farmhouse but had to watch out for occasional heavy farm vehicles.

This was our second stay at the farmhouse but an increase of 40% on the price for next year has, sadly, put it out of our reach for now.




Wonderful Farmhouse

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location to explore the island. Wonderful farmhouse with great outdoor space to sit and eat and admire the views towards the sea. The host was extremely friendly.. Highly recommend the property for a family holiday.



Great holiday with grand daughter

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place wonderful host every thing to get you started and more in the way of food etc. Great setting for our family needs. Wonderful views of the south part of the island. Nice walks out the front door,



Spring stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay. We stayed last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. Booking again we were not disappointed. The owner is charming and made us very welcome. When we return to IOM we will definitely be booking again.




Great place for a walking holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculately clean, comfortable house with wonderful views. Friendly owner next door if any problems - but we didn't have any. The welcome pack of bread, cheese, milk etc was very much appreciated. Half a mile walk to the bus stop so may be wise to have a car even if you have come to walk, as we had. But the bus service was reliable so it is possible to get to several wonderful coastal walks from Port St Mary and Port Erin, using the buses. There is a large supermarket in Port Erin which has a good range of ready meals as well as fresh produce. A great place for a walking holiday if the weather is kind - though not for people without a head for heights, as there are sheer drops very close to the coastal paths!









Charming cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great find, charming cottage warm and well maintained, fully equipped with everything you would need in a holiday home, nice little touch having bread, milk, cheese, tea, coffee and biscuits upon arrival.
Our 3 boys loved having the outdoor space to play.
We came to visit family and the cottage had ample space to accommodate us and our visiting family, we will without a doubt be booking again.
Friendly and welcoming host too!!




Ideal location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated in the South of the Island this was ideal for visiting the many interesting places close by. Very comfortable and well appointed, modern and finished to a high standard. Owner very helpful and accommodating. Golf courses within 15 minutes made it all the more attractive.



Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend Balladuke Farmhouse. It is spacious, clean and well equipped, with stunning views and ample parking. The owner, Elaine Taggart, lives nearby and is very friendly and helpful. Jack, the farm cat is so cute and super friendly. It was an deal location for our family birthday celebration with ages ranging from 12 to 85 years.



Lovely farmhouse,ideal for families

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely farmhouse in a rural setting with lovely views.Ideal for families as entry if rooms.Super clean with all you need for your stay.Elaine the owner on site+available should you need anything.Jack the farm cat is gorgeous(but not Manx!).Lovely touch leaving a few bits to get you started(local produce;bread/milk etc).Only thing id like to have seen was some easy chairs(although there is a bench)to sit+enjoy the sun/views as we were blessed with good weather.Would return.



Peaceful Rural Retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was well appointed, clean & comfortable in a beautiful rural location with views down the coast & out to sea.

Elaine was very friendly & welcoming

Great base to explore the Island




Good stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good location. Very clean and lovely farmhouse. Very good and kind owner. Good parking and secure house.



Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property for my sisters hen weekend staycation and it was perfect and the owner was so helpful would definitely recommend a stay



Lovely home from home...

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just had a 3 night staycation at Balladuke Farmhouse.
We chose to stay at Balladuke for many reasons, the lovely location, handily placed for Port Erin beach, steam railway etc etc.
On arrival we were met by the owner of the property who was very friendly and extremely welcoming. She was happy to chat about the history of this beautifully updated old farmhouse.
The house itself is surprisingly spacious, very comfortable and well equipped. Our family group ranged in age from an almost 4 yr old boy to his 75yr Grandad. The fact that hay/silage was being turned during our stay was an added bonus for a tractor mad little boy.
We are all happy to recommend Balladuke farmhouse to anyone looking for a lovely peaceful stay in the Manx countryside .
We would thoroughly recommend using Island Escapes for a hassle free booking experience.




Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely traditional farmhouse, decorated to modern standards. New kitchen. Set well back from a very quiet road there’s no traffic noise. Great location for exploring Castletown, Port Erin and Port St Mary



The stuff of dreams

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely farm cottage in a superb, peaceful location with stunning long views, plenty of room, and all mod-cons, including a new kitchen. Very pleasant owner, Mrs Taggart, on hand and very helpful. Will book again.



My 2 week isolation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the property during my 2 week isolation after returning to the island. Obviously no one relishes 2 weeks on their own, but having said that, I can't think of a nicer place to spend the two weeks.
The property is lovely, it has every facility you are likely to need, it is comfortable and the owner, Elaine, was very helpful - within the bounds of my isolation. Also the view is stunning, you can spend quite a lot of time just looking out from the window.
Many thanks for arranging the booking for me.

Ian Musgrave




Julie at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your lovely review, so glad to hear that your isolation was made easier and comfortable staying at Balladuke Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you again with Island Escapes.

New year staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family get together. The house is very comfortable and spacious. Stunning views. Very comfortable beds.



Julie at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely time staying at Balladuke Farmhouse and we look forward to welcoming you back with Island Escapes.

Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in the south. Beautiful views. Exceptionally comfy beds and bedding!
Booked ourselves a staycation, best decision all year! None of the stress, the kids loved the house and the days out.




Julie at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review, delighted that you had an enjoyable and peaceful stay at Balladuke Farmhouse. Look forward to welcoming you back to Island Escapes.

A beautiful house in a gorgeous location..

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Taking advantage of the Guernsey/Manx airbridge, we had a stress free week that we both needed. It was perfect in every way. Elaine was lovely and very helpful too. Hopefully we can maintain a link and come back again.



Julie at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your lovely review and that you enjoyed a perfect stress free week on our isle. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Isle of Man in the future with Island Escapes.

Very Impressed

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elaine the owner could not have been more helpful to us during our stay. We had car issues and she was supportive even helping us inflate a flat tyre!

Lovely place definitely would book again. The children loved the space and i have slept better here than i have in years.

Spotlessly clean and pleasant decor




Julie at Island Escapes replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review. Delighted to hear that you had a fantastic, peaceful stay at Balladuke Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back to Island Escapes in the future.

Beautiful setting, pristine and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were greeted by Elaine, the owner. The farmhouse was in pristine condition and set in beautiful surroundings. There was a lovely food welcome pack and there was everything we needed. We loved our stay here - thank you!



We enjoyed a fabulous staycation at Balladuke. The views from the farmhouse are spectacular!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival. It was lovely to meet the owner who is really helpful. The Island Escapes welcome goodies of Manx produce were really appreciated. The facilities are spot-on. We had everything we needed. Great for a family and good location close to lots of activities in the South of the island. Would definitely recommend.



Lovely relaxing vacation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday this is the place for you, with gorgeous views across to the sea. The farmhouse is lovely and spacious with all mod cons and the owner, who lives nearby, is welcoming and helpful. Although in a rural location the property is close to the airport and Port Erin/Port St Mary. I really enjoyed my time here and would definitely stay again.