FB Twitter

Orchard Cottage

Orchard Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Orchard Cottage is a striking, Scandinavian style conversion of the original cart house into the premier holiday cottage at South Coombe, for up to 6 + babies. The cottage has an upside down layout, with the open plan living space, under the pointy pitched ceiling on the first floor, to make the most of the views over South Coombe to the surrounding countryside. While children snuggle into the suede and leather sofas to watch the 55 inch curved screen OLED smart TV and DVD’s, grown-ups can rustle up snacks and meals in the bespoke fitted kitchen or linger over coffee at the dining table. The three bedrooms and family bathroom are on the ground floor – the master bedroom with a king-size bed and ensuite shower room; one bedroom that can be made up as a twin or super king-size bed; and one twin room. There is also a utility room on the ground floor with a washing machine and a second fridge freezer. As its name suggests the cottage is right by the old cider orchard at South Coombe and stands in a large enclosed lawned garden with outdoor seating. Free Wi Fi is available.

Lovely accommodation and facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time here and would definitely recommend it especially to those with young children. The accommodation was lovely, really comfortable and facilities for the kids were great.
There is a lovely pub a short distance away called the Mitre Inn.

The lady who greeted us when we arrived (don’t know her name) was really helpful and friendly, asked her for various things / help when we were there all of which were no trouble.

Whilst we were there we had exclusive pool use which was brilliant!


Lisa from Kingsbridge stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights in September 2021


South Coombe Orchard Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay. Our host Simon was extremely friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the enclosed private garden and hot tub and Grandma enjoyed feeding the ducks as much as the kids. Having allocated times for the pool and games room was really good. This was due to Covid restrictions but I think it worked well and would do once restrictions are lifted. Its a great place for family's with the playing field, climbing frames and animals and the little extras like the fresh scones on arrival, bath robes to wear to the pool made for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The location is great, as it very central and only about an hour a lot of Devon main attractions and beaches. One thing I would say is follow Simons directions and not your Sat Nav, as it will take you on the "scenic route" when you arrive. Would highly recommend staying at South Coombe Country Cottages.

Gavin from Pontyclun stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Top marks for a lovely property in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A big thankyou to Simon and Clare for making our stay at country cottages such a good one,You made us feel welcomed and nothing was too much trouble,scones were lovely ☺️ and the hot tub was brilliant thanks again Julie Gavin



Julie from Bristol stayed at Orchard Cottage for 4 nights in June 2021


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, lovely cottage and plenty to do with little ones on site. Simon looked after us really well. It’s our second stay! Thoroughly recommend.

Darren from Seaford stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Smashin place and a free cream tea

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simon welcomed us on our arrival and showed us to our upside down house. I say this because the kitchen and lounge are upstairs to take in the views of the fields and play areas that you have full use of and bedrooms are downstair along with the ensuit shower room to the master bed a family bathroom not to mention a laundry room. (Poppet's favourite room) The place is modern and clean with underfloor heating downstairs. The master bed had electric blinds and all rooms were beautifully layed out. The kitchen is fully fitted and came with a cream tea with scones clotted cream local jam tea sugar and coffee. We made full use of the hot tub in our garden and the on site indoor swimming pool at just the right temperature, we didn't bother with the sauna but we used the games room with the table football, pool table and ping pong to its fullest. We had friends staying in other cottages so we had a good nose round all the homes and I have to say they are fantastic places to stay. Our kids loved the petting shed with rabbits and guinea pigs, it was also fun to watch the turkey peacock and chickens not to mention the fun the kids had chasing the alpacas round the garden hurding them back into ther field.

The farm is also ideally situated for acces to exmoor and all places in Devon North and south. We liked it so much we will definitely be coming again, in fact we have already booked for next year. Well recommended.


Debbie from Maidstone stayed at Orchard Cottage for 9 nights in May 2021


A wonderful family break in a brilliant home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Orchard Cottage - the house was beautiful and the facilities were fantastic. The kids adored the pool and the play room, and really loved being able to see and pet the animals too. We didn't have the best weather, but the farm certainly made up for it. Would definitely recommend and would love to stay again in future.

Fiona from Havant stayed at Orchard Cottage for 6 nights in May 2021


Perfect again!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep returning here because everything is perfect for a short break away. New hot tub a bonus. Indoor pool is ideal in winter. Takeaway from the local pub is also ideal.

Guest from stayed at Orchard Cottage for 10 nights in December 2020


A lovely family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a lovely stay as a family of 6 with grandparents and 2 under 3. The facilities were perfect with the swimming pool, climbing frames and animals to keep the little ones entertained.

Rebecca from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely family break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Smashing week at South Coombe. Brilliant facilities (amazing pool and sauna), beautiful surroundings and great location for travelling around Devon. Would highly recommend for families

Edwina from Hinckley stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Perfect family setting...

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect setting for a family break away. We would highly recommend and will visit again. The facilities available catered for all of our family needs. The swimming pool and games room were a big hit, followed by a chill out afterwards back at Orchard Cottage in the hot tub!! The children’s play equipment along with the rabbits, guinea pigs, alpacas and ducks were all loved and enjoyed by our young granddaughter. Thank you to Simon & Clare for helping us to make some treasured family memories.

Kevin from Stanford-le-hope stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


A holiday that ticked all the boxes

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at South Coombe a perfect holiday for all of the family we would love to return.

Karen from Tedditcj stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely cottage but location won't suit everyone

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, quiet, well-maintained cottage with spacious rooms, high-spec bathrooms, best TV we've ever had in a self-catering cottage, decent wifi, all the appliances you would need, lovely cream tea on arrival. Owner helpful and friendly and it felt like they had done everything they could given Covid-19 restrictions. These meant that every cottage got a slot in the swimming pool and games room each day which, although not every session was at an ideal time, meant you got them to yourselves which we really liked. Playground etc looked good (though not used by us as our family older).

Upside-down layout meant that in recent very hot weather the living area got rather warm as no blinds/curtains upstairs, but bedrooms remained fairly cool if you opened windows in the evening so worked well in the circumstances.

Whilst in many ways the location was lovely, you need to be happy with very narrow Devon lanes to get there and it was 40-60 mins drive to most places to visit (eg Exmoor, Exeter, Haldon Forest, Exmouth beach, Rosemoor, Killerton) although Tiverton closer with Knightshayes and canal/museum (once they reopen). Two good pubs within 10 mins drive though.


Alison from Epsom stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A perfect family break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Coombe cottages are a little slice of paradise for families. They were so well equipped for our first holiday with our baby. She loved the gorgeous pool and facilities in the cottage as well as the park and petting zoo! We stayed on site mostly, due to the coronavirus closing everything, but it didn’t matter as it was perfect there. We have already told lots of our friends about it, but also want to keep it our secret! We definitely will be back to explore a bit more.

Laura from Southampton stayed at Orchard Cottage for 5 nights in March 2020


Lovely venue and perfect for families with young children.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great welcome from Simon on arrival and both him and Clare were on hand, with a smile, throughout the stay if needed.
Orchard Cottage is a lovely converted barn with modern facilities and period features and a great base for exploring Devon.
The site itself has a fantastic selection of things to do and our 3 yr old was constantly entertained (even with the rain joining us for most of the week!). The accessible animals on site a particular highlight. Extra little touches like fresh scones on arrival, fresh bread available to order in the mornings and an extensive range of baby equipment available on request added to the welcome and made for a relaxing and enjoyable week.


Hannah from Moreton-in-marsh stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time staying at South Coombe, the kids lived the swimming pool and play frames and had hours of fun dressing up with the outfits in the playroom. The small petting animals were a great hit and Simon and Clare were very welcoming and on hand when we needed to ask questions. Would highly recommend this fabulous place, beautiful setting and fun for all the family whatever the British weather throws at you. Thank you we will be back x

Joanna from Clevedon stayed at Orchard Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


A very relaxing & enjoyable holiday in Devon.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely & we enjoyed staying there. Our grandchildren loved the amenities of the swimming pool, games room & playground & being able to handle the small animals. The pastries were a delight & the cream tea on arrival was much appreciated. Simon & Clare were lovely hosts & nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring Devon.

Sandra from Norwich stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Fortnight summer holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The homemade scones were amazing! Hamper on arrival very nice. Simon very attentive and helped with an ant problem swiftly and efficiently. Cottage done to a nice standard and was comfortable. Great we had fresh linen and towels half way through our stay (changed by the cleaning staff). Outside space fabulous. Swimming pool really good and games room too. I would have really liked a washing line in our garden rather than an airer. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Abi from Ilkeston stayed at Orchard Cottage for 14 nights in July 2019


Great stay wity kids

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with great facilities and animals for the kids to enjoy. Owners were incredibly helpful, kind and accommodating.

Margaret from Kingston Upon Thames stayed at Orchard Cottage for 6 nights in April 2019


A fantastic getaway !

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place South Coombe is !!! Such fantastic facilites. We have stayed in several holiday cottages and this is by far the best cottage we have ever rented. The cottage is finished to a high standard with everything you could need. The facilities are fantastic and the swimming pool and rabbits and guinea pigs were a big hit with our 10 year old !! Will definitely be back.

Fiona from Aldershot stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


Half-term Break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. Mum, dad, twin boys 2 years old and grandad and grandma. We stayed in Orchard Cottage. A lovely welcome from Simon, the owner and a cream tea waiting for us. Very thoughtful and kind. The small development is ideal for families with plenty to entertain the children. There is a playroom for very young children and a games room with pool table, table tennis and table football for the rest. There is a lovely warm indoor pool and a sauna.
The children helped feed the hens and ducks and there are also rabbits and guinea pigs to feed and pet. outside is the lovely rolling Devon countryside to walk through as well as outdoor at area for children. As it is a small development it will never be too crowded. I recommend a visit. The pub in the village is great , really friendly and serving good food.


Pat from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Orchard Cottage for 6 nights in February 2019