FB Twitter

Jonquil Cottage

Jonquil Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Jonquil Cottage was originally a hayloft before being transformed into a cosy and romantic bolthole that’s perfect for a couple with a baby and/or toddler. The ground floor is an open plan living space, with a sofa, TV and DVD player, 4-seater dining table and well equipped fitted kitchen. Families can also spill outside to a garden area. On the first floor, Jonquil has two pretty bedrooms tucked under the eaves – one double which leads through to a single room with space for a cot. The bathroom/wc is also on the first floor. Free Wi Fi is available and 1 dog is permitted. Besides being a cottage for self-catering, Jonquil is available on a B&B basis, with continental or cooked breakfast served in the farmhouse.

A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Jonquil Cottage and even our little dog was made to feel at home. The weather was not perfect but what with the pool, sauna and games room we were kept amused. The tv had all the channels including catch up so on the couple of evenings we couldn’t sit out we were able to catch up on the soaps.
A lovely holiday


Lorraine from Billericay stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Underwhelming

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Visited previously 7 years ago. Unfortunately the standards are not being maintained. Bed in Jonquil uncomfortable, electrics require attention, bathroom basic and far from luxurious, spoke with owner on arrival when electrical issue identified and not seen again prior to departure despite assurances he would return next day to remove bulb that was causing circuit to short. Green algae on floor of pool shower. Although we enjoyed our stay the standards have declined and the property fails to achieve anything like 4 star standard. An urgent visit by Premier cottages and appropriate guidance may assist in keeping it a viable business. We didn't`t find it value for money on this visit and won't return.

Guest from Littleborough stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and relaxing in a fantastic location. Simon and Clare friendly and attentive. The perfect staycation

Leon from stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 6 nights in July 2021


50th Wedding Anniversary get away

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday with the use of a swimming pool and a games room. Nice walks in and around village. We would recommend the La Petite Bouche ( French restaurant in village). Guinea pigs and rabbits on site ideal for kids and. Adults to hold. If you want a quiet get away in country away from the city, this is your place. Claire and Simon are very friendly and lovely people and will help in any way they can to make your stay as good as possible.


June from Exeter stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 9 nights in June 2021


Well needed break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you for a lovely well needed break .enjoyed the pool and surrounding beautiful place to stay .

Sian from Great Yarmouth stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Simply spectacular

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot recommend highly enough. What a an amazing place, and absolutely perfect for a small family. The cottage was beautiful, warm, cosy and absolutely spotlessly clean. Simon was charming and welcoming and always there to help. COVID precautions were properly respected and we felt safe at all times
We were blown away by the facilities on site which were the absolute cherry on the cake (washed down with the delicious fresh pastries, bread and eggs you can order the night before). We have a boisterous one year old and were a bit concerned about keeping her entertained but we need not have worried. The playground, number of animals on site (with easy access) meant that we could very easily keep her occupied if she started to get a bit grizzly. She loved the duck feeding and the guinea pigs! We didn’t have chance to use the pool but looked lovely.
It’s the little things and final touches that make all the difference, and they had this in spades. We will be coming again and recommending to family and friends


David from Kidlington stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in April 2021


Lovely stay in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at South Coomb Farm. The cottage was beautifully done up and the private garden with views over the Devon countryside was a really lovely place to eat our meals. Our daughter really enjoyed use of the pool, toddler room and all the animals. The fresh eggs, bread and pastries in the morning were a real treat!

The cottage is perfectly located to explore both North and South Devon.

We will definitely be back!


Hanna from London stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in April 2021


Pearshouse family break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Claire and Simon, we had such a well needed break, we only wished that we'd been able to stay longer! The children didn't want to leave.
Jonquil Cottage was very cosy, the only thing I would have liked was a bigger bed! My husband took up all the room!
The swimming pool was great and need after a 12 mile cycle ride to ease the joints.


Sally from Southampton stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in April 2021


Excellent farm cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent holiday at south coombe country cottages. The cottages are lovely and facilities are first class - we made great use of the pool, sauna, games room room and hot tub. The location is so scenic with views over the surrounding country side. The only thing to disturb you is the sound of the birds and the sheep. Local village Wetheridge is less than a mile away with a nice pub - Thursday curry night was excellent - and a weekly take away pizza van. Simon is a brilliant host, always available to help if needed. And I nearly forgot to mention the wonderful fresh baked pastries and bread available every morning. We had a fantastic stay and would love to return.

Richard from Eastleigh stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in April 2021


A wonderful getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage in such a peaceful location, loads of grounds to explore and the enclosed exercise area and private garden are great for the dog. Fabulous kitchen with granite work tops and the smart tv is ideal. Really good value also. The indoor pool is lovely and it’s so nice having it to ourself for a session each day, this and other COVID measures are so reassuring. Highly recommended!

Guest from stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 10 nights in December 2020


October 2020

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Simon and family. The cottage was amazing Snr the pool was great. We had a lovely stay and look forward to returning in May 2021

Joanne from Maidstone stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


A wonderful break away

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely great break away from home - just unfortunate the weather was against us. Managed to book into La Petite Bouchée where we had a great meal at a very reasonable price.

June from Exeter stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


A charming setting

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at South Coombe in Jonqil Cottage. The cottage was comfortable though on the small side for our family of 3, however the countryside views from the back garden made up for it. We were delighted with the 2 hours daily sessions in the indoor swimming pool after the long walks and drive. A great place to stay with young kids and...great croissants in situ.

Guest from Bromley stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Gave us a much needed break following cancellation of our summer holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately the property did not have any running hot water and this could not be resolved during our four day stay. Maybe this could/should be part of a pre-check of the property. Apart from this we found the cottage comfortable with a wide range of facilities. It was a welcome touch for the owners to leave a cream tea on our arrival.

David from Derby stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


A Wonderful Place for Rest and Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We Have been to Jonquil several times before and always enjoyed it.

We very much enjoyed the peace, comfort and the swimming pool.

It is not far from our home (50 miles) and is an absolute Godsend.

Bria & Sue Perry


Brian from Bridgwater stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Thank you for a safe and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third consecutive year staying at South Coombe Country Cottages. We booked at short notice this year due to the current uncertainty with Covid. Having stayed before we knew what to expect with regards to the facilities and were completely reassured by the extra measures Simon and Clare have put in place to keep guests safe. We spent most of our weeks' stay on site enjoying the swimming pool and our three year old daughter loved feeding all the animals. Thank you for a relaxing and much needed chance of scene, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emma from Sevenoaks stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Debbie from Hythe

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every way nothing was to much trouble lovely fresh bread and croissants delivered in a morning

Deborah from Southampton stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in March 2020


Great place, perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay at South Coombe. Simon was very welcoming and flexible. We loved the on-site activities and happily spent a day swimming, in the games room, on the adventure playground, walking to the stream and in the toddler tumble area. Hot, fresh pastries delivered every morning was a real bonus too! Only feedback would be to have a stairgate at the foot of the stairs (as well as at the top) - they were just too appealing for our 14 month old! Thanks again, we'll be back.

Rachel from Cheltenham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have two boys, 4 and 20 month old and two small dogs. The location was perfect for them all!
Kids loved the pool, animals, jungle gyms, playroom and space. Dogs loved the fields and all the walks they got too. There is lots of yummy baked goods you can order for breakfast and in the evenings once everyone was asleep mum and dad loved being able to catch up on Netflix series and the icecream in the little shop with an honesty box attached to the cottage!
There is a lovely local pub and lots of local beaches and places to go to but we only headed out once to the beach as the location had more than enough to keep everyone busy and happy. Highly recommend this location for a peaceful, relaxed family holiday. See you next year. :)


Lorelei from Bushey stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Summer Hols 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay at South Coombes. Jonquil Cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. The facilities were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Charlotte from Egham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely secluded site but with poor country lanes

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage with good facilities around the farm: pool, indoor play area and games room; outdoor playgrounds; football goals; ducks, chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits and alpacas. Very lucky with the weather although difficult to stay cool at night with only a few windows upstairs to try to create a flow of air.

The location was secluded which meant we felt our daughter could explore the site alone which was nice. However it did mean that we travelled quite a bit to explore the wider area which did involve a lot of single track country lanes which were poorly maintained.

Witheridge has the bare necessities for the holiday - a couple of shops, pub and a beautiful French style restaurant (la petite bouchee) which I would highly recommend.

If you’re looking for a secluded spot to keep the kids happy, safe and entertained then South Coombe Country Cottages ticks all the boxes.


Mark from Cardiff stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


A wonderful country escape

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage which was clean and modern with great touches such as warm pastries on a morning and scones on arrival. The swimming pool was excellent for our toddler and we fed the rabbits and guinea pigs. The play room and play park area were new and great to play in. The two local pubs are excellent for food and there are a few places for days out including the beach (but quite a long way) and Knightshayes. Overall a peaceful, relaxing break.

Emma from York stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Holiday was truly amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we Will definately Be coming back next year, our holiday was truly amazing ! The location was beautiful, the cottage was stunning, and so well equipped and cosy,

Hiedi from Gillingham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Super stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was top quality.lovely touches such as fresh bread pastries delivered each morning if required.great warm pool which our gradaughter used each day. Super for family or couples.

Lynne from Salisbury stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in May 2019


Delighted in Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation and location, outstanding experience! Clare and Simon were fabulous hosts from the minute we booked, our experience was everything we hoped for and more, the little touches set them apart. Thank you for a delightful Devon stay !

Rebecca from Leamington Spa stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


A Lovley Break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for sharing this amazing location with us. The cottage was lovey. IT was clean and very cosy during the stay.
We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay and hope to cone back soon.


Timothy from Carshalton stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 6 nights in April 2019


Little Haven in Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Hosts, accommodation, facilities were all fab. Can't wait to return!

Charlotte from Gillingham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Review

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely break in an idyllic location. Made to feel welcome and at home. Simon and Claire were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you

Sue from Ash Vale stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Lovely toddler holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well set up for toddlers and the swimming pool and play room were a real hit. A great holiday

Rosamund from Seaford stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 6 nights in March 2019


Absolutely lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic few days at Jonquil Cottage. The cottage itself is cosy, charming, and comfortable and the facilities on the farm are excellent. Our 3 year old daughter loved visiting and feeding the animals on the farm. There is a large indoor swimming pool with inflatables and pool toys which we all enjoyed.

If requested, the farm deliver freshly baked croissants and bread in the morning, and there was a generous selection of things there on arrival such as scones, tea and coffee. Simon and his wife were friendly and attentive, always there to help if required.

We would have stayed on longer if we could have done, and will definitely come back.


Karen from Winchester stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely New Year Break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great family accommodation, with swimming pool 2 minutes walk, as well as rabbits, chickens, ducks, etc all eager to be visited. Chocolate croissants delivered for breakfast was an extra special treat. Thanks for a lovely stay Simon and family.

Rachel from Truro stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 5 nights in December 2018


Pleasant stay in October

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we visited South Coombe in October 2018 and it is a very pleasant spot. We stayed in Jonquil cottage, which is probably the smallest of the cottages, but it was plenty big enough for the two of us and the dog. The owners Simon and Claire were very hospitable making sure everything was ok, and letting us know what is around the area, pubs to eat in etc. Having a heated indoor pool was also very good.
Plenty of good walks around the area, and a walk along the Tiverton Canal was lovely.
All in all a very nice week with good weather in October can't beat it.
Easily recommend it.


John from Ilkeston stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


A wonderful weekend in rural Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful setting and a warm welcome was waiting for us at South Coombe. The owners made us feel at home right away with nothing too much trouble. Our cottage was cosy and homely and had everything we needed for a weekend away.

The facilities are brilliant, especially for those with children. Out girls loved playing in the pool and the newly installed play equipment.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend a stay at South Coombe. The location is stunning, the cottages are gorgeous and Simon, Clare and family give a welcome that makes you feel reassured that your comfort and enjoyment are their primary focus. We can't wait to go back.


Timothy from Ilkeston stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018