FB Twitter

Belchamp Hall Coach House

Belchamp Hall Coach House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Modern and luxurious conversion of an old outbuilding bathed in natural light and brilliantly positioned in the middle of a large private country estate.

Great accommodation except beds

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay with the exception of beds which were uncomfortable
Kitchen great but tap needs tightening and a few more tea spoons would be beneficial.
Sofas very comfortable.
Would stay again if beds comfier.




One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place. A pity that some things in the house were not like they should have been and not clean.



A country idyll

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location in a fabulous country location. Owners gave us a very warm welcome. Overall a very peaceful (outside of the characterful peacocks) and relaxing stay.



A wonderful home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just want to say what a wonderful time we had. So wonderful we extended for 3 nights and moved into the Hayloft next door which was available thank goodness as I would have been sad to leave after only 4 nights.

We absolutely loved it here. Very well thought out regards what would be needed in the kitchens etc and thoughtful touches throughout the house. Lovely welcome gift, nice toiletries in the bathroom, everything you need including a good TV choice.

It felt like a personal touch had been put throughout the Coach House and the owners are so accommodating and friendly and happy to be contacted if you need anything which is a real bonus as not always the case anywhere else.

We are country people who love to walk and love animals so the location of this gorgeous house for us was a delight. Fields and villages in every direction so lots of walking.

The onsite Peacocks and Guinea fowl are a joy to experience.. They are so funny to watch and they love to interact with you too.

We played lots of tennis whilst here on the court behind the property, again so nice to be able to just pop out and play.

If you are looking for someone really peaceful, where you can gather your thoughts, have some lovely walks and enjoy the countryside but in a modern home with all the mod cons, this Couch House is perfect.

We shall definitely be back. it was perfect!




Dark skies, peace and quiet and just 15 mins from the nearest town

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This former coach house has been converted to a superb living space. Myself, my partner and our dog, booked in for a long, weekend. We both work from home so getting away from 'the office' is our way of relaxing. We, fortunately, picked a good weekend and the weather was very kind to us. We arrived, just as the sun had set, on the Friday evening. Too late for a dog walk (it's extremely dark in that neck of the woods), so the small, enclosed garden, to the rear of the property, was ideal. I'd highly recommend taking a torch because there is only a security light to the front of the property. Great for astronomers because of the lack of any light pollution in the immediate area.

We loved the open plan lounge/kitchen/diner layout and plenty of room to move around in the kitchen area (no falling over each other as we cooked dinner). Should you need it the internet is a good speed, the wifi reaches upstairs and the Alexa is a very nice touch (my partner kept getting her to make animal noises to annoy the dog *rolls eyes*).

Upstairs the super-enormous bedroom was warm and comfortable (though the light for the emergency exit was quite luminous in the dark so I'd recommend that any light-sleepers take a eye mask). We also found the property very warm (probably because of the south facing windows downstairs) so we ended up propping the door to the upstairs open to dissipate the heat. The little pantry, off the kitchen, offers great storage for food, coats, shoes, luggage, dog toys/leads etc. The bathroom was very clean, and the shower is one of the best I've used (I really didn't want to get out).

The nearest supermarket is 5 miles away in Sudbury but because most of the route is along narrow, unlit lanes it takes about 15 mins to get there.

We found a couple of very nice 5K walking routes from the house - one passes by a ruined folly - and the church is certainly worth a wander around (if you like that sort of thing).

We had a few (uninvited) visitors; the local peacocks, peahens and guinea fowl would hang around the front of the property for much of the day, waiting for any scraps. We didn't oblige. We also met the owner of Belchamp Hall's very friendly golden Labrador, who took a shine to our dog. Sadly the feelings weren't reciprocated.

All in all this is a great getaway-from-it-all location. Do your food shopping en route, park the car and leave it there for the weekend. Do lots of walking. Cook in (or order a takeaway) and relax. Had the weather been warmer I suspect we would have spent the evening in the garden, sipping wine and gazing up at the night sky.







Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing visit to the estate. Beautiful location, quiet but not isolated, lovely bonus of peacocks and guineafowl roaming around.



Ideal site for creative ideas

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for an ideal place to get away from the day job where we could relax, think and come up with creative new ideas for our business. We wanted plenty of nature around with space to go for walks but also a good communal space and good wifi to work on our ideas. Belchamp Hall provided all of this as well as comfortable beds and we were very happy with our stay. The various birds and animals outside were also lovely. We would definitely recommend this property to others and would happily go again ourselves!



Faultless

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, spacious, great sleep quality, beautiful surroundings. Thoroughly recommended, we will return !



Visit to Belchamp Hall Coach House - December 2021

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed at the Coach House in August 21 and had such a fabulous fortnight that we couldn't resist the temptation to have a pre-Christmas break. The accommodation is first class and spacious with every facility that you could wish for, and exceptionally clean and welcoming upon our arrival. Charlie and Alice Raymond are charming, welcoming and very helpful, they always make our stays at the Belchamp Hall estate, whether at the Coach House or the former water mill, a total pleasure. The walks around Belchamp Walter and the surrounding area are delightful especially for dog owners and this is a good base for visiting many of the wonderful towns and villages in Suffolk and North Essex including Bury St Edmunds, Lavenham, Long Melford, Sudbury and Halstead. We also enjoy day trips to the coast to Aldeburgh and Orford. As for eating out, there are many wonderful restaurants, cafes and dog-friendly pubs within a short distance. We recommend a stay at the Coach House at any time of the year, you will not be disappointed!



Belchamp Coach House

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week with my two dogs. The Coach House was clean and the kitchen was lovely. It is a rather remote setting but in lovely countryside.




Fabulous Location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at the coach house for 7 nights it's set in a fabulous location in the ground of Belchamp Hall. The coach house its's is good light and airy with lots of space and everything you need for 2 to relax and unwind. Would highly recommend, plus the surrounding area has some wonderful restaurants and pubs would recommend Black Lion Long Melford for great food and service.