FB Twitter

Blackbird

Blackbird

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


A contemporary eco lodge with private hot tub and a wood-burning stove, set in glorious Somerset countryside.

Great place !!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The staff were amazing especially with a mishap I had on arrival. The lodge was clean and spacious and secure for our dog who was also holidaying with us. The location was great , not far to brean beach and also Rich’s cider farm. The cider barn is great for a drink and the staff were lovely. A brilliant holiday we will definitely be back !!! Thank you to all the amazing staff.



Lucy replied 15 days ago
Thank you for such a great review, it was really lovely to meet you and hopefully we can welcome you again!

Blackbird

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We chose this holiday rental for it's accessibility. The accomodation was comfortable and on one level although there were still steps to access for both entrances.



Lucy replied 15 days ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding accessibility- we have reviewed the website and wording to ensure this doesn't happen again. We hope to welcome you again.

Blackbird Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great short stay in Blackbird Lodge. Both indoor and outdoor space exactly as advertised Clean, Modern, spacious, well equipped, and very comfortable. Staff we met were great and site is perfectly located for exploring the area.



Lucy replied 15 days ago
Thank you for such a great review, hopefully we can welcome you again!

Beautiful lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay but found mattresses too springy for our liking. Cider barn just up the hill a massive bonus and the owners were very helpful



Lucy replied 62 days ago
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.

Amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing comfortable lodge, amazing weather. Would definately return.
Cider barn was perfect, staff friendly.




Lucy replied 127 days ago
Thank you for a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved this place, nice relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of home. Everything you need too. Very welcoming and comfortable.
Outside area could do with a bit of updating (couple of the decking panels need replacing as they'd rotted, the hot tub cover had collapsed a little and just some light replacements outside) and it would be perfect.




Lucy replied 127 days ago
Thank you for your review and feedback, it has been been passed on to the relative teams to be rectified. We hope to welcome you again.

Lovely dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Nov 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed a week away at Strawberryfield Park. Accommodation is of a high quality and with all amenities. Location is perfect, just 10 minutes from Cheddar Gorge and 30 minutes from Weston Super-Mare, which is a fantastic dog friendly beach. We will definitely book again.



Lucy replied 267 days ago
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves.

My Dog Stay at A wonderful Eco Lodge.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ive just returned and missing it already; and needed and wanted to write this review whilst still here as guys done so well.
Staying in Blackbird lodge.

Just can’t believe how superb this place is…. We knew it was going to be good… get that feeling in how quickly replies came back that it was going to professional and superb quality.

Check in - Self check in during these times so easy, key in door, directions to lodge spot on.
Nice touches - Wine and two cans of local
Cider in fridge, cold water and milk in fridge, coffee machine with a few pods to start, dish washer with tablets etc.
Clean - Super clean not a spot anywhere.
Amenities -
Smart TV with Netflix all set up and ready to
Go.
Superb comfy beds and great settees.
Kitchen - Home from home, modern, although not cooking it’s there if needed.
BBQ modern and clean.
Hot tub OMG such luxury, gets checked every day nice touch !
Two sun loungers and what a sun spot.
Also keep out the sun with modern rattan table and chairs.
Staff - Not intrusive, super friendly and helpful when needed. A credit !
Information- Great folder showing local walks, pubs and things to do not your normal cheap tacky folder but a well thought out and professional put together.

I found inside the folder the local masseuse Jo, and booked with her a 60 minute massage, please see below -
Just had a fabulous massage by Jo at our Eco retreat Strawberryfields Blackbird Cabin.
Messaged Jo on off chance of availability, very quick response and move stuff around to enable me to have a massage next day of sending WhatsApp.
I’ve had massages all around world and have one every week at home.
Jo was -
- Very professional, asked me where aches and pains.
- Wore a mask!
- Although wearing a mask could still hear and chat very easily and very comfortable.
- Very attentive to my bodies needs but not so much that other parts where left.
- Never lost contact with my body, always a good sign.
- Didn’t rush off at end allowed me to relax on bed another great indicator of a great experienced masseuse.
- I felt it was about me and the treatment all the time, not about the fee, such a great personal touch.
I would highly recommend Jo.

Can’t wait to come back and may try a Christmas break.

If you do one thing this year or next in your staycation book at Strawberryfields!

Thank you.
Steve, Jackie and Bella "Woof"




Lucy replied 323 days ago
Thank you so much for your amazing review! It really means a lot to the team - I will pass it on to all of them. Hope to welcome you back again another time!

Lovely lodges in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Blackbird Lodge. The lodge was well-equipped and looked after. Having a hot tub was brilliant especially as the weather wasn’t great. Would definitely return and recommend.



Great stay in Blackbird lodge!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in the lovely Blackbird lodge. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed for an enjoyable week. Only real down side were the trees were quite over grown making it quite shady.
Good location for sightseeing. Great food at the cider barn.
We will return to try another lodge.




Blackbird Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely lodge, all you could need but some things showing their age. Better fencing needed for dog.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Blackbird lodge with friends and had a lovely time.
The accommodation was excellent, it was spotless. it was fully equipped with everything needed for our stay. The hot tub was lovely and we used it daily.
We also enjoyed the Cider Barn which is a 1 minute walk from the lodge. There is no need to drive as the bus stop is in walking distance. the walks are also lovely into Cheddar.
We would highly recommend the lodge, we had an excellent stay and look forward to returning in the near future.




Girly weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing lodge very high standard and peaceful stunning setting with great surroundings . Hot tub was a lovely added touch and cheddar is close by with lots to see and do . Cider barn on site which sadly we didn’t get chance to visit but looked very busy , bumped in to the owner who was friendly and ensured we were happy with our stay . Went with 4 friends for a couple nights for a chilled stress free weekend it was that and more .
Would definitely return .




Great lodges ,

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great stay ,wish was longer ,clean ,tidy ,lovely grounds ,hopefully the cider barn will be up and running with more food options ,as closest place to eat and drink . swan in wed more amazing food sunday roast 5 stars .



Relaxing long weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just come out of the second lockdown period of the COVID pandemic, we were excited about being able to get away for the first time in 18 months.
Strawberryfield Park and the Blackbird Lodge gave us the opportunity to do this and we were not disappointed. The Park's management and staff had put extra steps in place to ensure the safety of their guests. The Park is set in a glorious location and the views are stunning. Although we were not lucky enough to have wall to wall sunshine during our weekend, we could imagine the sun rises and sun sets would be fabulous.

The lodges offer wonderful comfort and the hot tub is a lovely addition.

This was out second visit to the Park and we would not hesitate to book another holiday there.




Amazing lodges and services

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing accommodation and service. Lodges amazing. Will return for sure. So clean, didn't want to leave. Thank you.



Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From enquiring, to check in, to the most enjoyable weekend away. Everything ran smoothly and with ease. Nothing was too much trouble and the beds were so comfortable! Best nights sleep I’ve had in ages and the most relaxed I have felt all year. Thank you so much to Strawberryfield - we hope to return one day very soon :)



Beautiful Staycation in Somerset

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Blackbird Lodge. The lodge has everything you need for a comfortable stay. A modern lodge that is very well equipped for you stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, the kitchen is very well equipped with good quality appliances, crockery & utensils. Good 4k tv with Netflix & Amazon. Great , cosy log burner. The hot tub was fantastic after a long walk in the beautiful countryside with the dog. Plenty of towels, bathrobes & slippers. The location is brilliant for walking & cycling. Loads of footpaths nearby taking you deep into the very picturesque countryside. Lots of quiet country lanes for cycling. It was very peaceful and we slept really well. We will definitely return.



Others try, but will never beat Strawberry Fields

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from another wonderful week in Blackbird Lodge (7th visit)

On arrival it was spotless, and this is how it’s always been (not just because of Covid). Mike and his team are a credit to the hospitality industry, nothing is a problem to them.

We love this place, as does our 14 year Labrador. It’s just perfect for a relaxing time.
Scenery is beautiful and you can do as much, or as little as you like.

Others companies try, and are more expensive, but they cannot compete with Strawberry Fields.

We will definitely be returning again.




Blackbird Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a long rainy weekend in Blackbird lodge. Loved the modern feel of the place and how well the kitchen was stocked with all the pots and pans, glasses, cutlery, utensils etc. Wifi was great, TV was ok but a nice to have would of been having Sky only I was staying with football fans! Beds are comfortable and both bathrooms in each of the bedrooms were spotless. perfect size accommodation for 4 people not cramped at all. We made full use of the hot tub even in the rain and it was heavenly even with the wind and rain. Would love to come and stay again and would highly recommend Strawberryfield to all I know. My only negative comment would be that it would of been handy to have a parasol or a covering of some kind for the hot tub on rainy days,




Beautiful lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our stay at The Blackbird lodge at Strawberry field parks. We cannot fault the lodge at all. Immaculately clean and well equipped. The hot tub was wonderful too. My only complaint was it was next to a supposedly quiet lane. However tractors and cars sped up and down we thought we were next to a railway line!!! I walked down the lane so I could see what was there and it was definitely tractors and cars going far too fast on a single track lane!!!! Also I wish some of the trees were cut a bit lower. It blocked out lots of sun which was a shame. However these are just references and not complaints. The weekend was super . Thank you.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our second visit and yet again everything was just perfect. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.



Blackbird Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice lodge the site overall is well kept nice communal area. There was some day time traffic noise due to lane running past patio of the lodge but overall nice and quiet. This lodge did not have a BBQ and not really anywhere appropriate to put one. Would definitely stay again but preferably in a lodge on the Orchard not the Avenue,