FB Twitter

Batcombe Hollow

Batcombe Hollow

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


An elegant one-bedroom lodge with stunning views of Somerset countryside and a private hot tub.

Lovely week away at Batcombe Hollow

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner had a lovely and relaxing stay at Batcombe Hollow, we stayed for a week and I think it was a perfect amount of time. We came there for a time away from reality and work to fully relax. I can say we definitely were relaxed and loved every minute of it. We were probably one of the first people in a while which had put the heating on and it took some time to figure it out. Unfortunately our heating in the bedroom and bathroom wasn’t working but luckily we called the lovely out of hours gentlemen and he brought us a heater which turned out to work quite well. The kitchen had all the gear and utensils you could ever think of. We also had popped into Cheddar village which was very nice and so different from what we are used to. Everyone was so friendly as well. 10/10 would recommend this to everyone!!



Lucy replied 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Natalia, it really is appreciated. Thankyou for the information on the heating- I will make sure this was passed on to the maintenance team. Thanks for staying with us we hope we can welcome you back again one day!

Our stay at Batcombe Hollow.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This was our second stay at Batcombe Hollow a year on from our last stay we were a little disappointed the lodge felt a bit tired if you know what I mean it was mainly maintenance issues that hadn’t been picked up on. We made a list and took it to the office .We were told we’ve been so busy there is not the time to check everything.Maybe more maintenance men and more cleaners would help we had an issue with a dirty mattress cover as well it was changed as soon as we reported it.For the cost of the holiday everything should be perfect the lodge just felt it needed some TLC and the staff need to be more friendly a greeting of morning would be good! Room for improvement all round I think.



Lucy replied 23 days ago
I’m so sorry that things weren’t as expected. We aim for 5* standards all round and I am sorry you felt like that wasn’t received. I passed on the message about the mattress cover to the head of housekeeping after I got it from you (my apologies again!) and this has been highlighted to the housekeepers as cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. Above all I’m sorry you didn’t feel that the staff were friendly- this is most unusual! I for one enjoyed my chat with you on arrival and I am sorry I missed you on departure- you had already left when I wondered around that morning. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope it won’t put you off returning. Lovely to meet you both!

Dreamy days

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That was the most relaxing honeymoon we could of wished for, everything we needed was available and of high quality. Would recommend to anyone and that includes the Royal Family.




Lucy replied 23 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It means a lot and we are pleased your stay was everything you could have wished for!

Mini Moon.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my Husband came to Strawberry Park for our mini-moon. After having to postpone our wedding 4 times we thought we would treat ourselves.
The lodge was amazing, clean and had everything we needed, the hot tub was a bonus. The customer service was brilliant and resolved any problems that we had quickly. We will definitely be returning for another visit.




AMAZING!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely, relaxing getaway! The views were gorgeous, lots of places to visit and the beach is not far at all, i would 100% reccomend staying here and will definitely be coming back. The whole lodge was well looked after and was so clean, the hot tub was relaxing and was jistan overall amazing experience!



Gorgeous lodge in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Batcombe Hollow, the pictures don’t completely do it justice really. The features in the lodge were top spec, the bathroom was gorgeous with a huge bath, the bed was huge and really comfy, the outdoor area was much bigger than expected with lots of seating areas including sun loungers and of course the lovely hot tub. We didn’t use the kitchen too much but it was great for a short stay or even if we were there a week, had everything you needed for cooking and a big fridge/freezer if you’d done a big shop prior to coming. The tv is great as you can watch Netflix/Amazon etc if you have them too. A great place to relax and recharge and would love to come back again one day. There is also a Cider Barn as you drive in, which is great while you’re waiting to check in and they do lovely pizzas and are super friendly.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an incredible stay at strawberryfield park. Our lodge was stunning and really well equipped, everything had been thought of. Contactless check in was really easy and a couple of hours after we arrived we were checked on to see if there was anything we needed. We paid for early check in and late check out and it was definitely worth it. Our stay was so relaxing and to top it off we got engaged whilst we were there. Would highly recommend a visit and we will definitely be returning!



Batcombe Hollow

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot recommend Strawberryfield park enough, the lodge was amazing with everything you needed already there, super clean and lots of covid measures in place ! The decking area was lovely with lots of seating and of course the hot tub.
We did not want to leave and will definitely be returning thanks




Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge exceeded our expectations, had a fantastic stay, would highly recommend and have already booked for a return trip.

Being really picky, but as I have back issues, I would have appreciated at least one of the outdoor seats having cushions, have taken this into account on our latest booking and chosen a different lodge. Likewise for me the dining chairs weren’t comfy but that is my health problem. EVERYTHING else was great, the bed was super comfortable . It was definitely all of a very standard.





Lovely short break in a beautiful lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge was beautiful with good quality furnishings and very clean. Really spacious. Lovely location, very neat park and well kept. Friendly owners. Perfect position to watch the sun go down from the hot tub. Easy check-in and out and was a nice touch that someone came around on the morning we left to ask if everything had been ok during our stay. Love this place, been twice before and will definitely return. Perfect.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay over Christmas, the photographs shown on the lodge website do not do the lodges justice! Just beautiful, would highly recommend a visit. Such a special place we cannot wait to return soon.



Amazing experience

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Such a relaxing stay, in a very tranquil area. Perfect for couples getaways, or even families! Will definitely be coming back.



Time after time they never fail at providing outstanding service.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now visited the park on two occasions. The service, lodge and facilities have been fantastic throughout. The lodges are pure luxury. It is a home away from hone with extra magical touches. I cannot wait to return. I would recommend this to anyone. It’s so peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend ordering the breakfast hamper which is ready for you as you arrive with all local produce, eggs, sausage, bacon..... the works! Thank you so much for making each of my stays so very enjoyable.



Great, relaxing week. Perfect week. Will be returning!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was clean and well maintained. It was clear the owners didn't cheap out on their lodges which was great to see. A fantastic week away, great location. I will definitely be returning, don't change a thing!



Five day stay in Oct

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying in strawberry field lodges. Quality designed lodges packed with high tech. Peaceful and spacious with great walks in every direction.



The best relaxing staycation EVER

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived everything was exceptionally clean and all the information we needed was provided in the guest book. Our stay was so easy as soon as we got there as everything we needed was provided for, the lodge was so spacious and beautifully designed. The park itself and atmosphere was lovely and relaxing - we rarely saw any other guests at all as the distance between lodges was brilliantly spacious & I found this to make the experience even more tranquil and peaceful as if we were completely on our own and completely undisturbed. It’s in an incredible location and near to plenty of restaurants and shops and the sights are beautiful. I would highly recommend staying at strawberry field park. We went to visit the gorge on one of the days during our visit but definitely could have happily stayed in the lodge throughout our stay because it was so amazing - the hot tub was incredible and also impeccably clean.



beautiful lodge for a perfect get-away!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My boyfriend and I had a lovely time at Batcombe Hollow, it was the perfect escape from reality for a few days - only thing we could fault was that there were LOTS of daddy long legs inside the lodge when we arrived! I assume this was due to having to air out the lodge between visitors during Covid-19, but apart from that everything was perfect!



Perfect break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sign of a great stay is when you really don't want to leave! The lodge was beautiful, had the most comfortable bed and the hot tub was pure bliss! Would love to stay again



Amazing would recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner stayed Monday to Friday. Everything about the lodge was lovely we had the most relaxing time spent here! We would recommend this is everyone and hopefully will be booking this again and bringing our fur baby as we were surprise how dog friendly everywhere in Somerset is.



Clean, comfortable, would definitely return

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was very clean upon arrival and equipped with all of the essentials you would need for a self catering week away.
We stayed in Batcombe Hollow - it had such a cosy and comfortable feel about it; and the bed was amazing. Would definitely come back.




A+

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spot and wonderful facilities. Lovely interior design, the bathroom and decking area were stunning



Batcombe Hollow

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Batcombe Hollow the first week in July 2020. First impressions were good. The lodge appeared clean, there were clear notices about the extra precautions taken in view of covid-19 and the lodge was very spacious with contemporary decor.
The site itself was well maintained and quiet. We walked into Cheddar village from the lodge - around 35 minutes- using the quiet, single lane road rather than the busier main road.
We had a minor maintenance issue whilst we were staying which was rectified very quickly following a phone call to the office.
The quirky pub at the entrance to the site serves very good pizza (we particularly enjoyed it after a 65 mile cycle ride!) and gave good recommendations for which cider to try!
There is plenty to do in the area - we cycled to Bath, then on to Bristol, caught the train from Bristol to Yatton and then cycled back to Strawberryfield Park. We visited Wells cathedral and the farmers' market; walked the gorge; visited Glastonbury and walked up the tor; enjoyed freshly picked strawberries, local cider and of course cheddar. We also enjoyed lazy days at the lodge, sitting out on the decking in the sunshine and relaxing in the hot tub.
One small negative was the light level in the bedroom - the blinds did not block out light at all which meant we woke early every morning (05.15!) as soon as it was daylight. Not a huge problem but not conducive to lazier mornings!
We would definitely recommend Strawberryfield Park and may return.




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We would recommend staying here for sure - we stayed 9-12th March after having to cancel our trip to Rome and it was brilliant! The lodges are great; massive, very clean and the hot tub was perfect! The only downside for us was the cost which for three nights is quite pricey however, we loved every minute of it and would definitely recommend it.