FB Twitter

Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


In the heart of Mortehoe village and surrounded by National Trust coastline, Old Bakery Cottage is in a superb location for a beach or walking holiday. This popular spacious cottage has all modern facilities, superb sea views from the roof terrace and living area and easy access to beaches and coastline. It is ideal for family holidays and accommodates 6 people comfortably, with three bedrooms situated on the ground floor. The cottage is a fantastic base for local beaches and country walks.

Stunning but needs minor improvements

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location of the cottage. The views are amazing. The OK reviews are due to two things:
Living room furniture: this is not comfortable at all for both the settees and dining room chairs
Downstairs: Became very damp as the week went by. We aired the rooms but had flies and ants on the bathroom floor.
We loved the cottage overall and are planning to stay again next year. The feedback is based on what can be improved to make the cottage even better than it is. The open plan upstairs accommodation/views is what will make us come back as it is award winning.




Very much improved from last year due to the new kitchen, upper floor, TV and heating.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As above, much improved due to upper floor. Appreciate you listened to last year’s comments and acted accordingly.
We will look forward to visiting again next year.




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Bakery Cottage was in an excellent location, quiet, and convenient for lots of walks. It was clean, well maintained, the beds were comfortable, and the terrace had great views and was a sun trap. Excellent value for money. It was minutes from the Chichester Arms, fish and chip shop and Rockleigh Takeaway which was excellent. Our only niggle was no teapot and no coffee maker.



David and Tal (owners) replied 109 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, Elaine, and glad you had a great holiday and stay at our cottage. Sorry the teapot and cafetiere were missing and thanks for drawing it to our attention. They were inadvertently put away during Covid preparations and are now back in place. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. David and Tal

Second stay at old bakery

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was our second stay at the old bakery cottage and we had a fab time. The owners have made big improvements to the cottage...with bright decor and a modern kitchen. It is in a great location, allowing you to enjoy the quiet of Mortehoe after surfing in Woolacombe.
It could do with an outdoor tap to help you wash your wetsuits!





Good holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our stay at Old Bakery Cottage. Property clean and comfortable and recently updated. Good views.



Lovely cottage centrally located in Mortehoe

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful cottage that gives access to local beaches and great walks on North Morte point and the South West coastal path. The cottage is well appointed and includes everything you need including a useful utility / drying room. There are beautiful views to the hills at the rear of the property and sea views from the deck. A great place for a family holiday.



Great Location and Views

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Conveniently located just 50 yds from The Chichester Arms down a secluded road the cottage offers peace and tranquility whilst being ideally positioned for all the facilities in Mortehoe. With spectacular views from the balcony from where you can enjoy your breakfast whilst marvelling at the coastline below the reverse format accommodation has a bright and airy feel to the upstairs where the open plan kitchen and dining/lounge area has recently been given a great new makeover. Downstairs there are 3 bedrooms, 2 double (1 with very small en-suite) and 1 with bunk beds. In addition there is a separate family bathroom and a laundry room. The downstairs is adequate but it's the upstairs living accommodation where this cottage scores so highly.
Would definitely stay again, if just for those views.




Lovely stay in Mortehoe

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week in The Old Bakery Cottage. The cottage is really spacious and ideal for a family.

The accommodations was clean and comfortable with amazing views over the bay and surrounding countryside. The location is perfect, with everything you need close at hand in the lovely village - friendly pubs serving good food, a cafe (The Smugglers Rest) who have recently started serving evening meals (Thurs - Sat). Having eaten there would highly recommend !

Not really any negatives - my husband is disabled so a grab rail on the bath would have helped (I suspect for a lot of non disabled people too) but this is a personal requirement.

Would recommend.




Lovely spot, property is a little dated

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just had the most wonderful week here and would definitely stay again. My "gripes" for want of a better word are that the kitchen really needs a refit - its old and dark and tired and I was less than impressed on the first night to find that all the pots and pans had been put away dirty. It took us half an hour to get the pans into a useable condition where a previous visitor had almost burnt the bottom out of them! For a family of 6, there really aren't enough pans!
But that is the extent of my gripe, the location is lovely, I wish I had known about a visitors parking permit before we came to stay - will definitely do that next time. The little touches were very nice and much appreciated after a 5 hour journey - cream tea on arrival, milk in the fridge (GENIUS!) and the towels on each bed were shaped into animals which the kids adored! Completely left in peace for the week, we had a lovely lovely stay and are already looking at availability for next year. Thanks for having us!




Madeleine Palmer replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased you loved Old Bakery Cottage and you'll be delighted to know that its having a brand new kitchen ready for next season. Very sorry the dirty pans got missed, that's most unusual as the house keeper there is one of our best! The permit details are already on my website, have been for some time so that's also sorted :) Its ready to book for 2020 so yes, do check it out and only a 2% increase despite having a new kitchen so do book before they decide whether to put the price up in the New Year! All the best, Maddy from Holiday Home hunter in Woolacombe

Old Bakery Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
comfortable cottage in an excellent location in Morthoe, close to pubs shop and local walks yet still peacefull and quiet, cottage has everything you need and a patio balcony with a view to die for, only one parking space but the village car park is only a couple of hundread yards away and is reasonably priced if you buy a permit, Top Marks !!



Relaxing holiday. Property needs updating.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had yet another good holiday in the Old Bakery Cottage, we have stayed many times.
However it must now be said the property needs updating.
The kitchen especially needs renewing. The upstairs central heating is poor. Could do with a better TV with a remote that works.
The new gas fire only worked twice ( took 20 minutes to light) and then it packed up completely.
We love the cottage and the location but won’t stay again unless money is spent.




Madeleine Palmer at Holiday Home Hunter replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kevin, good to hear that you love Old Bakery Cottage and I really appreciate your honest review. The kitchen is booked in for a refit before next Spring, our chosen fitter could not do it before then, fully booked! The fire was replaced with a new basket this winter (2018/2019) and sadly developed a fault which is now being fixed. The new fire will hopefully compensate if the central heating doesn't kick in enough, maybe the temperature gauge needed to be turned up as this has not been brought to my attention before? I will suggest the owner replaces the TV. We thought it just needed batteries in the remote but it seems like it might be on it's way out. It seems to work intermittently. It should all be in order now so please do come again, you've been visiting for years and I know you love it :) All the best, Maddy

Lovely place, fantastic location!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely Easter break at old Bakery Cottage with friends and family. Amazing location, fantastic views and close enough to walk into Woolacombe. Would definitely be back and recommend cottage for holiday stay.



Lovely holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at The Old Bakery and yet again it did not disappoint. The easter eggs were a lovely addition which the kids enjoyed. We would definitely book again in the future. The only issue the kids had was that the video tv didn't work.



Madeleine Palmer, Holiday Home Hunter on behalf of the owner (my brother) replied more than 1 year ago
The kids TV for watching old VHS has been removed and we are struggling to find a replacement as they are no longer made sadly. We will either remove the VHS collection or replace the TV/VHS player if my brother can find one online.