FB Twitter

Cliff Cottage

Cliff Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Just along Woolacombe’s Esplanade sits Cliff Cottage in its own private gardens, set back and elevated from the road. Literally steps from the beach, it commands outstanding sea views right across Woolacombe beach to Putsborough, Baggy Point and beyond.

This 1950’s chalet-style house has been recently refurbished to a high specification and sleeps up to 8 in 3 spacious bedrooms and will accommodate 2 families very comfortably.

Wonderful week

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location with the best views of woolacombe beach from living room, kitchen and main bedroom. Huge beachscape, seascape.
House spotless bright and light and lovely little generous touches from owners... inc bottle of fizz and some chocs. These little things make all the difference.
Had wonderful walks, swims, watched alot of surfing(lifeguarded beach all day)
Cant fault it and cant wait to go again.
Management were informative and helpful.
See you soon cliff cottage!




Beautiful coastal property by my favourite beach

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was looking for a family house by the sea and this property ticked all the boxes, you could almost touch the beach from the patio.
Lovely big living spaces so family could spread out.




Fabulous location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location. Lovely house, lots of space and comfortable rooms. Really convenient to have an outdoor shower. Dog friendly garden with patio with great views.



Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eight of us stayed at Cliff Cottage in early July 2021. This isn't the first time we've stayed at the property so knew what to expect. The accommodation is great with plenty of reception space to spread out in. The outdoor terrace is also a really good space to relax in. We can't really fault the property, although it would be nice to see one or two very minor things improved such as the dodgy garden gate.

While appreciating the need for extra cleaning time due to Covid, the very late check in time and very early check out time do make things a bit difficult, however hopefully this is temporary.

In summary we would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in Woolacombe and look forward to staying there again in the future.




A1 location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Straight from “cottage” to beach - excellent location . If you didn’t fancy the beach the terrace was marvellous for watching those that did - and always of course the view. Plenty of space indoors for 6-8 people. Hope this review doesn’t generate so much interest that we would be unable to book in the future !!



Shhh, we found paradise but let’s keep it our secret ........

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! Cliff Cottage has everything; spectacular views, fantastic outside space, clean, comfortable and very spacious inside, well equipped. We loved it so much that we booked a week for next year before we’d even packed to come home this time.

I’ve read comments about the kitchen needing an update. Maybe but not an issue for us - what’s outside is the jewel in the crown and I struggle to think of anywhere more beautiful. These holiday homes have a high turnover of guests and along with that comes wear and tear despite the majority of guests having complete respect for another’s property. If I were the owner I doubt I’d invest in a new kitchen at the moment when what is there is perfectly adequate for the purpose.

Recycling did leave us scratching our heads but a text to the housekeeper remedied that.

We’d like to say a big thank you to the owners for the welcome pack. Such a lovely touch and a great start to our holiday. Milk was left, a bottle of fizz and a box of chocs and our thanks of course for giving us the opportunity to share your fabulous property.

As I’ve already said, WE’LL BE BACK.





Woolacombe

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our fist stay at Cliff cottage.
Excellent Prime Location.
Very pleased with the holiday. Looking forward to visiting again next year.
If I had to be honest, the house could do with a little TLC.
In my opinion the kitchen could do with a makeover, a radio would be nice to listen to whilst cooking.
We also felt the tv should be moved to the end lounge, as it felt a more homely room.

All in all, this is a lovely house with fantastic views of the beach. Perfect for water babies. Excellent outdoor shower facility. Brilliant location. Looking forward to our visit next year.




Amazing location with stunning sea views

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so lucky to find Cliff Cottage due to a cancellation. There were six of us and the house was really comfortable - the garden was a great size for football and cricket! The views of the sea are amazing - we were unlucky enough to arrive for the tail end of Storm Ellen followed by Storm Francis but the house was lovely and warm and we could watch the waves from the comfort of inside! The outdoor showers were great after bodyboarding and there was always plentiful hot water for six consecutive showers. We would highly recommend this and will be back - the only thing we would change is the weather but even so we had an amazing week!



Best view of the beach

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great week in this house. Love the views across the beach and will miss eating my breakfast while watching the waves.



Cliff Cottage - amazing location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location looking over Woolacombe Bay. Spacious living areas, both inside and outside, much appreciated during the week when we had sunshine then Storm Ellen! Highly recommended.



A lovely family holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky with the weather and family had a great time bodyboarding. Good quality white goods and plenty of crockery and cutlery. Comfortable beds. Could have done with a few more coffee tables and perhaps another couple of simple armchairs ?
Key safe and front door locks were an acquired knack ! But all in all a really lovely property - have already booked for next year.




Summer family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
8 of us stayed at Cliff Cottage in August 2019. The accommodation is excellent insofar as it has plenty of reception space for the family to spread out in.

The location cannot be beaten in woolacombe as the property sits right on the esplanade across the road from the beach. This was a great advantage when coming back from a day on the beach with bags, towels, etc.

The property has been refurbished recently however in some respects there remains some work to do. Everything has had a lick of paint and the reception rooms and bedrooms are all bright and well finished. The kitchen could do with a bit more work and maybe replacing at some point.

There were one or two minor niggles, for example there is no wardrobe space in the family bedroom.

However overall this is a very good property in a fantastic location, and we’ve already booked again for next year!




A comfortable roomy chalet in excellent location.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent kitchen facilities and outside showers were a bonus. Comfortable beds. Smart and clean throughout. Recycling instructions need to be clearer and when we arrived some litter left in driveway. However we would have no hesitation in staying there again as the location was perfect and the house was excellent.











Fantastic location, super accommodation.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place, fantastic location, lovely accommodation and amazing views. Perfect for families.



Great location and accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High-end accommodation in a highly convenient location with a great view of Woolacombe's big beach. The property is very comfortable.



The perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing Location, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen. Lovely garden, and outside area, perfect to relax and watch the madness on the beach. (minor point - the brambles were beginning to take over the garden)




A great weeks stay in June.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location. Close to amenities. Cliff Cottage is ideal for families. Outside showers very useful. Could do with more coffee tables in lounges, and a chest of drawers in downstairs bedroom.



Fantastic location but views spoilt by Motor Home Parking

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No complaints about the Cottage but the illegal parking overnight of Motor homes opposite the Cottage blocked all the magnificent views across the beach. One Motor home was parked for three days & nights without moving until I spoke to a parking enforcement officer who ordered them to move. This illegal long stay parking of Motor Homes occurred through much of my stay & all the more annoying as there are a number of sites near Woolacombe where they should legally park overnight. I have lodged a complaint with Parking Enforcement of Devon County Council as to why they fail to enforce their parking restrictions along the whole of the Esplanade.





Lovely property

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property and location.
Would of preferred a bigger dining table/area rather than having two lounges




Lovely cottage in beautiful position

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay on Cliff Cottage, position was perfect
Dining facilities on benches not so good and don't really think suitable for more than 6 people.. More drawer space needed in downstairs bedroom and and a mirror on wall near electric socket in same bedroom would be s help when.using a hair dryer . Key safe is a pain, broken nails every time. Otherwise a fabulous holiday cottage.




Best view in Woolacombe

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and the views from every room and garden are amazing.
Will miss having my breakfast while looking across the beach.




Fantastic accommodation, Fantastic town, Fantastic weather

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent week at Cliff Cottage, very spacious, spotless accommodation, good quality furnishings, modern top quality kitchen appliances ideal for self catering, large bedrooms with plenty of storage/hanging space and superb sumptuous massive double beds enabled a good nights sleep. Large, secure garden for the dogs to play in when they weren't on the beach or in the sea. Nice patio area and furniture ideal for sunbathing, which there was plenty of as the weather was unbelievable, T-shirt weather all week.
Well located, just a five minute walk to the shops (even less to the Red Barn), access to the three mile beach is just across the road, already booked again for another break later in the year, after nearly 30 years of holidaying in Woolacombe this is certainly the best place we have stayed at, HIGHLY recommended.