FB Twitter

Sherwood House

Sherwood House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Fabulous Find in a Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from the most glorious winter weekend at Sherwood House. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. There were goodies galore for everyone- including the dogs! (balls, towels, treats, bowls, beds...the list goes on) The ferry Inn 3 doors down from the house is a proper pub with a warm welcome and great food. It's a brilliant holiday home for all ages.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The location was amazing. Waking up each morning to the most unbelievable view across the estuary really was wonderful.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Everything we needed was there! Sherwood house has been really well furnished to a high standard with comfy beds and sofas, and the kitchen had everything we needed and more.



Avril from stayed at Sherwood House for 4 nights in November 2019


Sherwood House in October

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to a truly 5* welcome with a lovely welcome pack of artisan bread and individual cakes, a bottle of Prosecco some eggs and milk as well as treats for the dog. The house was excellent in all respects and exceptionally well equipped, especially in the kitchen. We were blessed with good weather and even ate out on the patio one lunchtime and a BBQ one evening! Perfectly placed for walks out of the door and also for a base to tour the area. Without doubt the best house I have stayed in and we will return if not here then to Headland Cottage!! A perfect stay in a beautiful house.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The house

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The kitchen and dining room leading out to the riverside views and the abundant wildlife

David from Falmouth stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in October 2019


Excellent stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property has been fitted out with everything you would want & more. The communications from the owners were first class & welcoming. This break was to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday & we could not have picked a more accommodating place, even left treats for Winston (our gran-dog)
The surrounding area has a lot to offer as there are many beaches, wildlife walks, boat rides, & good places to eat.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Being together with the rest of our family, our stay at Sherwood House was the icing on the cake.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Everything, Sherwood House has everything that you would want for a relaxing holiday.



David from Clacton-on-sea stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in October 2019


Perfect location, spacious accommodation and so well equipped!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the bank holiday week in August and it suited all age groups. We enjoyed the footpaths by the estuary along to St Dogmaels and could also send the children over to the jetty for some successful crabbing!! OR we could just pop 5 doors up to the pub for a delicious meal (with a view!).

Ty Sherwood has been very tastefully designed and furnished, and seeing that view every day just made it incredibly relaxing.
We had no rainy days but still managed to make use of the huge variety of games available for all! Your welcome pack was so appreciated and you have thought through everything we could possibly need!

The options for cooking outside were made all the better by the large Pizza oven which also gave us warmth in the evening!! - all the more time to enjoy the gorgeous view.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Views and walks!

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Comfortable and well furnished

Matthew from Thatcham stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in August 2019


Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week away in a fabulous property, everything was amazing. The views , facilities, and comfort were second to none. The owners were so kind and thoughtful. Our two doggies loved it also, even all their needs were catered for. We will definitely be back. Thoroughly recommend. We didn’t want to leave.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Everything’s

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Views and comfort



David from Corsham stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in August 2019


September 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house, location and welcome pack. Kath welcomed us warmly and was helpful with any enquiries we had during our stay. We have had a wonderful family holiday and are looking forward to returning next year. Great for dogs with a secure garden and good supply of doggy treats provided.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Stylish, beautifully decorated and fully equipped house. Comfortable inside and out. Great decking. Stunning views. Pizza oven an added bonus.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
That everything you may need was provided for. Even on a we, dreary day it was relaxing to look out at the estuary and watch the wild life.



Carol from Bridgend stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in September 2019


Great family holiday in Wales

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Sherwood House online and decided to book for a week in August 2019 - we were not disappointed. The property is modern and immaculately presented. The location is superb too, right on the banks of the estuary and minutes from Poppitt Sands Beach - brilliant for children and dog lovers. We would love to return for a second stay.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The luxurious facilities and easy access to some stunning days out.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The high specification of the property and breathtaking views from the decking area.



Matthew from Sunderland stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in August 2019


one of the best holidays we have had it was amazing and we will be back .

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic house in a beautiful location everything and more we could ask for we had the weather which was a bonus , we were made to feel very welcome and made us feel like home straight away everything was perfect we will definutly will return Thankyou to the owners Pete and Kathy a holiday we will always remember kind regards mr and Mrs Lewis and family .

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Everything was fantastic

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Location , views and home from home



Jessica from Weston-super-mare stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in July 2019


Perfect riverside holiday house

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place. The house itself is lovely, and the outside space is very special. The friendly, helpful owners provided really thoughtful welcome treats, including for our dog. It’s a great base for exploring the area, although you needn’t move far if you don’t want to (and it’s pretty hard to tear yourself away from the deck and the changing moods of the river). The Ferry Inn a couple of doors down does great food (good vegetarian choices). The jetty near the house is popular with kids for crabbing, it’s also easy to launch your kayak from there. The local market on Tuesday mornings is excellent - take plenty cash. Would highly recommend Ty Sherwood to anyone.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Local beaches and walks with the dog.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The deck and the views.

Philippa from Cardiff stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in August 2019


Wow what a place

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place . Everything catered for and a simply stunning location . Really made to feel welcome and we did not want to leave .

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The house and location

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The garden area



Jane from Durham stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in July 2019


Great comfortable house with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at Ty Sherwood House. A really thoughtful welcome pack began our holiday including a toy for our dog.
Location is stunning and we travelled around less than we’d planned because spending the afternoon on the outside settee on the decking watching the estuary world go by was so relaxing.Barbecue was used many of the nights we were there.
The house has been renovated and has the modern mixed with the old, kitchen is well equipped and has everything you need.
We only used one bedroom as there were only two of us staying and the bed in the Captains suite was comfortable. Lovely have a first cup of tea in bed overlooking the estuary.
We like walking with our dog and there are many walks around the coastal paths, we also took a trip on the Bay to Remember rib which was really good. Also the Ferry pub a few doors away was welcoming and food was fab. Poppit Sands was a daily visit and loved by our dog for a good run with her ball. Local fish and chip shop good too.
Our week was aided by good weather and we had a fab time here and would definitely recommend.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Relaxing on the decking with a gin and tonic watching the world go by.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The decking, the kitchen and the master bedroom.

Helen from Nottingham stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in July 2019


Relaxing break away

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
TySherwood is a luxurious, beautiful house and has everything you could possible want for a totally relaxing break away. We were away with our two teenage sons and mini Schnauzer and was perfect for all of us.
The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have power showers. Outside on the deck it’s really special; enjoyable evenings watching the boats and wildlife whilst sipping a glass of wine, cooking pizzas and fish on the BBQ.
We didn’t want to leave!
Thank you to our hosts for their warm welcome.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Luxurious accommodation and good weather

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The outside area next to the river.

Paul from Cadeby stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in June 2019


Excellent location with amazing views over the River Teifi

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at Ty Sherwood. The house was stunning and the extra touches provided by Pete and Kath were so lovely they had thought of everything. It was a real home and we felt quite sad to leave.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Idyllic location

What did you like best about Sherwood House
Everything was of a high standard but the main bedroom was the best so amazing!



Vickie from Hitchin stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in June 2019


A lovely time in St Dogmaels

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was really good and the experience of relaxation on the decking overlooking the tidal section of the river Teifi will never be forgotten. The owners were very accomodating and got our holiday off to a great start (and the little extra's we got on arrival were first class). The property was well-equipped and in super condition with all our needs easily met.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Relaxtion on the decking. But also the great walks (coastal path) and lovely food available.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The decking and the views from it and the quality of everything in the house.



Lesley from Chester stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in June 2019


Family holiday with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sherwood House is a great house in beautiful settings of the Estuary. We visited with 2 families and enjoyed our time at the house all the amenities including the waterfall showers, large bath and the views from the decking, bedroom and kitchen area.
Pete and Kath were wonderful hosts by providing us with essentials for the fridge, local treats from the Bakery for the children and beer from a local brewery. They were very accommodating when we first arrived as it was early than anticipated and explained the house and local area well.
We visited the Poppet Bay a number of times, completed a boat ride, local steam train, Folly Farm, crabbing from the jetting daily and visited the local pub just a few doors up a couple of times.
This house is the ideal place to relax, take in the local views and wildlife and spend quality time with your families.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
the close proximity of the beach

What did you like best about Sherwood House
views and wildlife

Carly from Rochester stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in May 2019


A beautiful house in an idyllic river-side location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, son and I loved staying in this property! It is in beautiful condition and its river-side location is quite wonderful. Every time I walked out onto the decking I wanted to take another photo of the magnificent river surroundings! Sherwood House has very comfortable beds and the 'wake-up' view from the 'Captain's Suite' is simply delightful! The House is also very well equipped - so much so that our only request would be to have an inventory of equipment available to look at in advance. We discovered that we need not have brought quite a number of items with us since they were already in Sherwood House. We felt very much at home in this place - perhaps that's the best of compliments that can be made! We all want to make a return visit!

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
River-side location and the beautiful well-equipped property

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The river-side location

Alan from Sevenoaks stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in April 2019


A family break

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay with our grownup family. Having a pub 3 doors down that take dogs is a bonus. We had Sunday lunch in the Ferry Inn.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The location and a pub 3 doors away

What did you like best about Sherwood House
I loved the Captain Suite and the kitchen which lead onto the garden.



Guest from Llanelli stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in March 2019


Amazing House

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house in a fabulous location. Views are outstanding, the house has been renovated to take full advantage of the beautiful scenery. Kath and Pete were very accommodating and the local produce was very welcoming. Wonderful place to spend a family Christmas. This is one of the best holiday homes that we have stayed in. Will definitely be back.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The peace and tranquillity.

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The space and high end interior.



Dawn from Rainham stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in December 2018


A wonderful relaxing week in a beautiful house.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sherwood House. It has been beautifully renovated/decorated, is impeccably clean and very comfortable. The hosts are lovely people, very accommodating and friendly and they left us a generous welcome hamper which was most appreciated. Even our dogs were treated! We were lucky to have sunny, crisp October days so spent some time on the terrace admiring the wildlife and had lots of fun using the pizza oven. All in all, a wonderful, relaxing week thanks to Sherwood House.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
We really enjoyed visiting the local beaches as well as taking a day out to visit local producers (wine, cheese and chocolate!).

What did you like best about Sherwood House
We enjoyed the comfort and quality of Sherwood House and particularly enjoyed using the pizza oven on the terrace!

Martin from Haresfield stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in October 2018


A Superb Riverside Break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in this fabulous refurbished riverside property with our three children and two dogs. This is definitely a luxury 5* holiday cottage, with all the facilities we needed for a relaxing family self catering holiday, with all the "home from home" comforts.

The location is second to none, overlooking the beautiful Teifi Estuary and Cardigan Bay, just a couple of miles from the family beach of Poppit Sands, where there is so much to do for all the family from rock pooling, to playing "hide and seek" in the sand dunes, flying our kites, and swimming in the sea. The beach is also pet friendly and so is the beachside cafe, adjacent to the large car park, providing tasty snacks and ice creams.

One of the biggest advantages, and especially for Dad, was the fact that he could walk to the local pub from the cottage in under 1 minute, where we all joined him on the last night for an excellent family meal. On the other evening we used both the built-in pizza oven and gas BBQ, superb quality.

We have already booked again for 2019, and can't wait to come back, thanks guys.

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
The luxurious comforts of the new home, and the location. The children appreciated the Superfast broadband and the dogs their welcome pack..

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The stunning views followed closely by the sunken bath and walk in power "rainfall" showers.

Dewi from Boncath stayed at Sherwood House for 3 nights in October 2018


We loved everything about our stay at Sherwood house

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many holiday cottages and found this one to be right up there with the best. The house itself has everything you would need and more, pure luxury and so well thought out, beautifully finished and would feel spacious even if you had a full house. The location is fantastic,and the views from the back of the house, the Captains room and kitchen are superb, we wanted to stay longer. The weather was a bit hit and miss but that didn't spoil anything and we still managed to sit on the decking area and relax on the outdoor sofas and hammock. Due to the weather we didn't manage to use the outdoor BBQ or Pizza oven so will definitely be booking to come back next summer ! Our lovely hosts greeted us on arrival and were so friendly and welcoming they left lots of local produce which was totally unexpecte, we were very impressed.

The location of the house itself is perfect, walking distance to a great pub, lovely Poppit beach and great crabbing for the kids just 2 minutes away.

We could go on and on about how great this place is.... Thanks you very much !

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Sitting on the deck and watching the birds

What did you like best about Sherwood House
EVERYTHING about the beautiful house itself and the outdoor space

John from stayed at Sherwood House for 5 nights in August 2018


A Wonderful Week in Wales

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This riverfront holiday property is one of the best that we have stayed in. The view from the deck and the master suite was stunning! There was plenty of comfortable seating for everyone outside which is unusual for a holiday cottage. We appreciated the amazing personal welcome and items to make our stay even more comfortable, including for our dog, which was really thoughtful.

The property is brilliantly situated (within walking distance) of a pub selling excellent food, within easy reach of Cardigan and Poppit Sands (a lovely beach with plenty of room for the dog). Our older children enjoyed going out on a boat and seeing dolphins. We are only sorry that we couldn't stay longer to explore the local area further.

The property is decorated to a high standard and yet is dog friendly. I appreciated the art work and we all liked the amazing showers!. My nephew commented that the beds were the most comfortable he had slept in! The kitchen is well equipped and it was lovely to stir a sauce whilst enjoying the ever changing view. We enjoyed using the barbecue one evening and also the pizza oven which provided the focus for our final evening together. Thank you!

What did you enjoy most about your holiday
Plenty of room for everyone including the dog!

What did you like best about Sherwood House
The deck with its comfortable seating and amazing view!

Maggie from Southampton stayed at Sherwood House for 7 nights in August 2018