FB Twitter

The Chapel

The Chapel

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


The Chapel is a fun and vibrant two bedroom holiday home in the heart of Stow-on-the-Wold with high end interiors, offering a comfortable retreat to enjoy after exploring the Cotswolds. On your doorstep are a number of exceptional pubs, restaurants and cafes, and the countryside surrounds the town, so having a car isn’t necessary to experience a slice of the Cotswolds.

Lovely place to stay but need fine tuning

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2024
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Plus
1. Location
2. Love the design
3. Clean

Minus
1. Maintenance
A. Nespresso machine is due for descaling. The descaling light was already on when we arrived. There was no descaling kit available.
B. The conditions of the pots and pans are dreadful. Badly in need of replacement.
C. Light bulb of one of the bedside table lamp wasnt working. Flashing all the way.
2. Non Contactable Property Manager
We tried to contact Brian via the phone number provided over whatsapp and phone call. No response over whatsapp and no one picked up the call.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 63 days ago
Thank you Poh Soon Png for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted you found the property to be clean, well designed and in a great location. We will pass on your feedback to the property owner and housekeepers for them to review and implement any appropriate actions for future guests. We do hope that overall you enjoyed your time exploring the Cotswolds!

Best location

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chapel. The apartment is clean and comfortable especially the beds. The location is bang in the centre of Stow.
Parking is available on the main road but you have to be prepared to move your car a few times if you need to be close to the apartment.
Can't fault the place in any way, the only surprise was the lack of recycling facilities.
We'd love to return at Christmas.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 73 days ago
Thank you Geoffrey for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to stay again soon!

We loved it!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My dream holiday couldn’t have been better! Great location and great apartment: the town is simply lovely, with a lot of restaurants, bars and shops near the apartment, and the house is cozy and welcoming.
If you prefer to eat at home you will find all you need in the big kitchen, with a big Tesco at only 10 minutes walking distance.
I am vegan and I have found some options both in the restaurants and in the supermarket.
Last but not least, Stow-On-The-Wold is near to a lot of other villages, easily reachable by car, but you will also be able to have a nice walk around the countryside!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 79 days ago
Thank you Michela for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be cosy, welcoming and in a great location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Spring break in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The chapel in Stow was ideal for a short break in the Cotswolds for couples without a car. It is centrally located and a short walk to shops, bus stop and the oldest inn in England which serves good food. It's warm, comfortable and well equipped with lots of stylish, quirky features. There's no train station but the 801 bus from moreton-in-marsh runs every hour and passes through several pretty villages and on to Cheltenham.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 83 days ago
Thank you Brenda for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be ideal for your short break in the Cotswolds! We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Quirky property in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stow is an excellent location and The Chapel is a quirky property with great facilities and had everything you could want for a great stay. Great pubs, lovely shops tea rooms. Not a big place but perfectly formed

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 118 days ago
Thank you Saeeda for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be perfectly formed, well equipped and in a great location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

A very successful holiday - with fine weather - in the Cotswold.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent apartment, centrally located for visiting various places in the Cotswold, with fine walking opportunities. Stow-on-the-Wold is a touristy but nice village. Parking options at the apartment are somewhat limited, mainly paid parking with a maximum of 2 hours. However, a nice resident of Stow pointed us to a free alternative 5 minutes walk from the apartment.
The apartment is recommended and is certainly suitable for us - visitors from the Netherlands - for a next holiday.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 313 days ago
Thank you for your review of The Chapel. We are so pleased you enjoyed the local area and found the property to be excellent! We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the future.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was in a fabulous location within seconds of cafes and shops.The apartment is as good as any you will find,we couldn't fault it.On a minor issue there is no outside space to sit for your morning coffee or tea.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 334 days ago
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

A lovely place to stay, in a lovely central area of the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Chapel In early June. Park outside to offload then plenty of street parking available even if you have to go to the town square for an hour or two (left, round the corner and 100 yards). Don't take any DVDs there are plenty already there, and games and jigsaws. The underfloor heating is fabulous and there is everything else that you might need. Cafes and restaurants within walking distance including Indian, try "Sheep on Sheep Street" almost opposite on the right out the door, its like the Tardis once through the door and lovely food and atmosphere, best to book. Burton on the Water 15 mins down the road is fabulous, try the Smalltalk Tearooms for lunch or afternoon tea, the food is fabulous and the staff wonderful. Don't forget the Car Museum, a real treat for oldies like us and only £7 entry. Of course if you want real modern as well as old cars drive to Warwick to the British Car Museum on the Jaguar Landrover development site, never seen so many cars in one place and a really reasonable cafeteria upstairs (lift available). Non of this takes anything away from the Chapel which we would highly recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you and your wide had a lovely stay and got to explore the local area and villages. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Great break in Stow

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 days touring the Cotswolds from our base in Stow-on-the-Wold staying at The Chapel booked with Stay Cotswolds.
We found the accommodation to be wonderful for our needs, centrally located in Stow within a few minutes walk of shops, pubs and restaurants and on street parking was easy and convenient. The Chapel is furnished to a very high standard and very clean.
We toured around the area and used our car daily, it was very easy travelling around and to get in and out of the town at any time of day.
We can definitely recommend this property and would return if staying in Stow again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you got to explore the local area's and The Chapel was to a high standard. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

3 days stay during Cheltenham week

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house/chapel. Only draw back, the bedroom over looking the road was quite noisy late into the evening and traffic early in the morning. But a lovely accommodation furnished to a high specification.

Thank you.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Steven for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted you found the property to be fantastic. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

A Lovely Cotswold Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was a great spot to stay in Stow-On-The-Wold. The building itself was a modern, well renovated and extremely comfortable place to stay. The location was ideal as well; smack dab in the centre of town, it made it easy to walk to local amenities, shops and restaurants. I was worried it would be noisy, but there were no issues (though it was low season our stay). The customer service of StayCotswold was very quick to respond, thorough and supportive. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful location of The Chapel, close to all the restaurants and shops that Stow has to offer. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold again in the future.

Girlie Weekend Away

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little flat beautifully decorated and equipped . Very warm and comfortable on a sunny but cold weekend . Parking proved more of a challenge to find than indicated but clearly is much easier mid week than at weekends . Carrying heavy bags from a distance was not fun . It appears you could park outside and drop off stuff but no indication as to whether this is an option was given which would be helpful . Also not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or with young children . Second bedroom tight and only a normal double which was fine for one person. No where to put a case in second room but larger bedroom had enough space

Overall we had a great time and Stow is a super place for eating out

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jill for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted you found the property to be warm, beautiful and well equipped. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Amazing little find in the heart of Stow

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely comfortable stay in the Chapel. The property was so clean and comfortable and we instantly felt at home. The location was absolutely perfect. We didn’t intend on exploring anywhere but Stow (been to the Cotswolds many times before) so this was perfect. Situated in the heart of stow we didn’t move our car once. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Chapel to anyone. Thank you very much to the owners for providing such a wonderful home from home

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Elisabeth for your review of The Chapel. We are so glad you had a comfortable stay and found it to be a home from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds.

Weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend in January and loved it. The Chapel was so cosy and warm. It was so inviting and had everything you needed and more. Decorated beautifully it was a delight to stay here. It Is in the perfect position to explore the Cotswolds.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Andrea for your review of The Chapel. We are so glad that you found the property to be so cosy, inviting and warm. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds!

Lovely place in the heart of Stow

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Chapel - a quirky place in a fantastic location! Everything you need is provided. The only negative (which was unfortunately a big one for us) was the bed - the king size bed dipped so low in the middle that it was impossible for us both to sleep in, and we had to sleep in separate rooms all week! We also didn’t realise that the property is essentially one of a number of flats/conversions in the same building - we have a young baby, and wouldn’t have necessarily chosen a property with direct neighbours had we known. Aside from this we had a lovely time.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Lily for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be in a fantastic location and well equipped. We are sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable, previous guest reviews confirm that the majority of guests find them comfortable. We do advertise The Chapel as a holiday home which forms part of a converted church and we confirm that there is a shared entrance to the building with neighbouring properties in the description. We do hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Great cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in superb location. Stow On The Wold a nice village and the apartment was perfect. Even had a DVD of Meet The Fockers for some late evening entertainment. Well done

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you David for your review of The Chapel. We are delighted you found the property to be perfect and in a superb location to explore Stow-on-the-Wold. We do hope that you will be back to stay again soon!

Fantastic apartment, centrally located so that you can enjoy everything that Stow has to offer

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was exactly as advertised and furnished to an extremely high standard.
Spotlessly clean, excellent beds and bedding which is always important.
Despite being right in the centre of town very quiet at night.
Parking a bit of a challenge but this is made clear so no surprises.
Really couldn’t fault anything!
My only suggestion would be regarding a welcome pack maybe? It would have been nice to have a dishcloth and maybe a few dishwasher tablets and coffee pods? A pint of milk in the fridge?
But nothing that spoilt our enjoyment and will definitely be back again. Thank you

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Grace for your lovely review on The Chapel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

The Chapel Stow on the Wold

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay at The Chapel Stow on the Wold accommodation was five star beautifully decorated had everything we needed for our stay really comfortable beds, great location will definitely be returning . Booking with StayCotswold was really easy with email updates about our stay and text messages, efficient and polite staff would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your amazing review and lovely comments Sarah! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay, and we hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold soon.

Lovely place, great location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely few days in the chapel. Very cosy, fantastic location, perfect size for two of us, it would be a squeeze for four adults however. Loved the decor, very comfortable.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of The Chapel Jane! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be comfortable, and we hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the future.

February break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break at The Chapel. Property was just as described and provided a very comfortable stay. Stow on the Wold is a lovely village with plenty of eating drinking and shopping opportunities.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of your time at The Chapel. It is great to hear your enjoyed the property along with the wonderful surroundings of Stow-on-the-Wold. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Perfect location, great customer service

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weekend stay at the Chapel. There were a few issues upon arrival that were rectified very promptly, with the property manager going above and beyond. The property is beautifully decorated and brilliantly located right in the heart of Stow. We had two wonderful nights sleep with restaurants and walks right on our doorstep.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Sarah we are really pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at The Chapel and found the location to be ideal for your Cotswold getaway. We also appreciate your understanding regarding the issue on your arrival and are pleased this could be promptly resolved. We hope you'll be back to stay again sometime.