FB Twitter

Oxbow Cottage

Oxbow Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Oxbow Cottage is the perfect bolthole for two people looking for a countryside getaway with beautiful walks through the rolling hills on your doorstep. Complete with log burning stove, beautiful views from the patio and Stow-on-the-Wold less than one mile on foot, this cottage has it all and is the ideal retreat after a day of exploring. One dog is also welcome.

Great little cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend Oxbow cottage. My husband & I visited the area for 4 nights & it was perfect. Very clean & equipped, with the Nespresso machine a lovely bonus! Check in was easy. The outside space was was secluded & perfect for a BBQ and a glass of wine. The cottage is small but the space well used & ideal for two people. The location was fantastic, in the country & quiet but only a 10 minute walk into Stow.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 35 days ago
Thank you Karen for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be very clean, well equipped and in a fantastic location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Oxbow cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very quiet peaceful situation but within easy access to shops. Although we do not own a dog obviously set up for those that do. The microwave is situated well above head height so rather dangerous to use. Personally I would have liked firmer pillows on bed

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 47 days ago
Thank you Jean for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you found the property to be in a quiet and peaceful location but within easy access to the shops. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Weekend Away

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Small but perfectly formed cottage in a great location, 10-15 min easy walk into Stow on the Wold. The cottage had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend away with our dog, the paddock outside was a great bonus for exercising him. The views from the cottage were stunning and due to its location very peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well appointed. The cottage was warm and cosy with the added warmth of the log burner. Stow has lots of lovely shops and pubs and everyone was so friendly. Would definitely recommend the cottage and the area for a nice break.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 133 days ago
Thank you Karen for your wonderful review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted to know that the cottage had everything you needed for a relaxing weekend. We hope you will return to the Cotswolds soon.

Wonderful cosy short break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at Oxbow. The cottage was very clean, the decor was very modern and contemporary. The bed was really comfortable. It is the perfect size for a couple. Our dog loved the paddock, it was such a bonus to have right outside the cottage and the views are wonderful. Just a 10 - 15 minutes walk in to Stow on the Wold.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 161 days ago
Thank you Jane for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted that you found the property to be clean, comfortable and cosy. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Idyllic

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend in Oxbow Cottage with our cocker spaniel, Winston. It was really cosy and there was ample space for our things. The paddock next to the cottage was a lovely addition for Winston to run around in.

It’s a great base for exploring the Cotswolds and there is lots of information left in the cottage on places to visit nearby, and local walks.

The cottage came with some tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper and one pint of milk, which was a great touch. There was also a dog towel - very cute!

It’s a short walk into Stow on the Wold, which is lovely. There’s a cut through, which means Winston could be off lead for some exploring! We ate at The Old Stocks Inn and The Porch House, both were delicious.

I would absolutely recommend Oxbow Cottage (and already have to friends and family!)

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 200 days ago
Thank you Natasha for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be cosy, dog friendly and in a great location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Perfectly presented and conveniently close to Stow for dining, walking & shopping.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and clean, a great place to stay for a while to recharge our batteries before the mayhem of Christmas begins. Well appointed with everything you need to relax inc. wood burner, coffee machine and sunsets. Dawn chorus, bats in the evening, 10 minute stroll to the nearest pub (the Bell) 5 more minutes and you are in Stow with more pubs, restaurants, tea shops to choose from. Conveniently placed to visit many attractions in the Cotswolds - the Animal Park just outside Burford is wonderful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 209 days ago
Thank you Peter for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted you found the property to be comfortable, clean and relaxing. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

A comfortable and well equipped accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for a stay in the Cotswolds. Clean, comfortable and well equipped.
An easy 5 minute walk into Stow and very quiet and peaceful at night.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 229 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Oxbow Cottage! We are pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the location. We hope to see you again soon!

Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend at Oxbox cottage. The cottage was well kept, super cosy and in a great location. It was the perfect little home from home. The view from the cottage was beautiful and the dog fenced field was great too.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 249 days ago
Thank you Emily for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you have a lovely long weekend stay and found the property to be well kept, cosy and in a great location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Stow surprise

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely converted barn in a quiet village with beautiful views over the rolling Cotswold hills. Great attention to detail, cosy and well equipped. Oxbow cottage is the ideal stay for two with an easy walk into Stow on the Wold, well placed to get to all the major attractions and walks straight from your door.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 248 days ago
Thank you Neil for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted you found the property to be cosy, well equipped and in a great location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Lovely cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oxbow cottage is very clean, well equipped and comfortable. It is situated in a lovely quite location but is just a 15 minute walk into Stow-on-the-wold where there are lots of shops, pubs and cafes. It is in a great location for visiting the many lovely places in the Cotswolds. We would definitely recommend this cottage and will be back again in the future.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 258 days ago
Thank you Susan for your great review of Oxbow Cottage. We are so pleased it was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. We look forward to your return!

We loved our stay. The cottage suited our requirements perfectly and was great for our dog

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely secure garden area for our dog, Fantastic views in a peaceful rural location. Ideally located for our requirements and to explore the Cotswolds. The cottage was clean, well equipped, beautifully furnished and comfortable and we would highly recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 264 days ago
Thank you for your review of Oxobow Cottage. We are so pleased that the cottage was clean, well equipped and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Amazing week

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What’s beautiful cottage in such a lovely part of the world. Cottage was very clean and cosy with everything you need. The surrounding paddocks and views of the valley are wonderful.
Literally a 10 min walk to the centre of stow which is such a nice village with plenty of pubs and restaurants.

Me, the wife and the dog will definitely be coming back

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswolds replied 277 days ago
Thank you Liam for your excellent review of Oxbow Cottage. We are pleased to know that the cottage was clean and cosy and the views of the valley are wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds soon.

An appreciation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean cosy cottage in a lovely peaceful location. View stunning. Well equipped and homely. Would definitely stay there again. Centrally situated for all the major Cotswold towns.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





A beautiful stay in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a beautiful stay at Oxbow Cottage in the lovely Cotswold village of Maugersbury. This renovated cottage provided a serene, lovely spot from which to enjoy the surrounding English countryside. Everything about the cottage was comfortable and thoughtfully designed, from the very comfortable bed to the small but ample kitchen. The cottage provided very helpful walking maps that guided us in several lovely walks right from our doorstep. In the evenings, we could easily walk to nearby Stow on the Wold for dinners and strolls around the town. We loved the experience of getting up each morning to have coffee outside on a terrace that overlooked a small pasture, with gorgeous views of the Cotswold countryside. A memorable stay in this gorgeous landscape.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 315 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a beautiful and memorable stay at Oxbow Cottage, and got to make the most of the walks right from the doorstep. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Long weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice little cottage in a great location to explore the Cotswolds. The secure drive & garden area was ideal for the dog to explore safely. However, the paddock to the left of the cottage which was exclusive to us for the stay had been left to its own devices which made it difficult to get in there with the dog & his ball amongst the stingers & long grass! This was a little disappointing as one of key reasons we booked the cottage. The cottage itself was comfy & well equipped. The bedroom was lovely ,cool & roomy. The bathroom & shower was clean & contemporary & very efficient. The only real negative was we experienced a problem with flies in the cottage whilst staying, which could have been due to to it being summer but did however seem a little over excessive ! Just not sure where they were all coming from!!!!Overall a nice stay which was ideal for a weekend getaway.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswolds replied 350 days ago
Thank you Joanne for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are pleased to read that the cottage is in a great location, the drive and garden area is secure for dogs to explore and its an ideal location for a weekend getaway. We will pass on your positive feedback to the owner of the property. We will ask the property manager to cut the long grass and stinging nettles in the paddock for future guests to enjoy. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with flies during your stay, however they are seasonal and unfortunately when the weather is humid they tend to appear. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds soon.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2023
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a very pleasant stay.The cottage was ideal for a couple and the proximity to Stow was very convenient being just a short walk away.

The surrounding scenery was lovely and we were fortunate to have lovely weather.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Brian for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted you found the property to be ideal for a couple and to be a short walk away from Stow-on-the-Wold. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Top spot

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cute little place with stunning views over the fields,
Very well equipped, 7 straight days of sunshine also helped!
Would love to come back to this cottage.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Oxbow Cottage! We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the beautiful location in the sunshine. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Excellent Location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent location as it is within easy walking distance of Stow on the Wold but in a peaceful setting. Small and compact but has everything you need.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review of Oxbow Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the peaceful setting. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold in the future!

Oxbow review

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was in a lovely location looks stunning from outside, sofa was not comfortable and the throw covering the sofa was full of dog hairs cutlery was dirty. Would be good to have spare battery's as we were struggling to use TV remote. Bathroom needs some work on it.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Stephen for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted you found the cottage to be in a lovey location. We are disappointed to learn that you did not contact the property owner during your stay to raise any of the concerns mentioned in your review. As part of the booking conditions we do ask that guests report any issues during their stay in order to try and give the owner or their property manager a fair opportunity to rectify any issues. A contact telephone number and email address are provided in the welcome email in case of such an event. We have now sent your feedback on to the owner for them to review and implement any appropriate actions for the benefit of future guests.

Small but perfectly formed

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Oxbow Cottage is small but perfectly formed - it's not big, but it has everything you need in a beautiful location so you can go walking from the door, or walk into Stow to eat. it was comfortable, warm and very clean, and the design was well thought out, with good light, a cosy log burner and a great view while eating breakfast. My only slight complaint was that the induction hob was quite complicated to use by comparison with others, even with the instructions - but we had a lovely stay here.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Elizabeth for your review of Oxbow Cottage. We are delighted that you found the cottage to be well equipped, clean and in a great location to walk to Stow-on-the-Wold. We do hope that you will be back to stay again soon!

Great stay but in need of a clean

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at Oxbow Cottage. It was exactly what we were looking for. Check in logistics were simple and easy to follow. Upon arrival and getting unpacked we noticed the level of cleanliness was not up to standard. We had to clean the table, kitchen counters and all the cutlery and crockery before we used it. Looking closer even the dining chairs were very grubby, heaters dusty and the tv and some decorations in need of a deep clean. We would stay again and hope the cleaning shortfall is addressed.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, Stephen. We’re pleased that overall, you enjoyed staying at Oxbow Cottage and that you would like to stay again sometime. Following the recent report of some cobwebs, the owner has already picked up the cleanliness points with the housekeeping team and has arranged for a deep clean of the property and will continue to closely monitor things. We’re sorry that not everything was as expected on this occasion but do hope that you will consider staying again sometime soon

Cute cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this cottage, great location and ideal with a dog who loved to run free
However the paddock stated being able to use was incorrect. This area is so overgrown and really does spoil it. Was incredibly disappointing having views almost taller than you are!
Cottage itself had everything you could wish for, clean and tidy.
Only downside was it was full of cobwebs! Clearly needs a good clean.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review, Annette, also for your feedback which we have shared with the owner and housekeeper. The paddock below the cottage was due to be mowed and has been now. But the paddock above the cottage has access and was free to use throughout your stay. Overall, we're pleased you enjoyed the cottage and location, and found everything you needed for your stay. We hope to welcome you back again sometime.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful little cottage suitable for 2 people, excellent location just outside Stow. This was our second stay, perfect if you have a fury friend there are lots of lovely walks. The cottage is very warm, cosy also lovely touches were provided for our arrival. Great food at the Sheep on Sheep St.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Oxbow Cottage. Great to welcome you back to the property and the Cotswolds. We hope see you again soon!