FB Twitter

Gassons View

Gassons View

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
82% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.9
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.5


A characterful and charming Cotswold cottage in the sought after village of Filkins, this cottage is within walking distance of the Five Alls Pub offering their own house ale. For those of you who want to enjoy a swim, the village has its very own outdoor pool open during the Summer months. This is a fabulous house to share with family and friends.

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We brought in the new year in this sweet cottage. Great kitchen, well equipped. Some rooms a bit low for a tall son. We situated for visiting the area.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 134 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review Carolyn. We're pleased you enjoyed your New Year's stay at Gassons View and found the location to be ideal for exploring the area. We hope to see you again sometime!

Gasson's View: The Inside Story

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Dec 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gasson's View is a charming old cottage with a nice light kitchen extension in the pretty village of Filkins in the Cotswolds. It was a lovely place to spend a family Christmas with four adults, two children and a dog. The area has lots of good walks, excellent local pubs with delicious food and a useful village shop just around the corner. Unfortunately, the condition of the cottage isn't quite as good as it should be. Whilst the kitchen had plenty of cooking utensils for Christmas lunch, the largest of the electric cooker rings wasn't working and we were only provided with two refuse bags for all our rubbish/recycling which proved a challenge. The downstairs shower room/toilet seems quite new but the upstairs bathroom is shabby and in need of renovation (the cold water tap for the bath hardly works, and the lighting is very poor). In addition, more attention needs to paid to housekeeping - there were several lightbulbs not working which made a difference in the short dark days of winter. We did have a Christmas tree in the living room which was a nice touch but can we suggest perhaps a welcome pack of tea, bread, biscuits etc. and some little bottles of bath toiletries.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 123 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, Diane. We’re pleased that overall, your family enjoyed staying at Gassons View over the Christmas period and found the location to be excellent. We also appreciate your constructive points which we have shared with the Owner and Property Manager. The largest cooker ring seems to be working fine, however the Property Manager will continue to monitor this closely and will attend to the cold water tap for the bath. An initial supply of tea, coffee and sugar is provided and there are spare bin bags located under the sink, should these be needed. A partial refurbishment has only recently been completed and the Owner does have further plans for some additional works in the coming months. We hope that you will be back to visit the Cotswolds sometime soon!

Lovely quaint cottage. Comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable quaint cottage. Well equipped. Great location. Stairs very steep. Shame there was only a few bits of fire wood provided and there were a great deal of fly’s both dead and alive in the attic bedroom. However we enjoyed our stay and made the most of the lovely local pub.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 193 days ago
Thank you for the great feedback, Mandy. We’re pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the location to be ideal – The local pub, The Five Alls is superb too! Part of the charm of Gassons View, being a characterful period property, includes the low ceilings, exposed beams and steep spiral staircases, although we appreciate this won’t be suitable for all guests so highlight these features in the description. A starter supply of wood is provided for the open fire, although please note that we would not expect the quantity to last for the full duration of a stay, additional logs can be purchased locally. At this time of year, we do see sometimes see some cluster flies around the Cotswolds due to the change in weather but thankfully this lasts only a short while before they quickly disappear again. We’re pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you again sometime!

Could have been perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bedrooms were excellent, although the bed in the smaller double room was slightly too small.
The stairs are a challenge for both old and young folks, so need some care when using.
The only shower is located within the kitchen, which meant a daily queue and lacked a little privacy.
The garden was in a poor state and the path to the larger part of the garden not particularly child or pet friendly, with overhanging branches and too easy access to the neighbour's garden. Both garden spaces could use some TLC.
The location and village is wonderful, with a friendly & convenient local shop and a local pub where food was exceptional.

Could have been perfect.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
No



StayCotswold replied 272 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback Gwen and, as a consequence, we have revised our listing to make it clear that the designated outdoor space associated with the property is the courtyard and all other space beyond that is a wild, additional area should guests choose to utilise it. The spiral staircase is integral to the property and we would suggest those who find this type of staircase on the trickier side opt for one of our other fantastic properties. The bed mentioned is listed as a 4' large single this means, if a party of 6 is using the property, this bed will be fabulously cozy! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and do book again soon.

A lovely cottage in a beautiful village

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful pre-Christmas weekend with our children and grandchildren in this very comfortable and atmospheric cottage. It was very well-equipped with a wonderfully practical kitchen which enabled us to cook a celebratory meal for us all and very comfortable lounge where we were able to enjoy an evening of charades in front of a roaring fire! We explored the quintessentially Cotswold village of Filkins and ended our weekend with a wonderful lunch at the Five Alls pub which has a well-deserved great reputation and was only 5 minutes walk from the cottage. The booking procedure was very straightforward and the staff and guest information was everything we would have hoped for.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Alice, Thank you for your feedback for your stay at Gassons View. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards StayCotswold

Highly recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place. Exactly what we wanted for a quite weekend. Would recommend the Fives alls inn in the village.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





An unexpectedly short break in the Cotswolds.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was booked for a week to act as a base for my son's wedding at Filkins but also for my wife to enjoy a few days on our own; we know the Cotswolds reasonably well but not this particular area around Lechlade. The number of bedrooms allowed family members to stay with us. However due to unforeseen circumstances we had to curtail our stay to just 3 days. However, the cottage was superb and was just what we wanted for our family base. Spotlessly clean with excellent facilities, the kitchen had everything that you could have wanted. It opened out into a conservatory/dining area ideal for family breakfasts whilst the dining room was ideal for a meal, cooked in the impressive surroundings of the kitchen. The bedrooms were of ample size although we only used one, and an upstairs bathroom was supplemented by a lovely downstairs shower room. The heating was excellent and there was ample hot water. The most impressive thing though (apart from its proximity to the excellent Five Alls pub) was its 'homeliness'. It was a pleasure to come back after a day out and be able to relax in a warm, welcoming living room with an abundance of comfy sofas and armchairs (before heading to The Five Alls!!). It is with regret that we had to abandon our stay and we fully understand why it was not possible to reimburse us any of the fee, although we are grateful to StayCotswold for offering us a 10% discount on a future booking though them.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Paul, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay given the unfortunate circumstances. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds. Kind regards StayCotswold

Glasson View

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was very quaint but access was quite difficult for older guests due to the very narrow , steep staircases.
The kitchen area was very nicely fitted out and the garden space was great - we felt the bedrooms and upstairs bathroom could benefit from some modernisation though. The area was lovely and local pub very welcoming.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Gassons View is, as you say, a quaint cottage and sadly we are unable to alter any of the period features - low ceilings, exposed beams and the steep staircase, but we do note these on our website. We will pass on your comments about the bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. We are glad you enjoyed the local pub, just a stroll down the road.

A lovely house in a great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0


We enjoyed our week at Gasson’s View. The accommodation was roomy and the beds very comfortable. The house is well equipped and clean. The courtyard seating area is very pleasant and the garden is beautifully shaded, so ideal for the children. The village is well situated for visits to various Cotswold attractions. When the toaster broke, it was replaced very speedily and the staff at Staycotswold were very helpful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Filkins

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It certainly was well placed for where we wanted. It was fine for what we needed the cottage for. I didn’t find it particularly comfortable.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Bank Holiday family break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fantastic stay at Gassons View. Beautiful cottage in a lovely village and great location to see all of the surrounding Cotswolds. Would definitely recommend! Thanks to all the team at Stay Cotswolds for making it such a great break!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes