FB Twitter

The Reading Room

The Reading Room

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Reading Room is a charming Cotswold stone cottage located in Fulbrook, a small village on the outskirts of more famously known Burford, just a 10 minute walk away. The cottage has a bright living room where a cosy wood burning stove awaits you and window seats which overlook the pretty garden, ideally suited for a romantic retreat.

Observations

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect, but we found the hot water was extremely hot verging on boiling. The bath taps were very stiff.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 7 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found The Reading Room perfect for your stay and hope you will come back to visit soon.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garden Room is tastefully furnished to a high standard throughout.
The owners have provided everything that you might need during the stay.
We have had a wonderful break, the surrounding area is full of beautiful scenery and packed with things to do.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 13 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of The Reading Room. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful break and got to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and attractions that the Cotswolds has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Home away from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage with everything you need and wonderfully decorated! Everything is of highest quality and the owners are very nice and helpful people. Burford is a short walk and the location is perfect for visiting lots of nice towns in the area.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Review of the reading room

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was excellent in every respect except it was difficult to find. We recommend that the owners put a bigger sign at the roadside which I think would solve the problem. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 56 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about signage. We look forward to welcoming you to the Cotswolds again soon!

A beautiful cottage, ideal as a base to explore the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a stay at The Reading Room and couldn’t have been happier with our choice. We received a warm welcome on arrival and the cottage was beautifully presented with everything you could need for a short break away. It was spotlessly clean and had some very thoughtful touches too. Ideally located to explore Burford and surrounding villages, it was within easy reach of the best visitor attractions in the Cotswolds too. The cottage was calm, quiet and peaceful and the perfect place to unwind. Thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 89 days ago
Thank you Victoria for such a lovely review. We are thrilled you had such a great stay at The Reading Room and look forward to welcoming you back.

Lovely property in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we found the Reading room an excellent place to stay. Its location allowed us to get to several places of interest in the area - the villages, Blenheim Palace and Diddly Squat (which lives up to its name by the way!)

The Property itself is furnished beautifully and very clean. The kitchen is well equipped and the bed comfortable. Off road private parking is right by the property and the friendly owners live opposite.

Booking through Stay Cotswold was straightforward. We would stay here again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 114 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review of The Reading Room Mark, we can agree that it is a beautiful property, and we are glad you got to explore all of the lovely surroundings. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Enjoyable stay at the Reading Room

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Reading room an excellent place to stay. Its location allowed us to get to several places of interest in the area - Boughton on the water, Broadway, Daylesford Organic, Chipping Norton and we had a day in Oxford. Its within walking distance of Burford village and there are many lovely places to eat nearby. There are several walks from the property itself (e.g to Swinbrook). 

The Property itself was furnished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. The kitchen has modern appliances, it's warm (especially with the log burner going) and the bed comfortable. Off road private parking is right by the property and the friendly owners live opposite.

We hope to stay here again. Booking through Stay Cotswold was straightforward with good email communications on arrival and departure arrangements.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 154 days ago
Thank you for your super review Mark. Both us and the owners would love to welcome you back and are so thrilled you enjoyed the property and surrounding areas.

Wonderful break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, with outstanding decor and everything you’d need had been catered for.

We stayed here with our one year old and it was the perfect break away from home.

Considering re-booking for my mum’s birthday treat!

Also amazing location, a short walk from Burford high street & everyone we came across was simply lovely.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 208 days ago
Niaomi we are really pleased you had a wonderful break at The Reading Room, thank you for such a lovely review, it really is in a great location. Hopefully we will see you for your Mums birthday treat!

Great Cottage Near Burford

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Reading Room cottage was lovely! Very clean and modern with that beautiful Cotswold stone and a spacious garden. It feels like a steal for the price. A relatively well-lit sidewalk takes you a short 10 minute walk to Burford, which is incredibly charming (and not touristy at all in October!). And a delicious pub - the Carpenters Arms - is just steps away. It was a fantastic base to explore the Cotswold countryside!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 254 days ago
Thank you for the 5* review, Ashley. We hope to see you again soon!

The wow factor

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning cottage in an equally stunning location. Beautifully decorated to a very high standard. Absolutely pristine. Very high standard of cleanliness. Lovely garden.Very well equipped.
Friendly owners and neighbours and a very warm welcome. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 335 days ago
Many thanks for the wonderful review Maureen! We hope to see you again soon!

Fabulous find

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Reading Room is even nicer than the photos online. It was very clean and there was literally nothing they didn't supply going over and above your usual self catering stays. We were so impressed with everything! The little garden was lovely and private. It was next to a road but was very quiet during night time so was never an issue. It is close to the high street so you are never far away from pubs, cafes, etc.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Spring stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The reading room was exactly what is say on the box. House was beautiful, had everything you need, beds really comfy and the garden is a sun trap. Short walk into Burford.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Wonderful relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything we needed for a long weekend break. We stayed in a couple of evenings and cooked dinner and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and the open plan downstairs was really nice and well thought out. Burford is only a 10 minute walk and a great place to grab a coffee. We would recommend a trip to the Carpenters Arms, which is a 3 minute walk away, for dinner or drinks in the pub garden - the food and service was excellent.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage within a short walking distance of beautiful Burford. Cottage had everything we needed and hosts were friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes