FB Twitter

The Old Candle Shop

The Old Candle Shop

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


The Old Candle Shop is a luxurious and stylish holiday cottage which has been lovingly restored from a former candle making workshop. The property benefits from a wood burning stove and Jacuzzi hot tub and has a prime location in Moreton-in-Marsh which has a direct train from London and several pubs and shops a stone’s throw away so a car isn’t essential.

Week away

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Nov 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old candle shop was well presented and well located it is finished to a high standard and a big bonus was the off road parking the hot tub was a great addition and a nice out side area as we had a dog with us and fully secure for the him
The property is just off the high street that has pubs restaurants and shops so very handy
The only thing I would recommend is replacement of sofas as the sofa bed is very uncomfortable and small chesterfield is very low the arm chair is very comfortable I had to clean out log burner as it had been used and some cutlery and cooking utensils were not clean in the drawers however all in all really enjoyed our stay and great location and good walks with the dog over the fields

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 6 days ago
Thank you Roger for your review of The Old Candle Shop. We are delighted you found the property to be well presented and well located. We are sorry to hear that you found the sofas to be uncomfortable and that you had to empty the log burner before use. We will ask the housekeeping team to check the dishwasher to make sure it is working as it should be and we will pass on your feedback to the property owner and manager for them to review and implement any appropriate actions for the benefit of future guests. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Wonderful holiday retreat in a lovely village location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Old Candle Shop in Moreton. The property is in a perfect location two minutes walk from the High Street with parking which is a huge bonus . It has been built to a high standard and offers very comfortable accommodation with lots of nice touches and more importantly is very clean. The owners have thought of everything to ensure guests have a perfect stay. We loved coming back after a day out to unwind in the hot tub. The kitchen is well stocked with crockery and utensils . We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Old Candle Shop and will certainly return next time we visit the Cotswolds . The whole process from booking the accommodation to checking in and out was simple and we had regular updates from StayCotswold who were very efficient.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Stay Cotswold replied 74 days ago
Thank you Lynda for your fabulous review of The Old Candle Shop. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and found the property to be in the perfect location, well equipped and very clean. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful bit of luxury with plenty of space to relax and unwind, everything there to make it a hone from home with a thoughtfully chilled bottle of prosecco on arrival. Brilliantly situated if you wanted to ditch the car for a week as so many eateries and shops and walks on the doorstep. Finish the day in the hot tub to totally de stress

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 125 days ago
Thank you for the really lovely review. We are delighted that you were able to relax at The Old Candle Shop and enjoyed your stay in Moreton in Marsh.

Nice house, but smaller than I expected, with very little airflow / ventilation in the summer

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is lovely but more of a winter retreat that one for the summer. The rooms get very hot (granted we were in the middle of a heatwave), and there is only one small fan provided in the flat. There are no windows on the back of the sitting room area, so there is no venilation at all flowing thorugh the house on a hot day.

The entire house is smaller than it appears in the photos. The living room is a decent size, with a nice open plan kitchen. There are two small bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms upstairs, where you have to duck your head if you're tall. The outdoor space is also not very big, and shares the space with your car if you're using it to park as well. The jacuzzi is a lovely feature which we used on most evenings.

We had to ask for extra towels and a fresh change of sheets in the middle of the one week stay, as they weren't provided on entry.

Lastly, the kitchenware is mostly / all Ikea stuff that is on the lower end of their range -- not really on par with the premium price paid for the stay.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 95 days ago
Motez, thank you for sharing your feedback. The owners have purchased another fan for the bedrooms, there were originally two, but one seems to have been misplaced, also a taller fan for the downstairs area in case this is needed Typically, the property remains at a comfortable temperature, however I am aware that your booking fell at the time of an extreme heatwave in the UK. Guests are able to get a good feel for the size of the accommodation from the photos, 3D tour and also the floorplan provided online. Typically, a mid-stay clean and linen refresh is only provided for stays of 9 nights or more. It is however possible to arrange additional linen and towels if requested prior to arrival. Please note that this may be at an extra cost. We’ve not received any other feedback about the kitchenware, other than a suggestion of larger mugs which the owners have ordered. Overall, we do hope that you had an enjoyable stay at The Old Candle Shop.

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Candle shop was a lovely place to stay. It is beautifully presented and well equipped. Although in the heart of Moreton in Marsh it is surprisingly private. The hot tub was the icing on the cake! Would love to stay again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 138 days ago
We are delighted that you would like to stay again. Thank you for your lovely review of The Old Candle Shop.

Mixed feelings

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived to not being able to open the garage door. We had to have the maintenance man come out. It took about two hours for him to arrive but fortunately we were not going out. He did indicate that this was not an uncommon problem.
We had to pick broken glass out of the patio.
The barbecue was disgusting and clearly not cleaned after a number of uses. The hot tub had scum all round the sides. There was food in the freezer which hadn’t been emptied out for previous occupants.
The house had everything you needed and decorated and kitted out to a very good standard apart from the sofa bed which seemed to be broken.
I had a very bad slip coming out of the hot tub as there was no rail. I smashed my head and hand which we reported to Stay Cotswolds and the owners never even asked if I was ok but when we accidentally brought home a cake slice they were very quick to ask for that to be returned which we did by signed for post.
The property is right on the road so be aware you can literally hear people’s conversations word for word as they pass but whether you are in the courtyard or in bed.
Not sure if we would recommend to anyone but unfortunately there is no “ not sure” opinion.




StayCotswold replied 146 days ago
We are sorry to hear that not everything was as expected for your stay at The Old Candle Shop and that you needed to call upon the maintenance man. The garage door is operated by a key fob and as outlined in the welcome letter, if a guest pulls the cord (rather than using the fob) this will override the automatic function which then needs to be reset by the owner or property manager. Thank you for sharing your feedback about the hot tub, patio and freezer, we have informed the property manager and housekeeper so that they can ensure these areas are not an issue again in future. For anything like this, we would always encourage guests to contact the property manager at the time of a stay as they are on hand to help resolve any issue in the hope that guests will have the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. Guests are responsible for cleaning the BBQ after each use, I’m sorry that this had been missed and for the inconvenience caused. We very much hope that you have now fully recovered from your slip and am sorry that the enjoyment of your stay has been somewhat spoilt by this experience and the problems you have shared. The Old Candle Shop is a beautiful property and as testimony to the many great reviews, guests typically have a wonderful stay here.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning house ! Stunning location ! Very close to the town and close for field walks for the dogs ! The house was amazing very clean and well presented and the secure carport for the car was a bonus as was the hottub for a soak at night !!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 155 days ago
Thank you Steve for your fantastic review of The Old Candle Shop. We are glad you enjoyed your say and hope we can welcome you back some time soon.

Central bijou and stylish

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant central location!! We used it as a base for walking the monarchs way and used the local bus services to Chipping Camden, Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the water to do this in stages. It worked really well! The Manor house Hotel, Raj Mahal and the Moreton Beer cellar are worth a visit and fresh croissant and sourdough from Otis and Belle in the mornings made it all feel very continental. We didn’t use the hot tub but really appreciated the large table for suppers outside. The living space is excellent, the bedrooms were incredibly warm at night. We would’ve liked some larger mugs for tea and coffee and the saucepans were all a little too small!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 160 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review of The Old Candle Shop. We are please you found the property so well located for visiting other towns and villages in the area and hope you can come back and visit again.

A great find

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have visited the beautiful Cotswold. The Old Candle Shop in Moreton-in-Marsh has a real wow factor. Tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Well equipped modern kitchen, 2 fridges and a wine cooler. Large lounge, dining area, utility room, downstairs cloakroom, 2 double bedrooms both with its own bathrooms. The courtyard for alfresco dining and a hot tub a real bonus. Situated in a lane, a few steps from the convenience of being in the pretty thriving town of Morton-in-Marsh where there are lovely tea rooms, coffee shops, pubs, supermarkets and independent shops etc. plus a weekly market and walkable swing park for the children.
Morton-in-Marsh is ideally situated for visiting other beautiful places in the Cotswold. A Great Find.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



Birthday Celebrations in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage, warm, comfortable and relaxing. Enjoyed our 3 nights stay, with long walks, eating and drinking in the local pubs and soaking in the hot tub! it didn’t disappoint !
You have a Very comfortable cottage. The standard of everything is excellent and layout fab ! We had excellent nights sleeps in super comfy beds.

Will highly recommend to friends and hope to be back.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 195 days ago
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear that you loved The Old Candle Shop, it is an excellently presented property, and that you also enjoyed the local amenities and landscape. We hope you can come and visit again soon.

Beautiful holiday let

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful holiday let in central location. The old candle shop is beautiful inside and out. The owners really have thought about everything! Will definitely be returning!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 203 days ago
Thank you from StayCotswold and the owners for your wonderful review! Really pleased to hear you loved your time at The Old Candle Shop and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Truly fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at The Old Candle Shop. Location of the property was great and it was equipped with everything (and more) than you could possibly ever need. The accommodation and court yard was immaculately clean! The perfect mini break for our young family.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 237 days ago
Thank you Paul for such a great review. We are delighted you had a fantastic stay and hope to see you again soon.

30th Birthday

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Took my partner away for his 30th birthday to the Cotswolds. Absolutely amazing stay here at The Old Candle Shop. Perfect location, no stone was left unturned, every minute detail was given attention. Some real thought has gone into this beautiful place. Thank you again for the amazing trip and we hope to be back in the future

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 278 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review of The Old Candle Shop Georgina, we can agree that it is a beautiful place to stay. We hope to welcome you and your partner back to the Cotswolds soon!

Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a weekend away. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed. The location was ideal - very close to restaurants and shops and yet, very near to open countryside for lengthy walks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 292 days ago
Thank you for your super review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property so much, along with the surrounding Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you and your guests back soon!

Beautifully designed Cotswold Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location. Tastefully designed. Beautiful place to stay, with everything thought of. Thoroughly recommend!
Thank you!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had a lovely stay at The Old Candle Shop Laura. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

A little Gem

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real gem in the heart of Moreton in Marsh. Cosy,clean,and stunning. With a hot tub what a bonus. M

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review Leonard. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Take a good look at this place….

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Myself and my wife stayed here with our elderly dog in October 2021.
This is a brilliant property, superbly converted to a high standard and in a location which is fantastic for all the local high street, shops and social scene.
We used the hot tub a few times which was fun and it was great to have an enclosed secure space for both the car and the dog.
Our only suggestion for improvement is to divide the very large “lounge” into two separate spaces, a TV “snug” and a social area for friends/drinks. Not a big deal but the area isn’t very cosy currently.
Overall, we loved it and will return one day to further explore the Cotswolds.
Highly recommended. DC

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation Duncan, also for your suggestion! We very much hope to see you again sometime soon!

Beautiful property

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location just off high Street. House is gorgeous - newly renovated and beautiful decor. Comfortable beds. Would definitely return.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the fantastic review Denise. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Extremely smart holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There has been substantial investment here to make a lovely holiday home. 5* cleanliness and comfortable beds. The seating in the lounge is not very comfortable and lack of a wardrobe for those sleeping on the bed settee is a must. An additional tv in one of the bedrooms would be a bonus. Would we book again- definitely.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review Victor, it's great to hear you had a wonderful stay and would book The Old Candle Shop again! The property is set up to comfortably accommodate 4 guests with an additional sleeping option of a +2 should guests wish to use this. We do however appreciate your feedback and will share this with the owners. We hope to see you again sometime soon!