FB Twitter

The Hayloft

The Hayloft

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


Nestled in the charming village of Cold Aston, near Bourton-on-the-Water, The Hayloft is a cosy, well equipped one bedroom apartment located in the eaves of a lovingly converted barn. This apartment is bursting with character with original beams running throughout, offering the perfect romantic retreat and prime location to visit nearby Cotswold towns and villages.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week in the Hayloft, it is a great location for visiting everywhere. Lovely comfy bed and nice to come home to a bath. Everything you need is included.
Would stay again

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 5 days ago
Thank you Sandra for your review of The Hayloft. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be well equipped with comfy beds. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Comfortable and well-located

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable stay in a lovely location, within easy reach of beautiful Cotswold hotspots. Pint of milk in the fridge was a welcome gesture although a freezer compartment in the fridge would have been perfection. Bath robes provided was a nice touch- could have done with a hook on the bedroom door to hang them on. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 10 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Very enjoyable break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Hayloft was very clean, comfortable and in a very good location for exploring around the Cotswolds.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 20 days ago
Thank you Della for your review of The Hayloft. We are delighted that it was clean, comfortable and you enjoyed the location. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Lovely stay, great place

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the Hayloft, it was a nice place for us to stay for 4 nights. It had everything we needed. Kitchen was wel equipped. WiFi was strong enough to make video calls without any problems. Location in the Cotswolds is quite central. Would recommend this place!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 25 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Hayloft and explored the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Lovely location, very quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice stay at The Hayloft, although the property is somewhat isolated. Approx 2 miles from Bourton-on-the-Water. A car is needed.
Situated in a lovely private property. Quality furnishings, well equipped.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 66 days ago
Thank you Jill for your review of The Hayloft. We are so pleased that you had a nice stay and it was well equipped. We hope you will return to the Cotswolds.

Beautiful, Spacious, Great Location, Excellent Customer Service!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at the wonderful Hayloft as we toured the Cotswolds. The location in the village of Cold Aston was a wonderful central point, being approximately 30 minutes from all of the villages. If you'd like see all the Cotswolds have to offer, I suggest renting a car, as we did. The Hayloft is beautiful, well equipped with all needed amenities including washing detergent, luxurious bath towels, bath robes, spacious living area, and a very comfortable bed. As noted in the description, if you are 6' or taller, the bedroom may be a bit of a struggle as the gable ceiling on either side of the bed may be an interference. There is a great pub/restaurant directly across the street with wonderful food and a great selection of spirits and beer. I highly recommend the Hayloft!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 102 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you and your husband had a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

A stay in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hayloft. The property was well presented, beautiful location, just two miles from Bourton on the Water and included some household essentials too. There was plenty of room in the property for two, just watch out for some of the low beams! If I were to be visiting the Cotswolds again I would look to rent this place again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 123 days ago
Thank you Yvonne for your review. We are delighted you found the property to be well presented and in a beautiful location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Lovely loft conversion suitable for a couple

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My girlfriend and I had a lovely short stay at the Hayloft over the weekend, and would definitely book again!

The property itself is perfect for a couple and the interior design is exactly what we were looking for, with the exposed timber, a mixture of wood and carpeted flooring, and white finish on the walls for a bright atmosphere.

Amenities included a fantastic, comfy bed for 2 in a room with enough storage space and the perfect amount of lighting from a skylight. The property came equipped with a full, modern kitchen that is small, but sizeable enough considering how cozy the property is. The living room is very spacious and again has great natural lighting, with a modern finish and more than enough space to eat meals and relax. A highlight was the bathroom which included a decently sized bathtub, which we were grateful for given the size of the property and enjoyed very much.

The condition of the property was very good and we had no issues with any of the appliances. My only comment would be on the heating, which was not totally controllable by us but was on a timer in the morning and evening. Completely understandable, and totally fine in the evening, but it did make the mornings a bit chilly. This may not be a problem for you though if you just plan to stay in bed until things warm up!

The location of the property in was great, right in the heart of Cold Aston sitting opposite the Plough Inn, which we visited twice during our stay and would definitely recommend. The village is only a short drive to Bourton-on-the-Water, which we explored on the Saturday and had a truly lovely time at. It is also a stones throw from a few other villages which we didn't visit but would love to on a return stay. The only comments I'd make on the location are - the lack of any obvious options for public transport, so make sure to plan how you'll travel or be up for a walk if you don't have a car! Additionally, the full address given to us doesn't point at the right property on Google Maps - so don't get confused like we did, and use the alternative suggested option of using What3Words instead, which does work!

Once again, we'd definitely consider booking again and would absolutely recommend. Thanks so much!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 129 days ago
Thank you Sam for your wonderful review on The Hayloft. We are delighted you and your partner had a lovely stay and got to explore the local area. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and quiet accommodation in a great Cotswolds location. Suited our requirements perfectly.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 139 days ago
Thank you Colin for your wonderful review of The Hayloft. We are so pleased it suited you perfectly and you were comfortable during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Gîte au calme dans un cottage de charme

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Le logement est une dépendance d’un cottage très coquet, le tout dans un petit village hors des grands axes.
Nous avons fait quelques marches dans la campagne des Cotswolds et pour aller à upper slaughter, lower slaughter et bourton on the water.
Les propriétaires sont charmants et discrets.
Petit point concernant la chambre: l’inclinaison de la toiture oblige à se baisser un peu pour s’installer dans le lit - au demeurant très confortable - mais il n’y a pas de volets; le soleil se levant à 5h30, nous avons opté pour des masques de nuit.
En résumé, nous sommes très satisfait de notre séjour.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 160 days ago
Thank you Thierry for your review of The Hayloft. We are delighted you found the cottage to be pretty and had the opportunity to explore the local area. We hope you will return soon.

Perfectly situated

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my second visit to the Hayloft, it is set in a perfect location for touring the Cotswolds. We returned for a second visit as there is so much to see and do in the area. We chose to stay at the same accommodation as it completely suited our needs. The apartment itself is extremely well equipped with everything you could need for your stay, it provides secure off street parking which is a must for us. We can highly recommend this property for visiting the area.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 187 days ago
Thank you Karen for your review of The Hayloft. We are delighted that the property suits your needs and is well equipped. We hope to welcome you back.

Excellent but.....

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved The Hayloft and its location, with excellent provision in the flat, very nicely presented, but, sadly for us, we would not return because for so many purposes we had to bend, sometimes double, to cope with the beams in the bedroom. At almost 80, that is too much for me.o

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 202 days ago
Thank you David for your review of The Hayloft. We are so glad you found the property to be in a great location and nicely presented. We are sorry to hear that you would not return due to the beams, please note this is mentioned on the website page. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds soon.

Hayloft in February

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Hayloft in the middle of February. Warm, cosy and had all the amenities you need for a stay away from home. Lots of character too with the wooden beams and attic window in the bedroom. Lots of welcome information provided so its clear where to find everything and understand how heating etc works.

Very well located in the village, next to the pub and not far at all from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold. I can imagine in high season that it is a much more peaceful place to stay than some of the main Cotswolds towns and villages.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 213 days ago
We are delighted you had a lovely stay at The Hayloft Ashley, thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Great weekend trip for 2

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was great for a weekend stay - clean and the kitchen was well equipped if you wanted to cook. It's well located for visiting areas like Bourton on the Water, as well as Kingham. Can't fault it!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 276 days ago
Thank you for a lovely review Pippa, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon!

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the cottage. It was very cosy and I felt we had everything we needed. The kitchen has everything that you could ever need to cook some breakfasts/meals and the bed was really comfortable. The location was ideal, there is a pub just opposite that prepares amazing food and it was only a 5 min drive to Bourton-on-the-water and we felt we could drive around the Cotswolds visiting lots of villages without having to drive long distances.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 328 days ago
Thank you Penelope for your review of The Hayloft. We are delighted you found the property to be cosy, well equipped and in an ideal location. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Excellent Base

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really lovely peaceful property. It is situated in an ideal area for exploring, a car is definitely needed.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 363 days ago
Thank you Karen for your lovely review of The Hayloft. We are delighted you found the property to be lovely, peaceful and in an ideal location to explore. We do hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Fantastic location in the middle of the Cotswold

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here for one week and we really enjoy everything: fantastic countryside, professional and nice hosts, strategic position to explore the beauty of the Cotswold.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your week and found The Hayloft to be in great position for exploring the Cotswolds.

Perfect location for a long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely place to stay, quiet, wonderful setting, no issues at all.
We stayed for 3 nights, me & my wife plus our baby boy. Travel cot provided, but we did bring our own. This fitted nicely next to the bed in the eaves. I'm 6'4 and take care everywhere I go. There was plenty of head room throughout for me. Kitchen fully stocked for most things, village location very nice. Would recommend.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recommendation of The Hayloft. We are really pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and hope you will come and visit us again.

Idyllic Cottage In A Great Location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft is a beautiful, well equipped and cosy character cottage situated in the lovely grounds of the owners and is opposite the Plough Inn in Cold Aston, which is itself a very small and very quiet rural hamlet in the Cotswolds.
Cold Aston is perfectly situated for exploring all parts of the Cotswolds and combined with The Hayloft makes for a totally relaxing and peaceful place to stay, especially if you're looking to escape the crowds, enjoy the countryside and recharge your batteries.
The Hayloft comes with all the creature comforts and equipment that you will need for a really comfortable stay however the only slight negative is that you need to be aware of the low beams in the bedroom (especially when it's dark) as these cannot be avoided however they certainly add to The Hayloft's character!!
As this was our first Cotswold's holiday, we have no hesitation in recommending both The Hayloft and Stay Cotwolds to all of our family and friends and we would certainly come back again.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recommendation. The Hayloft is a beautiful, comfortable apartment and perfectly located for visiting the Cotswolds. We are really pleased to hear that you would like to come back again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds

Fantastic Village and Peaceful Experience

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cold Aston is situated perfectly to get you to other places throughout the Cotswolds. The check-in process was easy, and the loft is clean. We had an amazing time, and I highly recommend visiting!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased to hear you had an amazing time whilst staying at one of our Cotswold based hideaways and found the check in process easy. We hope to welcome you back to explore more of the surroundings soon!

The Hayloft

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent base for exploring the northern part of the Cotswolds.Cottage was everything I could have asked for,well equipped,off street parking,stunning location with beautiful gardens surrounding the property.A perfect place to stay.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review Jane. The Hayloft really is an excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds, and we are thrilled that it was everything you could of asked for! We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold in the future.

An excellent stay in The Hayloft

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Hayloft, as soon as we approached the property we knew we would like the place. The grounds and surroundings were beautiful and immaculately kept. The Hayloft was beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and provided everything we could possibly need. The kitchen is very well equipped and the lounge was spacious and comfortable. The fixtures and fitting were of a high standard throughout and the bed linen and bed was very comfortable. The Hayloft is situated in a gorgeous location with easy access to the beautiful Cotswolds towns and villages. The Plough Inn just opposite is a gorgeous place to eat and the staff and service was excellent.

We will definitely recommend to family and friends and hope to visit again sometime.
Karen and Allan Fisher

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Karen, thank you for such a lovely review, we are delighted you had such a wonderful stay and loved The Hayloft. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Hayloft - first class accomodation

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Cotswolds whilst staying at The Hayloft. The Hayloft was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and provided an excellent base for walking and exploring further.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review Derek, we are thrilled you had a lovely stay at The Hayloft and enjoyed exploring the Cotswolds!